BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/10/2013

Arizona Vac & Sew Center

(520) 790-70413949 E 29th St Ste 710, TucsonAZ 85711-6127

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/10/2013

BBB has determined that Arizona Vac & Sew Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Arizona Vac & Sew Center's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Arizona Vac & Sew Center

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
12/23/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I did not authorize additional charge of Bind in Machine which cost $105.00. The original cost for the service was $59.99 only which I requested.
My husband brought the Pfaff 4874 Creative serger machine in for service on Nov 16th,2013. The service I requested is for tune up and cleaning only which would cost $59.99 as *** (the owner) told me on the phone on the same day.
I also told *** that the machine works great except that it is noisy. On Nov 19th, *** a technician who works there called me about the additional task needed to be done is the Bind in the machine which will cost an extra of $105.01. I told *** not to do this service because it cost too much, I could not afford it. I picked up the machine at the store on Nov 23,2013 and *** demanded the cost of $165. I was not happy with the services because of the extra cost that I did not want them to do and the cleaning service was not done professionally. When I opened the front cover, it still show all the lint and dust in this area. *** and his employee said that the cleaning is done in the inside only. *** said that there was two ladies came yesterday and acted like they did not want to pay for the services. This tells me that the company did not do things as they are supposed to do and turn around charging customers with higher cost. I told *** that I was upset not because I did not want to pay for the service. I do want to pay for the service I asked them to do which is $59.99 and not for the one I did not ask for. I was very upset and ended up paid for the whole cost and took the machine home. I tried to thread my machine last night, two screws which are sitting on both sides of the carrying handles are not screw in at all and the machine still making the same noise at before. This indicated that services are not done properly.
Thanks,
*****

Desired Settlement
Please help me solve this problem and I deserved a full refund because this company did not do it right.

Final Consumer Response
On November 27th, 2013 *** the technician who works for AZ Vac and Sew called me to apologize about my case and said that he has not done any service on my serger machine yet. *** also mentioned that there was a mistake at the store when I came to pick up the machine. Ron told me to either bring the machine back to the store so he could get the service done or get my refund back. I told *** that I did not feel comfortable to bring my machine back to the store any more and requested to have my refund. I stopped by the store on Nov. 29,2013, *** was not there at the time and the cashier paid me in cash $140. The total cost I paid was $165 and there was a $25 deposit charge to my credit card when my husband brought the machine in. The cashier said that the deposit is nonrefundable.
Please disregard my complain because I got a refund for the service which has not been done.
The $25 deposit is just a mistake for me to learn that I should not have any more business done in the future with AZ Vac and Sew.
Thank you so much for your response and concern (see response online). **

Industry Comparison| Chart

Vacuum Cleaners - Household - Dealers, Sewing Instruction, Vacuum Cleaners - Service & Repair, Sewing Machines - Service & Repair

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/01/1981Business started: 04/01/1981New Owner Date: 01/01/2012
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Dena Dority (Owner)Customer Contact: Ms. Carlene Svihl (Business Manager)
Contact Information
Mr. Timothy Dority (Owner)
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Vacuum Cleaners - Household - Dealers, Sewing Instruction, Vacuum Cleaners - Service & Repair, Sewing Machines - Service & Repair

Alternate Business Names
Eagle Wings Quilting LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Arizona Vac & Sew Center

3949 E 29th St Ste 710

Tucson, AZ 85711-6127

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3949 E 29th St Ste 710 

    Tucson, AZ 85711-6127(520) 790-7041

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Arizona. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Arizona Vac & Sew Center is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013 for complaints filed on 05/22/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines.BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints.

X

Industry Tips for Vacuum Cleaners - Household - Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.