BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/16/2009

Re-Bath

Phone: (520) 322-0120Fax: (520) 322-0197

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
03/28/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was given misinformation about product at time of sales pitch. Was shown a sample of what product going to be, and it didn't give the same results.
On 1/21/16 ***** ***** (Re-Bath Rep) came to my home for a free estimate on the bath tub remodeling. We went to the bathroom and showed him the issue. He made a video of the bathroom and proceeded with his sales pitch. He then showed the video of our bathroom and a small video about the company. At this point we had to reschedule to resume on 1/25/16 due to insufficient time . When he came the 2nd time he proceeded to tell us about the company and product. He showed samples of the materials they use and how its a better product than what is usually bought at a hardware store. When it came to the sliding glass doors there were options of clear, frosted or treated with a water repellent. He showed a sample of a red liquid in two small jars held side by side. One side the red liquid would stick to the glass, the other would just slide of leaving no trace behind. The contract was made with what had been chosen including the clear glass doors treated with the water repellent product. He gave a quote of $6995.00 for the entire job. The job was scheduled to be done on 2/18 and 2/19 of 2016. After the job was completed the contractor went over the instructions to care for the walls, tub and glass doors,he handed a squeegee for the walls and a 4oz bottle of "clean-x glass and surface cleaner plus" for the doors. I asked what the bottle was for and if the doors weren't treated? He said "yes" and that with that bottle to spray every 3 to 6 mths to help maintain the repellent. He also suggested that the shower could be used the next morning. The next morning my son took a shower, and the glass was spotted he squeegeed the walls but left the doors for me to see. I cleaned them with the clean-x following the directions hoping that with it it would repell the water like we're told it would. A week passed and the same issue continued, it does not repell the water and has to be cleaned on a daily basis. I spoke with ***** on 2/29/16 and told him about the situation, he said was going to check the order for the doors to see that he did ask for the treated doors. He made a comment of people making mistakes and that it would be resolved. He said he would look into it and give me a call back. This morning 3/1/16 he called and said the the doors were treated and that he talked to his supervisor and said it was normal for water drops to stay on the doors but if they dried up it would not stain them, and that I could go in and clean them once a week because they are low maintenance. I told him that it wasn't what I was told and sold that it was very upsetting and that I would be the one cleaning it on a daily basis because if the water drops are not cleaned and are showing it makes the entire bathroom look dirty. He suggested that there are shower curtains that can be placed inside that can keep the doors clean. I disagree I bought a product to take the existing curtain off and paid for a product to repell water and I didn't get that.To this time as far as the rest of the product there have not been any issues, hopefully no more problems come from this.

Desired Settlement
Fix the doors to where they do repell the water 100% like the sample shows and refund $650.00. Also that the company honors their promise that they will keep their customers happy and satisfied.

Business Response
This consumer filed a complaint with the BBB prior to ownership knowing there was an issue. However, the consumer contacted us after the complaint was sent to the BBB on the same day. When the consumer presented the issue to us we had no knowledge at the time of the BBB complaint. Because the consumer was not happy with their shower door we gave them two options. The first option was for us to remove the shower door and refund the cost of the door, which was $600.00. Our second option that we offered was for them to keep the door and we would refund half of the cost of the door, which was $300.00. During the conversation the consumer chose to keep the shower door and have us refund $300.00, which we did.
After this agreement was made we received the complaint from the BBB. Because of the dates noted on the complaint we realized the complaint was probably filed prior to us having a conversation with the consumer. We then contacted the consumer and they confirmed that was the case. The consumer tried to go online to the BBB website and have the complaint removed, but they were not able to figure it out. The consumer asked me to have a BBB representative call her so that the complaint could be withdrawn. Today, I called the BBB and spoke with *******, whom said she would contact the consumer and tell her that she needed a written response from them to remove the complaint. It is our desire to have our customer's 100% satisfied with their bathroom remodel. If a consumer ever has an issue we are always grateful when we can come up with a solution that makes them know they chose the right contractor to remodel their bathroom.

09/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dear Mr. *******:
This complaint is regarding the installation of a wheelchair accessible shower installed at my residence:
*** ** ****** ******** *****
Tucson, AZ XXXXX
The installation of the shower was defective: MATERIAL USED FOR BACKING WAS NOT THE PROPER MATERIAL. The material you used is called OSB Oriented Strand Board and is cheaper than plywood.
As part of this complaint it is important to point out aspects of the pricing. The OSB material at retail pricing in Tucson is much cheaper than is the proper material i.e., plywood, which should have been used in my bathroom installation. Probably a commercial company like yours would receive a large discounted price for OSB material, thus making a greater profit to ReBath than using plywood. However the pricing matter is not the primary reason for this complaint.
To repeat: The main reason for this complaint is that the bathroom installation was defective.
To have the installation with its improper material removed and plywood used as backing is a possible solution. This, though, for many reasons would not be a good procedure.
I must point out that if my friends who knew I planned the bath modification ask me if I was "satisfied", I will simply reply "No comment".
A copy of this letter is being sent to the Better Business Bureau for their assistance in settling this complaint in whatever way they can.
Because of my considerable service as an expert witness in assisting attorneys for plaintiffs, and my lectures and consulting on the topic of falls prevention, I hope that your company and other companies like yours will do all that is possible to make bathrooms safe. In the bathroom at *** E. ****** ******** ***** I plan to install proper grabbars for safety purposes. I hope that I will be able to find studs in the wall for long crews to obtain a safe situation.

Sincerely yours,
****** ** ******* (see hard copy online)

Desired Settlement
At this time I believe that it is best that I settle by accepting the job on an "as is" basis and be paid what might be considered a "refund". I have paid Re-Bath over $6,000.00. I will accept a refund $1,700.00 which I believe you will agree is fair.

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:
On November 19, 2014 Re-Bath contracted with claimant to remodel his bathroom. At that time Re-Bath schedule the remodel to start on or between, December 20, 2014 and be completed by December 24, 2014. The installation went smoothly. In fact, the install actually started on December 22, 2-014 and was completed on December 23, 2014 and be completed by December 22, 2014 and was completed on December 23, 2014. The claimant did ask the installer during the installation process about the OSB, but the installer ensured him that OSB (Oriented Strand Board) was a comparable product to plywood and that it was what we used in the installation behind the moisture resistant board. The claimant signed off on the job after going over the completion checklist and made no notes or comment on the paperwork.
It is Re-Bath's common practice to use OSB on all of the jobs that they install when replacing the wall surrounds in a remodel. OSB is widely used and accepted in the industry. It is similar to plywood but more uniform and less expensive. (1) The OSB product Re- Bath uses is purchased from Home Depot. Home Depot carries Trubord manufactured by (2) Norbord. (3) Industry voices from panel manufacturers or their main trade group (APA-The Engineered Wood Association) say that there's no real difference between the two panels: OSB's and plywood's structural characteristic are equivalent, and they can be used interchangeably. (http://www.prosalesmagazine.com/products/lumber/plywood-vs-osb-which-is-better_o)
(4) Environmental factors are another consideration when comparing OSB to plywood. "OSB can be made from small diameter trees such as Polar that can be framed but plywood requires larger diameter trees from old-growth forests." (http://www.diffen.com/difference/osb_vs_plywood)
(5) On March 5, 2015 Re-Bath received a letter from the claimant, a Human Factors Expert Witness (Behavior; Falls; Warnings; Pedestrians) stating the installation was defective. His claim stated that the materials used for backing were "improper materials and/ or pay me for the damage. If your offer is reasonable, I believe we can avoid inconvenient and expensive legal involvement." The information that the claimant provided to back up his claim, is actually unsubstantiated.
Another statement that was made by the claimant made about the Design Consultant states, "Plywood backing will allow you to put grab bars anywhere you wish." Unfortunately, the claimant may have misunderstood, because after speaking to the Design Consultant, this is what the Design Consultant states': (6) Please see Design Consultant's letter attached.
This Design Consultant was a former General Contractor who also used OSB in his business and had for the past 20 years. Again, this OSB is widely used product in the industry. As written in (Pros Sales Online Magazine) (http://prosalesmagazine.com/products/lumber/plywood-vs-osb-which-is-better_o) "Plywood long ago lost its market leadership to oriented strand board (OSB), which is now most-used sheathing and subflooring material. Estimates put its market share as high as 75%, with much of that dominance thanks to cost-conscious production builders."
(7) On April 23, 2015 Re-Bath received another letter from the claimant requesting the "company make a reasonable payment to me for damages." No damages were stated in the letter and Re-Bath is not interested in settling with a claimant who is making unsubstantiated claims (please see enclosure that claimant provided). Re-Bath follows installation standards and actually goes above and beyond what is expected in the industry.
It is important to note that the owner of Re-Bath on more than one occasion spoke with the claimant by phone regarding the letters that Re-Bath received. Each conversation the owner explained to the claimant that Re-Bath follows industry standards and that the OSB product that was used in his shower is widely used in the industry. It is unfortunate that the claimant would not let Re-Bath install grab bars. However, because Re-Bath installed the OSB around the entire shower surround it would allow the claimant to put grab bars up any where in the shower enclosure that the claimant wanted.
(8) After the last phone conversation ended with no resolve Re-Bath sent a letter to the claimant on June 22, 2015 explaining that OSB is safe and provides the necessary strength to attach accessories such as grab bars to it. In addition, the letter included that the OSB contains no "added Urea Formaldehyde" and is used in nearly every single newly constructed home. Included in this letter was documentation that supports OSB in its use of construction.
(9) On July 11, 2015, another letter was received by the claimant stating much of the same that the first two letters did. However, this letter requested the following: "At this time I believe that it is best that I settle by accepting the job on an "as is" basis and be paid what might be considered a "refund." I have paid Re-Bath over $6,000.00. I will accept a refund $1,700.00, which I believe you will agree is fair."
(10) This complaint is the first Tucson Re-Bath has ever received to the BBB. Re-Bath prides itself in adhering to the strict guidelines BBB enforces to their Accredited Businesses and what those businesses have committed to. Integrity and excellence is of highest importance to Re-Bath.
Re-Bath regrets that the claimant does not understand that all products used in his bathroom were industry standard or superior to what the industry codes call for. It is Re-Bath's goal to do everything right. Unfortunately, Re-Bath is not perfect and on occasion over the past six years mistakes have been made. However, all of the mistakes that are known are made right.
All of the enclosures that have been sent to both the claimant and to Re-Bath are enclosed with this letter. Re-Bath looks forward to BBB understanding that the products used in the claimant's bathroom were in no way inferior or caused damage to the claimant. For further documentation, please see attachment #11.
If you have any questions or need further information, please feel free to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX.
Sincerely,
**** and **** *******, Owners of Tucson Re-Bath(see hard copy online)


Consumer Response
August 11, 2015

A reasonable payment now will obviate a lawsuit.

signed.
****** *******, PHD (see hard copu online)

Industry Comparison| Chart

Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling, Shower Pan Replacement, Shower Doors & Enclosures, Countertops, Cabinets, Bathroom Accessories, Remodeling Services, Bathroom Remodeling - Walk-In Tubs, Construction & Remodeling Services, Floor Coverings & Installation, Contractors - General

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.