BBB Accredited Business since

Tulsa Gold & Gems

Phone: (918) 743-2274 View Additional Phone Numbers 9014 S. Yale Ave. Suite #200, Tulsa, OK 74137 http://www.TulsaGold.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tulsa Gold & Gems meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Tulsa Gold & Gems include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Tulsa Gold & Gems
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 27, 2008 Business started: 01/01/1982 Business started locally: 01/01/1982
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Credit
4545 N Lincoln Blvd Ste 104, Oklahoma City OK 73105
http://www.okdocc.state.ok.us/
Phone Number: (800) 448-4904
The number is PM001553.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Spencer Fisher, Owner/Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Spencer Fisher, Owner/Manager
Business Category

Gold, Silver & Platinum Dealers Diamond Buyers Jewelry Buyers

Alternate Business Names
Tulsa Gold and Gems

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Tulsa Gold & Gems has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 9014 S. Yale Ave. Suite #200

    Tulsa, OK 74137 (918) 743-2274

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This business acted in an unprofessional and borderline threatening manner that made me extremely uncomfortable and concerned. On Monday, July 13, 2015, I arrived at Tulsa Gold and Gems. Upon my arrival, I approached the representative at the window, handed him a watch (by itself) that was given to me some time ago and stated that I wanted to see if the watch was something that I could sell or pawn. The representative told me that he would take it to the boss and that he would make sure it was authentic, then evaluate the condition of the watch. I waited in the lobby for 30-45 minutes before the representative returned with the watch and told me it was in fact authentic and made offers to pawn or purchase the watch. I accepted the offer to sell the watch to them and allowed them to photocopy my drivers license. I then signed a ticket confirming that I owned the watch and that all transactions were final. I was paid the agreed upon amount and left the business. Later that day, I received a knock on my door at home. When I answered, there were two men present. One identified himself as ** and stood directly in front of me. The other was a man in sunglasses with a long goatee. This man leaned up against the brick next to my door facing me and I was essentially cornered. This bearded man never said anything. The man identified as ** stated that there had been a mistake and that the watch was determined to be counterfeit. He wanted me to repay the money that I was given for the watch. This man did not appear to have the watch with him. These two men stood at my door for a considerable amount of time before finally leaving after threats were made concerning them "calling the FBI" and telling me that I would pay a lot more in legal fees if I did not agree to repay the money. I did not know what to do. I was scared and concerned about what these men may do. I trusted the business to do what they said they would, which was inspect the watch and determine its authenticity, then evaluate its condition. Once that took place, I trusted their findings and completed the transaction. Once I left the store and returned home with my ticket marked that all transactions were final, I assumed that everything was fine. Once these men showed up at my door, I had no idea what had taken place with the watch since I had left the store. I had no way of validating anything they said and felt that they were attempting to intimidate me into repaying money that they had made the purchase with after researching the watch and communicating their findings to me. Later in the evening, my wife told me she had received a voicemail from someone named **. I listened to the voicemail and recognized the voice as the man identified as ** that had earlier been at our door. He left no details for my wife about the reason for his call. I provided Tulsa Gold and Gems with a copy of my drivers license, so it only concerned me further that they had somehow obtained and called my wife's cell phone number. I returned the call to ** Monday evening and he denied making the call to my wife. I told him that I had his number and voicemail in which he identified himself and he said that my wife must have called him and that is how he got her number. Obviously, my wife would have no reason to contact this man. ** continued to insinuate that he did not know who I was and that he did not obtain my wife's number. I explained that I felt he was harassing my family and that I was uncomfortable with the way the situation was being handled. I have not heard back from anyone associated with Tulsa Gold and Gems again, but still feel unnerved about the entire situation. I fear another visit to my home or continued attempts to contact my wife. I feel that these actions were taken to scare or intimidate me into repaying this money. I do not feel I have done anything wrong and have only acted on the information given to me by Tulsa Gold and Gems. I am not sure if their intent is to scam me or if they had some legitimate concern after the purchase. Either way, I acted in good faith and trusted their information.

Desired Settlement: I only want for the business to agree to no longer contact me or my wife and to not show up at my home again. My only request is to no longer feel threatened by the actions of the business.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/23) */ Tulsa Gold and Gems, Inc. is pleased to have the opportunity to respond to the "Consumer's Original Complaint" lodged by ************ in the referenced matter. The Complaint omits several important facts of the transaction and misrepresents others, and, in fact, the Complaint has no merit. If Mr. ***** has felt uncomfortable or concerned, it is primarily because he is liable for having violated various laws in his transaction with Tulsa Gold and Gems. Mr. ***** offered us a wristwatch for sale that purported to have been manufactured by Rolex(r), bearing Rolex(r) markings and having the appearance of a Rolex(r) watch. Although our preliminary examination of the watch led us to mistakenly conclude that it was authentic, we ultimately determined that the watch was actually a very skillfully created counterfeit imitation. Mr. ***** did not disclose to us the fact that the watch was counterfeit and worth only a small fraction of what he sold it for. In short, the watch that Mr. ***** sold us, by virtue of its being counterfeit, did not conform to what it purported to be, substantially impairing the value of the item. In accordance with applicable Oklahoma law we elected to revoke our acceptance of the item and rescind the purchase transaction, and we did so within the reasonable amount of time that Oklahoma law permits. By selling Tulsa Gold and Gems a counterfeit Rolex(r) watch, Mr. ***** violated one or more state and federal laws. We have not yet referred this matter to the local law enforcement authorities, pending his returning the proceeds of his sale in exchange for the watch. As soon as we determined conclusively that the watch was indeed counterfeit, within a few hours after Mr. ***** sold us the watch, we proceeded to meet with him to resolve the matter. At all times our representatives remained civil and businesslike, and they by no means harassed or intimidated Mr. *****, nor did they make any threats. Mr. ***** was not cornered in any way and was always free to return inside his home had he wished (and as he ultimately did). Mr. ***** refused to return the sale proceeds he received for the counterfeit watch. Although Mr. *****' Bill of Sale for the watch contains the legend, "All Transactions Final," we have been advised by our counsel, as should be obvious to all, that the law allows an exception for transactions in which the goods sold do not conform to what they are presented to be. Respecting Mr. *****' request (which he communicated to us by telephone several days later) that we make no further effort to contact him, we have refrained from doing so. Mr. ***** instructed us to direct all further communications through his attorney, but he has failed to provide his attorney's name or contact information. Tulsa Gold and Gems has enjoyed a decades-long reputation in Tulsa for honesty, integrity and fair dealing, based on our consistent business practices that have earned us an A+ rating by the BBB. In this instance Mr. ***** sold us a counterfeit watch that was not what it purported to be, and it appears he is attempting now to intimidate Tulsa Gold and Gems into not pursuing any claim for relief or criminal prosecution by lodging his unfounded Complaint with the BBB. We reserve our right to seek redress by appropriate judicial proceedings (for which we have consulted with counsel). Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions. Sincerely, ***** Fisher III Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/08/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Although I strongly disagree with the allegations of wrongdoing on my part, there is nothing more that would be resolved by asking the business to further respond. At this point, I have not been contacted and am willing to allow this case to close. Thank you for your assistance in this matter.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Tulsa Gold & Gems
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart