BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/04/2007

Nelson Motors LLC

Phone: (918) 296-7800Fax: (918) 296-78639902 S Memorial Dr, TulsaOK 74133

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/04/2007

BBB has determined that Nelson Motors LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Nelson Motors LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Nelson Motors LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
09/15/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Salesman indicated vehicle met California emissions standards before purchasing. Car does not meet emissions (verified by California DMV).
4/14/14 contact began with this business
5/14 test drove cars at location, discussed prices, financing, emissions with salesperson. Described situation: will be purchasing new vehicle in next few months and had the idea to buy car in OK to drive to new job in California in July 2014.
5/27 emailed with salesperson to confirm vehicle of choice (Mazda 3) met California emissions standards after doing some research online about their strict requirements.
5/27 salesperson responded "...all of the Mazda3 are PZEV which is lower then the stand ULEV. Please let me know if you have any other questions."
5/27 I responded: "Oh no! Is there anything that can be done about that, what does that mean?"
5/28 salesperson responded: "When I say lower I mean that in a good way. It meets all the requirements in the state of California."
5/31 Financing was approved and vehicle cost was discussed. Staff indicated that the example quote printout I was originally given (Mazda3 hatch 2014 s model) was generated incorrectly by the computer and was not available for that price. We negotiated a price for the lower igrand touring sedan model. Before signing I noticed they had included my deposit in the 'negotiated' price we had agreed on. Re-discussed & came to a conclusion. They said the car was not in stock, they would locate it & call me by Monday. Monday passed without phonecall. I contacted salesperson for arrangements
6/6 Vehicle delayed due to weather. Paperwork had not been completed. Financing department apologized, they said they were unaware I was coming that day. Signed paperwork and waited for car to be ready. Asked salesperson what other documents are needed, he said they will send mail 2-3 weeks, I would take that to the tag agency to register the vehicle
6/26 received mail from financing company. Brought it to tag agent in Tahlequah with bill of sale. Tag agent said I needed the title & car should have had temporary plate- instructed me to return immediately to the dealer
6/26 called dealer about tag. First representative said they can only make them on date purchased. I asked them to ask their boss and call me back. Someone called back to ask if I would come and pick it up. However due to being on call at the hospital it had to wait until monday
7/01 Picked up tag. inquired about title. Dealer said it was mailed on 6/26, provided certified copies of the title so that I would have some proof that I owned the car while driving through other states.
7/10 went to DMV in Turlock, CA. Agent inspected car and said it cannot be registered in CA due to emissions standards. It was not stickered 50 state (only 49 state/federal) Called Nelson twice to describe situation
7/11-7/16 phonecalls back & forth about situation
7/17 - dealer offered solution of getting OK plates through mail and transferring to CA
7/18 I contacted local CA DMV agency. They told me the car's VIN# and stickering does not meet CA equipment standards for emissions protocols, it cannot be registered even if the plates are just switched over. Discussed this with Nelson manager. He had me contact DMV again, thought there was a misunderstanding. Manager said he would do some research & get back to me. I suggested perhaps the car could be modified (DMV suggestion) or exchanged in CA. Indicated he would look into having car altered however it could not be exchanged in CA
7/22 left messages for manager
7/23 left message on cell, front desk staff, work phone
Temporary tag expires Aug 1. California DMV deadline for registering is 20 days after residency (July 13). I will be unable to drive the car I am currently making payments on as of Aug 1-2. I have contacted Mazda USA customer assistance who directed me to BBB Autoline, who directed me to BBB eastern OK. Please note the employees at the dealership have been friendly. I am filing this complaint because I need help mediating, I am overwhelmed, constrained by deadlines, & am re-explaining the situation repeatedly. Thank-you.

Desired Settlement
I would like Nelson Mazda to arrange the return of the current Mazda 3 iGrand Touring sedan and provide a Mazda 3 iGrand Touring sedan that is stickered as a 50 state vehicle, meeting all California emissions standards so that it can be legally registered and driven in the state of California.

Business Response
The complaint was an issue where she had moved to the State of California in a new car. She was going to tag it there and when she arrived she could not do that at that time. We tried for a few weeks talking to the State, DMV, OHP and numerous other organizations. We have actually found a way for her to tag the car there and for the inconvenience we have put her through we are going to pay for her tag and tax and all issues associated with what happen which is close to 3,000. We are also holding a training session with our sales team about the legalities of other States when people move so we don't have this situation occur again. If you have any questions please contact me.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The results from the appointment for the car to be emissions certified by the referree program have not been finalised yet. The appointment is Monday August 18. After that appointment and a series of paperwork it will be determined by the DMV if the car can be registered in the state of California. Please leave the complaint open until complete resolution.

Final Business Response
We are working out the logistics from her purchase to buy back her vehicle from her. To make it easier for her and less stressfull we are going to be paying off her loan and also giving her back the cash she put down on her purchase due to the laws and regulations in the State of California.

04/23/2012Problems with Product / Service
03/01/2012Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/29/2006Business started: 10/01/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Used Motor Vehicle Commission
2401 NW 23rd St Ste 57
Oklahoma City, OK73107-2431
(405) 521-3600
http://www.umvpc.state.ok.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 2005, OK

Business Management
Brandon Murphy (COO)
Contact Information
Principal: Bobby Nelson (Owner)
Number of Employees

43

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Nelson Mazda
Industry Tips
Contracts/Auto Repair Service

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Nelson Motors LLC

9902 S Memorial Dr

Tulsa, OK 74133

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern Oklahoma. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Nelson Motors LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013 for complaints filed on January 15, 2013 and thereafter.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Contracts/Auto Repair Service
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.