BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/07/2011

Desert Rat Plumbing

(520) 982-90652429 S Kevin Dr, TucsonAZ 85748-8154



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/07/2011

BBB has determined that Desert Rat Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Desert Rat Plumbing's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Desert Rat Plumbing

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
07/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
******* ******* of Desert Rat Plumbing came to our home, and replaced a water valve to the freezer/refrigerator. It was a cheap valve, still leaked.
I had an emergency with the water line that goes to the freezer of the refrigerator on June 19th, 2014. I already had Dependable Services come out to find out the problem, which it was relayed to me my water valve was broken. Using Home Advisor, ******* ******* from Desert Rat Plumbing contacted me and quoted a price for the work ($90.00). He came out within hours, went to Home Depot to buy a water valve, put it in, shut the valve off, collected $100.00 from me without giving me a receipt (other than my check). The next day, Dependable Services came back, and he informed me the water valve was still leaking. My husband shut the valve off. I called ******* ******* back on Saturday, June 21, 2014 to let him know the valve was leaking (it was plastic). He called and said he would fix it. I called him back and told him my husband fixed it with the correct water valve. He said he would send me the money back, and not wanting to make this a big deal, I told him to just send me $50.00. Today is July 2, 2014, and I have not received any payment from ******* *******. Home Advisors contacted him and left a message on his phone twice or three times, in which he never returned their calls. I am in contact with Home Advisors, who stated today they will contact him again on Monday, July 7th to give him time to send a check. During this time, I received another call from ******* ******* that he would send the check on Saturday, June 28th, which it never arrived. His wife called me Tuesday, July 1, 2014, stating they have moved, and their dog ran away, and she would deliver the check to the Post Office Wednesday (the next day). Her phone number is XXX-XXX-XXXX. *******'s number is XXX-XXX-XXXX. I also have an address which says **** E ***** ********* Tucson, AZ XXXXX. I am not sure if this is there new address or the last address. I put down the amount disputed as $100.00 as this was the original amount I paid him.

Desired Settlement
I want my money back. I in good faith trusted him and he took advantage of me and makes excuses for his bad manners. What type of business man acts like this?

Final Consumer Response
********

Initially, ******* and I agreed on $50.00. I told him at the time we talked on the phone that his time was valuable, and he did buy the part, cheap as it was, so I felt if I receive that dollar amount, I would be able to close the issue. Saying that, I think that Desert Rat Plumbing is not reliable, and unprofessional, and I would not recommend his services to anyone.

I consider the matter closed.

Thank you,

****** *******
(see response online).

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/13/2011Business started: 06/28/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Registrar of Contractors
400 W Congress St STE 212
Tucson, AZ 85701
(520) 628-6345
http://www.azroc.gov

BBB records show a license number of 267314 for this company, issued by Arizona Registrar of Contractors. Their web address is http://www.azroc.gov. The expiration date of this license is 09/30/2016.

Type: Contractors

Check License Status: http://www.azroc.gov/forms/details.asp?license=267314

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Aguirre (Owner)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Plumbers


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Desert Rat Plumbing has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Desert Rat Plumbing

2429 S Kevin Dr

Tucson, AZ 85748-8154

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Arizona. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Desert Rat Plumbing is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013 for complaints filed on 05/22/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines.BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints.

X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.