BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Oklahoma

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/06/2003

Hahn Appliance Center, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (918) 622-6262Fax: (918) 622-86016710 S 105th East Ave, TulsaOK 74133-5833

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/06/2003

BBB has determined that Hahn Appliance Center, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Hahn Appliance Center, Inc.'s rating include:

  • 19 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Hahn Appliance Center, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 19 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service16
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 19

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hahn Appliance Center, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (19)BBB Closure Definitions
05/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: Inferior repairs on two (2) prior occasions.
Product: DRYER
Brand: LG ELECTRONICS
Model: *********
Serial: ************

Purchase History:

Hahn Appliance
8160 E 41st Street
Tulsa, OK 74145

Purchase Date: 08/27/2012
Order # ********

Repair History:

Hahn Appliance Warehouse
6710 S 105th E Ave
Tulsa, OK 74133

February 2014
March 2014
April 2014 (returned on 4/12/2014)

Initial Business Response
I am very sorry that Mr. ****** is having a problem with his dryer. LG is a very good brand and we have few problems. On 2/19/2014 Mr. ****** brought the dryer into our shop for a "no heat" problem. We found that the high limit thermostat was defective, we replaced the part and charged Mr. ****** $10.34 for the part and $25.00 for labor, since it was out of warranty. On 3/17/2014 Mr. ****** brought the dryer in and we found the same part failure, we replaced the same part and did not charge Mr. ******. On 4-12-2014 Mr. ****** brought the dryer in and we found it had the same part failure. We will replace the defective part again, at no charge to Mr. ******. Each time it has worked at our shop and has worked for some time at the customers home. This is a very strong indication that the problem is in the duct work, restricting the air flow and not a problem with the dryer. This can be caused by a build up of lint or a crimp in the duct. We will notify Mr. ****** when the part arrives and we have replaced and tested the dryer.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Hahn Appliance Center, Inc.'s April 15, 2014, assertion that complainant was negligent in maintaining the duct work and that the dryer was subject to restricted air flow is not applicable in this matter. In fact, Hahn Appliance Center, Inc. actively participated in conversations with complainant about the quality of the air flow of the dryer vent, the exact type of conversation that would easily indicate that such problem (i.e., Hahn Appliance Center, Inc.'s conclusion) is obviously not applicable here.

The facts will show that in March 2014, complainant communicated with Hahn Appliance Center, Inc. about its duct work concern. Further, complainant verified and indicated to Hahn Appliance Center, Inc. that all duct work was clear and that the air flow was unrestricted. Thus, the duct work and restricted air flow conclusion Hahn Appliance Center, Inc. purports could not have possibly been a cause of the subsequent two (2) repair failures. To be sure, prior to February 2014, the dryer worked for over 16 months without issue. Therefore, based on the current facts, Hahn Appliance Center, Inc.'s lackadaisical assertion that the three (3) repair failures are somehow the fault and negligence of complainant is shortsighted and irresponsible.

Clearly, Hahn Appliance Center, Inc. is unable to successfully repair this dryer.

Current Damages:

Repair Parts: $10.34
Repair Charge: $25
Service Diagnostic Charge: $40
Temporary Replacement Dryer (purchased from Hahn Appliance Center, Inc.): $341.77
Three (3) Deliveries: Negotiable
Two (2) Pickups: Negotiable

Complainant will consider this matter successfully closed (and will not seek legal action) upon Hahn Appliance Center, Inc.'s: (1) delivery to complainant of a new dryer which is comparable in year, make and model to the subject dryer, and (2) payment to complainant for the above listed damages.

Final Business Response
Mr. ******'s dryer has been repaired again and has been tested multiple times, as were the earlier repairs. I assure Mr. ****** my suggestions about a restricted vent is not a lackadaisical assertion, Hahn Appliance has had multiple service men examine this dryer and find nothing about the dryer that would cause three high limit switches to fail. Based upon multiple service tech's experience, this is systematic of a restriction, causing the dryer to over heat, which can become a serious hazard. We have gone through this before with customers and we are very sorry to be caught in a situation that is not of our making. Hahn really does try to do the best job possible, but since Mr. ****** is not satisfied,I will refund Mr. ****** the $75.34, which he as paid and ask him to pick up the dryer, which is working.

04/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: New range delivered on Wednesday, March 26, 2014. We plugged in the range and hooked up the gas, the oven will not heat, everything else seems to work
We purchased a Bertazzoni range model # MAS304DFMXE on March 16, 2014, it was delivered on March 26, 2014. We assembled the range and hooked it up to electricity and gas. The oven would not heat, everything else seems to work. We checked the voltage of our outlet and it was fine, still no heat. We called the sales department and Hahn's and a rude gentleman proceeded to inform me it was because we didn't know what we were doing. We received a return phone call late enough in the day that the service department was closed. We have since received numerous calls saying they are ordering parts, etc. but no one has been out to check the range out. We need our range repaired, replaced or refunded, but everyone we talk to just wants to pass blame to someone else.

Initial Business Response
We are very sorry we were unable to repair Mr. ****'s range. We have given Mr **** a full refund.

03/31/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Advertising Complaint Issue

Complaint: Several years ago I purchased appliances from Hahn T.V. & Appliance store. At that time I was a homeowner. Since that time I have moved- sized down to senior living & I no longer need appliances because they are already provided in my new residence. However I can not stop all the soliciting, advertising, & junk mail from Hahns T.V. & Appliance. My complaint is that they must have really reached back into the past to dig up my most recent address. I do not want their laminated copies of junk mail. I have called and asked that they remove my name from their list, however, I still get their mail.

Initial Business Response
I am very sorry for any inconvenience we have caused Ms. *****. We use a mailing service to send out these mailers. They provide the mailing list. We will notify the service and ask them to remove Ms. *****'s name and address from their list.

Thank you
*** *******

02/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: Dishwasher and Range defective. Hahn wants to repair I want the dishwasher replaced. I have had them since October.
9/21/2013 purchase date
************ dishwasher model number
Unsure of range model number its a frigidaire also 5 burner gas range.
Total ticket price for range dishwasher and refrigerator. $2287.57

Initial Business Response
I am very sorry Ms. ******** is having service issues. I contacted my service manager, ***** *****, and was told we had scheduled a service call last week, but Ms. ******** was unavailable and the call was rescheduled to the 14th. We must make a service call to determine exactly what is wrong with a product and normally we are able to repair per the warranty requirements. If we find a service issue that cannot be repaired, we will certainly discuss replacing the product.

*** *******

Final Consumer Response
12/15 I contacted ***** the store manager he told me to shut the power off to my dishwasher. I called back and told him it didn't work. They set me up for service on 1/7/2014. I had the flu and cancelled. The service tech came out 1/14/2014 and was unsure how long it would take since he was repairing my range and dishwasher. I have been without a fully functioning dishwasher since 12/15/2013. I need a working dishwasher and not the poor service and run around your company has been doing since I have contacted them.

Final Business Response
We are scheduled to go out to customers home Tuesday to complete the repair.

10/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of repair

Complaint: Have been without a working refrigerator since June.
I purchased a Whirlpool side by side refrigerator for over $1200 with the extended warranty with my visa check card on April 16, 2013. The ice machine wouldn't work properly then my freezer was getting to cold and the fridge wasn't getting cold enough causing the food to spoil. I placed a service call on June 28th and a technician came out the same day. He advised me he would need to order parts. I called Hahn a week or two later and was advised the parts would take between 8-10 weeks. I placed a complaint with the rep. I also called back on August 5th to place a second complaint. I also asked for the corporate office but the rep just took my info and complaint. Nothing was offered either call, no loaner or replacement for the unusable refrigerator.

Initial Business Response
The refrigerator was replaced with a new unit on the 13th. I thought the customer had contacted you.

Thank you,
***********

Page 1 of 4
07/27/2011Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Appliances - Major - Dealers, Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/05/1970Business started: 01/01/1964
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1983, OK

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lee Sherman (CEO)Mr. Mike Walker (President)
Number of Employees

14

Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers, Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies

Alternate Business Names
Hahn Appliance Warehouse, H&A Appliance Service
Industry Tips
Contracts

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hahn Appliance Center, Inc.

6710 S 105th East Ave

Tulsa, OK 74133-5833

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 6710 S 105th East Ave 

    Tulsa, OK 74133-5833

  • 8160 E 41st St 

    Tulsa, OK 74145-3321

  • 8610 E. 41st Street 

    Tulsa, OK 74145-4547(918) 622-2200

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern Oklahoma. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hahn Appliance Center, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013 for complaints filed on January 15, 2013 and thereafter.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Appliances - Major - Dealers

Contracts
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.