BBB Accredited Business since

Bicycles of Tulsa

Phone: (918) 665-2453 Fax: (918) 270-9046 4733 S Mingo Rd, Tulsa, OK 74146 http://www.bicyclesoftulsa.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bicycles of Tulsa meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Bicycles of Tulsa include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bicycles of Tulsa
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 29, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1987 Business started locally: 01/01/1987 Business incorporated 08/23/1988 in OK
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Patrick Coyle, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Patrick Coyle, President
Business Category

Bicycle - Dealers Sporting Goods - Retail


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 14, 2016 my wife and I visited Bicycles of Tulsa in search of an adult tricycle for my wife. We discussed with the salesperson why we were interested in a tricycle and he agreed the tricycle would probably meet my wife's need. He reviewed with us possible configurations and available colors. We we asked to pay the entire cost of the tricycle at this time which included shipping and assembling of the tricycle since they did not stock the tricycles. On May 21st we arrived to pick up the trike and also purchased a helmet.The salesman fitted the trike to my wife and she rode it for a few minutes around the paved parking lot and all seemed okay. At the time of purchase and when we picked up the trike, we were not provided any information regarding a return policy nor warranty. We were told the first tuneup was free. We took the trike home and my wife tried to ride the trike at several intervals that day totaling maybe 20 minutes. When she got off the trike she complained of some pain in her right hip and groin. The pain continued to increase to where she was barely able to walk for the next few days. She had a right hip replacement several years ago and has experienced some issues with this replacement. However she was doing well and not having any issues with the hip and was in hopes the trike would provide a source for exercise. My wife called them the following Monday and explained what had occurred when she tried to ride the trike and would like to bring the trike back and have the purchase price refunded. The salesperson said they would not refund the full purchase price of the trike, they would charge a 20 percent fee for shipping cost and assembly of the bike. My wife said she did not feel a fee to return trike was right and that 20 percent was just too much. After a brief discussion the salesperson said he would charge $100.00. We returned the trike May 25th and again expressed displeasure at the $100.00 fee charged. The salesperson said the charges cover their expenses.

Desired Settlement: We returned the tricycle in the same condition it left the store and feel $100.00 is excessive when the shipping and assembly of the trike was included in the price of the trike for $650.00. We feel the $100.00 should be refunded to us.

Business Response:

We feel that the $100 restocking fee was more than fair.  The product was a special order specifically built for their needs even down to the color.  It is a tricycle that we have never stocked or even ordered with that component selection before.

The shipping charge to get the product was $45 and the time to assemble it was almost two hours.  Our labor rate is $60 an hour.  The product is still on our floor as we hope to find a buyer who prefers a trike with the build selection we now have.  Most people prefer a single speed or three speed where as this has seven speeds.

I felt that I was more than generous by taking the product back at all.  We delivered as promised on it and they were very happy with the product and our service before they took it home.

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The reason the product was so quickly returned was due to a medical issue with my wife's hip which was greatly exacerbated

by riding the trike more than a circle around the paved parking lot. The shipping and assembly charge is the cost of doing 

business and was figured into the cost of the tricycle. The price of the tricycle was presented to us as one price, the assembly and

shipping charge was not discussed or shown to be an additional charge.  We did not want to purchase a tricycle that we not

assembled. We were not given an option to assemble the tricycle ourselves. When they sell the tricycle they will most likely

recoup the assembly and shipping charge just as they do when they sell one of the many tricycles sitting on their showroom floor.

The salesperson asked me to choose a color and gear option for the trike. He was not aware the seven gear option was

available. We were also told when we bought the trike, they were selling several tricycles a week. But when we returned the trike,

we were told they had people looking at tricycles but rarely sold one. 

 

 

 

 

The salesperson asked me to

choose a color and gear option. He was not aware the trike was available in seven speeds. Perhaps individuals that come in

looking for a trike are not shown all the available options
Sincerely,
***** ******

Business Response:

The tricycle that was ordered was a newly released external 7 speed option with a disc brake that we have never stocked or sold before and is still sitting on our sales floor.  The trikes that we have sold or stocked in the past have always been a single speed or internal 3 speed option because of their lower prices or simplicity of the product. Having this product still sitting on the floor that is less attractive to potential buyers because of it's unique build is very unfair to us. We are now stuck with a non stocking product and we feel we should not be hit with all the extra expenses of a full refund when we gave the customer everything that they wanted in their special order purchase.

I am willing to split the difference and return the customer $50 in attempt to resolve this issue and move on.

 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Bicycles of Tulsa
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)