BBB Accredited Business since

Cartec Automotive Services

Phone: (918) 747-1840 Fax: (918) 747-4516 View Additional Phone Numbers 5609 E 41st St, Tulsa, OK 74135 http://www.cartecauto.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Complete automotive maintenance and repair


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cartec Automotive Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Cartec Automotive Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cartec Automotive Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 21, 1991 Business started: 03/01/1991 in OK Business started locally: 03/01/1991 Business incorporated 03/01/1991 in OK
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jerry Kaminski, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jerry Kaminski, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Mobile Auto Repair - Maintenance

Products & Services

The company states that it offers general to heavy auto repair including light trucks.

Industry Tips
Contracts/Auto Repair Service

Additional Locations

  • 5609 E 41st St

    Tulsa, OK 74135 (918) 770-7904

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took a month to complete a 2 week project, was called with questions any competent mechanic should know, highly overpriced, and horrible service! Took cj5 in on 8/20/15 to get it road ready and legal. Was told the twin shifter wouldn't fit. I double checked to make sure it was the right part and then spent five minutes on jeepforum looking and finding the solution for their mechanic. Was told I would be called back and updated when it was figured out. A week later without a call I call cartec and was asked to come in. At this point 4 u-joints and the front and rear propeller shafts had been installed after two weeks of "working" on my jeep. It was brought in with a couple of boxes of parts and I informed them if there was anything they could use to do so. I have two brand new in box u-joints still in there I paid 20$ a piece for. I was charged 60$ a piece for their u-joints! On 9/26 I was informed the jeep was ready. Never once did anyone say thank you or apologize for how long it took. The wires were lying on the floor and not tucked away. That night I realized the lights they had wired were already not working properly. The front right head light had no power. I got in to move it so we could take my girlfriend's and it was stuck in gear and would not budge! There was also a major leak coming from beneath the jeep at this point. I called them the next day and explained the situation and my dissatisfaction with their work. Jerry, the owner told me no problem to bring it in and they would get it fixed. I told him I would get it towed and taken to a 4 wheel autoshop first because I didnt beleive they were competent enough to solve and be truthful about the problem. After finding the problem out and paying for the tow and inspection I drove it back to cartec to have it fixed. I was told they couldnt do anything and weren't at fault for either the leak nor the shifter issues because they had not seen either while it was under their care. They fixed the light as of today. I asked how long they were responsible for issues of my vehicle when they had ample time and I explained a number of times my number one concern was that it was road worthy! He told me their was nothing else they could do and left my jeep wo the shifter boots on and the wires still on the ground. No one ever apologized or showed any concern for their insufficient job. I was finally done with their sevice as of 9/28 due to the light problem. I thought my concerns would be done until today as of 10/4 i found plastic still remaining on the twin shifter they had installed. I have never seen such a level of incompetence, lack or respect and care, and quality of work. I used cartec in large part because of the BBB credidation understanding I would pay more, but with the belief I would get good, honest work. I received none and was given a 3300$ bill. I am planning on making a couple calls and finding how much more expensive they are than competitors.

Desired Settlement: Most importantly and apology recognizing what a horrendous and unacceptable job they did within every facet of a business. Monetarily I do not have a price yet until I get more information from other mechanic shops. Just looking at the u-joint upcharge I would imagine around a 1000$. I am out hours of time and plenty of stress. I am also out over a hundred dollars having it towed and another 45$ inspected by someone else.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/06) */ As the customer stated he had his 1982 Jeep CJ5 towed to Cartec on 08/20/2015. It was dropped off in a parking spot across from our north bays. Upon arrival the front and rear propeller shafts were not installed. When the techs and helpers tried to push the jeep in they were unable to get it to move by hand. This was because the brake system was seizing and hanging up. The customer did tell us the Jeep had been sitting in a field for an extended period of time. We were also told we were not the first ones to have worked on this vehicle before having it towed to Cartec. Once we had the Jeep in a bay and on a lift an inspection was completed. We then discussed with the customer what we had seen at this time what were the immediate mechanical needs. Installing new "U" joints and the propeller shafts. Also rebuild the brake system. When the technician went to install the dual lever (after market) transfer case shifter (the customer had supplied) it would not work as designed. The transfer case shifter would interfere with the transmission shifter. Also the stock floor board opening would not allow the transfer case shifter enough range of motion to operate the transfer case properly. It was at this point we called the customer and asked him to come in. Before modifying the part or the floor board we wanted to discuss what we saw as our options with the customer. The customer okayed the modifications. The work was completed. Since there was no tag or lights on the Jeep it was test driven in our centers parking lot. The tech informed the advisor that to be street legal the jeep needed lights. The customer was contacted and told we were done with the mechanical work. But that the Jeep needed to have exterior lights to be road worthy. The customer then told the advisor he had been informed by someone who had previously worked on the vehicle he needed to replace the entire wiring loom. Which he had purchased and wanted to know how much it would be to install the wiring loom. He declined our installing the loom and asked that we just get the lights working. Which we did. When the vehicle left all the lights were working, it shifted into all gears and there were no leaks. If there had been a leak or we had had a problem with the shifter we would have discussed it with the customer before releasing the vehicle. Any vehicle that sits for an extended period and is then put back into service always has a risk of seals or possible mechanical or electrical problems presenting themselves at any time. The customer did bring the jeep back on Friday. When the jeep arrived on Friday it was clear to see someone else had worked on it because it arrived with the shifter boots off. I was not at the shop when he dropped the vehicle off. I tried to call and left a message Friday. I did not hear back from the customer until Saturday afternoon. At that time I informed him that we did repair the lights under warranty. We talked about the transmission shifter (an internal trans part) and how it didn't jam until after he had driven it, and he did say he understood we had nothing to do with that. I did inform him that since we did not work on the transmission or the transfer case there was no warranty on either of those problems. He then told me he would be in to pick up his Jeep. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/10/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It seems Cartec and Jerry have selective memory on some of the issues stated. First off, I brought over two boxes full of parts and explained whatever can be used in these boxes should be. So, I still don't understand why I have two, new in box u-joints that cost me 20$ a piece and yet I was charged 59.20$ a piece for 4 u-joints? The wiring harness was discussed in the beginning and explained that a new harness wasn't needed to make the vehicle street legal! As for the twin shifter it did work as it was supposed to and I was not only contacted once to come in a check it out, I was also called being told it wasn't usable. As stated previously I spent five minutes on Jeepforum to make sure it was the right part and would fit. I told them the possible options and told them I didn't mind if there were modifications made to have the part fit. With this knowledge they still asked me to come in and agree to the modifcations a week after telling me when it was figured out they would contact me and move from there! They never did until I called to find out where we were in the build. The tech also left the plastic on the under part of the twin shifter! This is the kind of work I payed a premium for? As for the lights I was contacted and told that they need to add lights and wires, once again I explained there were new led lights on the backend and at most needed wiring. I didn't speak to Jerry so I wouldn't expect him to know or remember a conversation between ****** and myself. Jerry once again is leaving out facts or lying to cover his business's poor work. Once my jeep was stuck in gear and had a headlight out within 24 hours of paying 3300$ I had a reason to distrust their work and word. As I explained to both ****** and Jerry I was having a true 4 wheel drive shop diagnosis the problem and would bring it back once someone who could handle the job told me what was the problem! They knew this and left the boot off the shifter assuming it would be fixed. I left it as is to make it easier to fix the problem! Not only did cartec not fix the problem they left the boot and the nuts off and continued to leave the lose wires hanging on the floor of the jeep! There is no explanation on why parts that were already purchased and there to use were not used, why there is a 300% mark-up on said parts, and why it took a month to do a 10 day job at most. Never once did anyone at cartec apologize or seem concerned about their pathetic attempt at fixing my jeep. At least if you are going to do a terrible job act like your apologetic to your own incompetence and alacrity for good work. Attached is a picture of the leak and the plastic still on the twin shifter they put on. I have never made a claim to the BBB before and have never reviewed a company in my life until dealing with Cartec! If appropriate conclusions aren't made I will continue to pursue this to the civil courts. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2015/10/12) */ Cartec warranties the parts it installs and labor involved in the parts replacement . That warranty does not cover parts and labor Cartec has not worked on. When the jeep left our facility, after having been driven by two different employees of Cartec, it was shifting and not leaking.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Cartec Automotive Services
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)