BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/18/2001

Med-Tech Systems, Inc

Phone: (520) 290-0337Fax: (520) 733-7263View Additional Phone Numbers5536 E Grant Rd, TucsonAZ 85712-2242



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/18/2001

BBB has determined that Med-Tech Systems, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Med-Tech Systems, Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Med-Tech Systems, Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
02/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a chair at Med-Tech and it was delivered on Thanksgiving Eve. I can not see well which the Med-Tech salesman knew. After l used the chair for a few days, it caused sciatic pain. I promptly phoned Med-Tech the Monday after Thanksgiving and they refused to accept the chair back and refund my money. For the first time l was told there was a 48 hour return policy. The proprietor of the store admitted that there was no difference in the chair and that Med-Tech itself was closed for 2 days during the Thanksgiving holiday. He claimed that the policy was put in place so Med-Tech did not have to refund money.

Desired Settlement
I would like Med-Tech to pick up the chair and fully refund the money paid for the chair.

Business Response
To Whom it May Concern:
In response to the consumer complaint CIC 14-14228 ******* *******
Med-Tech has a return policy in effect at our store, also a separate return policy for our online store. Differences occur for various reasons such as shipping direct from vendors, pricing, items carried online but not in our store or vice versa as in the case of the chair Ms. ******* purchased in our store and subject to in store policies. Ms. ******* was in our store Tuesday November 25th for about forty-five minutes and sat in the chair and tried all the features of the chair and then said she was going to think about it. After making a purchase of compression stockings she returned to the chair and sat down again she then told ***** that she would like to purchase the lift chair. ***** charged her for the wrong chair and realized the mistake after Ms. ******* had left the store, ***** then called Ms. ******* and explained what happened, he voided the receipt for the over charged transaction and Ms. ******* gave ***** her credit card number over the phone so we could charge the correct amount. A revised copy was sent to her. We delivered the lift chair on Wednesday, November 26th and did not hear from her until Monday, December 1st when she called she stated that she wanted to return the chair because it made her back hurt. Ms. ******* was reminded of our return policy she was upset and said she would have her "attorney" contact us and hung up. We have a return policy visible at the register and at the bottom of her receipt. No attempt was made by Ms. ******* to contact us of any problem from the time of delivery Wednesday the 26th until Monday morning the 30th Med-Tech was closed Thanksgiving and open Friday and Saturday also we have an answering machine she could have utilized to leave a message with her concerns.
A couple of hours later her daughter called accusing us of elder abuse and giving us reasons of why we should take back the chair. We explained to the daughter of our 48 hour return policy therefore we would not consider taking back the chair.
Since 1996 Med-Tech has provided services to the elderly and disabled. We believe in assisting the residents of our community to live a more independent and safe of lifestyle, but like any other business we have a return policy which we consider fair for both Med-Tech and our customers unfortunately not all agree with it. We have made inquiries with furniture stores in the area policies vary from 48 hours to four days and one with no returns at all.
Enclosed you find our return policy, pictures of the return policy at the register, the original receipt of over charged, the corrected receipt, delivery receipt and a copy of the complaint. Please contact me personally if you have any questions.
(see complaint online)

Consumer Response
I recently submitted a complaint to the Better Business Bureau regarding Med-Tech Systems. This letter is in response Med-Tech's response to my complaint.

I am 83 years old. I have macular degeneration and I therefore cannot see well. Med-Tech sells merchandise for individuals with various physical disabilities and needs. I went to Med-Tech to purchase stockings that assist with circulation. In addition to macular degeneration, I have had two knee replacement surgeries. While I was at Med-Tech the sales clerk informed me about chairs they sell that are designed to make it easier for older people like me to get out of the chair. What he never told me was that if I purchased such a chair and it was unsatisfactory, I had only 48 hours within which to return it.

The chair was delivered on Thanksgiving eve. Over the Thanksgiving holiday weekend, I attempted to use the chair but discovered that it inflamed my sciatic nerve. As a result, the chair was too painful to sit in. On Monday, when I believed the store would be open, I contacted the store and informed them that the chair was causing me pain and that I therefore needed to return it. It was at this point that for the first time I was told that Med-Tech imposed a brief 48 hour return period on customers who bought their expensive lift chairs. I was not told this when I purchased the chair. Med-Tech claimed that it had this policy written down but, no doubt as with many of the older people in its customer base, I did not know this and had no ability to see it. The Med-Tech sales clerk knew that I could not see because he had to show me where to sign on the sales slip since I could not see it for myself. Moreover, no large print document containing the policy was discussed or presented to me.

Although the chair was in no different condition on the day I phoned to have it returned than it would have been on the day Med-Tech claims it needed to be returned, Med-Tech refused to accept the chair. I believe that Med-Tech is taking advantage of older people such as myself. Obviously only older people with physical challenges would be interested purchasing a lift chair. I asked my daughter to speak to Med-Tech and when she asked the owner why he would not accept the chair back he indicated that he had created his short 48 hour return policy so he would not have to refund money to customers like me. It was evident from communicating with the owner that he has deliberately created a return policy to keep older people from returning expensive merchandise that they cannot use. Moreover, by failing to tell people about the return policy at the time of purchase, Med-Tech has all but insured that people like me will unwittingly part with over a thousand dollars for useless merchandise.

I hope that the Better Business Bureau can assist in ending this type of practice. I hope that the chair can be returned and my money refunded. If not, I hope that other customers will not be victimized by this company and its practices.

Sincerely,

******* ******* (see rebuttal online)

Final Business Response
To whom it may concern:

I would like to clarify a couple of points.
1.) We were not closed for 2 days for Thanksgiving; Med-Tech was closed only on Thursday and not on Friday.
2.) Med-Tech's return policy was not created just for you or as an excuse not to return someone's money. Med-Tech's policy has been in effect for many years. It is based on other local furniture retailer's policies.
3.) The first complaint you lodged was with the Attorney General's office and they determined we did nothing wrong.
4.) The large print return policy is plainly posted on the sales counter next to the registers, and is also on the bottom of your sales receipt.
Med-Tech is willing to return to you on your American Express card the amount of $250.00 and you may keep the chair to sell. We will also honor the remaining warranty to whomever you sell the chair to. (see hard copy online)

Final Consumer Response
In the recent response from Med-tech, the company offered to refund $250 of the purchase price. All amounts offered to be refunded from $250 to the full sum are welcomed (see hard copy online).

Industry Comparison| Chart

Hospital & Medical Equipment & Supplies, Scooters - Medical, Elderly/Senior Specialty Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/12/2001Business started: 08/01/1996
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 2000, AZ

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel Lacey (President)Ms. Connie Lacey (Vice President)
Number of Employees

9

Business Category

Hospital & Medical Equipment & Supplies, Scooters - Medical, Elderly/Senior Specialty Services

Products & Services

This company offers home health care supplies and equipment.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMSat: 09:00 AM to 01:00 PMSun: Closed
Alternate Business Names
Tools For Mature Living

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

3 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Med-Tech Systems, Inc

5536 E Grant Rd

Tucson, AZ 85712-2242

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5536 E Grant Rd 

    Tucson, AZ 85712-2242(520) 290-0337
    (844) 292-4319

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Arizona. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Med-Tech Systems, Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (844) 292-4319
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013 for complaints filed on 05/22/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines.BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints.

X

Industry Tips for Hospital & Medical Equipment & Supplies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.