BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/26/2012

Lyons Roofing

(520) 300-5353View Additional Phone Numbers895 W Grant Rd., TucsonAZ 85705View Additional Email AddressesView Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/26/2012

BBB has determined that Lyons Roofing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Lyons Roofing's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Lyons Roofing

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
08/05/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Roofers destroyed my pool's solar system
I have sent several photos and other documentation (solar pool inspection and Job Invoice) to Lyons Roofing clearly indicating the destruction of my pool solar system, while they made "repairs" a few years ago. After the roofing was done we noticed the pool temperature was cold. At this time my husband, ****, was diagnosed with small cell lung cancer, and obviously our attention went elsewhere. After my husband died, I never used the pool until this season. It cost me $490 to replace/repair the solar issues.
I have made several attempts to amiably resolve this with Lyon's Roofing.The photos taken by **** were self explanatory.Finally,****,the owner of this roofing company responded with his refusal to take responsibility and claimed the wind flipped over the panels and kinked the pipes. When I wrote **** about this his response was that he never, in his ten years of business, saw or knew of wind issues as the culprit causing such damage. And even if this occurred, it would only be if the roofers did not properly re-install the system. On his inspection invoice he wrote: "...Found 10 circular pool collectors on roof horribly laid out from re-roof; one collector on top of another, with at least 4 tubes badly kinked; needs kinks repaired and tubing re-run; also found at least one roof issue." Lyons Roofing even spoke to **** who relayed the same information.
Will I have the opportunity to send all the photos and documentation to BBB?

Desired Settlement
I believe Lyons Roofing should reimburse the $490.00 it cost for me to repair their horrific careless damage. I also feel they should apologize for attempting to fool a female senior citizen.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ******, VP sales
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@lyonsroofing.com
After reviewing additional information not previously reviewed, it appears we were at error. We have already mended the relationship with Ms. ******* and will be reimbursing her for the costs she incurred. Below is an email Ms. ******* sent to you recanting her complaint.

Hello,
After filing my complaint Lyon's Roofing reviewed my position again, and agreed that they were responsible. They are now offering to pay for the repairs that were necessary to my solar system. I appreciate their willingness to apologize, and in the manner it was presented to me. Please withdraw my complaint.
Thank you,
***** *******

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/09/2012Business started: 09/01/1993Business started locally: 12/13/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Registrar of Contractors
400 W Congress St STE 212
Tucson, AZ 85701
(520) 628-6345
http://www.azroc.gov

BBB records show a license number of 205554 for this company, issued by Arizona Registrar of Contractors. Their web address is http://www.azroc.gov. The expiration date of this license is 03/31/2017.

Type: Contractors

Check License Status: http://www.azroc.gov/forms/details.asp?license=205554

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 2004, AZ

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Blackmon (Branch Manager)Customer Contact: Ms. Ann Pepper (Director of Business Development)Mr. Paul LaNue (President)Ms. Rhonda LaNue (Vice President)Ms. Katherine Warwick (Sales Specialist)
Number of Employees

8

Business Category

Roofing Contractors

Alternate Business Names
LR Acquisitions, Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Lyons Roofing has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Lyons Roofing

895 W Grant Rd.

Tucson, AZ 85705

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 895 W Grant Rd. 

    Tucson, AZ 85705(520) 300-5353

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Arizona. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Lyons Roofing is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (602) 276-5515
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013 for complaints filed on 05/22/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines.BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.