BBB Accredited Business since

Cecil & Sons Discount Tires

Additional Locations

Phone: (918) 245-9655 Fax: (918) 241-4662 204 E. Morrow Road, Sand Springs, OK 74063

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cecil & Sons Discount Tires meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cecil & Sons Discount Tires
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 28, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1973 Business started locally: 01/01/1973
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Troy Cox, President Mr. Brian Cox
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Brian Cox
Principal: Mr. Troy Cox, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Tune-Up Brake Service Transmissions - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Services - Oil & Lube Wheels Tire Dealers Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair

Alternate Business Names
Cecil Cox Enterprises, Inc.
Industry Tips
Contracts/Auto Repair Service

Additional Locations

  • 204 E. Morrow Road

    Sand Springs, OK 74063

  • 4002 South State Highway 97

    Sand Springs, OK 74063


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought the roadside warranty. They will not honor to replace my tire without paperwork. The tire and my information are on their computer. Failure to honor warranty

Desired Settlement: Replacement

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/01) */ It is, frankly, a surprise to see this complaint as it seemed clear this client understood the necessity, which is always explained at purchase, of keeping that actual physical warranty paperwork in a safe place. I say he understood because the staff clearly remembers him coming in on Monday and saying his wife had cleaned out the lockbox and thrown away the paperwork which included the proof of coverage stickers required by the third party warranty company for any road hazard claim--telling us this before there'd even been a conversation about what had happened to the tire or had been a chance to examine the tire itself. Our manager checked the tire out as we'd happily have repaired it free with or without the client having his warranty paperwork had it been safely repairable; upon inspection we'd confirmed it had been ruined. Our manager then spoke with this client, thought the client understood we'd be happy to try and work something out with him, but had explained the least expensive outcome would be to process the claim properly once the client found the warranty company required paperwork. At that point, the client indicated he'd go home and look for that himself and then get back with us. We'd not heard from this client nor had any indication he was upset with anyone but his wife or had any additional conversations with him about his coverage since Monday including to the follow-up call our manager had made earlier this morning to check on this situation with the client. To be clear, no tire manufacturer warrants against external damage which occurs in operation, like hitting something and cutting a sidewall, which is why we offer the optional coverage from Sonsio which is honored at over 20,000 member locations nationwide. The mechanism which allows Sonsio to handle those claims nationally is a physical sticker for each tire purchased affixed to that purchase invoice which must be presented at time of claim, or its electronic equivalent which is created when the purchaser goes online and registers those specific numbered stickers and invoice with Sonsio, which creates a personal online record and account for them with Sonsio. We strive to emphasize to our clients who choose this optional protection the importance of keeping the paperwork in a safe place and the advantages of registering online just in case they do get misplaced as there are no copies of these stickers--each one is a uniquely numbered potential future claim against Sonsio for the tires on the invoice to which they are affixed. The fact this client came in complaining of their loss seems to indicate he had been made aware of their importance and I'm disappointed he chose a BBB complaint vs. simply picking up the phone or coming back by, confirming the paperwork was irretrievably lost, and seeing what accommodation we might reach. We remain willing to try and help this client with this unfortunate situation and would like to try and reach a reasonable compromise on this ruined tire with him. We are not unwilling to share those replacement costs with him, on a one-time basis, even though those costs result from a tire we did not damage and paperwork we did not lose. He's just got to return our manager's call or go by and we'll try to work something out we can both accept.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Cecil & Sons Discount Tires
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)