BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/09/2012

Swansons Moving and Delivery, LLC

Phone: (520) 647-9920Fax: (520) 647-99308300 E Valencia Rd Bldg 6, TucsonAZ 85747-9114

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/09/2012

BBB has determined that Swansons Moving and Delivery, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Swansons Moving and Delivery, LLC's rating include:

  • 3 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Swansons Moving and Delivery, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Swansons Moving and Delivery, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
03/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I contracted with this company via referral from my real estate agent. I hired them to relocate my residence from one city to another after selling my home. I hired them as licensed, experienced, insured movers. I had them pack, store, ship and deliver my belongings when my residence was finished being built. Several of the items that were shipped to other relatives were damaged upon delivery. When my belongings were delivered to my home I noticed quite a bit of damage to items that were stored in their warehouse. When I brought it to their attention I was told that it was "impossible because they were packed in boxes "(which they packed) with no padding. I documented the broken items with photos, replacement cost, and detailed descriptions. In addition to broken items I am also missing a stone top to a table which was stored in their warehouse. I requested it to be delivered numerous times and was told they would make arrangements for the delivery. It has been since 10/2014 and I still have not received the table top. I have submitted photos (as requested by Swanson's moving) with the understanding that it would be submitted to their insurance carrier for reimbursement. I have documentation of all phone calls placed to their company as well as emails which were sent. I am extremely upset by their lack of professionalism and I would like to be finished with this whole experience as soon as possible.
Product_Or_Service: packing, storage, moving
Account_Number: invoice # 1422

Desired Settlement
I would like Swanson's moving and storage to pay the requested itemized list for replacement purposes only. I do not expect full reimbursement for services rendered. I prefer not to be contacted by them any longer with false promises for resolutions that they do not honor.

Business Response
the insurance company has been trying to get a hold of her and has been unable to they are waiting to hear from her.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am reserving my right to respond further on this matter. I did not receive any information until today about their insurance carrier. I have left a message on an adjusters voicemail and until this is resolved I will stand by my previous complaint.

03/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Swansons damaged many items in our move from Tucson to Richmond and have failed to send our reimbursement on those items. We have been waiting 2.5 mos
Swansons moved us from Tucson to Richmond, CA on July 1, 2014. They packed up our home as well as moved our items. They damaged several items before they even made it on the truck in Tucson. They did a horrendous packing job and then destroyed several items during the move, including a living room chair. They had it up against the wheel well in the van which almost caught on fire. The bottom of the chair was badly burned. We had to have the chair reupholstered, which they told us they would pay for. They also damaged dishes, clothing and other smaller items during the move, for which they also promised reimbursement. They also did a horrible job unloading the truck such that we had to re-move a huge and incredibly heavy armoire, for which we had to ask friends over to help us move, so that we could get to items in our garage they put behind the armoire. They labeled the boxed incorrectly, put kitchen boxes in the garage, etc, etc. We were very patient with them during the entire fiasco, having been assured we could fix everything and they would send us a check in compensation. I sent a final bill on October 9th, 2014 and have still not received our check. I have spoken with *** ******* at least a half dozen times about this and he keeps promising a check that hasn't shown up. He told me he sent it almost a month ago, but it never arrived. He then said he would send anotherI insisted he FedEx it to my officeand still nothing. I informed him and his family via email on December 2nd, that I would be filing a complaint and no one has responded. We spent $2000 of our money to do 2 major repairs and are owed quite a bit more for the items we couldn't fix. We expect a reimbursement or we will file a legal complaint. As I said, we have been very patient and have given them every opportunity to rectify this horrible situation.

Desired Settlement
We expect our reimbursement of the $2000 we spent on items that were fixable, and $1000 more of compensation for everything else (including the issues we experienced around the move)

Business Response
Hi lets start by saying this move is not as bad as she is making it out to be. She stated that there were items damaged before we laft Tucson, well she was not even there her husband was and there was no damage done during loading, we even helped load stuff into a friends truck that was not included in our price. She did send an email with attachments on October 15th in which i submited to insurance but they would only give them 60 cents per pound to cover damage, so we said we would take care of fixing the chair. She stated that a chair almost cought fire, well it was covered with a moving blanket that must have slipped a little and ended up against one of the wheel wells. We had a blow out of one of the tires which caused the other tire to rub and heat up the wheel well. The chair ended up with a tennis ball size burn mark to the fabric on the side of it at the very bottom. We showed it to her and asked her to get a couple of estimates to replace or recover she sent one. On the used market the chair was probably worth $100. As for the unloading The ********* moved from a large home in Tucson to a much smaller one in California. Mrs. ********* was there and told us where to put everything as is was unloaded. She states that they had to move a large armoire that was placed in the garage right where she told us to put it along with all of the boxes that would not fit in the house. How can we be sure that when they had friends over to help remove stuff in the garage that some of the damage did not occerred then. We have not resent payment because after looking at the estimate she sent us for second time we noticed that she had them pretty much rebuild the chair and ottoman. We are willing to pay for the Fabric and labor to recover the chair and ottoman and the pickup and delivery back to her home. If she resubmits a bill with just that infomation we can send reimbursement for the chair. She also sent an invoice from a picture frame company. I have no idea what that would be for because all the pictures were place right where she told us to put them with no damage on them when we left. So once we get the true amount for the chair and ottoman we can send payment.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Since this really seems to be a formal way of communicating directly with the owner, I will just write to him.

***: I what you have stated above is so full of mistruths and manipulations of the facts, I can't even believe what I'm reading. You yourself told me to do whatever I needed to in order to fix all the damage you caused. You know you did. You also know that you apologized for the laziness and carelessness with which you conducted this move. Including using recycled boxes that were impossible to discern as they had old moves' labels all over them. You know every single problem we had because you witnessed almost all of it. Am I inventing the wire hangers at the bottom of my wardrobe box that tore a hole in my vintage lace dress??!! That you saw with your own eyes? That your nephew (whom you said you were still "training") knocked over an entire row of boxes, one of which fell on our Ketubah framethat you saw with your own eyes when you unpacker here? That you told me to replace the frame?? That you leaned framed art onto a canvass and caused a dimple in the canvass? That one of the others who packed our things did such a careless mess of a job on those? That you acknowledged while in my home in Richmond??!! That you YOURSELF told me the wheel well was smoking and that you'd had a fire before?? That our chair, which is Crate & Barrel and which is $2000 newnot, as you state, worth $100 is not replaceable in the numerous searches I did before I gave up and had to have it reupholstered?? Which, again, you told me to go ahead and do. And there was no rush, just do it when I had the time. AND that you sent me a check that mysteriously didn't arrive?? And then you FedExed it to me?? Really, ***, you're weaving quite a web here. I gave you every opportunity, was beyond patient with you, giving you the benefit of the doubt, and THIS is your response? I have no more patience. Either you pay us what you oweAND PROMISED!!! us or you will be hearing from our attorneywhom I spoke with and who is ready to go should you choose to continue this charade. Please do the right thing and pay us what you owe us. We do not deserve this treatment, nor will we stand for it. I await your response.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The Insurance company sent us a check for half the amount we spent on fixing the items they damagedand informed us Swanson's is responsible for sending the other half. The Progressive agent, **** ********* explained that if Swanson's doesn't pay their half of the deductible, they will default on their policy. He reported that *** told him he would be sending us a check for the other half, which we haven't received. Even though we have written and voice evidence of promises *** made, (and now a third party who can verify claims *** is making and not following through with) we have been holding off on legal action because of this insurance claim to see if he would do the right thing. However, if we don't receive the check (which should exceed the amount we spent) we will pursue our legal action.

Final Business Response
insurance has sent a check to her

03/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My complaint is as follows:
In March 2014, Carchedi Estate Sales was hired by ****** ****** (Executor), **** N ********** ******* **** Tucson, to handle the Estate of my passed brother, ***** ******* Estate items were to be picked up and a time was scheduled at ******** residence the morning of March 26, 2014.
Swanson's Moving, you know of my displeasure with the handling of my brother's estate. ***** *****, ***, **** and Uncle ******* all know that a check for $450.00 is not adequate for the furnishings and personal items taken for sale. You misrepresented your moving company, came with a mover with a bad back and provided untimely payment.
I am involving BBB Servicing Southern Arizona due to the lack of regard for their mishandling of the ***** ****** Estate by both of these Tucson estate and moving businesses. The Estate of ***** ****** was misrepresented by Carchedi Estate Sales and was taken advantage of by Swanson's Moving and Delivery. The family is still reeling from the loss of a son, father and brother and the added mental grief is uncalled for.
Exhibit A) is an inventory of my brother's estate,
Exhibit B) are photographs of the larger, more expensive items
Exhibit C) a copy of a check and cryptic message received from Swanson's Movingwhich further shows their lack of professionalism in this matter
Issues: First, I have never heard of hiring an individual or business and having them pass along a contract, verbal or other. Carchedi Estate Sales Services had done some estate work for us in the past (Estate of ***** ********* March 2013) and was rehired in March 2014.
Timely payment was not received. Carchedi promised payment within 3-6 months of sale. After not hearing from him, Carchedi was contacted in November 2014. He did not even remember the account. ******** was contacted from phone number Carchedi provided. At the time, I had no idea who ******** was and had no information about his moving company. I Googled "Swanson's Moving" to get additional phone numbers and talk to other persons in the office as ****** was pretty sketchy, too busy and having a difficult time returning (or answering) my phone calls. I was anxious for payment on estate items; ******** did recall coming to the address from pickup.
Receipt of a check for $450.00. On December 17, 2014, **** ******* called and said he and his "uncle" apologized for the confusion. He said a check was in the mail but was uncertain of amount. On December 23, 2014, a check for $450.00 was received with a note "sorry for mix-up... this one just slipped through the cracks" (Exhibit C.) In a follow-up phone call, **** ******* claimed the ***** ****** Estate Lot sold for $750.00 and stated "the economy is bad, he only gets cents on the dollar."
I mean really! Our family is still grieving from the unexpected loss of my brother in March 2014. I have valued the ***** ****** Estate, furnishings and personal belongings, at $11,830.00 (Exhibit A.) As you can see, the value on the clothing and personal goods is greatly discounted. Exhibit B provides the photographs of the larger, more expensive, furnishings.
I understand consignment items are not valued at full amount. My attorney indicated that typically consignment items get about one-third of the Estate Value. Also, I realize that the values I have put on items can be disputed by Swanson's Moving. However, I believe that once the inventory is examined, photographs are looked at and this grievance is read that you will agree that my family would receive a good deal more than $450.00.

Desired Settlement
In that regard, I would like to request an inventory from Swanson's Moving and Delivery and see what monies were raised for the sale of the ***** ****** Estate items. My hope would be that a review of this grievance would result in a more equitable solution to this issue.
It is difficult to lose a family member. It is equally difficult having a professional let something like this "slip through the cracks", pay us nine months after the fact and provide us with an unjust fee.

Business Response
19045752 Swanson's moving was not hired by her we werwehired by the estate company that she hired and we were what is called a bulk buyer. Which mean we pay pennys on the dollar to clean out the house. We sold everything the send a check which we did. The whole buy out was sold for around $900.00 so we sent a check to her for $450.00.

I Hope this help.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Delivery Service, Movers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/12/2011Business started: 09/10/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
400 7th Street SW
Washington, DC 20590
(800) 832-5660
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov

BBB records show a license number of US DOT 2006371 for this company, issued by Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration. Their web address is http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov. The expiration date of this license is 09/30/2015.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel Swanson (Owner/ Managing Member)
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Delivery Service, Movers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Swansons Moving and Delivery, LLC

8300 E Valencia Rd Bldg 6

Tucson, AZ 85747-9114

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 8300 E Valencia Rd Bldg 6 

    Tucson, AZ 85747-9114(520) 647-9920
    Fax: (520) 647-9930

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Arizona. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Swansons Moving and Delivery, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013 for complaints filed on 05/22/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines.BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints.

X

Industry Tips for Delivery Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.