BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Southern Arizona

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/06/1967

Long Realty Company

Find a Location

Phone: (520) 888-8844Fax: (520) 918-1050900 E River Rd, TucsonAZ 85718-5673

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/06/1967

BBB has determined that Long Realty Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Long Realty Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Long Realty Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
02/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: Agreement made with agent ****** ******** not honored
When I moved in the house it needed maintenance badly and I was assured this was going to be taken care of. The fence in the back yard was literally falling down and of it only got partially fixed because the neighbors put up a new fence. The part in the back yard is propped up with a rock. The house was also not clean, I was told that they would have the house cleaned or I could clean the house and when I moved out they would not charge me. I would only have to have the carpets cleaned and the house sprayed for bugs. Which I did and provided them with copies of my receipts. Decided to go ahead and clean it myself. I was charged a BIG portion of my deposit for cleaning things that were not done when I moved in. In fact the house was cleaner when I moved out. When I called Long Realty I was told that another agent had probably told me that and they were sorry but there was such a turn over that the agent was probably no longer with the company. I waited an hour for ****** to call me back. Finally called ****** back and was told ****** ******** no longer worked there. ****** said the oven showed as dirty when I moved in. Though they had on paper that the oven was dirty that was accepted by their agent, I was told I should have taken a photo. They have proof on paper that the oven was dirty when I moved in. I do not feel that I should have been charged for cleaning the oven. The agent didn't take photos before using a portion of my deposit to clean the oven.

Initial Business Response
This complaint was forwarded to me by ****** ****, Long Realty Company. I am the owner and general manager of Long Realty SMS Properties, and independently owned franchise company that leased the subject property to ****** *****.

Upon review of the lease and move-in inspection form that was signed by Ms. ***** on 03/17/2011, it is states that: ALL repairs or maintenance items that are necessary to return the premises to good or better condition of the pre-occupancy inspection are the responsibility of the tenant.The cost of these repairs and maintenance items will be deducted from the security deposit or changed to the tenant afterwards. Utilities must be on at the time of the inspection and be left on for TEN business days after move-out to rectify any issues UNLESS you have had teh house professional cleaned.

Ms. ***** was charged only for items not completed according to the terms of the above signed agreement. Long Realty SMS properties followed our standards procedures for conditions for refund od deposits and move-out instructions signed by Ms. ***** on 3/17/2011. The move-out was documented with photos and vendor invoices which Ms. ***** received along with a deposit refund check ******* in the amount of $336.05 on 4/15/2013. The check was cashed shortly after receipt by Ms. *****.

*** Realty SMS Properties managed the termination of this lease and the distribution of the remainder of the deposit fairly and according to the terms of the lease as a greed to by Ms. ***** (see response online). **

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/13/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Real Estate

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/01/1958Business started: 10/01/1926
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Department of Real Estate
400 W Congress St STE 523
Tucson, AZ85701-1363
(520) 628-6940
http://www.re.state.az.us

BBB records show a license number of CO000192000 for this company, issued by Arizona Department of Real Estate. Their web address is http://www.re.state.az.us. The expiration date of this license is 09/30/2014.

Type: Board of Real Estate

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1959, AZ

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Rosemary Koberlein (CEO)Customer Contact: Mr. Jerome King (Executive Director)
Number of Employees

1100

Business Category

Real Estate

Products & Services

Long Realty Cares Foundation raises and distributes funds to nonprofit groups in Southern Arizona. Agents and staff of Long Realty Company are able to contribute personally to the Foundation or donate an amount per each of their transactions. The Foundation also accepts contributions from home buyers and sellers.

Alternate Business Names
Roy H Long Realty Company, Inc
Industry Tips
Buying a Foreclosed Home? Know the Facts
Buying An Unbuilt Home
Land for Sale!
Preparing to Sell Your Home
Purchasing Your Dream Vacation Home

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Long Realty Company

900 E River Rd

Tucson, AZ 85718-5673

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Arizona. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Long Realty Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013 for complaints filed on 05/22/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines.BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.