BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/19/2005

Lanier Enterprise

Phone: (520) 294-0411Fax: (520) 741-88323908 S 12th Ave, TucsonAZ 85714

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/19/2005

BBB has determined that Lanier Enterprise meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Lanier Enterprise's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Lanier Enterprise

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
10/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I call to give a 38 day notice that i will not be renewing my lease when i only needed to give a 31 day notice and rite off the back i get attitude like always saying that's fine just clean up and be out by the 1st and you are not getting your deposit back without them doing a walk threw I ask why? They accused us of having contact with police too many times with no proof i have proof of all records showing any police calls to this address with names for the time of our stay. It gets better There is two houses on this property I am in unit one and pay outrageous bills and I ask them about the high bills and they tell me that's my half i pay I asked to see the bill statements they said no the landlord gets them i ask for the landlords number and they said he was with them so he don't have to deal with this kind of stuff. My half of the water bill is $168 YEAH RITE, so i ask the people in the back and they tell me all their utilities are included. I bout blew my top. So i call the water company to see whats going on and they tell me there is only 1 house reported on this lot and only 1 water meter for this lot so i ask for a copy of what they were looking at so now i have proof from the water company. My lease is up on the 9/31/14 they have been harassing us trying to kick us out early for no reason what's the big deal we are gone in a few weeks they never fixed anything in a timely manor my wife cooked with two burners on thanksgiving and they trapped a live cat under the house and when i let them know they said it will die in a week just imagine the sounds my kids heard. I should have trusted my gut feeling when i had to pay out of my pocket to spray this house and yard because it was infested with fleas before we moved in. but we fell in love with the house at first sight it was everything we were looking for at the time but got more then we bargained.

Desired Settlement
I would like to receive all my money they over charged me for on bills my full deposit and i would like to leave this property as soon as possible i do not want them messing up my wife or my renters history and i hope this property gets put up to code so nobody has to go threw what we did for so long take a good look at this company i am sure we are not the only ones

Business Response
I am writing in reference to the complaint above. Mr. ******* called our office on
August 20th 2014 he said : he was vacating the property by September 1st, 2014. Several
days later he called to ask for his deposit. I explained that they would not get their
deposit back because theyI did not give a 30 day notice which we have explained to all
Itenants during lease application (also in the lease). He states he gave a 38 day notice?
The 30 day notice has to be given by the 1st of the month. The lease is not to be broken
otherwise they lose their deposit (also in signed contract, also explained to all tenants).

They were also told about an outstanding water bill of $128.13 Mr. ******* has never
asked about looking at any water bill. The water is read by a company by the name of: Spectruml/Edison. We do not read the meters. On the lease we have 2 adults and 2
children. For a few months their water bill was low. Since the owner receives the water
bill, he brought it to our attention that the water bill had doubled in usage/amount. When
we did our drive by inspection, we noticed more people residing there. Hence the water
bill overage.

We also have for you an invoice paid by Lanier on the stove repair. This repair was
completed before Thanksgiving as you can see on the invoice date. As for any repairs
they said we never took cIare of, we make appointments with the tenants prior to any
repairs, and Mr. ******* was always so difficult to set up appointments with but we do
not wait especially on an emergency's day or night.

As for the dead animal, we support the Humane Society and PETA 100%. We would
have never left an animal to suffer and or to die.

May I inform you that s of today September 16, 2014 they have yet to pay the rent or
move from the property as they said they'd do. They now owe 2 months for water and
this month's rent. The owner has now taken him to court for non-payment of rent. The
tenants also signed a Crime Free Addendum giving us the authority to enforce eviction in
which the police were called not once but several times.

We appreciate your notification to us so that we are able to keep our good standing with
the B.B.B.
Thank you
***** ******
(see hard copy online and invoice)


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I called 38 days ahead of time. my lease was up on September 31st so I gave plenty of time in advance, when I called to inform ******, ***** rudely said we would have to move out on the 1st of September and I shall not get a return on my deposit. ***** also accused us of police contact with no actual proof of so, not a single document that I obtained from TPD mentions mine or my families name. However there is more then one house on the property, It was said the neighbors called in the complaints but there is not a single police report to that address with mine or my families name on them.

Might I add I do not owe any water bill and a request for my presents in court was issued for the fact I refused to pay rent because I nor my family stayed in their residence that final month. I was kicked out a month early on false accusations, However I would like to say that the owners will receive their rent. However I did sign a lease, they were not the problem, LANIER WAS.

As for the dead animal, my kids tried feeding the poor suffering kitten for a week. Every time we took showers the kitten would cry from hearing the water running. My kids as my witness know the response received when I brought it to Lanier's attention, they laughed.
Every one they sent to fix anything Im sure were all unlicensed and for a fact far from professionals. To clarify why I say this is one was drunk, the smell of booze forced entry the moment I opened the door. Another was labeled a thieve, which we came to find out later when our neighbors were missing items after his presents. Another one could barely make it up the single step to the house. He was so old I couldnt help to feel sorry for him, with my health conditions, I still managed to carry his tools for him.
With all this being said its sad to say it was a very unpleasant expirience with Lanier. They behaved rudely, extremely unorganized, and not responsible. Im sure we are not the only people that feel this way. Just from the brief office visits were our payments were made, we overheard MANY others with numerous complaints.


Final Business Response
Lanier is responding to the letter we received in October 2014. Again (not to repeat
ourselves) Mr. ******* did not give the 30 day notice according with the signed contract which
also has that he is responsible for the water bill. As for our vendors doing the work, Mr.
******* contradicted his complaint. In his first letter he said that we never fixed anything in a
timely matter. Then in this last letter he attacked the vendors by saying they were intoxicated or
ill. Also they were unlicensed which has nothing to do with the work done. Mr. ******* never
called with concerns about the vendors.

I am also enclosing two letters from two separate neighbors in his neighborhood. These
people both called the police. They also informed us that the police were called. (Mr. *******
called and said they were moving out before we told them about the police. One of the letters
and the complaint was about someone trying to give a handicap boy drugs. BBB can read the
letters themselves, as for harassing them to move out two months earlier. The time frame does
not add up. The other letter is concerning the problems with his own animals, Mr. *******
claims to be humane about animals but yet his dogs are running the street. His small dog I saw
when I went to his home was starved and full of ticks. Lanier would not deliberately let the cat
suffer.

Mr. ******* paid his water bill when it was low, but when it increased he did not want to pay it.
His deposit is not kept through Lanier it is given back to the owner. In Mr. *******'s contract
states he is responsible for the water bill. He also failed to give proper notice. Lanier did not
take them to court the Owners did for nonpayment. Mr. ******* would not have received his
deposit back for another reason also. The property needed approximately $2500.00 worth of
work. The property had to be cleaned and painted. We also are getting it sprayed for ticks and
fleas. If Mr. ******* wants his deposit back and not pay for the water then he needs to address
this with the owners. Lanier did not take them to court or keep any monies. Lanier would like
these letters taken into account for the police being called. We would like to have our standing
back with the BBB. Lanier did what was in accordance with landlord tenant contract. We
appreciate your time.

Thank You
***** ******
(see hard copy online)

Industry Comparison| Chart

Real Estate, Property Management

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/21/2001Business started: 05/01/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Department of Real Estate
400 W Congress St STE 523
Tucson, AZ 85701-1363
(520) 628-6940
http://www.re.state.az.us

BBB records show a license number of SE030977000 for this company, issued by Arizona Department of Real Estate. Their web address is http://www.re.state.az.us.

Type: Board of Real Estate

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Katherine Lanier (Member)Ms. Jo Ann Lanier (Member)Ms. Cynthia Lanier (Member)
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Real Estate, Property Management

Alternate Business Names
Lanier Enterprise and Realty, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Lanier Enterprise

3908 S 12th Ave

Tucson, AZ 85714

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3908 S 12th Ave 

    Tucson, AZ 85714(520) 294-0411
    Fax: (520) 741-8832

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Arizona. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Lanier Enterprise is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013 for complaints filed on 05/22/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines.BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints.

X

Industry Tips for Real Estate

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.