BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1999

Valley Oasis Pools & Spas Construction Co., Inc.

Phone: (520) 293-5818Fax: (520) 293-5901View Additional Phone Numbers3321 N Freeway Rd, TucsonAZ 85705-5015



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1999

BBB has determined that Valley Oasis Pools & Spas Construction Co., Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Valley Oasis Pools & Spas Construction Co., Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Valley Oasis Pools & Spas Construction Co., Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
01/07/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
was never given an estimate, entered property, replaced a part without permission. removed replaced part without permission. billed for labor.
*** ******** said he would come look at the spa and give us an estimate on how much it would cost to repair it. I never received an estimate. I called and emaile with no response. We came home from work one day and a motor had been put in and the spa was filled with water. it was left running and somehow the heater blew out. I was then told we needed a new heater at an additional cost. we said no we did not want to put $1000 into an 11 year old spa. Weeks later, we came home and the ground was covered with water, and the motor that was put in, was gone.

I received a bill for the labor of the first part for the unauthorized repair $190.00, and the second part of the bill was also for labor for the unauthorized removal of the motor also $190.

Desired Settlement
a zero balance.

Final Consumer Response
I heard from the owner of the company and he HAS informed me to disregard the bill. His office personnel made an error. Can you please close this case? thank you.

******

06/04/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I contacted this company for an estimate, paid for an estimate, and never received an estimate, so I stopped payment on the check.
I contacted Valley Oasis Pools & Spas Co. in early April 2014 in order to obtain an estimate for the correction/repair of items noted during a pool inspection on a home we recently purchased. I explained in great detail each inspection item one by one and that I did not need the items re-inspected, I needed a second estimate in order to compare prices with what the original inspector quoted. Such items included repairing the manual relief air valve assembly and jandy valves, replacing the skimmer, installing a manual fill valve, and reestablishing the correct water chemistry. I was told that the estimate would cost $95 and that amount would be put towards any work Valley Oasis Pools & Spas Co performed.

I met with a representative on April 16th. He already had the detailed list I provided over the phone when scheduling the estimate. He looked at each item and even took measurements. I requested that the estimate be broken out item by item and he indicated he would do his best to break them out for me. I provided the representative with a $95 check made payable to Valley Oasis Pools & Spas Co. I confirmed my email address and I was told I would receive my estimate within a week.

A couple of days later I was contacted by a different pool company. I asked how they got my number and they said Valley Oasis Pools & Spas Co had given them my number in order to go out to my home and provide an estimate for some inspection items. I asked what his company charged for an estimate and he said it is free. I asked if the $95 I already paid Valley Oasis Pools & Spas Co for the estimate would go towards his work, he said no, the two companies are not related in any way. Valley Oasis Pools & Spas Co simply refers customers to them when they are unable to provide services.

I contacted Valley Oasis Pools & Spas Co and asked them what was going on and the representative said the inspection items I requested estimates for weren't services they provide. Really? Then why didn't they tell me that when I scheduled the estimate, or at the very least, before they sent a representative out? I was very specific when scheduling the estimate what the items were and the representative that came out already had the detailed list as well. I told the representative on the phone, I had no problem with paying $95 for an estimate, but I flat out will not pay $95 to be referred to another company. I went directly to the bank and put a stop payment on the check due to no services being rendered.

To this date, I have received 2 invoices. One for $95 and one for $95 plus $40 a return check fee and I have never received an estimate from Valley Oasis Pools & Spas Co. I am not paying for nor do I owe for services never rendered.

Desired Settlement
I simply do not want to be charged for services that were not rendered. I spent $35 of my own money (just out of principal) to cancel that $95 check and that is more than what I should have had to pay for not receiving any services from Valley Oasis Pools & Spas Co.

Business Response
I, ******** *******, spoke with ******* ****** on Monday May 19, 2014. Together we resolved the issue pertaining to our service charges. The problem was due to lack of communication between both parties and we have come to the conclusion that no further action is needed (see business response online)

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

10/04/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
RE: Invoice XXXXXXThe Invoice XXXXXX for a service call to diagnose heater issues is incorrect. I do not owe these charges. Here is the history of this transaction.On July the 19th, I called Valley Oasis Service to inquire on the cost of replacing a spa heater. I talked with customer service person that answered the phone and I talked with the technician, ***** I explained specifically that I did not need the problem diagnosed because that had already been done. What I needed is to compare prices for replacement purchase and installation of a Pentair 400 BTU heater. **** told me he would have to come out and see the job. I then asked if it would be a free estimate and he said yes. He then transferred me back to the customer service person. I scheduled for the 1st appointment on the next Monday, July the 22nd and asked when the technician started. She said 7 am. On Monday at 9 am no one had shown for the estimate so I called the office. She said the technician was just getting started and he would come over. He did show up but said he was in a very big rush and just stayed a few minutes to quickly look at the set-up. There was not any diagnosis performed. He said he would get back to me on a price. During the dates from July 24th to July the 30th, I called Valley Oasis Service 2 times inquiring about the promised bid and was told by the customer service representatives that someone would get back to me. They never did. I finally gave up and went with another service provider that did give me a bid. To this date, I have never received a bid from Valley Oasis Service. In addition, even if there was a misunderstanding on diagnosing the heater, I have never received a diagnosis. I am not paying for nor do I owe for services never ordered or rendered. ***** *** ********* Better Business Bureau
Product_Or_Service: Request for Estimate

Desired Settlement
To have the invoice removed, I was told I would be getting a free estimate and I did not. And to inform the BBB.

Business Response
Our owner ******** ******* spoke to Mrs. ****** and apologized for our service coordinators error and has given Mrs. ****** her personal cell to call with any other pool issues that arise in the future for free immediate service calls. The bill was not meant for Mrs. ******, it was for another client with a very similar last name. (see hard copy online) IG

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

09/23/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unsatisfied with the pool/service build Valley Oasis did. Owner ******** blantantly dispresctful to customers&always promises stuff without completion
While building the pool they made appointments to be here at specific times they wouldn't show or call and weeks went by before actually came. We called and ******** informed us she was sick of hearing from us. We explained to her when you tell a customer something and time was taken to be at the house and then no show no call is not very professional. This happened numerous times and she acted like she didn't care because she was getting her money one way or another. The water fall has concrete coming out, the salt concrete finish looks terrible color isn't consistent as if it wasn't mixed long enough, not to mention it isn't level, the project manager even took pictures of it. There were cracks in drain that we told the project manager before job was completed and water added we were told it would be taken care of and it was never fixed. Therefore the pool already has water and would have to be drained to fix. Inside the pool, the peeble sheen which is suppose to be smoother than peeble tech however, it is really rough on the stairs and a few spots on the bottom of the pool and has pitting and chunks missing; as if they didn't take the time to make sure it was done properly and just rushed through. Steve the sales guy told us that they would only bring enough tiles and concrete for the exact job; well we have about 5 tiles leftover and they dumped like 2 wheel barrels of concrete on the side of our house and buried it, so apparently we didn't even get the full size of pool we should have, although we paid for all of that concrete they dumped. Additionally,the problem with when it rains and it floods into the pool. ******** the owner promised that she would be by to check out the pool back in July she was suppose to come by to look at the pool on thursday the 28th of July, once again no call and no show. Didn't hear from her again till Aug 5th and she tried to say she went to the wrong house at which time she stated someone would be here on the 10th to take care of the problem with the muddy water coming into the pool when raining. to possibly put a drain in; again no call no show. Since then I have called numerous times to the office and was told she was in a meeting or she would call right back we still have yet to hear from her. ******** refuses to answer the phone or call back. This is completely ridiculous! The amount of money we spent to have a pool and such a terrible experience!!This should have been a pleasant experience and not the feeling of what happens if something big happens with our pool; especially since we are unable to get anywhere with this company now. We have tried to dealed with them on a business/personal level and they aren't willing to take care of anything nor even return a phone call. Another problem is that when building the pool they buried concrete and garbage in the yard and while doing some landscaping it was all there burried for us to remove. they should have taken the debris from the yard not half assing it and burying the debris completely unacceptable.
The job they did was definitely not worth the $37000 nor was the experience of it all. They made us sign the papers and took a picture of the pool so they could get paid, where did that leave us even though we weren't happy. They definitely feel like they are a shady, fly by night company.

Desired Settlement
We would like a partial refund $7500 for all the trouble and all the complications with our pool as well as us having to contract another company to have a drain installed due to dirty overflowing into the pool. We also want the waterfall concrete fixed, the decking colored fixed and it level with the patio, the pebble sheen to be smooth just like it is suppose to be. cracks fixed in the drain as explained to the project manager previously and the rest of debris cleaned up. Also if it requires draining and refilling they can provide the cost of that as well. We also have pictures that we can provide you.

Business Response
Valley Oasis Pools and Spas
Re: Claim #XXXXXXXX
September 9, 2016

While it is always disappointing to receive a complaint from a customer, we are especially saddened by the feelings of this particular customer. Valley Oasis has been in business for 18 years and we have consistently had an A or A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau; therefore, being referred to as a "fly by night company" is particularly hurtful.
Since receiving this complaint we have been in contact with the homeowner and on September 8, 2016, we conducted a meeting at the homeowner's property to address the issues listed in this complaint. Upon completion of all of our pools we provide a final walk through to ensure that the client knows how to use and maintain their pool and with the client, we write up a punch list of any items that need to be repaired or addressed. At our final walk through there were three items that needed to be dealt with. The things listed here were not on the final punch list, but we are doing everything we can to remedy the issues. Had any of these issues been on our original punch list they would have been addressed immediately.
One of the complaints is about drainage of the yard around the pool. Per code, pool companies are required to make sure the deck slopes away from the pool, which it does. The drainage of the backyard is not the responsibility of the pool company; however, we are scheduled to install two area drains on the side and rear of pool in order to assist the rain water being removed from the backyard.
The homeowner pointed out a small missing piece of grout at the bottom of the waterfall. That will also be repaired before September 16, 2016.
Concrete is a custom mixed and hand troweled product, therefore, there is an expectation that the product will have some mottling throughout. This particular deck has more mottling than usual, so we are offering the homeowner an upgraded deck topping called Excel Deck. This topping is an acrylic coating that is applied in a lace texture and carries a five year warranty instead of the two year warranty that is now on the salt finished concrete. There are various color options that the homeowner would be able to choose from. Due to the necessity of sloping in the concrete decks, there is a slight elevation difference at one end of the connection to the patio. The difference is about a 1/4" raise above were the strip of deco drain meets the existing patio. That will also be fixed before September 16, 2016.
Upon inspection of the interior Pebble Sheen, no visible problems are apparent, but the homeowner says you have to be in the pool and feel around with your hands to find a few rougher spots on the stairs. This is product combines cement with natural rock pebbles and is hand troweled in application, so there will always be some inconsistencies in the texture due to the application and the variation of natural pebbles. We will however have the licensed installer inspect the interior finish to determine the best way to address this.
In regards to the extra materials, it is common practice for us to order extra tile for the pool. We do this for two reasons. First, we need to make sure that we have enough tile on the job site in order to complete the project without requiring an additional order of tile. The tile is a ceramic tile and it is not unusual for tiles to break during transport from the manufacturing company to the distributor to the job site; hence, we order extra to ensure that we have enough to complete the job. The second reason for ordering extra tile is to leave a few extra pieces for the homeowner. We do this so that the homeowner has extra tile pieces in case a pool tile needed to be replaced or the homeowner wanted to match the tile to install it on a BBQ or fire pit. Ordering a new batch of tile means that there is a new die lot and the likelihood of the tiles matching is very low. We also order more than enough concrete for the shotcrete and decking stages. If there was a shortage of material during these critical phases, it would spell disaster for the structural integrity and finish of the products. We follow structural engineering plans for the pool and installing the excess shotcrete in the pool would deviate from the specified thickness of the shotcrete. It would also result in a smaller pool due to the fact that the shotcrete is shot in against the dirt hole that is dug out for the pool which means that extra shotcrete would encroach into the pool itself. The excess concrete from the shotcrete is emptied into a plastic "kiddie pool" and removed from the job site once dry. The excess concrete from the decking stage is generally contained to a small area of the yard and removed when we complete our final cleanup of the yard. These extra materials do not by any means relate to the quality or size of the pool and are actually very small amounts in relation to the overall size of the job. We give a lifetime warranty on the structure of the pool itself so we do not want to cut any corners or short the materials in any way.
As for the buried construction debris, when we have our crew on site for the installation of the two area drains, we will attempt to find any buried concrete that was left on site. As stated above, the excess shotcrete materials are contained in a plastic tub, so there should not be any shotcrete materials buried in the yard. The decking phase of the project occurs after the plumbing trenches have been filled and the ground has been compacted and prepared for the decking itself. We would be very surprised if there was concrete from the decking stage buried.
Upon walk through with the homeowner on September 8, 2016, no visible damage was seen on the main drain of the pool, but we will have it inspected when the Pebble Sheen is inspected and it will be replaced it if it is cracked. If draining the pool is required, we will reimburse the client for the cost of water to refill the pool.
The day the pool was painted on the ground the homeowner called to complain about the size of the pool and requested that his pool be made bigger. We modified design, increased the size of the pool, and charged far less than what he had been previously quoted for a larger pool. The homeowner then asked if there would be extra tiles and concrete that we could bring to make his pool even bigger for no charge. The homeowner was told that this wasn't possible due the engineering of the in-floor cleaning system and the permitting of the pool.
Our scheduling office tracks all communication with the clients. We have a card system we use to track pools during construction and this homeowner had more than twice the amount of communication we have with most pool builds, so we feel that we did everything we could to keep the customer abreast of the schedule.
Valley Oasis will remedy any items that are actually incorrect with the pool and after the on-site meeting with the homeowner, we have provided a schedule for these items to the addressed; therefore, no refund will be issued to the client.

07/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Valley Oasis Pools will not honor any warranties they make on their product
I purchased my pool from Valley Oasis Pools, and Spas in 2008 and the pool was completed in 2009. The purchase included a 10 year Pebble Tec warrantee. Since the installation, we consistently find large cracks in the pools Pebble Tec. Each time we discovered the crack we contact the service department. They send someone to fill the crack. Because the repair is not properly addressed the crack reappears within 9-12 months later. In Jan 2015, we contacted Valley Oasis again to repair the same crack that has reappeared for a 4th time. They notified us that it was too cold to make the repair. In March 2015, we contacted them again. After leaving 8 unreturned messages between March and April, we received a response that ********, the owner, would take a look at the crack to determine the proper way to resolve the reoccurring issue. On April 24th, she visited our property to inspect the crack. Unfortunately, we were not able to be at home during the time she was available. Throughout May and June, we have left 6 more unreturned messages requesting a resolution. As of today, we have not received a response informing us of any actions Valley Oasis will be taking to repair properly the repeatedly cracking Pebble Tec, which they warranted.

Desired Settlement
The settlement requested is for the company to: make the repair properly, so the Pebble Tec does not continually crack.

Business Response
The ******'s pool was completed on 1/26/09. We were notified of the crack on 11/5/10. Meadows Plastering repaired crack on 11/19/10. The crack is in the rolled bond beam next to a rock. We received a call from **** ****** on 1/14/15 and at that time ******** ******* our owner told **** when the weather warms we would come back out and look at the crack. On 4/24/15 ******** visited the yard and left **** a message to call her while still in the yard. **** called again in May but **** was busy at the time and was going to call her back. **** called and left **** a message on 5/27/15. ******** returned his call the same day and left another message. **** called back on 6/3/15 and left a message again ******** called back the same day and left another message. Obviously this phone tag was getting frustrating for everyone. We fully intend to repair the crack even though its not under warranty. We had an appointment to do the repair as of this morning on 7/10/15 and the ******'s have had to cancel that appointment and need to reschedule. We will be working to set another appointment to do the repair at the convenience of the ******'s.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Swimming Pools - Private, Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair, Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers, Swimming Pool Service & Repair, Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies, Landscape Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/18/1999Business started: 03/31/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Registrar of Contractors
400 W Congress St STE 212
Tucson, AZ 85701
(520) 628-6345
http://www.azroc.gov

BBB records show a license number of 146643 for this company, issued by Arizona Registrar of Contractors. Their web address is http://www.azroc.gov.

Type: Contractors

Check License Status: http://www.azroc.gov/forms/details.asp?license=146643

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 251077 for this company, issued by Arizona Registrar of Contractors. Their web address is http://www.azroc.gov. The expiration date of this license is 12/31/2016.

Type: Contractors

Check License Status: http://www.azroc.gov/forms/details.asp?license=251077

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 139068 for this company, issued by Arizona Registrar of Contractors. Their web address is http://www.azroc.gov.

Type: Contractors

Check License Status: http://www.azroc.gov/forms/details.asp?license=139068

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 1998, AZ

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kathleen Spacone (President)Mr. Thomas Dolan (Vice President)
Number of Employees

25

Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Swimming Pools - Private, Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair, Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers, Swimming Pool Service & Repair, Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies, Landscape Contractors

Products & Services

This company offers swimming pool and spa construction and landscaping.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Valley Oasis Pools & Spas Construction Co., Inc.

3321 N Freeway Rd

Tucson, AZ 85705-5015

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3321 N Freeway Rd 

    Tucson, AZ 85705-5015(520) 293-5818
    (800) 987-1181
    (520) 603-1644
    Fax: (520) 293-5901

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Arizona. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Valley Oasis Pools & Spas Construction Co., Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 987-1181
  • (520) 603-1644
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013 for complaints filed on 05/22/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines.BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints.

X

Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.