BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/28/2008

Moving Services, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (520) 622-7676Fax: (520) 622-0464943 E 17th St, TucsonAZ 85719-6612

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/28/2008

BBB has determined that Moving Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Moving Services, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Moving Services, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
11/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
****** ** ******** of *** S. ***** Ave. Apt **** Tucson, AZ XXXXX Hm #XXX-XXX-XXXX vs Moving Service, Inc. Agent for National Van Lines. Owners ***** and ******* *****, General manager ******* ***** located at 943 E. 17th Street Tucson, AZ XXXXX. Primary contact **** ********. XXX-XXX-XXXX. Workers: **** & ***.

October 1st, 2013 signed contact that I wrote up with representative estimator **** with Moving Services, Inc. November 1, 2013- Received their services. Rated by Better Business Bureau as A+ as determined by BBB accreditation standards, which include commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accreditation Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

1. Reason to believe violated A.D.A Legislation: Arrived 2 hours later than told- **** & *** did not call to inform me they would be late. Took 14 hours to move my property instead of 6 hours the standard moving time for a little content. This threatened my health causing me severe dehydration and exhaustion. I am a disabled person using a walker due to weakening legs, cripplingly sever and chronic back pain from spinal stenosis, scoliosis and spinal arthritis. Anesthesiologist is closely monitors narcotic use. Have medical specialists for the spine, chronic kidney disease, cardiologist medically monitors aortic heart valve which was replaced by porcine with ventricle pressure at 37+%, if reaches 50% volume of pressure again, will need another open heart operation. I told **** I had disabilities and would need help with some of the packing as I lived alone. He did said they would include boxes as part of the set $650.00 and no problem with packing anything that I couldn't pack.
2. Contract broken- extorting money: **** ****** estimated move promised a flat rate of $650 and signed contract. Arriving at new location, managers called workers telling them to demanded $200 more or lock up property in truck. **** who said she was the "owner" told me before the job started that if I had any problems with the boys, please feel free to let her know about any issues. The 2 men were very disorganized and poorly equipped for the job. The movers **** and **** were very polite during the moving out. The trouble started during the moving in. Once we arrived, ***** the owner turned against me asking for $200 more dollars over the agreed upon $650 as she felt they were taking far too long and therefore were losing money on this job. I told her their workers were exceptionally slow and had no equipment to work with; just one dolly and that her request was breaking the contract. Also that she was taking time away from me signing he lease as we had talked for 12 minutes. Feeling this was illegal and extortion I refused to pay the extra $200 when talking to managers. I felt forced to give movers the agreed upon $650 before they finished the work since I was being continually by cell phone harassed. Then I received farther harassing calls from cell phone while the movers were unloading. **** called again and left a message saying if I didn't pay $89 more they would lock up my property and charge storage fees. My friend and I felt we had no choice but to pay the additional fee.
3. Refused to cooperate when the moving job was done. Violating what was written by Better Business Bureau. I called asking to speak to ****. **** said "**** refused to talk to me and that I would have to use a mediator to resolve any issues".
4. Property damage: Glass picture frame cracked in 2 places measures 25HX20L inches. Smashed bottle essential clove oil this spilled on Swiffer mop head melting plastic rendering it useless. Antique mirror glass tray from grandmother was smashed. The wooden lamp base was broken off. Desk broken apart, back disjointed (took 10 hours of carpentry work to disassemble use liquid wood and replace locking screws which were twisted off render unusable). Drawers didn't fit evenly once put back together by friend. Movers scratched and deeply dented solid cherry wood bureau. Inherited from Grandmother bedside stand surface scratched. I found big holes in sofa and it was filthy. **** said "the management will get back to me about repairing the sofa" this never happened. I witnessed there was no padding on it while the men carried it up 5 flights of stairs. They never attempted to move in the elevator. They left the sofa on the landing in the stairwell. **** told me "you should get professional movers to get the sofa into the apartment." I told him "I hired you to do that" *** didn't have the strength needed to move the sofa having to support it from the bottom carrying it up the 5 flights of stairs. I gave it to a friend who needed something to sleep on. She was able to get it into the elevator.
5. Illegal: Was forced to inspect the truck for any missing belongings in the dark. Discovered later as I began unpacking that I am missing 2 bulletin boards, 2 bookshelves from a bookcase I built many years ago, a ceramic unicorn that monitored weather changes, a ceramic floral toilet brush holder and a large plastic Tupperware container) celery crisper, antique wooden spools of thread left to me by my grandmother. They had been packed away. Suspicion that they rummaged through things stealing stuff.
6. Lost $47 from security deposit because the management office of the apartment I moved out of The Tucson House was closed before they finished moving me out, thus I couldn't return keys on time. It was Friday night.
7. Illegal: I was never given offered or received a receipt of any kind for any of the payments I have them. $650.00 and reduced hostage fee of $89.00 from $200.00 that was originally requested due to **** saying it was taking too long. That is illegal. Is legal air or pro-bono help available for me? I just had major spinal surgery March 13, 2014 and am unable to represent myself. Also have hidden disabilities: Executive Dysfunction that worsens with my severe anxiety syndrome. It is possible to receive monetary value of my loses and for suffering from extensive emotional loss and exhaustion and dehydration given the stated disabilities I have? I believe the broke ADA legislation regulations as I am disables person.
Witnesses **** ******* and ***** ******
Have pictures available of damage. Have newspaper dated from the moving date for proof. Have copy of signed contract I wrote up and **** ****** and I both signed including cost and what was included.
This was delayed due to: I has spinal surgery March 13, 2014, had to stay at friends house for first month of November 2013 because new apartment was left in disaster, and was dealing with declining health issues. It will take about a year before I am healed from spine surgery. Cannot bend, twist or lift more than 5 pounds. Not yet completely settled into apt. Would like reimbursement for damages and to see them out of business.
(see hard copy online)

Desired Settlement
Would like reimbursement for damages and see them out of business.

Business Response
I answered a letter I received from ****** ******** in July of this year I also forwarded a letter to BBB at that time. I have attached the letter I sent in July. This customer was very hard to deal with and has stated many inaccuracies with regard to her local move. We worked very hard to make sure we provided excellent care. we only increased price when conditions because of here request or her delay in transit caused them. We performed much more services than we billed for that was caused by her confusion and disorganization with aspects of the relocation she required. Her un decisive nature caused much confusion and lack of cohesion with the move process. I will say that besides the added tasks that she required her general state of preparedness caused all of the additional labor hours the move required. We did all she requested but she changed her mind several times about many things. We did not abandon or neglect any detail of this move we also did not charge anything addition for the increased time her lack of thought or confusion caused. We did charge extra for two things however, First being that she required a briefcase that was loaded very early on at her request into our truck. She required that we stop loading and unload the whole truck after it had been totally loaded to fetch the briefcase at origin. This was beyond normal move process and required extra labor. She was informed of this by **** before we retrieved the item. The second increase was for an extra hr wait time our men **** and *** sat at her destination for over 1 hr before she arrived she was charged for one labor hr for this.

If there is anything else I can provide please do not hesitate to contact me

Sincerely

******* *****
General Manager
(see hard copy and copy of July letter online)

Consumer Response
Having read their statements I see numerous comments with out examples , mostly accusations.
1. How I was hard to deal with and changing my mind about several things is irrelevant. They
gave no examples.
2. They signed a binding contract and I explained to them that I was crippled/disabled. I was told,
"That is no problem we will help you."
3. They gave me no invoice or receipt for the payments I made.
4. The brief case was removed at the beginning, thus they didn't have to "unload the entire truck."
They never mentioned there was a charge for that. Their word against mine. By mid evening
they lowered the monetary extortion from S200.00 to S89.00, which if NOT PAID all property
would be held. In Tucson the Rental Managers require filling out forms at the time one arrives
to move in. This however, DID NOT TAKE SEVERAL Hours. The rental agent had to work over
time because of how slow the movers were in packing at the point of origin.
5. We a rrived by car, th us there was no " over an hour wait time" They asked if they could eat
since it was around 5:30-6 pm for the first part of move.
They never mentioned the broken and lost property. The 14 hours it took them for the entire
move, and that **** said "You should have hired professional movers." What kind of movers
were they if they weren't professional? This was stated regarding getting the couch into the
apartment after it was filled with my belongings scattered through out." This is an example of their
disorganization. They were very disorganized and evidently were not informed that I was
disabled. They had no equipment to use for loading and unloading my property. They borrowed a
shopping cart at the point of origin and brought property into the new apt by hand one item at a time.
They carried the couch up 5 flights of cement stairs scratching and ripping it in several places. They assured me that management would get by back to me and repair it. Management's response was "we
refuse to talk to you, go through the Better Business bureau."
A friend of mine had 3 times as much property that was in fact much heavier than mine and was
moved 12 miles, taking only 5 hours. The rate was less thanl/ 2 of what I paid.
Our realities are very different and they appear unable to give specific examples - just accusations.
This situation has turned into "their word against my word" Plus they used run on sentences and misspellings, in their statements.
I await the next step. I wish to mention again, I had 8 hours of spinal surgery several months after I moved in, March 2014 and have had to deal with this situation while convalescing during this time of illness. That's how poor my health was.
(see hard copy online)

Final Business Response
To whom it may concern:


We will not be paying for any items you claimed were damaged because we received no notice of loss or damage in a timely manner. As I have stated in earlier letter we received no notice of loss or damage until July of 2014 7 months after your move date.

There are no binding agreements that we issue in a local move as we base our moves on estimated time for move permitting "normal" circumstances. When the customer is un sure of how they would like the move to go and what items; this changes time dramatically. However in this case we did not charge additional labor. We did charge a recovery fee for retrieving the customers briefcase from "front" of completely loaded truck at her request. We also charge one hour labor at 89.00 for having to wait for the customer to allow us to deliver. Any paperwork on the customers part with regards to new home should have been completed ahead of time to prevent delay in move progress.

All receipts were mailed from my office to your address on file. We can provide duplicates.

The customer was charged 650.00 labor for move (actual labor time was 14 hrs according to shipper would equal 14hr X 89.00per = 1,246.00) We ate the difference in attempt to help this customer. We lost money on this move.

Additional charges 200.00 labor for unloading WHOLE truck to retrieve briefcase at members request ( the customer was aware this was outside of the bounds of her estimate and was notified before item was retrieved)

Wait time 89.00 customer should have had all preparations completed prior to move day to avoid delay in transit.

If I can be of any further help please do not hesitate to contact me

Sincerely,

******* *****
Vice President Moving Services INC.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Moving Services - Labor & Materials

Additional Information

top

This company is an agent for Bekins.

BBB file opened: 04/04/1986Business started: 04/04/1986
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
400 7th Street SW
Washington, DC20590
(800) 832-5660
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov

BBB records show a license number of USDOT 516094 for this company, issued by Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration. Their web address is http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 1986, AZ

Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Theresa Pratt (President)Customer Contact: Mrs. Annie Coronado (Office Manager)Mr. John Partin (Markeitng Director)Mr. David Pratt (Corporate Secretary)
Number of Employees

20

Business Category

Movers, Moving Services - Labor & Materials

Products & Services

This company specializes in both residential and commercial moving & storage. In addition to local moving and storage services, they also have the capability to provide both long distance and international moving and storage services, as well as long

Alternate Business Names
Huachuca Transfer Company

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Moving Services, Inc. has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Moving Services, Inc.

943 E 17th St

Tucson, AZ 85719-6612

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 210 Howard St 

    Huachuca City, AZ 85616-9769(520) 456-9818
    (800) 331-2756

  • PO Box 6023 

    Huachuca City, AZ 85616-1123

  • 943 E 17th St 

    Tucson, AZ 85719-6612(520) 622-7676

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Arizona. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Moving Services, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013 for complaints filed on 05/22/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines.BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints.

X

Industry Tips for Movers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.