BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/05/2004

The Blind Guys, LLC

Phone: (520) 798-2208

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
02/04/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A while back I had a blind installed for my sliding glass doors. Which is proved to be defective.

So I called the dealer who initially installed the blind his name is ****. He sent someone out to fix the and it was not repaired and I paid the guy $40 for essentially nothing because before I a chance to talk to the guy this dealer sent out he had already left I called the dealer his name is **** and his ph # is XXX-XXX-XXXX I called the guy to see about a refund for what I paid this guy that.

This dealer sent out and he told me that I was getting greedy and he said because he came out and installed a.

Brand new blind that he wouldn't give me a refund for what I paid, my ph. # is XXX-XXX-XXXX
Best regards(see hard copy online)

Desired Settlement
I would just like to get the 40$ back.

Business Response
I received a complaint from my client ***** *** #XXXXXXXX on 1/26/2016 , as soon as I received your email I drove over to speak with Mr. ***** *** and explained to him **at I replaced his $1700.00 Duette Vertiglide for his door after it somehow broke after only 6 months of use . **e Blind guys exsorbed the 50% of the cost and the manufacture paid the other 50% . Essentially he received a brand new Duette Vertiglide which was in a better fabric and was in the newest model then he had previously . I explain to him that the $40.00 that the installer collected was 1/2 our minimum trip charge . I explained to him that was the installer price not the blind guys decision. I explain that I didn't want hime to be unhappy that I would be happy to refund him the $40.00 which I did . Mr ***** is now happy again ,, I would like this complaint to be marked resolved to clients satisfaction and removed from my report and you may contact ***** *** @ XXX-XXX-XXXX

please call me with any question you may have.

Best regards,(see hard copy online)

Consumer Response
Hello ,

** whoever's in charge, I recently filed a complaint against a company called the blind guys and the case # is XXXXXXXX and the dispute i had against the company has been resolved.

Sincerely
Mr. ***** ** *** (see hard copy online)

04/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Received extremely poor customer service through conduct and comments. When I tried to resolve it, I was appalled at the lack of professionalism.
Business advertised a deal on Living Social. Voucher number XXXXXXXXXXXXX,, purchased on January 12, 2014. Voucher was for a window treatment consultation, and $300 to spend on custom window coverings from The Blind Guys. Paid values was $79, with promotional value of $221.
I called and set up an appointment for March 25, 2014 at 1530. On March 24, 2014 I found out I had a mandatory government customer service training (how ironic since I received horrible customer service). So I asked my 18 year old to be at the house in case I ran a few minutes late until to make the appointment. My son was aware of what I wanted which was, blinds for four windows, and if possible valances repaired on two.
My son greet the business owner, and was rudely questioned by him about where his mother was. My son had his phone and went to call me and the owner walked out saying that he wasted two hours of his time coming here. My son finished his call and I asked him to put the owner on the phone, but he said he had already pulled out. I called the number I had called to set up the appointment, and left a message saying I was only five minutes out, and to please call me.
By March 28, 2014 I still never received a call back, so I called again and left another message.
This time I did receive a call back and asked if he was the one who had come out. He said he was, and I asked why he left. He said he was not going to let some kid decide colors who would not even be able to write a check to pay for it. I informed him my son was 18, and kids like my son actually can write checks, and have debit cards. There is also face time on the phone which is used to communicate, but that would not have even been necessary because I was only five minutes away, had he been a little patient or flexible to talk to me to find out. He said he never received my message and that he was tired of Living Social people thinking they were going to get everything for free. Which I let him know that was not my intent, I knew it would cost me money. He told me that our conversation was going nowhere and I should contact Living Social and get my money back. I let him know I would be doing just that.
So after hanging up with him I called Living Social and explained what had happened, they put me on hold and contacted the owner themselves to confirm. Once the representative came back she apologized for my experience and said I would be getting a full refund.
Being a military spouse we move around quite a bit and get exposed to a variety of people, but never once have I been treated or talked to so rudely as this person did personally, or professionally. Being a civilian government employee as well I have never been exposed to someone so unprofessional.
The reason I am writing is because instead of trying to listen and work with the customer, he wanted to be completely rude to me, and tell me how he has such happy clientele. Well I am not happy and would like to make sure that is known.
Any further information or assistance you need I will be more than willing to provide to ensure that nobody else has to go through such an unpleasant experience with this company as I did. This owner definitely could benefit from some customer service training himself.

Desired Settlement
Living Social which I purchased the voucher through already said they would reimburse me after talking to the owner themselves. They apologized to me saying that they were sorry I received such customer service. If possible I would recommend even talking to the Living Social representative I talked to because her tone had changed herself after talking to this owner (one of the things I pick up on which is helpful to pick on as a manager). If he is even rude to the business that he choose to use and advertise with what does that say about him?

Business Response
Im sorry if this client thought I was rude ,,,I think she should consider that If she knew the day before that she was being called to work and WONT make are scheduled appointment time to call me to notify me that there may be a delay and if I would be able to accommodate her or need to reschedule . Instead i drove over an hour to get to her home to get greed by her son ,that at first glance appears 15 . he invited me in and began to show me wood blinds that were many years old and need valances ,then showed another wood blind in the kitchen that need a tilter repaired . I asked when would your mother be home and he said "LATER ,THAT HE DIDNT KNOW WHAT TIME " at that time i informed him that I don't repair blinds that I didn't sell. I don't stock parts of other manufactures Only at this time I gave him my best ADVISE WAS TO CALL LIVING SOCIAL AND GET A FULL REFUND THAT YOU DID NOT LOSS YOUR MONEY . I cant offer the service you expected .She lost no money and didn't have any concerns of my time . I had 2 other appointments that I could have done first and met with her later that evening . Instead it was 2.5 hours of lost time for me ....this makes no business owner happy .

**** ****
owner
The blind guys

Industry Comparison| Chart

Venetian Blinds - Dealers, Window Coverings, Blinds, Shutters

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.