BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/30/2009

American Handyman Service, LLC

Phone: (520) 292-9236Fax: (866) 887-6178PO Box 35757, TucsonAZ 85740-5757



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/30/2009

BBB has determined that American Handyman Service, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised American Handyman Service, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on American Handyman Service, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
10/01/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was told by the Am. Handyman that they would provide proper safety equipment to paint my house. Come to find out they subcontracted the job out.

I was told that Am. Handyman would paint my house for $5000.00 on September 8, 2015 and provide all safety equipment to do so. I have a two story house and they informed me that proper scaffolding would be used and prior to painting the house it would be power washed. Come to find out the job was subcontracted out to another company. Which I have no problem with but no safety equipment was used and the house wasn't power washed, they just painted over the dirt! And when they arrived they told me it would cost me another $600.00 because the eves were painted with stucco paint!? What I should have done was cancel the job but I had taken the day from work because have my elderly parents living with me. Then to top it off the painters that they hired went around to my neighbors telling them they would charge them $3200.00 to paint their house, which is the exact floor plan as mine! Really! an 85% mark up! They first quoted me $8000.00 but gave me a break because they had got a fantastic deal on some paint from Dunn Edwards, this was Am Handyman telling me this not the subcontractor. The first day they all disappeared about an hour after they arrived and just left one guy to work with no water. They had to buy the paint they had gotten a great deal on! They came back later that day and did the base coat. They showed up the next day late (wreck on I-10) but didn't bother to call. I had to work that day but my parents were there. That day one of the painters was working on the second floor and fell! This was why I wanted the scaffolding! My parents were frightened to death and to top it off were a nervous wreck! I just could not believe it! I came home from work and asked if they needed to go to the hospital and I asked if I needed to call an ambulance. They informed me he was not an ambulance kind of guy. Please do not hire this company! They were all lies and the mark up of 85% was really uncalled for. Really was that necessary. The owner of the subcontracted company told me he only charged them $3000.00 for the job. My final cost was $5600.00! My custom made blind on the second floor is missing and there are a few spots not painted and the minor repairs to my stucco were not touched (I was told that they would be taken care of) but I will not call them back out. I am just glad nobody was seriously injured!

Desired Settlement
The job I was quoted was not satisfactory and I am asking for some kind of reimbursement. The mark up was ridiculous (85%)! These guys were not professionals and going through a company that had an A+ BBB rating I thought I would be getting that. Everything I was quoted did not happen except for the Dunn Edwards paint. I saw a bucket! Then to top it off, going around to my neighbors and telling them they would do the same work for $2600.00 cheaper (My neighbor has the exact floor plan as my house)! No safety equipment. Workers falling off ladders form the second floor. No minor repairs done to my stucco. Clean up, very little.

Final Consumer Response
So far, I have resolved the issues with American Handyman. Thank you for your assistance.
*******

Industry Comparison| Chart

Handyman Services, Doors - Installation, Doors - Patio, Doors, Remodeling Services, Roofing Contractors, Plumbers, Home Improvements, Drywall Contractors, Carpenters

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/30/2001Business started: 01/01/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

License C62 - Minor Home Improvements - Remodeling, repairs, and improvements to existing structures or appurtenances not to exceed $2,500 for labor and materials per project per dwelling or appurtenance. The minor home improvement contractor shall not perform structural work to any existing structures or appurtenances, including load bearing masonry or concrete work (with the exception of on-grade flat work), and load bearing carpentry work (with the exception of patio or porch covers). All electrical, plumbing, air conditioning, heating, boiler, and roofing work shall be performed by an appropriately licensed contractor.

To learn more about the Registrar of Contractors please visit www.azroc.gov.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Herb Penrod (Owner)Ms. Anna Marie Penrod (Owner)
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Handyman Services, Doors - Installation, Doors - Patio, Doors, Remodeling Services, Roofing Contractors, Plumbers, Home Improvements, Drywall Contractors, Carpenters

Industry Tips
Handyman Exemption

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

American Handyman Service, LLC has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview
LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Arizona. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*American Handyman Service, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013 for complaints filed on 05/22/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines.BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints.

X

Industry Tips for Handyman Services

Handyman Exemption
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.