BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/24/2014

Tucson Moving Service

(520) 468-89566080 N Oracle Rd Ste E, TucsonAZ 85704-5313



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/24/2014

BBB has determined that Tucson Moving Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Tucson Moving Service's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Tucson Moving Service

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 6
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 8 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
03/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid for moving services at my apartment and the business damaged my property. I've made complaints to the company and nothing has been done.
Both my husband and I are of very limited income and are elderly. On January 12, 2015, moving service paid $325.02. My son made a complaint to owner *** ***** that day, and the owner was rude to him. My husband spoke to him and the owner said to make an offer. Legal aid sent letter to him on February 20th requesting a refund. ***** did not make an offer to resolve. He left a voicemail to call him back but he is now on vacation indefinitely, according to the acting manager. The company's mailing address doesn't work, you must fax to (XXX) XXX-XXXX.

My damaged property:
1. Antique, inherited, Maplewood Deacon's Bench, 60 years old: leg scratched, water marks on bench
2. Sony TV set: scratched on sides, left foot broken
3. Chocolate brown, Sam Levitz recliner purchased 3 months ago for $399: dirty and missing screws resulting in noise when used
4. Sam Levitz recliner, purchased 6 years ago for $325: Loose arm on the right side
5. Hide-a-Bed couch bought for $100: brace is broke under the couch, bottom was completely scraped during the move
6. Antique, Maplewood coffee table, 50 years old: scratched, dirty, and water marks on table
7. Lamp shade, purchased for $25: lamp shade is broken

Desired Settlement
We are seeking a refund of the moving service of $325.02.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** *****
Hi there.
This is ***.
I spoke to the couple and their son after the incident and told them I'll try to resolve it.
I was waiting for them to contact me after they said they will inform me about a settlemt.
The list they included isn't what they mentioned to begin with, they mentioned a tv that was damaged and that's badicly it.
The tv is a sony trinitron that is valued today at about $100.
Nothing was mentioned as far as damaged furniture and definitely I don't thik we would be responsible for any "water marks" (??) since it wasn't raining and the truck is an enclosed truck.
If there are scratches they can be fixed easly and that Doesnt require full replacement value like they are seeking.
I will be more than happy to discuss a fair refund but $325 is ridiculous and not reflecting the condition of the furniture were to begin with and the value of the tv.

03/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Per the moving service, I have 24 hours to report damage. I reported damage and I got promised a refund. The Manager called back going back on it.
A bookcase I had moved was in fine condition the night prior to the move. Three additional people can verify the condition. During the move, one of the movers came up to me and said that the back of the book case was loose. He meant only the backing of the bookcase. After they left I went to the room with the bookcases and one of them was completely broken. I called immediately and explained the situation after paying $549 for the service. The manager was making excuses about the condition of my bookcase that he never saw. He first asked me to send a picture and I asked him why that was necessary. He then said nevermind and he would check with the movers.

I called him back to follow up and he said that he would issue a refund. My husband was present for this. He called back to say that he spoke with the "guys". They told him exactly what they told me. I asked him if they told him that it was completely broken or just loose. I told him we had that conversation but it was in reference to the back of the bookcase and not the bottom support shelf being completely broken off. He told me to send a picture. I explained to him that he said he was going to issue a refund so I got rid of the bookcase because of the nails poking out of the bottom.

This is horrible service and I am appalled the manager is making excuses for a situation he wasn't there to see. I never even complained about the fact that they sent three guys instead of two (that I originally thought I was going to pay for).

Desired Settlement
I'm seeking the refund that was promised to me $45 and I'm additionally seeking 1/3 of the tip that I left for the movers since one of them broke the bookcase. In total I'm seeking $75.

Business Response
Hi

i did spoke to ******** and told her i will need to discuss the incident first with the crew that was there.
upon talking to them they did mention that the bookshelf wasnt in tip top shape like she claims: it was made of partical compressed wood that usually cant handle much wait or stress. the back of the bookshelf was loose which already compromised its stability and value. she has a lot of books and im guessing those bookshelfs can hold some weight but not like she intended them for her use and they arent in the best quality to last as long as she would hope for specialy since she claimed she put them together herself and in most cases they arent very durable when they arent built properly. we offered to look into it and give her an answer- she mentioned she bought them at target so i told her the most we can do is $45 but we will have to get the workers side of the story first to verify her story.

she chose not to wait and rushed to complain to you for this minor incident which is ok, in that case we can go by the contract that she signed that states that she can get reimbursed for 0.30 per pound per article which is the standart in the industry.
where should we mail her $9 check?

***.
XXX-XXX-XXXX
p.s.
a brand new bookshelf from target is $20.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The bookcase is only 3 months old. Three people can verify it was in fine condition the day before the move. Only one mover spoke with me. I do not accept this response. I am glad the manager looked up the price from target, but he wasnever present nor did the bookcase come from target. In addition, other property was damaged such as try exercise bike I discovered two days ago as well as scratches to my desk. This is absurd and I do not accept this response

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I threw out the bookcase because the manager told me he was going to send me a refund. Shall I send him a notarized letter from witnesses to this conversation? He was never present to see the bookcase and can't verify the structure. I have three witnesses would can send a letter verifying that the bookcase held many books. I have past pictures pof this bookcase verifying the weight it can hold. If need be, and for other damage, I am more than willing to take this to court. It has now boiled down to the principal of the matter and for such distress this has caused me. I am only asking for the $45 that was promised in front of my husband and my friend, a lawyer, as well as $20 for the tip i left for the inept mover that damaged the bookcase. Thanks. If this isnt resolved, i will be forced to speak outside of the bbb to another entity. r

Final Business Response
According to the contract she is entitled to 30c per pound per article.
total reimbursement is $12.
we tried to get more fair refund but the customer didn't cooperated and didn't give us time to discuss the matter. she already submitted a complaint to you so we will go according to the contract she signed.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/14/2013Business started: 01/01/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
400 7th Street SW
Washington, DC 20590
(800) 832-5660
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ben Woods (Owner)
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Movers


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Tucson Moving Service has received 4.4 out of 5 stars based on 8 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Tucson Moving Service

6080 N Oracle Rd Ste E

Tucson, AZ 85704-5313

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6080 N Oracle Rd Ste E 

    Tucson, AZ 85704-5313(520) 468-8956

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Arizona. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Tucson Moving Service is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013 for complaints filed on 05/22/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines.BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints.

X

Industry Tips for Movers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.