BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/28/2011

Hallmark Builders Inc

Find a Location

Phone: (520) 297-0995Fax: (520) 219-37727925 N Oracle Rd Ste 119, TucsonAZ 85704

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

HALLMARK ROOFING PROVIDES ALL YOUR ROOFING MAINTANANCE NEEDS ON TILE, SHINGLE AND FLAT ROOF-TOPS.IT IS OUR GOAL TO PROVIDE OUR CUSTOMERS WITH THE MOST ECONOMICAL SOLUTION TO THEIR ROOFING ISSUES.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/28/2011

BBB has determined that Hallmark Builders Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Hallmark Builders Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Hallmark Builders Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
04/29/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
repair work done on my roof prior to purchase and after. have contract with them, will not come out and finish the job
have make several calls, sent emails(with pictures)to them to have them come out and review the repair job. They always say they will come out never call or show up. The repair is an easy fix but I will not repair it myself because I am afraid they will void my contract.

I have a large hole in my ceiling where the leak began and every time it rains it leaks. I call for repair service and am told that they will get back to me asap which is 1 1/2 weeks.

they did come and do a patch job and covered up the copper wire that runs my cooler and they sealed up the vent area so I can not even turn my cooler on. The owner is aware of this.

Desired Settlement
. It is not fixed the correct way and I want it repaired correctly. I am tired of the run around, they have a binding contract they are responsible!

Business Response
The work was done on Oct 18 2014. Received a call from boyfriend/husband saying work not satisfactory Oct 24. Sent **** ****/field supervisor on the 26th. He did some touch up. Signed off on the entire project. Got another call from bf/husband on Oct 28 saying that patching materials used were unacceptable. I personally inspected the roof on Oct 29 th. Also found it acceptable. Received call on Dec 16 for leak under COOLER. Dispatched ***** ******* Dec 18. He did not find anything on the roof, but as a precautionary measure installed additional reinforcement around the cooler. He also thought the cooler is the problem.
Got another call from Bf/husb on Jan 7 for a leak,again, under the cooler. He informed me that he had cut a hole in the drywall under the cooler inside the house so we could see better. I met him a few days later. Entered the house and inspected with an infrared camera. It clearly shows the cooler is the issue. Further, He and I together, flooded the roof ONLY, it did not leak. He apologized for wasting my time. I suggested covering or replacing the cooler. In Feb they called and sent pics saying that we sealed the cooler and could not get the damper out.. I dispatched ***** ********* on 2/18 to cut it out. It was not sealed by us. There were SCREWS in it!
Clearly we are not giving them "the run around" we have done everything we can. Our warranty specifically says that we are not responsible for leaks under coolers and ac units. To date Hallmark has been to that house six times for something this is not our responsiblity.That cooler is a 25 year old rust bucket.
If they have that cooler pulled we will happily come out at no charge and re roof the area around the rusted out vents.
*** ****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I agree you have come and fixed areas of concern. I understand that the leak maybe from under the cooler. My complaint is that between 10/24 and 2/18 your company did repair work on the roof. You painted the area around the cooler as well as the cooler itself. I have an email from ****** on 2/18/15 stating that ******* actually did go out yesterday from 11:30-12:30, ( I just checked his tracker) and according to my boss ******* torched completely around a/c then painted. Should be water tight."
After I received the call I checked out the roof and I was concerned because there was white painted protection on the cooper wire and around the damper. I called and spoke to ***** and said I had photos of what I was talking about, I was asked if I could send them so they could see. I sent an email on 2/23/15. Here is the email (the repair work that was done and you can see where he used the white protection stuff and how it is on the wires and cooler damper. I still have a large hole in my hallway because of the damage caused by the rains. I am not sure of the roof will not leak anymore. I have called more than I can count with regards to my roof. the owner came over and even called me regarding the roof. I would like him to come over again and give me his approval of the work that has been done, so I can repair my ceiling. please let me know what time and when. thanks

I just wanted to make sure that the roof is fine and since YOUR company has my contract I wanted to verify everything with you so I would not be in default because of something I removed. I did not know the damper was screwed in? I didn't even know you were at my house and removed the white paint from the cooper wire, because you never called or sent an email! Communication is not that great.

The only rust on the cooler is where the cooler sits on the legs. It is not 25 years old and not a rust bucket. I am offended that you would even say that to one of your customers! I haven't not been rude to you but that was an unfair statement.

I am having a repair man come and look at the cooler, I would like to have the area re roofed once this is done per your offer. Thank you


Final Business Response
We'll be happy to come out and make the repairs under your cooler area once as needed once it has been removed. Please let us know.

10/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company is not specific about what work was done to my roof for which I was charged $450.
The company came and did and performed an inspection of my roof. A proposal of needed work was written and signed by me. The repairman came and, I can only assume, did the work that needed to be done. A receipt was sent after payment stating that the work had been done per the proposal. Here is the proposal:

"Seal vents, pipes and protrusions as needed with Elastek Crack and Joint Sealant. Repair/seal valley flashing as needed. Weather seal mortar joints and mud balls as needed. Seal nail heads as needed. Reset/secure slipped tiles as needed. Replace broken tiles as needed (5 Flat grey). "

Pretty vague!

"AS NEEDED" doesn't tell me if it was in fact needed. For All I know the guy just walked around my roof for 45 min and sent me a bill for $450.

So I called and spoke to ******* to ask if I could have a receipt that specified exactly what work was done to my house, not one that speaks in generalities like "fixed some stuff on your roof AS NEEDED"

******* proceeds to talk down to me in a very demeaning tone demanding to know how it is that I am incapable of understanding the proposal. and that if I didn't understand it that I shouldn't have signed it.

I explained to ******* that I Understand the proposal perfectly. What I don't understand is exactly what work was performed on my house.

She snapped back at me "exactly what was written in the proposal"

So I tell her again that the proposal speaks in general terms like "AS NEEDED" not specifics. I asked her "was any work needed?" I tried to give her the example of taking a car to the mechanic. If he gave you a bill that said "Replaced some stuff as needed, here is your bill for $1000.00", you would want to know what stuff needed replacing. What exactly did the mechanic do to your car.

She asks what Do I want her to do.

I responded that I want a receipt that is specific about what actually was needed on my roof and specifically what work was done. "AS needed" does not tell me either one of those things.

Then she decides to gets smart *** with me and tell me she can't do that because she is no the one who did the work.

Really?. No kidding *******. This woman is a real piece of work.

I asked her to find the employee who did do the work and get the information from him.

She responded that she would try.

Really? You'll try?

.

Desired Settlement
I would like a receipt that is specific about exactly what work was done to my roof. Not one that says "WORK HAS BEEN COMPLETED 8/26/14 PER PROPOSAL DATED 8/13/14."

Because as I have already stated, the proposal says that work will be done "AS NEEDED". That does not tell me if any work is in fact needed or what work was actually accomplished.

"we're going to do some stuff to your roof if it is needed", does not tell me what in fact you did do to my roof and charged me $450 for.

Furthermore when I call in and make a simple request like this I don't wish to be treated like dirt from a snarky, smart *** secretary.

Business Response
I spoke with Mr. ****** this morning and told him I would be happy to provide him with another invoice later today. He was very upset and continue to raise his voice. I tried to find out if he was having any problems with his roof. He stated no. I guess my concern is, why are there questions/ demands about our invoice now ? It was sent to him over 2 weeks ago.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No I do not accept the response from Hallmark Roofing. And no, ******* did not tell me that she would be happy to provide me with another invoice today. She told me everything but that in her snarky little way. People don't get upset and contact the BBB when you tell them you will be happy to send another invoice. Nice try though.

Actually our conversation ended with ******* saying "Well I'll try"

I'm sorry, but I didn't "TRY" to pay the bill. I DID pay the bill.

By the way, it is now 5:45 PM and no new invoice detailing what work was done to my house has been sent to me. Imagine that.

My paid receipt arrived on Monday September 8th. It's still in my inbox. I am a very busy person with a wife and four kids. I just got around to contacting Hallmark this morning. I called to make a simple request to know what work was done to my house. No tricks. Nothing up my sleeve. Not trying to dispute the bill. Roof is not leaking. I like to keep record of the work done on my house. It's a simple and reasonable request and all I have gotten is grief from these people ever since.

When I get a receipt from them detailing the work done to my roof, the response will be accepted. Not until.

Final Business Response
The customer had a proposal for the exact services that we provided. He authorized it. The technician had it in hand when the work was done. THAT is what was done. The invoice is a bill for the exact same thing.
He had and paid the invoice two weeks prior and never asked any questions. Why now? A "rewritten" invoice will say exactly what it does now. "repaired roof per signed proposal".
He is as I understand it asking exactly what "vents, protrusions and mortar joints" were sealed.
It is not possible a month later for the technicians to remember this. We do 130 of those per month, and, look at 75 roofs per day.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No, again this response is not acceptable. As I have already stated, an acceptable response will be when the company provides me with a receipt that details the work performed on my house. Not one that speaks in generalities about something that might or might not need to be done to my roof, but one that tells me what ACTUALLY WAS DONE to my roof.

The company's very first sentence, "The customer had a proposal for the exact services that we provided" is a falsehood.

Here once again is the direct quote from their proposal:

"Seal vents, pipes and protrusions as needed with Elastek Crack and Joint Sealant. Repair/seal valley flashing as needed. Weather seal mortar joints and mud balls as needed. Seal nail heads as needed. Reset/secure slipped tiles as needed. Replace broken tiles as needed (5 Flat grey)."

"AS NEEDED" Does not tell me if in fact is WAS NEEDED or not and is not a statement of "exact services that we provided" as the company seems to think. Furthermore it talks about repairing valleys. There are no valleys on my roof. It is shaped like a pyramid with four peaks converging at the top in the middle of my roof. Which pipes needed sealing, if any and which ones do I need to keep an eye on? Where were these "Slipped tiled" if any, and do I need to keep an eye on those? . . . and so on and so on.


Fellow consumers, this company's final statement in their latest response is probably the most telling of all. They state "It is not possible a month later for the technicians to remember this. We do 130 of those per month, and, look at 75 roofs per day."

Well, no kidding. That's why it's supposed to be WRITTEN DOWN ON A WORK ORDER.

They clearly have no no intention of honoring any warranty and will simply respond to you that they just can't remember what work they did on your house because it's been over a month. Apparently this company just commits all of their work to memory and never writes it down.

I suppose next they will claim that all of their computer hard drives mysteriously crashed and all of the data is lost. A La Lois Learner.

Seriously people, how hard is it to tell a customer who has paid you $450, what work, if any, was actually accomplished, and where on the roof it was accomplished.

If you are in need of repairs to your roof, please read the responses from this company very carefully and understand that you, the customer, will not be treated with respect or dignity, but talked down to as if YOU are the problem. This company is a real piece of work. STAY AWAY. you have been duly warned.

08/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company made verbal offer to me and to realtor (two conversations) to provide a whole-roof warranty for the repairs specified. Now demands Addtl $200
Company performed pre-purchase inspection of roof prior to my purchase of a home. Company principal ******** then reviewed his findings with my realtor on *** 17, 2014, and verbally offered to extend a no-leak warranty to the entire roof if repairs were performed. I then spoke with ******** on *** 18, we also reviewed his report and proposal, and he reiterated that he would extend a no-leak warranty to the entire roof if he was selected to make the repairs. I purchased the home, contracted them to do the repairs, which were completed this morning, July 9, 2014. Company sent their invoice explicitly limiting their warranty to the areas repaired. I called the discrepancy to their attention (***** ********, a relative of Mr, ****), and they refused to honor it because it was not in writing. Two separate individuals had the same offer stated to them - my realtor ***** ******* and myself.

Desired Settlement
I offerred two alternatives that I believe are reasonable, based upon the company's statement that the whole-roof warranty was valued at $200 - the additional amount they wished to charge me to honor the warranty:

Provide a $200 discount to the contract to reflect the omission of the warranty

or

Honor the verbal commitment made to ***** ******* and to myself.

I would also appreciate it if they would not threaten me again with a lien on my property as I attempt to resolve this with them in good faith.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***************@hallamrkbuilders.net
This is a copy of the recent email that was sent over to the complaint on 7/10/2014.

Dear Sir,

Services have been completed per the agreed upon proposal and payment is now due.

The proposal that was agreed upon was dated 5/17/2014. You and your representative have had over 50 days to review the proposal, ask any questions about what services would be preformed and what our warranty would cover.
There has not been any concerns stated by you or your representative about our workmanship as to why this invoice should not be paid. In fact, this is a quote from you " Thank you very much for the prompt and professional service".
As a courtesy, I am informing you that if you refuse to remit payment by close of business 7/11/2014 a pre-lien will be placed on you property.
Payment can be made on our website www.hallmark-roofing.com.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The contractor's response totally ignores the substance of my complaint, and is in fact a copy/paste from an email that was previously sent to me as I attempted in good faith to seek some resolution to this dispute. Contractor references a 'proposal that was agreed upon', but there is no such thing. There is no signed proposal, only a "Roof Repair Contract" that was prepared for the former owner as the deliverable for the inspection she had Hallmark perform on May 16, 2014. On May 17, Contractor revisited the property to review his inspection with my realtor and at that time he expressed confidence in the integrity of the roof post his repairs, so much so that he offered to extend a 'no leak warranty' to the entire roof, and not just the areas he repaired. A sworn and notarized ***** by another licensed professional (my realtor ***** *******) attesting to this conversation is being provided with this response. Ms ******* sent me the email previously referenced discussing her conversation with Mr ****, including Mr ****'s mobile number, and Mr. **** agreed to review the results of the inspection he performed for the prior owner with me. The following day, (Sunday May 18) I did speak with Mr **** and he reiterated his confidence in the condition of the roof, and once again offered to me to extend a 'no-leak warranty' to the entire roof, projecting his confidence. I thanked him for taking his time on a Sunday, and continued to negotiate the purchase of my home. Roughly 30 days later we did close on the purchase, and shortly thereafter I contacted Hallmark to have them perform the needed repairs.Their workman visited my house three times, performed most of the services referenced in the prior "Roof Repair Contract" that had been furnished to the prior owner of the home. Work was finally completed on July 3, and on July 9 contractor sent an invoice derived from the prior "Roof Repair Contract", again, in the name of the prior owner. At that time I noticed the discrepancy between what was discussed with myself and the realtor, as well as the incorrect name, and contacted the contractor to have those items corrected. In the resulting email exchange with contractor's wife ***** ******* she at first denied that the conversations about the warranty had taken place, and then said that because I did not have it in writing that it was not binding. I asked to speak with contractor (*** ****), but he would not take my call. I called his mobile and also sent text messages which he read but did not respond to. Ms. ******** said that Hallmark would only honor the 'no-leak warranty' to the entire roof if I paid an additional $200. When I refused and told her that this was unreasonable and contradicted the conversation I had with Mr. **** she immediately threatened to place a lien on my property if I did not pay, which she did indeed do, 2 days later, while I was still attempting to negotiate with them in good faith. I should point out that another party complained of the same tactics to the BBB on February XX XXXX. BBB stated that the complaint was resolved because of Hallmark's statement of "correction" but the customer did not accept the response. Hallmark apparently has a pattern of doing this. Finally, I will point out that Hallmark is claiming an A+ rating from BBB, on their website (http://www.hallmark-roofing.com/) and on their contract and estimate documents, when in fact they only have an A rating. If BBB's accreditation is to be believed, then businesses should not be permitted to falsely claim BBB accreditation that they do not in fact have. The issue is the offer of a warranty, which was extended to me through two separate conversations with two different people, a fact that I have a sworn ***** attesting to, in addition to my own recollection. Hallmark placed a value of $200 on that warranty in my email exchanges with Ms. ********, and now refuses to honor our (binding) verbal agreements.

Final Business Response
The homeowner has a signed contract with us and a two year warranty that we will honor.
Prior to signing and requesting (allegedly) the additional warranty(50 days passed), he, nor his representative changed what he believied , that he heard, to be a verbal contract to a part of the written contract . If it were so important , he should have done this, and not expect us to remember a conversation that gives us more responsibilty for the same price. Reasonably, we cannot remember every alleged conversation.Especially from two months ago. We look at hundreds of roofs, and, talk to thousands. This all said, if he called and said that he has a leak we would look at it at no cost, just like we do for all customers. If there were a cost to repair, we would give him a proposal. Ironically, he has written multiple paragraphs to any web site that will allow him, but, yet , let Hallmark do the work prior to ironing out any advance warranty issues in writing and said nothing until after the fact. I offered to split the 200 cost of the extended warranty. He said that he will not negotiate. I guess this is what he meant? *** ****

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mr. ****'s backpedaling is consistent with his prior tactics. Claiming that he has a written contract with me - he does not. Claiming that he wished to compromise with me:I initially offered to compromise with him and he responded by placing a lien on my house 2 DAYS LATER. Note that I offered resolution in a letter sent return receipt requested, they received it on a Friday, ignored it, did not return my calls or texts, and then placed the lien. He wishes to be seen as reasonable, responsive, professional, when his actions indicate he will stonewall and not reply, and instantly resort to bully tactics. Note again that another complainant reported the same thing to BBB earlier this year, and although BBB posts the complaint as "resolved", the complainant never accepted the "resolution". I don't either. The facts are much simpler than Mr **** presents: There was never a contract, much less a signed one between us as is prescribed by law. There was an estimate prepared for the former owner, and two conversations with Mr **** (sworn ***** attesting to one, I had the other), and during both conversations Mr. **** said the same thing: The roof was in good shape, and he'd extend a two-year no-leak warranty over the entire roof if we had him perform the repairs. That is a verbal agreement and binding. It is our ONLY agreement. Mr. **** has refused to address the discrepancy with me although I have attempted to contact him on multiple occasions via his mobile phone, text messages, his office phone, and via mail, leaving it to his wife to take his phone calls and answer for him. Does this strike you as a businessman that is operating in good faith? Mr. **** also continues to present an A+ BBB rating on his website that he does not possess, and also on his stationary. This is dishonest and misleading, consistent with his other business practices. I am no longer willing to compromise with Mr. ****. The only resolution I will accept is what he offered to me directly and through my realtor: Either extend a two year whole-roof no leak warranty to me as was originally offered, or refund $200 for it - which is not a number I have pulled from thin air; that is the amount his wife demanded I pay for the warranty. Mr, **** may choose one or the other to resolve this with me. Note that I have paid his invoice in full in good faith pending resolution, and to remove the line Mr **** placed upon my home. Mr. **** has 100% of his money, now he needs to honor his agreement with me.

03/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After they repaired our roof on Jan 27, 2014, it leaked on March 1, 2014. They said they cannot meet with me at the house.
When Hallmark Roofing received my request for a quote, they sent me a date and time when their estimator would be at the house. I was there at that time - he did not show up. He came at some other time and I did not get the opportunity to discuss our roof problems with him. I received the quote and asked to meet with the estimator but they told me they didn't have time to meet with me. ***** (from Hallmark) called my cell phone and left a message telling me that if I wanted to communicate with them, to send them an email - they didn't have time to actually meet with me. I asked for them to give me advance notice when they would begin the repairs - there was none. The repair guys showed up at the house on a Monday morning without any advance notice. After the repair work was completed (01.27.2014), the roof still leaked (Saturday, March 1, 2014). On Monday morning (3.03.2014), I called 2 phone numbers and left messages but they did not return my calls. I went to their office that afternoon to let them know the roof still leaked and requested 24 hours notice when someone would be at the house so I could explain the problem to them - to show them inside the house where it was leaking. The guy called me when he arrived at the house - no advance notice - then told me that he could not schedule his whole day around me. Then he said it would be sometime next week before he would have time to come back.

Everyone I have met with at Hallmark has been very difficult to deal with and they all seem to have an attitude - they really don't care about customer service or providing quality services. They appear to go out of their way to advoid interaction with customers.

Desired Settlement
The primary reason we elected to use Hallmark Roofing was because they were listed with the Better Business Bureau. After our experience with them, we will call another roofing company to fix the leak - I do not want any further interaction with anyone at Hallmark. In addition, I will not trust a company just because they are listed with the BBB again. Hallmark has proven that to be worthless.

Business Response
Mr. ****** paid a visit into out office on the afternoon of 3/3/2014. He seemed upset that his phone call from that morning had not yet been returned. I tried to explain to him that Monday's (especially after rain storms) are very heavy in call volume. He stated that his roof had leaked over the weekend and wanted us to go out to make the repair.
We placed Mr.****** on our calendar with the contact information that he provided us while he was still in our office. Mr. ****** was requesting a courtesy call before our arrival. I stated that this would not be a problem.
We made two separate attempts to notify Mr. ****** that we would be going out to inspect the reported leak.
Mr. ****** was not available at the time that we arrived. An inspection was made and a potential cause of the leak was repaired.
Of course Mr ****** has every right to hire any one to work on his roof top.
We do apologize to Mr. ****** for any inconvenience that was caused. We do our very best to accommodate all of our customers and their busy schedules.

02/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hallmark Roofing came to my house and gave me an estimate on repairing my roof. The estimate they emailed me said, "Replace shingles as needed 2-year no leak warranty." On 12/10/2013, they came to my house and performed the required work, and emailed me an invoice the next day. On the invoice it said, "Worked has been completed 12/10/2013 per proposal dated 10/30/2013. A 2 year no leak warranty is included on the performed on the tile roof."I emailed them back, with this reply: "According to the proposal you emailed me (the contract we agreed on), you are to provide a "2 year no leak warranty", however, on the bill you just sent me it says "A 2 YEAR NO LEAK WARRANTY IS INCLUDED ON THE PERFORMED ON THE TILE ROOF". What does that mean? That is not a proper sentence. We don't even have tile on our roof. Why are you changing the contract that we agreed on? Please send me a new bill that says "2 year no leak warranty" like it says on the initial proposal that we agreed on.Don Pender"They responded with: "Hi Don,The 2 year warranty is only on the work that we perform unless the proposal stated that is was on the entire roof. (which this did not).And yes, we will come out to take look at your roof top if you have a leak in the next 2 years. We'll determine at that time whether the roof is leaking in the area that we repaired. If it is, we'll repair that for free. if not, we'll be happy to provide you with an estimate to repair. Hopefully this as answered your questions/concerns.*****"I replied back with: "Please mail (not email) me a new (signed) bill that states 'provide 2-year no leak warrant' like it says on the proposal that I agreed to. I attached a copy if you don't already have it. Please call me if you have any questions.Don Pender"I never heard back from them again until I received a letter in the mail that they put a lien on my house. I want to pay this bill, but I want them to change the invoice back to, "2-year no leak warranty" like we agreed on.

Desired Settlement
I want to pay my bill with Hallmark Roofing as long as they agree to the terms that we agreed on in the initial proposal. They are very misleading, in fact, they are flat out lying by changing their terms after they performed the work. I have all of the emails saved if you need me to send them to you.

Business Response
The items that Mr. ****** was concerned about were corrected. He has paid the bill.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/01/1994Business started: 08/01/1989
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Registrar of Contractors
400 W Congress St STE 212
Tucson, AZ 85701
(520) 628-6345
http://www.azroc.gov

BBB records show a license number of 137889 for this company, issued by Arizona Registrar of Contractors. Their web address is http://www.azroc.gov. The expiration date of this license is 08/31/2014.

Type: Contractors

Check License Status: http://www.azroc.gov/forms/details.asp?license=137889

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 1993, AZ

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Cyndi Sawchuk (Operations Manager)Mr. Dan Hall (Owner)
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Roofing Contractors

Products & Services

HALLMARK ROOFING PROVIDES ROOFING SOLUTIONS FOR LEAK DETECTION AND PROVENTION. OUR GOAL IS TO HELP OUR CUSTOMERS EXTEND THE LIFE-SPAN OF THEIR CURRENT ROOF AND REDUCE THEIR MAINTENANCE COSTS. WE PROUDLY USE ONLY AMERICAN MADE ELASTOMERIC PRODUCTS.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 07:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 07:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 07:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 07:00 AM to 05:00 PMSat: 07:00 AM to 02:00 PM
Service Area

SOUTHERN ARIZONA

Alternate Business Names
Hallmark, Roofing Division

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Hallmark Builders Inc has received 4.40 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hallmark Builders Inc

7925 N Oracle Rd Ste 119

Tucson, AZ 85704

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 7467 N Oracle Rd Ste A Pmb 131 

    Tucson, AZ 85704-6360(520) 297-0995
    Fax: (520) 219-3772

  • 7925 N Oracle Rd Ste 119 

    Tucson, AZ 85704

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Arizona. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hallmark Builders Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013 for complaints filed on 05/22/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines.BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.