BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Pepper Viner Company

Find a Location

Phone: (520) 721-7964Fax: (520) 721-72775633 E Grant Rd, TucsonAZ 85712http://www.pepperviner.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Pepper Viner Company is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Pepper Viner Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Pepper Viner Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
01/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Faulty installation/materials of main waterline. This has been an issue throughout neighborhood for which other homeowners have been reimbursed.
Many main water lines installed in the Sabino Mountain neighborhood were faulty, including that of hpmeowner raising issue. As directed by Pepper Viner customer service, homeowner hired a plumber to determine problem excessively leaking line. It was determined that the issue was faulty installation of 'Rancher's Pipe' waterline, with rocky infill directly on top of the line. The plumber's statement and photo's were sent to Pepper Viner as evidence as requested. With the continuing excessive leaking, urgent replacement was required. Pepper Viner agreed to partial reimbursement, but required release from all liability in building of home. While homeowner agrees to release from any waterline related claims, and has no further issues with their home, an all encompassing release appears extreme. Additionally, homeowner is requesting reimbursement for full expenses incurred ($1892) versus the partial offer ($1150). Pepper Viner accepted responsibility and manged replacement of many other faulty waterlines in the neighborhood. Homeowner is requesting similar, equitable treatment.

Desired Settlement
Reimbursement for full expenses incurred as initially committed. Release for Pepper Viner specific to the waterline, not all encompassing.

Business Response
The Levy's apprised us of this matter on or about October 31, 2012. We delivered the home to them on or about January 2, 2002. Based on our counsel's guidance, the home is well outside any statute of limitations or warranty period.

As gesture of good will, we offered to pay half of the expense and later increased the amount to $1,150. In exchange we asked for a release agreement. After review of their changes to the agreement, we responded advising them that the changes were unacceptable to us. We are concerned about what they might find next in their twelve year old home that they believe the builder remains responsible for and therefore, we want it clear in the agreement that they acknowledge the home is out of warranty.

We remain ready, as a gesture of good faith, to reimburse them $1,150 in exchange for an executed release document in form acceptable to us.

12/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Water sprays out from the side of the door, all over the wall and floor. The doors were not properly installed.
Water sprays out from the side of the door, all over the wall and floor. The doors were not properly installed.

We have had problems with these shower doors since moving into the house in 2009. The contractor made multiple trips and made many adjustments including drilling holes into the frame. During one of the attempts to fix this problem Pepper Viner contractor told us that our son who was about 2 years old at the time could not take showers because he was too short, (he is almost 6 now, and has his own bathroom). We had become friendly with our neighbors, and found out that they had the same problem with their shower and they told us that Pepper Viner sent a contractor who completely reinstalled the door. I spoke to **** and asked her to sent the contractor to our house, and to do the same thing so that this problem could be fixed, she assured me it would be taken care off. The next time contractors came to our house I asked them if they would be reinstalling the door, he said, "no". I called **** again and she assured me that this problem would be taken care off.

Desired Settlement
fix the shower doors

Business Response
Please see the three attachments: 1.) The homeowners complaint. 2.) Work orders that we completed. 3.) Our reply to the homeowner.

1.) The homeowners complaint was received via e-mail on October 12, 2014.

2.) There are two work orders attached which show the progression of the work completed at the homeowners residence. Work order # 1 shows, on 9/8/10 we sent the original installers to correct the problem by removing and reinstalling the shower enclosure. We had notice from the homeowner that the work was completed on 10/5/10. Work order #2 shows that we made repairs to the drywall due to the shower leaks and we did touch up painting. This was all completed by 10/29/10 per our records.

3.) We heard nothing further from the homeowner until 10/12/14. After researching our records and printing the work orders that were completed in 2010, we sent the homeowner the reply declining any further work on the home.

The homeowners warranty expired 12/24/09. The home is approximately five years past the warranty period. After the warranty has expired, maintenance of the home is the homeowners responsibility.

Thank you.
(see hard copy online and attachements)

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
1. I do not understand why you keep telling us that we are out of warranty on this issue. The warranty which we had with Pepper Viner explicitly states that the item WILL BE FIXED, our shower doors have NEVER been fixed. Pepper Viner has made several attempts to fix it, but has NEVER BEEN PROPERLY FIXED. I know that Pepper Viner knows what the problem is and how to fix it, because our neighbors had the same problem, and they were out of warranty, and you still came back and fixed it.
2. The emails from '09 are from our interaction with customer service rep. ********** the emails i I am also speaking about are from '11 and '12 our interaction with customer service rep."****'.
3. Both times in '09 and '12 when Pepper Viner was here to fix the shower doors we believed the doors would be fixed. This is not a problem that is easy to spot, it takes time, because the amount of water which escapes is not like Niagara Falls. I believe Pepper Viner is using this fact to get out of the WARRANTY, and not fix this problem. Initially in '14 when we saw the damage we though it was a leak in the wall, when we called a plumber he took a look at the problem, and he said 'You don't have a leak, your shower doors are improperly installed and a little water splashes on the wall every time someone takes a shower, and that is what cases the damage.'
4. I expect Pepper Viner to abide by their warranty with us and fix this problem.

Final Business Response
Pepper Viner Developement company has been in business for thirty years and in that time we have not gained our reputation by ignoring our Obligations as the Complainant asserts. The facts indicated in our original response are stated accurately, and we have no record of any additional work requested by the Complainant until October 12, 2014. Perhaps if the Complainant can provide us details about we we allegedly did more work in 2012 and which trades conducted the work, we can contact our trade contractors regarding the dates and nature of the work to see if they have any record supporting the Complainant's assertion.

Our warranty obligations are clearly articulated in the documentation we provided the Complainant which are in addition to the standards promulgated by the Arizona Registrar of Contractors.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Builders, Contractor - General Green Builder

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/01/1999Business started: 03/11/1985
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Registrar of Contractors
400 W Congress St STE 212
Tucson, AZ85701
(520) 628-6345
http://www.azroc.gov

BBB records show a license number of 225631 for this company, issued by Arizona Registrar of Contractors. Their web address is http://www.azroc.gov.

Type: Contractors

Check License Status: http://www.azroc.gov/forms/details.asp?license=225631

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 225632 for this company, issued by Arizona Registrar of Contractors. Their web address is http://www.azroc.gov.

Type: Contractors

Check License Status: http://win.azroc.gov/forms/details.asp?license=225632

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Viner (CEO)Customer Contact: Mr. Chad William (Dir of Operations)Ms. Treasa Jones (Comptroller)
Number of Employees

17

Business Category

Home Builders, Contractor - General Green Builder

Alternate Business Names
Pepper-Viner Homes

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Pepper Viner Company

5633 E Grant Rd

Tucson, AZ 85712

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Arizona. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Pepper Viner Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013 for complaints filed on 05/22/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines.BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints.

X

Industry Tips for Home Builders

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.