BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Tucson Federal Credit Union

Phone: (520) 795-8520Fax: (520) 495-6801

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
01/29/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
To whom it may concern:

I am writing to you with a complaint against Tucson Federal Credit Union. For more than a year, they have been charging me $2.00 "monthly paper statement" fee. Each time they do, I write them a letter. ( A copy of one of these letters is enclosed. The letter say pretty much the same thing). I have repeatedly told them in these letter not to send me a "monthly paper statement" if they are going to charge me for it. I have never requested a paper statement and did not authorize this charge. I have also explained to them that I cannot do online banking because I do not have access to a secure internet setting. I am not willing to put my personal and financial information in jeopardy.

After charging me this fee for a full year, they finally responded to my letters. IN the second paragraph of their letter, they state that it is possible to "opt-out of paper statements." This is what I have been requesting all along but they have done nothing (see complaint online).

Desired Settlement
I am asking that account be credited $12.00 charged for this fee and that they don't charge it again. Thank-you for your assistance.

Business Response
The three complaint letters regarding this member were found today, they were misfiled. TFCU does provide an option to opt out of the fee in the extreme circumstance of no internet access. We will act on this complaint even though it is closed. Fees will be reversed and future fees eliminated.

Consumer Response
Dear ********

I am writing to you in response to Tucson Federal Credit Union's response to my complaint, which you provided with your letter dated January 7, 2015.

I would like to start by correcting the false statements made in their reply. First, there were not three complaint letters, but five complaint letters. The fact that they responded by letter and phone message shows that the letters were not misfiled as they claimed. Despite the fact that I informed them in these letters that I did not have access to a secure internet setting, they refused to correct the problem. This is contrary to their response to you which states, "TFCU does provide an option to opt out of the fee in the extreme circumstance of no internet access."

That being said, I received my bank statement the day before your letter. As stated in their response, I was credited the $12.00 and not charged the fee. As long as future fees are eliminated, as stated in their response, I find their response satisfactory. I will let you know if there are future fees.

I would like to thank you, ******** and the BBB for resolving a matter I have been unable to resolve for 11/2 years. Your assistance is much appreciated.


Sincerely,



******** ******
(see hard copy online)

08/19/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure To Provide Validation Of Supposed Debt
On June 20th 2014 I specifically called ***** ********** for a 2nd time requesting a call back and she never bothered to do so. I am disputung the so called forced placed insurance that she and her credit union are attempting to collect from me without providing me proof of the amount being charged. I had asked for a cancelled check showing when it was purchased along with the sum of such and how they arrived at such an exorbitant amount of which I have not been sent. I also requested to validate the debt pursuant to FDCPA and FCRA laws. To date this has not been done and now they are threatening to damage my credit as I refuse to pay them monies which are and have been disputed multiple times.

Desired Settlement
Proof of alleged debt as described above (cancelled check and a breakdown as to how the amount was configured or a refund of all charges of such "insurance" Also, to place a "DISPUTE by consumer" on any and all credit reports until this has been resolved 100% to my satisfaction.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ** ********* VP
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@tucsonfcu.com
Mr. ***** has spoken with multiple members of the Lending and Collections Department about this issue over the past few months. He left another message for ***** on 8/1/14, which I returned on 8/1/14 at 3:20 PM. He has not returned the call. On 8/6/14, I sent him a written response to a note he had sent regarding the situation. In the letter, I included copies of the contract he signed, highlighting the areas that show he agreed to maintain insurance protection on the collateral, as well as the area that authorizes us to place collateral protection insurance and add the balance to his loan. I also sent copies of the four notices he received regarding the lapse of insurance and the documentation needed to show coverage was reinstated. I included copies of his June bank statement to show where the CPI was added to his account, and also a copy of the May statement so he could clearly see the increase in the monthly payment that is now required to pay off the loan on time. The payment has increased and he does not want to make that payment or supply the needed documentation to show he had insurance coverage for the lapse period.

04/08/2013Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Unions

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.