BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Oklahoma

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/30/1990

Airco Service, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (918) 252-5666Fax: (918) 250-6693View Additional Phone Numbers11331 E 58th St, TulsaOK 74146

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/30/1990

BBB has determined that Airco Service, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Airco Service, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Airco Service, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
11/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Airco made unreasonable charges/estimate
10-22 called Airco with plumbing issues; advised her I needed new rubber stopper; made appointment for around 3:00 on 10-23; On 10-23 I called Airco at 4:30 and asked about appointment. She stated they were 2 plumbers short and they would be at my house around 5:00. At 5:00 two plumbers arrived; told me they did not have the part. My options were 1. Pay the $69 service call and they would leave after doing nothing. 1. Pay them hourly rate to go get the part PLUS pay the $69 service call and cost of part. Charges were estimated to be $150 or more. Of course, they said in the 5:00 traffic it might take them awhile (thus the OR MORE part). I pointed out it was not my fault they did not have the part and, again, it was not my fault they had to drive in 5:00 traffic to go get the part. They advised they thought they were coming to my house to replace the entire toilet, not rubber stopper. I informed them I had explained my need to the receptionist. They said I should not have trusted her. I DO NOT believe I should be required to pay for the extra time it took to go get the part. They told me I could go get the part myself and they would come back tomorrow but at another $69 service call. Either way, this service call was going to cost me at least $69 whether I hired them or not. It is totally a scam.

Desired Settlement
I want to be reimbursed the cost to travel to get the part. I believe I owe the $69 service call plus the cost of the part. It is not my fault they did not have the part. Nor is it my fault they were 2 hours late and had to drive inn 5:00 traffic, thus taking longer. At this time, it is 6:00 and they have not returned yet. So, my charges will be more than $150. They make their money by ripping people off.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: John Boyce President
Contact Phone: 918-252-5667
Contact Email: ***********************
Airco received a request for service on a toilet stating "guts in toilet need replacement" we arrived to find a Kohler Toilet with a bad flapper the Kohler toilets take a specific flapper that we do not carry on our service trucks and has to be located at a supply house and picked up for replacement. we carry flappers on the trucks but we can not carry every flapper for every toilet made so we carry the most common replacements not specialty parts. we were not told it was a Kohler toilet when the call was requested so we did not have the part this is not our fault and if you have a specialty item that needs replacement then you have to pay for the time involved to replace that item that includes the time to pick up that part. We did the work requested and did not charge overtime rates even though our technician was on overtime to complete her call. the customer was quoted a charge of $150.00 and it was agreed upon. The actual charges were $256.00 but since she was quoted $150 the adjustment was made at the time the call was finished. The $69.00 diagnostic "Service" charge is waived on any repair and the invoice was adjusted when we finished the call. By Ms Boyd own words the charges we estimated at $150.00 and that is what she was charged, the charge to go and get the parts had already been waived, she was charged one hour labor and the part the charges were the minimum the could be there is no room to give except to do it for free and that's not going to happen, our people expect to be paid for work perform just like I'm sure she expects to be paid for her work.

Respectfully

John Boyce
Airco Service Inc.

08/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I wanted an inspection of my hvac unit; they only looked at the outside fan, not in the attic, but still charged full price. The unit then broke.
I paid for an inspection of my heat/air unit. *****, a technician from Airco Service told me that to reduce the noise, I would have to buy a whole new unit, but it was running fine. It broke 5 weeks later, and ***** returned, asking me where the furnace was, making me realize he never went into the attic to inspect it last time. When he explained that the unit needed to be replaced, I tried asking him if he went into the attic last month, but he interrupted, going on and on (in a raised voice) about how that wasn't the problem. I waited for him to finish, then told him I didn't want the conversation to be hostile, but asked why he did not complete the inspection I paid for. Again he interrupted, providing no answers, just dominating the conversation. Finally, I said, "Okay, it's my turn. Last month, when I paid you to inspect it, why did you not go into the attic..." and ***** turned his back towards me, bobbling his head in a mocking manner. I told him to leave and that I would talk to his company.
His supervisor, ****, explained to me that nothing was in the attic that would cause any issues, and gave me an (expensive) estimate for a replacement. They would give me a $100 discount for the rudeness of the technician.
When getting a second opinion from Air Assurance, I was told (politely) that there were multiple blockages in duct work in the attic that put stress on the compressor, proving the statements by ***** and **** to be lies.

Desired Settlement
I simply would like a refund of the inspection.

Business' Initial Response
In regards to Mr. ****'s complaint Airco responded to a request for a Summer Service on May 21, 2013 at said residence and while we were there the compressor in the condensing unit was extremely noisy and we have the customer after servicing the unit an estimate to replace the compressor and a price to replace the unit as the compressor by the sound of it was going to fail the customer chose not to make any repairs. This was a service not an inspection. On June 27th we received a request for a service stating there was No Cool upon arrival **** our service tech "NOT *****" found that the compressor had locked up and got the unit unlocked but found the unit running above the nameplate electrical rating. We again gave the customer a price to replace the unit or compressor and the customer was not charged. Our service manager talked to the customer offering a discount to resolve the situation but the customer chose to go with another company to replace the unit we told him that was bad on both occasions. We will refund the customer his summer service charge even though we did nothing wrong other than be the bearer of bad news. There is no way that air blockages in a duct system will cause a compressor to lock up in a month's time and it would have shown itself in no air to the rooms with blockage. Upon our conversation with the customer duct work was not replaced by the other company. This is not a legitimate complaint and our service was performed and the customer did not like what he was told by our state license service technician ****! NOT *****. Please remove this complaint from our file! Please call with any questions. ************

**********

The business has notified BBB that they would agree to refund the $86.00 Maintenance Call provided the consumer remove any and all negative remarks about Airco Service, Inc. from the internet.

11/19/2012Problems with Product / Service
07/18/2012Billing / Collection Issues
03/02/2012Problems with Product / Service
07/11/2012Billing / Collection Issues
06/12/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Plumbers, Heating Contractors, Electricians, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/01/1967Business started: 03/01/1961
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industries Board
2401 NW 23rd St, Ste 2F
Oklahoma City, OK73107
(405) 521-6550
http://www.cib.state.ok.us

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Boyce (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Austin Boyce (Customer Complaint)
Number of Employees

65

Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Plumbers, Heating Contractors, Electricians, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Products & Services

The company state that it offers heating and air conditioning sale & service for residential and commercial properties.

Alternate Business Names
Airco Service Inc, Berry Carter Company, Deaver Heat And Air, Deaver Heating & Air Conditioning
Industry Tips
Central Heating Systems - Finding a Contractor
Air Conditioning Service and Maintenance
Dont Get Burned by Furnace Fraud
Fall Inspections Make for Warmer Winters
Heating Your Home
Safety Considerations When Using Kerosene Heaters

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Airco Service, Inc.

11331 E 58th St

Tulsa, OK 74146

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern Oklahoma. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Airco Service, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (918) 491-9201
  • (918) 252-5667
  • (918) 627-3594
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013 for complaints filed on January 15, 2013 and thereafter.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.