BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/1984

Citizens Transfer & Storage Co., Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (520) 623-6301Fax: (520) 622-1137View Additional Phone Numbers601 E 24th St, TucsonAZ 85713-1708

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/1984

BBB has determined that Citizens Transfer & Storage Co., Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Citizens Transfer & Storage Co., Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues4
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Citizens Transfer & Storage Co., Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
01/20/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Citizens Transfer and Storage lost multiple furniture pieces and other items while in storage. Company has not provided claim processing and refunds.
On 4/25/2005 Citizens Transfer and Storage Company, Inc., based on prior agreement, loaded our household goods and furniture into six (6) of their wood 5x7x7 storage vaults and transferred these vaults to their Tucson, AZ warehouse. In addition to the six (6) storage vaults, three sofas, an extension ladder, and a long package was picked up at the same time and transferred to their Tucson, AZ warehouse. All our items were to be stored until further notice by us to Citizens Transfer.
On 11/09/2015, by prior arrangement, Citizens Transfer was to remove all our household goods and furniture in their possession from their warehouse and deliver same to our current metropolitan Tucson address.
Instead of all six (6) storage vaults and the three sofas, an extension ladder, and the long package being delivered to us, only five (5) storage vaults and the three sofas, and an extension ladder, were delivered. The contents of one complete 5x7x7 wood storage vault and its contents was missing, along with the previously mentioned large package. At no time during the period from 4/25/2005 through 11/09/2015 did we access our possessions stored in the warehouse.
Citizens Transfer was immediately questioned, via telephone, as to why all six (6) storage vaults were not delivered. We were informed that Citizens Transfer was unable to locate the missing (sixth) storage vault. An additional query was made via email on 11/12/2015 as to the existence of the missing vault and its contents. At this time we mentioned to Citizens Transfer that an adjustment would be needed to be made to the delivery charges if the currently missing contents of the vault were not located and delivered to us.
On 11/13/2015 we were informed that it "looks like" the missing wood storage vault and contents were located. A truck was dispatched to our house on 11/14/2015 supposedly containing the items from the now located wood storage vault. When the truck arrived at our house, the truck contained only our missing BBQ grill, our previously mentioned large package, and two (2) medium boxes of miscellaneous items that were clearly marked as ours. The driver had approximately 10 other items on the truck that he was told were ours. He was incorrect; the other items he attempted to deliver were not ours and we did not accept them. These other items were in a state of disarray.
On 11/16/2015 we made another request to Citizens Transfer regarding the status of our missing items. At that time also we stated we wanted to speak with the business owner. The business owner has not communicated with us. As of this date, we have had no further communication from Citizens Transfer regarding our missing possessions.
We have attempted to file a claim for the missing items. We were informed by the agent who handles claims for Citizens Transfer that we could file a claim either on paper or through the Citizens Transfer website. We attempted to use the Citizens Transfer website on 12/06/2015. It was not possible to file a claim via the Citizens Transfer website. Errors were encountered and the claim was not filed through the website. Prior to performing the final transmission of the claim on the website, the claim pages and screens were saved to softcopy in case of failure and as backup for further use. When the error was encountered, the error screen was also saved. The claim pages and the error screen were sent as an email attachment to the claims agent on 12/07/2015. The claims agent for Citizens Transfer responded by telling us we would have an answer in seven (7) days to advise us on how our claim would be handled. The claims agent for Citizens Transfer appears to be a home based independent contractor located in a Midwestern state.

Desired Settlement
Conclusion....
Citizens Transfer and Storage Company, Inc. has either lost our missing items in their warehouse; or the items have been stolen, or the items have been destroyed, or the items have been shipped to another party and erroneously claimed by them, or some other scenario exists. We have paid delivery charges for items were not delivered. We have paid storage rental fees for 10.5 years for items that ceased to exist for us at some time in those 10.5 years. Citizens Transfer has ceased to communicate with us regarding the missing items. A request to communicate with Citizens Transfer's management has been ignored. The claims process employed does not work and it appears Citizens Transfer's management senses no urgency to repair their claim submission process via their website. The seven (7) day waiting period for an answer as to how our claim will be processed has expired.

Resolution....
We are experiencing delaying tactics from Citizens Transfer regarding claim submission. These tactics must cease immediately, and our claim processed forthwith.
We want a refund of paid delivery charges for items not delivered in the amount of $112.33 , determined as follows: 8300# total shipment less 445# outside of wood storage vaults = 7855#. 7855# divided equally between six (6) storage vaults = 1309# ea. vault. 1309# less 107# for items delivered on 11/14/2015 = 1202# = estimated weight of missing items. Delivery charges of $775.64 / 8300# = $0.0935 per #. 1202# missing * $0.0935 = $112.33
We want a refund of storage rent paid on non existing items in the amount of $3786.30, determined as follows: Storage rate from 4/25/2005 thru 8/31/2015 = $2.50 cwt or $207.50 for total per month ($2.50 * 8300#). Missing weight previously calculated = 1202#. 1202# * $0.0250 per pound = $30.05 per month. $30.05 / mo. * 123 months = $3696.15. Storage rate increase effective 9/2015 to $0.030 per pound; 1202# * $0.030 * 2.50 months = $90.15. Total = $3696.15 + $90.15 = $3786.30.

Business Response
We had a conversation with the customer today and have concluded the claim to his satisfaction.

Thank you
**** ******

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Customer agreed to monetary amount proposed by Citizens Transfer and Storage. Customer is waiting for check from Citizens Transfer and Storage. When check is received, customer will consider complaint closed satisfactorily.

10/30/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
citizen transfer agent of allied vans surveyed my house incorrectly, packed my stuff, holding my furniture against my wish, refusing to talk to me

this company surveyed my stuff, also picked up my stuff. left furniture on the street when I called them back they refused to answer, later claimed I tried to borrow furniture from neighbor to ship doesn't make sense, also they are holding my furniture against my wish and conspiring with international


Overseas Moving Specialists dba

International Sea & Air Shipping
*** ******* ******

Elmont NY XXXXX

Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX

Warehouse: XXX-XXX-XXXX

Fax: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Toll free: XXX-XXX-XXXX

in dividing my furniture into 2 container and revising move estimate to double, meanwhile giving me 3 bad choices, pay 60 %, pay as much as whole move to return my furniture, or lastely pay outrageous storage charges

Desired Settlement
they have to release furniture and my family clothing also they are holding my financial info and hold them responsible for any identity theft

Business Response
This customer has made mention of Citizens Transfer holding his items hostage which is not correct. He also made mention of clothing that we have of his. We do not have any clothing for this customer.

Mr. **** has not paid us to date for any of his charges although, invoices have been sent but unanswered. Each one of Mr. ****'s inquiries have been answered.

If we can answer any additional questions or concerns, please let us know.

Thank you
**** ******
Citizens Tfr

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
citizen have filled a 20 ft container with less than 5000 lbs,b), I have paid their contractor 2000 usd, also citizen left my furniture on the side walk, filled my container less than optimal (5000) normally it is close to 8000 lbs. Since june 23 rd have been holding my furniture hostage that is a fact, not an opinion, and the state of Arizona is trying to get them to hand over the furniture which they are refusing..

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
citizen released my furniture in Tucson, I ask they exert effort to release rest that is overseas that was packed by them.

Still have a concern that my stuff at citizen was 1480 Lb, and <5000 Lb what was shipped total of 6500 lb < should have fitted in a 20 ft container packing was not efficient

Final Business Response
This is in reference to Mr. **** complaints. .

It is my understanding that Mr. **** had a friend of his in Tucson go to Citizens warehouse and he took all of the items. We no longer have any items in our warehouse for this customer.

If we can answer any additional questions, please let us know.

Thank you
**** ******
Citizens Tfr

10/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We hired this company for a cross-town (2 mile) move at the end of June. One of our appliances received minor damage, and we were told to file an insurance claim, which we completed on July 9. We had to contact the claims representative a couple of times before the claim was processed. The claim amount was determined to be $75 in an e-mail dated August 9. We waited patiently to receive a check for over a month, then contacted the claims representative again a couple more times but have received nothing to date. I would be happy to forward the e-mail communications if necessary. We have also contacted the company directly, by phone, but again have heard nothing. It's ridiculous that we have been made to wait for 3 months for such a minor settlement.
Product_Or_Service: Household goods moving
Order_Number:*******

Desired Settlement
We would like to receive the insurance settlement check we were promised as soon as possible, thank you.

Business Response
There was a delay in getting the check to the customer for settlement. We did in fact get this mailed to her this week and we did confirm with her that she has now received the check.

Thank you
**** ******
Citizens Tfr

Consumer Response
I just wanted to let you know that we received a check for $75 from Citizens Transfer in yesterday's mail; it was issued on October 10.

Thank you so much for the assistance you provided,

08/18/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
this company agent of allied van in Arizona they have not picked up my stuff left on road furniture and left, holding my stuff hostage will not releas
I hired an out of state broker to administer my move, he in turn hired allied vans and citizen in Arizona, one to survey and other to pack my stuff. After survey allied van and broker committed that my stuff will fit in a 20 ft container by email, later on day of move at 5 pm on Friday they tell me will not fit, and long behold an 18 wheelers shows up on Friday at 5 pm to pick up overflow. Citizen left some of my furniture on the side walk and drove away...called them continuously to pick up rest they wouldn't answer phone, tried to understand overflow they wouldn't share any info. 2 weeks later I get a call from main broker pay 15ooo plus vs intial estimate (9500) or will charge you storage, also wire transfer 12000 immediately. so was given 3 bad choices pay double what we quoted you, or will hold your furniture hostage and charge you storage every day 225 plus, I said release furniture they asked for 8000 to return my furniture from across town and from across state line from California, basically pay 8000 plus storage without stuff ever being moved. Allied van neither citizen are responding, need my furniture asap, and my kids cloth, these practices should be illegal

Desired Settlement
go back and pick up extra furniture on side walk.

consolidate overflow and 20 ft container in one place. release furniture to me and will pick it up. or ship as originally quoted and confirmed by email contract with main broker cancelled so now supplier citizen have my stuff and by law have to release back to me

Business Response
The Customer hired International Movers to get him from Arizona to overseas. They hired us to do the survey and the packing. They advised us that the customer was paying for a 20 ft container. While filling this container the customer kept changing his mind on what he wanted to go and what was to stay. So it took longer then expected to load. After the 20 ft container which was all that was authorized by International Movers to load, he wanted other items to be moved as well.
We accommodated this and brought the items back to our warehouse to be loaded in a separate container. There was never any items left on the sidewalk at any time. The customer did call us after all the loading was done as he wanted to add additional items that a neighbor was giving him. However, these items were not available for the initial move and we were not authorized by International Movers to pick up any additional items. Regarding the dollar amounts the customer outlines, we never discussed any amounts with him as he did not hire us to do the move, International Movers hired us. We hope that we have addressed the issues outlined but we believe that the customer really should be pursuing this complaint with International Movers.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In their response citizen were saying they were hired to do survey and packing, they surveyed and said my stuff will fit in 20 ft container that was the base of international movers estimate, and my contract with international movers.

not true about customer changing their mind, they surveyed the house and ship all in house no surprise here, also they left chairs on lawn and in neighborhood and left very unprofessional,

I'm missing furniture, my neighbor called me and told me citizen left your furniture on the side walk, they are also available to confirm, can provide number when we take to court.

I didn't want more or less stuff to be moved, I hired international mover to do door to door move, they hired citizn to survey and pack, on day of move, I end up with citizen leaving furniture on the side walk..

bs it is not additional furniture neighbor giving me so much lies unbelievable, call neighbor and he will tell you actually chair is part of my table set (I have 6), 1 in Arizona, and 5 at the wearhouse more lies... they are all same color same shape, actually you take table from wearhouse, and the chair still at my house is for that table other 5 are chair at wearhouse more lies no credibility...

I called them for 2 weeks they refused to talk to me, also they are holding my furniture against my will illegal per Carrier law dot already taking action, need to make furniture available for pick up asap have been trying to give them notice since july 3, also need to pick up chair that is part of the set.

This has been a horrible move, 20 ft container in la, boxes in wearhouse in AZ, and chairs on the street part of my outside table set night mare.

By law need to release my furniture, or per law they will be liable for 10,000 penalty. Have to call me asap and provide place and when can pick up furniture asap, more delays they will risk their license and penalty

06/24/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Allied packers removed items from drawers and packed in boxes. Unusual and not expected. Items missing
I accidentally typed my complaint in the settlement want box. Please read that.

Desired Settlement
re: Reg#XXXXXX Claim#XXXXX-X missing rings and gun.
I hired Allied to pack and move me the end of September 2014 because I had Ben t boned mid September and had broken ribs and couldn't do it myself. I sat on my couch with a heating pad in my living room while 3 guys packed my house. In the afternoon the guy in my bedroom came out because he needed more boxes "for the file cabinet" I said, "why do you need boxes for the file cabinet?" He said this driver will not load unless all drawers are empty. I went into my bedroom to open my dresser and it had been emptied. I was shocked. I said, what are you doing? I've moved 10 times with movers and they have never unpacked my dresser before. Ever!!
I met the driver at my home in Vancouver a few days later. The truck was unloaded quickly and the driver wanted me to sign for the delivery. I said, sure, and then what do I do if anything is missing or broken? He said to file a claim. Once all the boxes were unpacked I realized two things: two engagement rings were missing, and a Ruger mk2 22 was missing. I did find the empty cardboard box from one of the rings. The funny thing is, the rings and the gun were buried in my top dresser drawer. I couldn't have dreamt they would unpack my dresser. I also received 2 boxes that belonged to someone else so I notified Allied claims. They sent the driver to pick up the 2 mins delivered boxes and were shocked they had unpacked my drawers. I filed a complaint. I have been told I should have claimed this at the time of delivery. I would have if the driver and guys wanted to wait here for 3 weeks while I unpacked. That's insane. One of the loaders inTucson was the uncle to the kid that packed my dresser items into boxes. I paid for the insurance. I filed the claim as soon as all was unpacked so I could make absolute sure I didn't have my rings and gun. I have used moving companies for so many moves over the years I would never have thought they would pack my drawers in boxes. HELP! This is BAD BUSINESS! I want to be reimbursed the amt requested

Business Response
The customers are given a document at the beginning of their move advising them of what should not be included in the shipment. The document advises that no jewelry and or guns are to be in the shipment as they are not covered. The customer did not allow the packers into her bedroom. The clothing and such that needed to be packed was all in the living room for packing. The customer did not leave the packers alone while they were in her home packing. She was available the entire time. We did not remove any thing from the dressers to be packed. Again all items from the bedroom that needed to be packed were packed in the living room as we were not allowed in her bedroom. Allied Van Lines corporate office denied the claim as there is no evidence to support the allegations that the customer has made regarding her missing jewelry and or guns. Also, these items were not to be available and or within the shipment as they are items that are not covered. Should you need any additional information, please let us know.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The business response is completely made up from whole cloth. There is no truth in anything they say. In fact in light of this, I would recommend no one ever use their service again. I cannot believe Allied let them put the Allied name on their business. They are an embarrassment and I will explain why.
LIES: 1)I was given no document before the move advising me of what can and cannot be included in the shipment. 2) nothing was said or given to me regarding guns or jewelry. 3) I absolutely gave the packers free reign of the entire house. I was sitting in the living room with broken ribs after getting t boned in a car accident and had a heating pad on me. I never got up for anything. They packed my things in my bedroom while in my bedroom. I couldn't have carried things to the living room if I wanted to and that is just a ridiculous statement. Whomever wrote the response obviously didn't talk to the packers. 4) the packer unpacked my dresser which I had no idea they would be doing. I have moved with movers 10 times and never once had someone unpack a dresser. In fact when I called Allied customer service the woman I spoke to couldn't believe they unpacked my dresser. 5) nothing was moved to the living room. He spent the entire day in the bedroom packing. 6) I was never told to hide things from the packers. When I asked them why they unpacked my dresser I was told because the driver won't load dressers with things in them.
These are the 6 big lies that Citizens Transfer has put out there. I paid over $350.00 for insurance. When I told the driver I can't sign the delivery slip because I can't tell if anything is missing he said to sign it and file a claim later, which I did. Also worth noting, they delivered two boxes to me which weren't mine. One had two Rolex watches in it...a mans and a woman's in the original boxes. I called Allied and the driver picked them up 2 weeks later. I wonder if that customer was told not to ship jewelry? I sure wasn't.
Six big lies, not a shred of truth. How can they not stand behind their promises and get away with it? I do not recommend anyone use an Allied moving company. Their word and contract means nothing to them. They lie!

06/15/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company is holding my stuff hostage and the GM will not respond. I have called three times. Their driver has had my stuff for 18 days/
Driver came to pick up my stuff on May 2nd. It is now May 19th and the driver is missing. The company will not return my calls.

Desired Settlement
The driver has my life on that truck worth about $100,000.00

Business Response
This customer moved with Allied Van Lines 8 months ago with another Allied Agent and was presented with documents on the process of moving which included "Rights & Responsibilities" per FMCSA & DOT regulations. This customer chose to approach an Allied driver directly and on the side, who was contracted with our agency, and paid him cash for an "under the table" move. She did not contact an agent or Allied and her shipment was not registered with Allied Van Lines. Citizens nor Allied knew she had a shipment on the truck. This driver was ill and missing for more than 9 days however, he did deliver Ms. ******* shipment on Sunday May 24th to her self storage unit at **** ****** Self Storage **** ******** **** ********** ** XXXXX. We had a designated employee handling the customers needs on this truck and it was not the owner of our company. Citizens & Allied registered this shipment once it was discovered the driver loaded an unregistered shipment. This customer was not charged accordingly for the transport of her shipment and in fact paid for a fraction of the cost had it been handled properly. While we understand how distressing this situation was for all involved there is a good reason we follow all the rules and regulations set forth by all the governing bodies for interstate moves. This driver had been with our agency for over 20 years and in fact was presented with a 25 year safe driver award for 2014 - this was an unexpected and in fact unheard of situation for our agency.

12/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Please accept this email as a formal complaint against Citizens Transfer and Storage Co. Inc., *** ** 24th Street, Tucson, AZ. XXXXX-XXXX - XXX-XXX-XXXX.

My name is Dr. ***** ********. I hired Citizens 10 years ago to move me from one home to another locally and they did such a fantastic job, I held on to their business card for 10 years. When it came time to move again, they were the first and only call I made based on the reputation and what great job they did in the past.

On October 19, 2013 three men showed up to move my three bedroom home to a new home, one block over. The new home was a larger home with stairs. There were many heavy items to be moved, including a front loader washer and dryer with drawers under them to come from the old house to the new house. In addition the new house had a Kenmore washer and dryer to be moved to the old house to be used as a rental.

It wasn't until I started unpacking that I noticed several items that were wrapped very well were broken. It seems that they took no notice or care to the large print on the box labeled "Fragile." I have moved over 12 times in my life and never had so many items broken.

The highlight was when I hired a professional to come hook up the washer and dryer only to be told that the washer at my old home was dropped and the tub is no longer connected to the machine. I was told by this professional that the only way this can happen is if it was dropped. Now I have a washer at a home I am ready to put of for rent that doesn't work. I either have to invest money to have it fixed or have someone come and get it. Either way this will cost me more time off work to deal with. Then looking at my new house, the dryer no longer has the bolts that hold the drawer to the dryer. The same professional looked at it and assumed that one of the movers started to unscrew it and was later told that is not needed. The washer is fine, but the dryer no longer has bolts to hold the two together. Again another cost for me.

I called Citizen's on 11/413 after I completed unpacking all items and reviewing the items broken. I asked to speak to a manager and was told there were no managers in that day. I left a message for ***** at ext. **** whom I was told is the Operations Manager.

I called again on 11/4 later in the afternoon to see if she had come in and was told she might be in between 4-5pm.

I tried again on 11/5, but did not leave a message.

On 11/5 I asked who *****'s manager was and was told it was ****. I then left **** a message.

I tried again on11/7 but again got the voice mail. I left another message.

On 11/8 I called ***** again and once more got the voice mail. I indicated that I have a serious concern and would like to deal with the company directly. But if I do not receive a call back by the end of the day, I would be contacting the BBB and the media.

No one ever called me back.
This once was a truly great company, but the lack of communication and responding to a voice messages is very concerning. I paid over $1200.00 to move one block only to have items broken and now have even more expense in fixing items. Needless to say, I am frustrated with Citizens and their lack of professionalism. I want to be compensated for the damage of the broken washer and the bolt for the dryer. I paid to have it moved and now have an even higher expense of having to fix what Citizens damaged (see complaint online). **

Desired Settlement
I teach for several colleges and universities, including a local one in Tucson. This will make for a great case study of how customer service can turn consumers away and lead to a poor reputation. If this matter is not rectified in a timely manner, my next step will be to write an article to the Arizona Star, Tucson Citizen and The Sierra press in addition to contacting KGUN9, KVOA, KOLD and share how a moving company can move personal items and damage goods and then have no courtesy to even return a call to find out the problem is and how to help rectify it.

Business Response
We're very sorry that Ms ******** did not receive the professional move that she deserved from our company and that our communication was lacking. We would be more than happy to assist her with her claim once she completes a claim form at www.Citizenstransfer.com. Once the claim is received it will be acknowledged by the adjustor. Once the adjustor investigates the claim they will contact the customer. Should any additional information be needed, please let us now.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This appears to be just another run around response. They didn't follow through on the multiple voice messages left, why would I expect them to follow through on a website claim? This is not a response but just another run around answer. My warning to all consumers considering using Citizens Transfer is to find another company. I used them in the past and was quite satisfied however their current business is run by a bunch of unprofessionals that really don't care about your stuff or what breaks. I have had more broken and destroyed in this move, which was only 1 block. I will never use them I will never recommend them again this company has gone completely down hill.
** ********

Final Business Response
It is never our intention for any customer to feel like they are getting the run around and for this we apologize. We can't change the experience the customer had. We can only move forward and take responsibility for the items that were damaged as a result of the move. We have not received a claim form from the customer. We have no record of one being filed. If they will go back to www.citizenstransfer.com and complete a form we can move forward on the claims investigation. If an acknowledgement is not made within 48 hrs of the claim being submitted then it was not received. We again apologize as you are a valued customer and we will do the right thing in getting your claim taken care of for transit damages.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Storage Units - Household & Commercial, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Movers - Office, Office Records Stored

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/01/1952Business started: 01/01/1907New Owner Date: 03/06/1923
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
400 7th Street SW
Washington, DC 20590
(800) 832-5660
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov

BBB records show a license number of USDOT 118397 for this company, issued by Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration. Their web address is http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 1923, AZ

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Belton (President / CEO)Customer Contact: Jean Light (Finance Manager)Ms. Donna Fontaine (Customer Service Manager)Mr. Layne Lundeen (Vice President)
Number of Employees

80

Business Category

Movers, Storage Units - Household & Commercial, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Movers - Office, Office Records Stored

Products & Services

This company offers moving and storage, record storage, and commercial storage.

Alternate Business Names
Citizens Transfer Commercial, Citizens Business Archives

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Citizens Transfer & Storage Co., Inc.

601 E 24th St

Tucson, AZ 85713-1708

To | From

LocationsX

5 Locations

  • 467 W Kayetan Dr 

    Sierra Vista, AZ 85635(520) 458-1633
    Fax: (520) 458-8256

  • 1320 N Euclid Ave 

    Tucson, AZ 85719

  • 2004 S Euclid Ave 

    Tucson, AZ 85713

  • 601 E 24th St 

    Tucson, AZ 85713-1708(520) 623-6301
    (520) 334-1315
    Fax: (520) 622-1137

  • 710 W Silverlake Rd 

    Tucson, AZ 85713(520) 882-4434

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Arizona. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Citizens Transfer & Storage Co., Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (520) 628-9818
  • (520) 300-9230
  • (520) 334-1315

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (520) 884-0599
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013 for complaints filed on 05/22/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines.BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints.

X

Industry Tips for Movers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.