BBB Accredited Business since

Hawkeye Custom Concrete

Additional Locations

Phone: (918) 419-2660 Fax: (918) 419-2661 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 2088, Sand Springs, OK 74063 http://www.hawkeyecustom.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hawkeye Custom Concrete meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hawkeye Custom Concrete include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hawkeye Custom Concrete
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 21, 2006 Business started: 01/01/2003 Business started locally: 01/01/2003 Business incorporated 01/01/2003 in OK
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jason R. Lee, President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason R. Lee, President/Owner
Business Category

Concrete Contractors Concrete Construction Forms & Accessories

Products & Services

This company states that they offer precast concrete products, countertops, staining, scoring, overlays, and patios.


Additional Locations

  • 1210 E. Pecan Street, Ste. B

    Sand Springs, OK 74063

  • PO Box 2088

    Sand Springs, OK 74063

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hawkeye did not show up on the day agreed upon for beginning concrete work despite calling and saying they were on the way. On April 6, 2015 I signed a Work Agreement with the sales manager of Hawkeye Custom Concrete to lay down an epoxy covering on my garage floor. Hawkeye had completed a good job on my back porch the year before. With the exception of not touching up the work as promised, I was satisfied with the job. On April 10, 2015 I mailed a check for one half of the job cost to Hawkeye as per our agreement. I was given an April 13, 2015 start date unless it was raining. On the morning of April 13th it was pouring down rain. However, I received at call at 8:49am from the sales manager saying the crew was loading up and on their way. An hour and a half later (10:19am) I received a call from the sales manager saying the crew had been sent to another job where they were having some problems. I was told the crew would then proceed to my job. I asked when I was to expect the crew and was told 1:00pm or possibly as late as 2:00pm. When the crew did not arrive I called the sales manager at 2:57pm. There was no answer, however I left a message and received a return call at 3:00pm. The manager stated the crew was still on the other job and thought they would finish soon. I told the sales manager I was not happy with not being informed of the additional delay and would talk it over with my spouse over dinner as to whether we would continue with Hawkeye on this project. At 5:25pm I informed the sales manager of my decision to cancel the job. I was informed that my check had already been cashed and the sales manager would deliver the next morning a check for the balance of my deposit minus the "special order" items. The following morning, April 14, 2015 a check for a little over half my deposit and the "special order" items were delivered to my front porch along with a letter from the president of the company. In the letter the president explained they had no requirement to be anywhere at a certain time despite the fact I told the sales manager my reasons for canceling was the lack of the Company keeping me informed. Had I been informed as requested I would not have taken the entire day off from work waiting on a crew that was running over seven hours late. After inventorying the "special order" items delivered to me I realized some of the materials were not delivered. I called the sales manager. I was told by the sales manager "I found those items still in my car and you can come get them if you want or I will deliver them the next time I'm in your area." The manager went on to say "I am not spending anymore of my time on you and if you want your products, come get them." When I insisted the undelivered products be delivered today I was told I was rude and I was taking money out of the family's pockets by running around to deliver items to someone who is no longer a customer. After many attempts I reached the company president by phone on April 17, 2015. He stated he had already mailed a check for the products missing from the previous agreed delivery. As of April 25, 2015, I have not received the check.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund on my initial 1/2 down and the so called "special order items" left at my doorstep picked up by Hawkeye.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/09) */ *** ******** entered into a contract with HCC to remove the existing paint on his garage floor and re-install a 100% solid epoxy paint chip floor with a vapor barrier. *** ******** is a returning customer and even though he is currently unhappy with the work we did not perform he remains happy with the past work we have performed. HCC received *** ********s 50% deposit check on 4/13/15 the same day we were suppose to start his garage project. This deposit check was deposited on the morning it was received. We received heavy rains the night before and it was raining extremely hard the morning we were suppose to start the install. One of our previous customers had a roof leak and it damaged the epoxy we applied the previous day and they needed an emergency fix. I instructed the installer to perform the emergency work then head to *** ********s' and only prep. The weather was too bad for epoxy installation this day. HCC is hired to perform a task on installing the floor requested by the client. We are hired on performance base and not by the hour. Mr. ******** was very unhappy the installer was not on his way to his residence until approximately 3:00 p.m. When Mr. ******** was called by the installer he canceled the install. Mr. ******** was rude to the sales associate and the associate was rude in return to Mr. ******** which I regret. In the future I hope they would just hang up rather than endure the treatment he gave. At this point I instructed the installer to return to the office. Mr. ******** was supposed to call the office by 5:00 p.m. and let us know if he still wanted us to complete the install. In the meantime, while waiting for the phone call I canceled the install internally myself. I personally instructed everyone to not install the project even if the ********s changed their mind. We had a company meeting and I instructed everyone that it was our opportunity to take the high road and do the right thing and that was to give the ********s their money back. The following is what we did: 1. HCC deposited $1212.00 check #**** from ********s on 4/13/15 2. Returned vapor barrier, paint chips, and colorant all special order items to the ********s residence. 4/14/15. Sales associate forgot to deliver the special colorant "Tan" on this day. I can not use the special paint chip color blend that was chosen nor the vapor barrier epoxy. However, I can use the colorant that was forgotten and we provide a check for that material to Mr. ********. 3. Check #**** for $630.44 was given to Mr. ******** on 4/14/15. 4. Check #**** for $102.50 was mailed to Mr. ******** and I included the wrong address and it was returned. I discovered my mistake and immediately put this check into the mail with a hand written note apologizing for my mistake. Mr. ******** called asking for his money and I informed him of my mistake and if he did not get the money within 48 hours please let me know. 5. During this phone conversation I was instructed he already had someone else to install his garage. This new installer should be able to use this vapor barrier and the paint chips with no problem. Mr. ******** instructed me that he installer was familiar with Elite Crete System products. I wished him luck and a good vacation. After returning from vacation Mr. ******** wrote a very ugly review on my company facebook account and a complain to BBB. As a business owner I have returned all of Mr. ********s money I have deposited with the special order material. My installers never stepped foot on his property and Mr. ******** canceled the install before it could begin. Therefore, Mr. ******** needs to take the good with the bad and realize there are consequences to canceling contracts that have already been executed. If the cancellation would have happened before the special order materials would have been shipped he would have received a full refund. Mr. ******** currently has the following special order items in his possession: two gallon kit of vapor barrier epoxy (which is only ordered when needed) One 50 lbs box of special order paint chips 1/4" One 25 lbs box of special order paint chips 1/4" with shipping and tax the total amount comes to $479.80 and based on my records this product cost him $479.06. HCC has done the right and ethical thing by giving back all the money we took plus provided client with special order items. We wish Mr. ******** nothing but best endeavors in the future but meaningless justifications such as these are what causes small business owners to not trust anyone they work for and Mr. ******** proves this point. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/05/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Again the Company is missing the point of my cancellation. I cancelled because I was not informed the crew would be over seven hours late. I took the day off to be at home for the crew. My wife had prepared lunch for the crew as she had done in the past. I am a businessman and my time has value. A simple phone call would have allowed me to proceed with my work schedule while the Company tended to other projects. This lack of notification was mentioned to the sales associate and the reply was "do you expect us to stop what we are doing and call you". My answer was "yes". Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2015/05/28) */ I stand by my original response in this matter.

5/22/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/28/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hawk Eye Custom Concrete installed a floor in my home with a flaw in the original work. They have not responded to my complaints in a productive way Hawk Eye Custom Concrete installed a stained concrete overlay on my floor with the work being completed 1 year ago. The cost was approximately $5000. At that time I was dissatisfied with the color of the floor and there were some phone calls back and forth about an estimate for "fixing" the color but as time went on there was no action on that matter. This complaint is not about the color. In the original workmanship of the floor there is a "gash" about 18-24 inches long where the stain never covered the overlay underneath. It is not cracked or chipped and it is not water damage. It is a flaw in the original work. I have several saved emails in my "sent" email box documenting my attempts to contact Mr. Jason Lee about this with pictures attached. If the Better Business Bureau desires this I would be happy to forward these emails and pictures. The dates of the emails were 8/17/13, 11/5/13, and 1/16/14. Mr. Lee did not respond at all the first 2 emails. The 3rd email was actually a reply to a promotional email intended to sell more services to previous customers, I suppose. I replied to that email with a reiteration of my previous complaint. At any rate Mr. Lee did respond to that email in a positive manner suggesting that he would make me happy in a short period of time. He asked for more pictures, which I sent. I never received a return reply. This company has had 1 year to reply to my complaints and they have not demonstrated any solid interest in resolving my complaint.

Desired Settlement: I am simply requesting that Hawk Eye Custom Concrete repair the flaw in the floor that was part of the original workmanship. It is small but is at the seam where the concrete overlay meets the kitchen tile therefore it is quite noticeable. I paid approximately $5000 for this floor and there is no reason that this claim cannot be resolved.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/07/07) */ Said client needs to call the office. Installer, sales associate, and owner will all be present and video the flaw being repaired to verify work has been completed. I will not enter the home without having video proof of the time period in the house for fear the client will claim something else in the future.

4/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our decorative concrete deck started cracking & breaking up in 2012. Hawkeye was to start repairs in 2013. Did not. Ignores emails since 8-21-2013. Aug 2009 Hawkeye covered our pebble-over-concrete deck with deco concrete. They told us the pebble covering would not be a problem. The deco covering started cracking and coming up. They said it was because of the pebble covering & we would have to remove Hawkeye's deco concrete AND the pebble covering down to original concrete at our own expense. They would give us a discount on the new deco covering which they completed Oct 2011. 23 Sept 2012 I emailed Hawkeye the newest deco concrete was cracking & needed repairs. Since then we've emailed back & forth. I have emails saying he would come out, would tell us what corrective measures, he was very sick. 21 Aug 2013 was the last I heard from him re making repairs although he was talking with a customer on Facebook in Oct 2013. It's 19 Feb 2014 and no repairs have been made.

Desired Settlement: I would really like our deck repaired, but since this is the second time we've been through this with Hawkeye, I don't have any confidence the deco concrete would stay repaired and I don't want to go through all this again with Hawkeye.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/27) */ I. Concrete Slab: a. Had existing shrinkage cracks due to contractor's failure to sawcut control joints after initial pour b. Shrinkage cracks are normal, and occur within 48 hours of the initial concrete pour, but they are normally "controlled" by sawcutting control joints or "relief joints" immediately after the pour, which forces the shrinkage cracks to run down the sawcut line c. Uncontrolled shrinkage cracks make it impossible to terminate any subsequent coating (overlays, etc.) at a consistent edge since the crack runs "wild" across the slab. d. The shrinkage cracks are superhighways for moisture vapor emissions from the soil beneath the slab e. The shrinkage cracks will actually seep water if they are located below grade (i.e. the slab grade was "cut-out" of an existing hillside) during rainy seasons as groundwater seeps through the soils in the higher ground. II. Epoxy-Pebble Deck Coating: a. Mrs ***** originally had someone install an epoxy-pebble deck coating. b. This coating failed and delaminated. Most likely due to Ultraviolet degradation of the epoxy from direct sunlight, and moisture vapor buildup from beneath the slab. c. When Mrs ***** contacted us about re-coating the existing pebble deck, we originally suggested complete removal of the epoxy-pebble deck coating, but the associated cost was very high. Customer was advised that our coating would adhere to the top side of the existing epoxy pebble coating, but the bond between that pebble coating and the underlying concrete slab was out of our control and subject to continued delamination, which would cause our overlay material to crack as well. III. Hawkeye Overlay Deck 1 a. We installed our concrete overlay on top of the existing epoxy pebble deck coating. The epoxy-pebble deck coating progressively delaminated further, resulting in cracks to the Hawkeye Overlay Deck 1, at which point, we again recommended complete removal of the underlying epoxy-pebble deck coating. b. Mrs ***** hired a contractor to come out and remove the epoxy-pebble deck coating completely. c. Once it was removed, we were able to observe the shrinkage cracks in the original concrete slab. We offered to fill the shrinkage cracks with epoxy-sand mixture (a common procedure for concrete crack repair and moisture-proofing), in an attempt to prevent any future water intrusion damage. This method is accepted by the ICRI. It was explained to the customer that if at some point in the future the various segments of the concrete slab moved, whether due to earthquake, frost heave, flooding, extreme drough-soil dry, then the crack-repair would break and water would again start to move up through the crack from the soil below. IV. Hawkeye Overlay Deck 2 a. Hawkeye re-installed a cement Overlay Deck, complete with a 1 year warranty. b. The warranty period has expired. c. Even if it was within the warranty period, we do not, and never have (nor does anyone else) provided warranty coverage for water damage from excessive groundwater intrusion, nor for moving cracks in an existing slab. V. Notes: a. Mrs ***** had an extensive pier repair job done on the house. Likely due to the same issues. The house is set into a hillside. The soils beneath the home expand and contract seasonally depending on moisture content and temps. As a result, her concrete slab/foundation moved to the point that she felt it was necessary to hire a company to install piers as a support to prevent further movement. b. We are a "decorative" concrete overlay company. We do not claim to fix major structural problems in existing concrete slabs (which weigh in excess of 4,000 lbs per 80 square feet) by placing 1/8 of an inch of overlay material and stain on top of the surface. (please see attached) Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Regarding the First overlay, we asked about a warranty and *****'s Hawkeye partner told us it was forever. We received a warranty for the Second overlay after we asked for it, after the job was finished. *****'s First overlay was in Aug 2009 over a pebble coating on concrete slab. It is not true when he says he suggested removal of pebble & we declined. What he said was putting his overlay over the pebble was no problem, he had done it before. Why would we pay $7926.07 with him warning us it would crack, not could, but would (his BBB statement). In 2010 his First overlay started coming up in sections. When trying to set up repair, he put us off the rest of the year saying he was having money problems, he'd repair in 2011. In 2011 he surprised us saying both overlays had to be removed. We asked him were we wasting money to put on a Second overlay, and he assured us we weren't. March 2011 we paid him to remove his overlay, another company to remove the pebble, total $5876. Oct 2011 we paid him $5400 for the Second overlay (which include $900 because he said other co. didn't do good enough job). He said he would touch up any cracks. By Sept 2012 the Second overlay started cracking in some places and in others was separating from the concrete slab. ***** & a helper came to view it, the helper remarked how a large section was starting to come up & needed to be removed. ***** & I said we'd been through that. We agreed to wait until the pool opened 2013 to make repairs. In June 2013 we set an appointment for June 10. We didn't see him, but he emailed June 18 he had come by & would provide opinion on what was happening & corrective measures in a couple of days. No answer to my subsequent emails until Aug 21 when he emailed he'd been extremely ill for 8 weeks, needed another 3 weeks. After that there was no response to emails or a phone call until we placed complaint with Tulsa BBB, & now to the BBB he says the warranty has expired. ***** also brings up our pier work, but the piers were to correct a house section built over fill dirt, not near at all to *****'s overlay work. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/04/10) */ Mrs. ***** has repairs that need completed. These repairs have been caused by ground movement. The first overlay did not fail. The epoxy pebble deck was getting pushed off the surface from too much ground moisture. I still have samples of the original pebble deck with my overlay attached. This will stay in our safe for proof. Mrs. ***** is still having problems with ground moisture which can and will cause movement in the concrete slab. I am unwilling to complete these repairs due to the negative position she has taken. The weather conditions since my return to from illness have not been appropriate to complete her touch ups. These touch ups are not a warranty issue, they are not workmanship issue, this is cause by conditions out of the clients or my control. Case in point, I have a client that we tested their concrete four years ago for an interior overlay with epoxy coating. The test results rendered perfect for epoxy. This winter their ground took on so much water to pushed the epoxy off the floor. Things happen with ground water and concrete in Oklahoma. Mrs. ***** is not to blame and neither is Hawkeye Custom Concrete. Since Mrs. ***** believe we are not a reputable company I would suggest she look for another contractor. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2014/04/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) have nothing more to say.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Hawkeye Custom Concrete
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)