BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/24/2012

Mexican Tile & Stone Company

Phone: (520) 622-4352Fax: (520) 624-6622View Additional Phone Numbers1148 E Broadway Blvd, TucsonAZ 85719-5846View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Mexican Tile and Stone Co. is an importer, designer, distributor and retailer of Mexican tile, stone and related tile accessories. Mexican Tile and Stone Co. has two Arizona offices and ships products nationally as well.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/24/2012

BBB has determined that Mexican Tile & Stone Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Mexican Tile & Stone Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Mexican Tile & Stone Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
11/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Twice I was told that a supervisor would contact me by phone to discuss my dispute. After 18 days I still have not been contacted by the company.
On 9/12/14 I purchased some samples at the Tucson location. On 10/4/14 I attempted to return the items but did not due to a discrepancy in the verbal and written agreement. I asked to talk to the supervisor and was told that I would be called. I waited until 10/15/14 but was never contacted by the company. On 10/15/14 I returned the items for credit and asked again to talk with a supervisor to resolve the dispute. I was told I would be contacted within 2 to 3 days. It is now 1 week later and have not been contacted by the company.

Desired Settlement
As well as a refund, I would like to be contacted by a supervisor as I was promised twice by the employee.

Business Response
Attached is the appropriate paperwork to show the return to Ms. ********** account was made.
Even though she signed off on our return policy, ******* was seeking approval for her return
of funds instead of a strore credit. Ms. ******* filed her complaint before ******* received
approval of the return.
I hope this clears and closes this matter and shows that Mexican Tile and Stone did not do anything out of the ordinary, nor something to lower our rating.
Sincerely:
*** *******
Mexican Tile and Stone Co.
XXX-XXX-XXXX
(see hard copy online and

Industry Comparison| Chart

Tile - Ceramic - Manufacturers & Distributors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/05/2005Business started: 01/01/1993
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Registrar of Contractors
400 W Congress St STE 212
Tucson, AZ 85701
(520) 628-6345
http://www.azroc.gov

BBB records show a license number of 113009 for this company, issued by Arizona Registrar of Contractors. Their web address is http://www.azroc.gov. The expiration date of this license is 03/31/2017.

Type: Contractors

Check License Status: http://win.azroc.gov/forms/details.asp?license=113009

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1995, AZ

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Fortuna (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Karen Bruno (Acct Manager)Mrs Terri Fortuna (Phx Off Mgr)Ms. Shannon Orth (Design & Sales)
Number of Employees

12

Business Category

Tile - Ceramic - Manufacturers & Distributors

Products & Services

Sales, Design, Product Specifications and installation referrals.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 04:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 04:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 04:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 04:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 04:00 PMSat: 10:00 AM to 02:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

Special order items along with setting material, sealing material and Saltillo tile are not returnable. All other items may be inspected for return and/or exchange with 30 days of the original purchase date providing the original receipt is retained. All accepted returns will be honored for STORE CREDIT only. The customer also accepts responsibility for all freight and restocking fees (25%).

Service Area

Casa Grande, Tucson metro and Southern Arizona

Alternate Business Names
Joe Fortuna Floor Finishing and Restoration, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mexican Tile & Stone Company has received 3.68 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Mexican Tile & Stone Company

1148 E Broadway Blvd

Tucson, AZ 85719-5846

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1148 E Broadway Blvd 

    Tucson, AZ 85719-5846(520) 622-4352
    (602) 954-6272
    Fax: (520) 624-6622
    Fax: (520) 624-6622

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Arizona. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mexican Tile & Stone Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (602) 954-6272
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013 for complaints filed on 05/22/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines.BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints.

X

Industry Tips for Tile - Ceramic - Manufacturers & Distributors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.