BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Arizona Mail Order Company, Inc.

Phone: (520) 745-4500Fax: (520) 750-6755

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues3
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service12
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints18

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (18)
07/14/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Gentlemen:

Your assistance is requested in either the filling of an order by Old Pueblo Trades, PO Box *** ******* ************* or the refund of my money in the amount of $29.99. A memo for record reflecting efforts to resolve this problem is enclosed (Encl. 1). The amount of money is small; however, others may be experiencing a similar problem in the filling of their orders by this company.

The company denies that an order was made by me; however, my bank statement reflects an electronically withdrawal of my check no. XXXXX in the amount of $29.99. A Fax sent by ***** ****** Assistant Vice President, Customer Service Department of Merchants & Farmers Bank & Trust Company, requesting an investigation was ignored (Encl. 2) (see complaint online).

Desired Settlement
Employees of Old Pueblo Traders refused to provide the address or telephone number for their main office.

Business Response
7/9/14

RE: Case #19044261: ***** ******

Dear Ms. ********

We are in receipt of the complaint filed by Ms. ***** ****** and appreciate the opportunity to respond.

In researching her account we show that refund check #XXXXXXX in the amount of $29.99 was issued on 6/25/14. This is to cover the $29.99 for her check #XXXXX that was electronically withdrawn for her account.

In speaking with Ms. ****** she as stated that she received the refund check and is happy the matter has been resolved.

We apologize for any inconvenience experienced in this matter.

If I can be of further assistance, please feel free to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. 1618.

Sincerely,

****** ********

Consumer Response
Gentlemen:
Old Pueblo Traders forwarded a refund check with the explanation that it was "to resolve your inquiry." AA copy of their letter is enclosed.

Thank you for your assistance (see final response online).

05/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Without my consent, in 2012 Old Pueblo Traders enrolled me in a Rewards Program. When I discovered this, I asked them to refund the amt. of $194.35 which they had blatantly taken out of my acct. In 2013 they returned $89.70 and on 1/9/14 they returned $74.75; I was told by ****** of the Rewards Program that the balance would be mailed to me. After not receiving it, I called and was informed that it had been mailed out, and told to wait a month and see if I receive it. A month later I called again, but I still haven't received the balance of the money owed to me. I would greatly appreciate your assistance in helping me to retrieve my money.

Desired Settlement
A check for $29.90.

Business Response
5/22/14

RE: Case ********** **** ********* *******

Dear Ms. ********

We are in receipt of the complaint filed by Ms. ******* and appreciate the opportunity to respond.

The charges placed on her Visa Card were for a Rewards Program she signed up for when placing her phone order on 9/29/12. As this is a third party offer all concerns regarding this should be directed to Encore Marketing.

In an effort to resolve this matter, I have been in contact with Encore Marketing and have been told that a refund check in the amount of $29.90 will be issued within the next several days and should arrive shortly.

If I can be of further assistance in this matter, please contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. 1618.

Sincerely,

****** ********
AMO Customer Service


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
As mentioned in their letter dated 3/5/14 I should have rec'd $31.85; however, they sent $29.90. I accept this amount so that this case can be resolved, and I thank you, BBB, for your immediate response.

05/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
To whom it *** concern:
The reason for this letter is to inform you of an over charge to my account, and to request your aid in clearing this mistake made by OPT.
I placed an order on January the 9th requesting five pairs of active wear (please see attached page taken from catalog showing the items ordered). Order totaled $58.84. Promo code used to defer cost of shipping. Received order in two separate packages. First package included four pairs of pants whch were too large and immediately returned for smaller size same colors. While awaiting exchange items and the remainde of my order, I received charged with a payment due sate of 02/16/14. Full payment mailed 01/31/2014. Later I received one pair of active wear which was from the back order. I have since received the entire order including the four pair that were exchanged for a smaller size.

Problem is on February 25, 2014 I received another statement of charges (see statement attached) I could not believe what I saw. Contacted customer care to clear discrepancy. I understand that I would be charges for shipping to OPT requesting and exchange as well as cost for shipping to me from OPT (with the corrected sizes). But the explanation I was given did not add up let alone make good sense. The payment I made on 01/31/2014 was shown on this payment invoice with a balance of $60.03 due by 03/16/2014. If you add $60.03 + $29.89 that total is $89.92 which is shown as the purchase. Then there is a new balance of $60.03. The customer care representative stated my order was recalculated ($9.97X 4= 39.88). She further stated when I make a payment the adjustment will be made showing the actual amount due is $39.88 instead of $60.03. This is very frustrating. Also note at top of this payment invoice I have a rewards certificate of $10)) which I would like to apply to the true balance owed. Never in my entire life have I returned anything that I paid for and could verify with a receipt for exchange that I had to pay the entire charge for same items all over again (see complaint online).

Desired Settlement
Please help me resolve this problem after which remove my name from list for future catalog and/or mail out.

Business Response
5/1/14
RE: Case #19043634 ****** ******

Dear Ms. ********

We are in receipt of the complaint filed by Ms. ****** ****** and appreciated the opportunity to respond.

On 1/9/14 she phoned in an order for 5 pair of Active Ware Pants priced at $9.97 each for a total of $58.84 which includes $8.99 shipping and handling. The was to be placed on her Private Label Card ending in 9289. Charges of $9.97 and $29.91 were posted on 1/14/14 and $18.96 on 1/16/14 totaling $58.84. The order was shipped and 4 pair were returned for an exchange in size and a credit of $29.89 was posted on 2/4/14. Charges of $59.93 and $29.99 were posted on 2/6/14 and 2/13/14. As these charges were incorrect a credit of $50.04 was posted on 2/26/14. When the pants were returned for an exchange she used our $9.99 return label. As Ms. ****** is a good customer we credited the $9.99 back to her card on 4/28/14.
Below is a breakdown of the charges and credits:

$58.84-charge for 5 pair of pants
-29.89-credit for return
$28.95-balance due

$28.95-balance due
+59.93-charge
+29.99-charge
$118.87-balance due

$118.87-balance due
- 50.04-credit
- 9.99-credit
$ 58.84-cost of 5 pair of pants

As you can see no additional refunds are due at this time.

I hope this clears up and misunderstanding. If you have any further questions regarding this matter, please phone me at XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. 1618.

Sincerely,

****** ********
AMO Customer Service

Consumer Response
Thank you for taking care of my complaint in a timely manner. The matter has been satisfactorily resolved by Arizona Mail Company Inc.

If any other information is need please feel free to contact me @ (XXX)XXX-XXXX (see final response online).

01/23/2013Problems with Product / Service
08/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
see Attached document
Click Here to Get the File
https://odrcomplaint.bbb.org/bureaus/files/complaints10122918Doring, Mary.pdf

Desired Settlement
see Attached document

Business Response
7/24/14
RE: Case #19044347: **** ******

Dear Ms. ********

We are in receipt of your correspondence regarding the dispute filed by Ms. **** ****** and appreciated the opportunity to respond.

In reviewing her order #XXXXXXXX we show that we received her check #7639 in the amount of $55.99 on 4/30/14 for one pair of F0A007 brown St. Lucia slides. They were shipped on 5/23/14, received and returned for a refund. Refund check # XXXXXXX in the amount of $55.99 was issued on 7/8/14. A full refund has bee issued. No additional refunds are due at this time.

We apologize for any inconvenience Ms. ****** has experienced in this matter.

If I can be of further assistance, please feel free to contact me at 570-383-3226 ext. *****

Sincerely,

****** ********
AMO Customer Service

05/26/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I would like my mailing address removed from the Bedford Fair mailing list. I have contacted them several times and I am still receiving catalogs.
I have contacted Bedford Fair by phone on several occasions to remove my mailing address from the Bedford Fail mailing list and I am still receiving catalogs. It has been over two months and I am still receiving catalogs that I do not want. Can someone please let BedFord Fair know that I am not interested in their catalog or any other products or services they are offering.

Desired Settlement
To remove my mailing address from the Bedford Fair and other sister companies from their mailing address.

Business Response
5/14/14
RE: Case #XXXXXXXX: D *****

Dear Ms. ********

We are in receipt of the complaint filed by Ms. D ***** and appreciate the opportunity to respond.

In reviewing Ms. *****' account we show that she as been removed from our mailing list along with all our sister companies. Please bear in mind that our mailings are pre-printed in advance and she *** receive one or two more mailings before her name is totally deleted from our system. She can also contact the Direct Marketing Retailer Association at the below address so they can ensure she has been removed from all lists.

Direct Marketing Association
Mail Preference Service
PO *** ***
****** ** XXXXX

We apologize for any inconvenience Ms. ***** has experienced in this matter.

If I can be of further assistance, please feel free to phone me at XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. 1618.

Sincerely,

****** ********
AMO Customer Service

04/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
To whom it may concern- On Jan. 31, 2014 I called AMO to order 2 pleted skirts at 39.99 each. Item # AMOXXXXX and promo code PPWR for 40% off 2nd item with 2 or more ordered items. After I complered my order, the 'rep' told me she could offer me another item for 25% off. So I ordered a skirt waist dress, price $69.99 (minus 25% off of 17.49) would be $52.50. Item # AMP XXXXX tan (color) Total order #XXXXXXXXX, AMO also known as Old Pueblo Traders.

I got my order Feb. 12. The dress have 40% and the skirt were 39.99 each. The dress - too large- will return. So called customer service to have them assure me of my 40% discount on a skirt. They yold me that was not possible I told them I'd return the while order and never order again- Let me speak to a supervisor (returned while order 2.18/14). The supervisor said it was computer and it could not be changed.

The rep and supervisor totally brushed off the fact the whole order was mis-priced. All was error. Used for promo code (she said "will I'll message for "high ups" (what even that means). They were the ones in error and acted like I was an idiot. Very unprofessional.

The so called "higher ups" called next day. Name on Caller ID- Orchard Brands XXX-XXX-XXXX
They talked the same b.s. and acted like I didn't know what I was saying. The dress was to be 25% off and 40% off one skirt. Now I read fine print on catalog and only one discount per order and I remember asking "re(" if I still got 40% off skirt- after I'd ordered the dress for an extra25% off and se said "yes"/ She (rep) never mentioned I would not get both discounts.

They always offer any additional item after order completed for discounted but previously I'd never done so.
This is totally deceptive - crooked business- stupid and crooked people and business (see complaint online).

Desired Settlement
This is a scam! Bait and switch! I will never do business with them again.

Business Response
3/19/2014
RE: Case #XXXXXXXX: ******* *** ********

Dear Ms. ********

We are in receipt of your correspondence regarding the complaint filed by Ms. ******** and appreciate the opportunity to reply.

In reviewing her phone order #XXXXXXXX dated 1/31/14 we show that she ordered 2 PXXXXX hip stitched skirts at $39.99 each. She then was asked if she would like to place an additional item and received 15% off not 25% as stated in her complaint. At that time she ordered a PXXXXX shirt waist dress priced at $69.99. The 15% off brought the dress down to $59.49. The offer on this mailing was 40% off your favorite item when you order 2 or more. The 40% was taken off the $59.49 bring the cost of the dress to $35.69, the amount Ms. ******** was charged. Below is a summary of her charges:

2-PXXXXX-hip stitched skirts $39.99 each $79.98
1-PXXXXX-shirt waist dress 35.69
Shipping & Handling 15.99
Total $131.33

As you can see she did receive 2 discounts as promised.

We also show that she returned the entire order and a refund of $105.68 was issued to her card ending in 6456 on 2/25/14. I have also requested an additional refund of $25.98 which will bring her total refunds to $131.66. This credit *** not show on her statement for the next one or two billing cycles.

We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused Ms. ********.

If I can be of any further assistance in this matter, please feel free to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. 1618.

Sincerely,
****** ********
Arizona Mail Order Customer Service

Consumer Response
Thank you for registering my complaint. I want nothing from them I've returned all items and will never order from them again.

When they questions my complaint she said (of AMO) We have phone records. I said "good" but never heard back. They bait & switch, lie & steal, other than that all ok! Oh yes! Rude and arrogant (see hard-copy online).

12/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Getting catalogs when for the past 6 months...
For the past 6 months I called and ask to take me off of their mailing list.. I was told that it takes 90 days to stop.. The 90 days came and gone. I am still getting them and I even called them about it and they tell that I am off the list.. I have at least gotten 9 more after the 90 days.. They refuse to stop sending me their catalog.. I was guarantee I was not getting anymore and I am still getting them...

Desired Settlement
No more catalogs starting today..

Business Response
11/11/13

RE:Case #19042157: ******* *******

Dear Ms. ********

We are in receipt of your recent correspondence regarding the complaint filed by Ms. ******* ******* and appreciate the opportunity to respond.

We apologize that Ms. *******'s name was not deleted for our mailing list as promised. I have been in contact with our Advertising Department and have been assured that she has been unsubscribed from our data base. However, because our mailings are pre-printed in advance, she may receive the next one or two mailings.

If I can be of further assistance in this matter, please feel free to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. 1618.

Sincerely,

****** ********
AMO Customer Service

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have been told this at the very beginning when I requesed and had 6 months.. I was told that it would be 90 days that it would stop... After that 90 days was up I still was getting more... I kept track... I had gotten 4 more after the 90 days...

Final Business Response
11/22/13

Re: Case #19042157: ******* *******

Dear *** ********

We are in receipt of the rebuttle filed by Ms. ******* ******* and appreciate the opportunity to respond.

As I stated in my previous response Ms. ******* has been removed from our mailing list along with all our sister companies. In researching her account we show that the last mailing went out on 10/30/13, so she will not be getting any additional catalogs. She can also contact the Direct Marketing Retailer Association at the below address so they can ensure she is removed for all lists.

Direct Marketing Association
Mail Preference Service
PO Box 643
Carmel NY XXXXX

We apologize for an inconvenience experienced in this matter.

If I can be of further assistance in this matter, please feel free to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. 1618.

Sincerely,

****** ********
AMO Customer Service

11/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
For 18 months Pueblo Traders has been sending catalogs addressed to my deceased mother at my address.

I have requested for 18 months that this mailing cease, have been assured I will receive no more mailings and it has never stopped!

Desired Settlement
No more mailings to ******* ****** at XXXXX **** ***** ******* **** *******, ** XXXXX-XXXX.

Business Response
11/14/13

RE: Case #19042210: **** ********

Dear Ms. ********

We are in receipt of the complaint filed by Ms. ******* ******** and appreciate the opportunity to respond.

We apologize that Ms. ******* mothers name, ******** ******* has not been deleted from our mailing list as promised. Pleased be advised that we have deleted her from our data base, however because our mailings are pre-printed in advance, she *** receive the next one or two mailings.

If I can be of further assistance in this matter, please feel free to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. 1618.

Sincerely,

****** ********
AMO Customer Service

Page 1 of 3
03/18/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The personal information that you have provided to us to enable us to respond to your inquiry will only be used for that purpose. You will not be placed on any mailing lists, nor will your information be released to any third party, except as may be authorized by law. This clause was not kept by Old Pueblo Traders Company when they sold or shared my information to their twin sister company Blair.com. Somehow my information is being us by another customer at Old Pueblo Traders Company's twin sister site. I have received several emails of sales transactions made to another customer. I have not shopped at Blair's at anytime. I have not shopped at Old Pueblo Traders for several years passed. In the passed numerous times I have been the victim of identity theft. Therefore, I prefer my information to remain not to be added to mailing list or to be shared with other partnerships. There are several other companies that are using my email address or physical address for their advertisement capital. I have never done business with these companies. However, my mailbox which is a round 8x10 is always overflowing each day with sales papers and letters. Oftentimes the mailman has withheld personal mail such as electric bill, gifts and letters from family and friends because their is no space in my box. I have also involved my congressional representative (Marc Veasey) to stop this type of harassment. However, these companies continues to use my information for advertisement. The companies that are guilty of such act are listed below.1.) Blair 2.)Old Pueblo Traders 3.)State Farm Esmeralda Gutierrez 4.)GEICO 5620 Western Avenue Chevy Chase, MD 5.Capital One Richmond ,VA , Capital OnePlano, Texas, 6. GEICO One GEICO PLAZA Washington, DC , Monarch Dental 4200 S. Fwy., Ste. 15 Fort Worth, Texas XXXXX, UnitedHealthCare Kansas City, MO , Mid America Bank & Trust CompanyNewark, P.O. Box 8099 Newark, DE. There is more (cont).

Desired Settlement
9. AARP The Hartford 1 Hartford Plaza Hartford, CT 06155 10.AMICA Mutual Insurance Company One Hundred Amica Way Lincoln, RI 02865.11. Puritan's Pride P.O. Box 9001,Oakdale, NY .There are more. I want these advertisement to stop. I have explain to these companies that they are preventing me from receiving my utility bills and other mail necessary for maintaining life. Old Pueblo Blair should pay for sharing my information. I do not want my information used for advertisement.

09/10/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I recently ordered my 1st order from them & took out a charge card, per suggestion of the order taker. I received the charge card after I received my order & with the card there were 2 cpns for free S&H. Since this was my 1st order & since I was returning some items from my 1st order, I enclosed one of the cpns, to get my S&H refunds. I was told by *** I could not do that & I argued with *** cause that was my 1st order, but I did not have the cpns. I then asked for a mgr. & **** got on the phone. I told him how I felt & he assured me I would get my next 2 orders & get free S&H. When I placed my next, I told the person what **** promised me & she asked for the code #. ****, being a mgr., did not give me a code, or codes for my next 2 orders. I told the girl to cancel the order & asked for my name & address to be removed.There should be some notation in their files regarding my various conversations.If this can get straightened out, I would order from them again.

Desired Settlement
If this can get straightened out, I would order from them again.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Mail Order & Catalog Shopping, General Merchandise - Retail

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.