BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/1984

Citizens Transfer & Storage Co., Inc.

Phone: (520) 623-6301Fax: (520) 622-1137

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
10/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We hired this company for a cross-town (2 mile) move at the end of June. One of our appliances received minor damage, and we were told to file an insurance claim, which we completed on July 9. We had to contact the claims representative a couple of times before the claim was processed. The claim amount was determined to be $75 in an e-mail dated August 9. We waited patiently to receive a check for over a month, then contacted the claims representative again a couple more times but have received nothing to date. I would be happy to forward the e-mail communications if necessary. We have also contacted the company directly, by phone, but again have heard nothing. It's ridiculous that we have been made to wait for 3 months for such a minor settlement.
Product_Or_Service: Household goods moving
Order_Number:*******

Desired Settlement
We would like to receive the insurance settlement check we were promised as soon as possible, thank you.

Business Response
There was a delay in getting the check to the customer for settlement. We did in fact get this mailed to her this week and we did confirm with her that she has now received the check.

Thank you
**** ******
Citizens Tfr

Consumer Response
I just wanted to let you know that we received a check for $75 from Citizens Transfer in yesterday's mail; it was issued on October 10.

Thank you so much for the assistance you provided,

11/19/2012Problems with Product / Service
12/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Please accept this email as a formal complaint against Citizens Transfer and Storage Co. Inc., *** ** 24th Street, Tucson, AZ. XXXXX-XXXX - XXX-XXX-XXXX.

My name is Dr. ***** ********. I hired Citizens 10 years ago to move me from one home to another locally and they did such a fantastic job, I held on to their business card for 10 years. When it came time to move again, they were the first and only call I made based on the reputation and what great job they did in the past.

On October 19, 2013 three men showed up to move my three bedroom home to a new home, one block over. The new home was a larger home with stairs. There were many heavy items to be moved, including a front loader washer and dryer with drawers under them to come from the old house to the new house. In addition the new house had a Kenmore washer and dryer to be moved to the old house to be used as a rental.

It wasn't until I started unpacking that I noticed several items that were wrapped very well were broken. It seems that they took no notice or care to the large print on the box labeled "Fragile." I have moved over 12 times in my life and never had so many items broken.

The highlight was when I hired a professional to come hook up the washer and dryer only to be told that the washer at my old home was dropped and the tub is no longer connected to the machine. I was told by this professional that the only way this can happen is if it was dropped. Now I have a washer at a home I am ready to put of for rent that doesn't work. I either have to invest money to have it fixed or have someone come and get it. Either way this will cost me more time off work to deal with. Then looking at my new house, the dryer no longer has the bolts that hold the drawer to the dryer. The same professional looked at it and assumed that one of the movers started to unscrew it and was later told that is not needed. The washer is fine, but the dryer no longer has bolts to hold the two together. Again another cost for me.

I called Citizen's on 11/413 after I completed unpacking all items and reviewing the items broken. I asked to speak to a manager and was told there were no managers in that day. I left a message for ***** at ext. **** whom I was told is the Operations Manager.

I called again on 11/4 later in the afternoon to see if she had come in and was told she might be in between 4-5pm.

I tried again on 11/5, but did not leave a message.

On 11/5 I asked who *****'s manager was and was told it was ****. I then left **** a message.

I tried again on11/7 but again got the voice mail. I left another message.

On 11/8 I called ***** again and once more got the voice mail. I indicated that I have a serious concern and would like to deal with the company directly. But if I do not receive a call back by the end of the day, I would be contacting the BBB and the media.

No one ever called me back.
This once was a truly great company, but the lack of communication and responding to a voice messages is very concerning. I paid over $1200.00 to move one block only to have items broken and now have even more expense in fixing items. Needless to say, I am frustrated with Citizens and their lack of professionalism. I want to be compensated for the damage of the broken washer and the bolt for the dryer. I paid to have it moved and now have an even higher expense of having to fix what Citizens damaged (see complaint online). **

Desired Settlement
I teach for several colleges and universities, including a local one in Tucson. This will make for a great case study of how customer service can turn consumers away and lead to a poor reputation. If this matter is not rectified in a timely manner, my next step will be to write an article to the Arizona Star, Tucson Citizen and The Sierra press in addition to contacting KGUN9, KVOA, KOLD and share how a moving company can move personal items and damage goods and then have no courtesy to even return a call to find out the problem is and how to help rectify it.

Business Response
We're very sorry that Ms ******** did not receive the professional move that she deserved from our company and that our communication was lacking. We would be more than happy to assist her with her claim once she completes a claim form at www.Citizenstransfer.com. Once the claim is received it will be acknowledged by the adjustor. Once the adjustor investigates the claim they will contact the customer. Should any additional information be needed, please let us now.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This appears to be just another run around response. They didn't follow through on the multiple voice messages left, why would I expect them to follow through on a website claim? This is not a response but just another run around answer. My warning to all consumers considering using Citizens Transfer is to find another company. I used them in the past and was quite satisfied however their current business is run by a bunch of unprofessionals that really don't care about your stuff or what breaks. I have had more broken and destroyed in this move, which was only 1 block. I will never use them I will never recommend them again this company has gone completely down hill.
** ********

Final Business Response
It is never our intention for any customer to feel like they are getting the run around and for this we apologize. We can't change the experience the customer had. We can only move forward and take responsibility for the items that were damaged as a result of the move. We have not received a claim form from the customer. We have no record of one being filed. If they will go back to www.citizenstransfer.com and complete a form we can move forward on the claims investigation. If an acknowledgement is not made within 48 hrs of the claim being submitted then it was not received. We again apologize as you are a valued customer and we will do the right thing in getting your claim taken care of for transit damages.

07/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased insurance for my move-company damaged several items including a cherry wood bed. Insurance is supposed to cover replacement cost
I moved from Arizona to Texas on 4/22/2013. I purchased insurance for my possessions from the moving company for $500 which according to the contract states "the moving company is liable for the full replacement value of your goods" and they refuse to uphold that part of te contract. I purchased the insurance from the salesperson Shelly Kearns who also stated if a piece of furniture could not be fixed the entire set would be replaced. Citizens (Judy Fisher) notified me that they do not have anyone where I live who can repair my items so they are offering to reimburse me repair cost which is unacceptable since they've already confirmed there isn't anyone near me to make repairs. My contract number is XXXXXX and the value of the content insurance I purchased was $75,000 which is the maximum citizens offered. Their resolution to damaging my possessions is not acceptable and I shouldn't have to live with the damage that their employees did.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking either replacement value that I bought the insurance to cover OR Citizen's needs to find someone who can travel to my home and attempt repairs. Their offer to reimburse me a repair "estimate cost" is NOT acceptable.

Business' Initial Response
The customer terminated in an area where we lack local representation. It is therefore up to the customer to provide estimates of repair to support their claim. We allowed her estimated costs of repair based upon the type of damages claimed. We advised her that if the amounts we allowed did not cover the costs in full for repairs to send us support for an additional settlement to be reviewed. This customer feels that she is entitled to replacement for the claimed items because there is no local representation in the area, which is not true. Also, the provisions under the Extra Care Protection plan for full replacement only applies to items that are totally destroyed and can no longer be used for their intent which is not the case for the items we allowed estimated costs of repair. Also, the customer did not purchase insurance. They purchased valuation protection. We do not sell insurance nor are we an insurance company. Valuation not being insurance but a declaration of the value of the property in the event that there is loss and or damages. The customer should try and find someone in her area that does repairs and have them give her an estimate of repairs and submit if she is unhappy with what we have allowed. Should you need anything else, please let us know.

Consumer's Final Response
I still firmly believe that it is not MY responsibility to find someone to repair the items that THEY damaged. Citizens should not inconvenience their customers by making them hunt down repairmen, but should take it upon themselves to make things right.

When ****** ****** sold me the moving package SHE is the one who called the "protection" insurance so I was under the impression I was in fact purchasing insurance for my items. She further made me believe this by telling me that my renters insurance would NOT cover my items while in transit.

The solution offered by Citizens is still not a viable one. I will not be satisfied until they find someone to repair the items they damaged. I live an hour from two major cities so I'm sure if they wanted to do the right thing they could find a repairman in one of those places.

This matter is not closed.

****** L. *****
(see rebuttal online). **

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Storage Units - Household & Commercial, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Movers - Office, Office Records Stored

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.