BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1984

Pima Federal Credit Union

Find a Location

(520) 887-5010PO Box 50267, TucsonAZ 85703



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1984

BBB has determined that Pima Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Pima Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Pima Federal Credit Union

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
02/09/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Started in April 23-14 credit card fraud-somebody useing our credit card om ATM's machines and took out $8,500-I got back 2,988, because I didn't check my statements, and only cover 60 days. I didn't get 2 or three statements they said I did get statements that's false.
To me it ment Bite the Bullet and Take This and shut-up.

Desired Settlement
I fill they owe the rest. Who ever was stealing, my money, 2 or 4 times month of August neglesions of not communicating with what was happening-they stole my savings=my checking acc. and a dept for $2,500 credit line is saving acc.
(see hard copy online and statements)

Business Response
Thank you for making us aware of the complaint filed by Mr. ***** *******. Pima Federal Credit Uniontakes its member's finances and financial success very seriously. We continuously strive to assist our members financially and provide exceptional service. To continually provide great value to the members of the cooperative, we must also protect the best interest of the credit union.

As Mr. ******* indicated in his letter a card dispute was filed with the credit union on August 18, 2014 in the amount of $1,394.75. The dispute form indicated the card was lost on August 13, 2014. A second dispute was filed on September 3, 2014 in the amount of $2,097.75: indicating the card was in his possession and he had learned of the fraud that same day. The transactions in question were ATM withdrawals - which means, the card was present and the unauthorized person also had the cardholder's PIN number. The dispute paperwork goes on to further identify the unauthorized person as Mr. *******'son.

The credit union credited back a total of $2,992 .70 to Mr *******' account. thus: leaving him liable for only $500.00. The credit union's EFT agreement and disclosure states: If you tell us within two (2) business days you can lose no more than $50.00 if someone used your card or access code without your permission. If you do NOT tell us within two (2) business days after you learn of the loss or theft of your card or access code and we can prove we could have stopped someone from using your card or access code without your permission if you had told us, You could lose us much as $500.00. The credit union acted within policy and procedure by holding Mr. ******* liable for the $500,00.

Additionally, the transactions in question were done with Mrs. *******' card. We allowed Mr. ******* to sign the disput e form for the claim as a courtesy to him in order to expedite his claim.

Pima federal strives to assists our member's to achieve financial success while acting within the rules the credit union has set forth. We appreciate the opportunity to address the situation and hope this will provide clarification for Mr. *******.
(see hard copy online)


Consumer Response
#XXXXXXXX
How could I notified the Credit Union, if I didn't received statements for 2 or 3 months. I fill the credit fail me. By not getting in touch with me, after so many times money was taken out 2 or 3 hundred at a time up to 3 months a the same spots Circle K stores. I think you guys had a new staff of workers. One time 3 years ago my dbit card, cancell because I used it 3-time in Texas Austin. I got in touch with Credit Union and was told, you figure I was not in Texas to cover me, incase my card was stolen, "Great that was cool" you guy were watching for me so I won't get rip off.


Final Business Response
Thank you for the opportunity to further address our member' s concerns. We are disappointed to learn that Mr. ******* did not feel satisfied with our original response and will attempt to address the new concerns here.

Mr. ******* indicated in his rebuttal he would have been unable to notify the credit union of the fraud on his account as he was not receiving his statements. A review of Mr. *******' account shows there was no returned mail, nor has there been an address change in the past year. Mr. ******* also referenced a previous example of fraud on his account when he was contacted by our cards department to validate transactions. These particular transactions were out of state and that may have triggered additional investigation . The transactions in this specific case were local and probably would not trigger the same
actions.

As stated previously, the credit union credited back a total of $2.992.70 to Mr. *******' account. We feel confident that we have acted within our policy and procedure to assist our member.
(see hard copy online)

Final Consumer Response
I feel that the banks and credit unions' follow up on thiefs who steal and have them arrested, its the banks responsibility, not the members job.

After all we trusted you guys to take care of our money, its not us to feel guilty for our lost. I as you find thief and have him arrested male or female and get my money back. Card fraud responsiblily to follow up on it. (See hard copy online)

12/01/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On July 8th, 2014 I deposited a check I received in the mail, for $4,000.00 (see copy #1). On July 9th, 2014 it was returned as (check item number 25) for insufficient funds. $4,000.00 statement of account dated July 1st, 2014 to July 31, 2014 (statement #2) with a balance of $932.00.

My statement on August 1st, 2014 was for $2,076.90 (statement #3). My statement of September 1st to September 31st, 2014 was for $2,048.90 (statement #4). My statement of October 1st, to 14, 2014 was to be $2, 400.00 but was left without my intention at the bank since I wasn't aware at the time that I had left it behind (see complaint online).

Desired Settlement
I decided to close the account on October 17th, 2014 but I was told I had to cover the check for uncollected funds from September 23, 2014 to September 23, 2014 Draft No. XXXXXXXXXX for balance of $2,048.90 which is incorrect, copy 36; yet on October 20, 2014 I received a letter of notification of account closed with a balance of $1,926.10 see copy #7 & 8.

Business Response
To Whom it May Concern,

Thank you for making us aware of the complaint filed by Mr. ******* *******. Pima Federal Credit Union takes its member's finances and financial success very seriously. We continuously strive to assist our members financially and provide exceptional service. To continually provide great value to the members of the cooperative, we mist also protect the best of the credit union.

As Mr. ******* indicated in his letter, he deposited a check that was returned due to nonsufficient funds in July 2014; this return resulted in a negative balance in Mr. *******'s account. The credit union attempted to work with Mr. ******* to assist him in bringing his account positive in order to allow him to keep his account and his relationship with the credit union. Mr. ******* was well aware of the returned check and obligation to cover the negative balance on his account. He spoke to several Member representatives an Assistant Manager, Financial Center Manager and Risk Management Office regarding the status of the account. Unfortunately, after no resolution from Mr. ******* the account was charged off for the difference between the amount of the returned check and the balance in the account.

While we are disappointed we were unable to assist Mr. ******* further in this situation the process is outlined in our membership agreement: All items credited to your account are provisional until we received final payment. If final payment is not received, we may charge your account for the amount of the charged to your account. We reserve the right to refuse or return any items on funds transfer.

Since final payment was not received, the check was returned and Mr. ******* was responsible for the balance.

Again, We appreciate the opportunity to address the situation and hope this will provide clarification for Mr. ******* (see response online).

11/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Locking funds in savings account
I had a vehicle loan thru Pima federal and wound up loosing my job. I found another job but had fallen 2 months behind. I sent one payment and was gathering up the money for the second payment when I was contacted by one of the collections individuals with this company. He asked why I fell behind and so I explained the situation to him. He stated that since it was a new loan it was sent out for repossession. I asked about the check I sent them that they cashed. He stated they cashed it and put it in my savings account and they refused to accept it since they were sending it out for repo. I asked him what I needed to do to get the account up to date and he advised me I needed to pay the past due amount as well as an additional $550 for the repo fee even though it hadn't been repo'ed. I requested a check to be mailed to me for the amount in my savings account and was told it would be received within 7 days. I then contacted the collection department and told them I couldn't pay all of the fees so they said They would come get the vehicle. After 7 days I still hadn't received the check so I contacted the bank and they said I had to talk to collections. When I checked my account on line it shows the money in my account but the available balance is 0.00. I had received one call from collections which I returned and left a voicemail with no return call.

Desired Settlement
I am simply wanting the money that is in my account sent back to me that was sent as a payment for the loan that they refused to accept and apply towards the loan amount.

Business Response
To whom it may concern:

Thank you for making us aware of the complaint filed by Mr. ***** ****. Pima Federal Credit Union
takes it member' s finances and financial success very seriously. We value our members and make every
effort to assist them in protecting their good credit history by attempting to communicate with them and
working together to form proper payment arrangements. When a loan is in the collection process and
payments are received, certain procedures must be followed.

The loan in question originally became past due in August. 2014. This was a first payment default.
Contact was attempted. Unsuccessfully, with our member on 08/18/14, 08/20/14. and 8/26/14. Attempts to
contact his references were made on 08/21 /14, 08/26/14 and 09/04/14. On 09/04/14 we were able to speak
to one of Mr. ****'s references and obtain a new phone number. Contact at the new number was
attempted on 09/04/14. 09/08/14. 09/10/14 and 09/17/14. On 09/17/14 Mr. **** called back to inform us
a payment had been mailed. Due to the series of unsuccessful attempts to contact Mr. ****, repossession
had already been requested on 09/15/14. A payment was received on 09/19/14 and placed in our
member's savings account as it was not the full amount required to bring the loan current; however, the
repossession request was placed on hold at this time. On 09/26/ 14 Mr. **** called to inform the credit
union he couldn' t afford the vehicle. The vehicle was voluntarily surrendered to the repossession
company on 10/3/14 and has since been sold at auction for $30.000.00. The money still remaining in Mr.
****' s savings account ($681.83) will be applied to any fees incurred collecting this loan.
Again, we appreciate the opportunity to address Mr. ****'s concern and sincerely hope this provides
clarification regarding the money remaining in the savings account.

Thank you
***** ****
Director of Risk Management
(see hard copy online)

03/31/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Car payment money sent by me to bank was not used toward my payment. Making me 3 months past due and sent to collections.
I sent a two month payment for one past due month plus the payment due. The bank failed to try and call me or communicate to me that they were not going to apply my payment. A month goes by and a tow truck attempts to collect my car. I call Pima Federal and they tell me that they will not apply my money to my car loan and they have put it in my savings. I specified in my check the auto loan #so that MY funds would be applied to avoid collections and repossession. Pima Federal has taken it upon themselves to delegate where my money goes and basically change to destination of a check I wrote. I would have been current technically this month if this wasn't done, because February would have been paid today (due date is the 1st) Instead od being 25 days late they have caused me much distress by making me almost 3 months late. I feel like Im trying my best to save my car because I need it and of course I want to take care of my responsibility in this contract, but they are making it even HARDER and less realistic to keep my car. Now they want me to pay tow truck fees of an additional 100.00 making it even less affordable to keep my car. The tow truck should have never been sent to begin with because they had already cashed my car payment check for the 2 months that were due. This is sooo ugly and abusive!

Desired Settlement
I want the 100.00 waived because I am NOT 3 MONTHS LATE. I want my 402.00 check that I sent to be applied immediately to my car loan covering DEC and JAN before I even go to the branch to pay FEB. I don't feel safe making more payments until all my checks are applied to my car loan. I want NO late fees whatsoever for February. This is so wrong! PLEASE HELP!!

Business Response
Better Business Bureau of Southern Arizona
**** E ******** ****** Ste. 100
******* Arizona85711

Re: Case # XXXXXXXX, **** ********

To whom it may concern:

Thank you for making us aware of the complaint filed by Mr. **** ********. Pima Federal Credit Union takes it member's finances and financial success very seriously. We value our members and make every effort to assist them in protecting their good credit history by attempting to communicate with them and working together to form proper payment arrangements.

The loan in question originally became past due in October, 2013. A demand letter was sent to our member on October 22, 2013, and consequently a payment was made on October 29, 2013. Payments were subsequently missed and the collection process began again in January after several broken promises were made by Mr. ******** to our credit team. On January 9, 2014, a second demand letter was sent to our member. After receiving no communication from the member, repossession was requested on the vehicle on January 24, 2014. At this time, the loan was 54 days delinquent and the member had not been in touch with our credit team.

A payment was mailed to the credit union on February 5, 2014, and as Mr. ******** stated, this payment was placed in his savings account. When this payment was received, the vehicle was already out for repossession and there were additional fees that had to be paid in order to bring the loan current. This is the reason the payment was not accepted towards the loan.

At this time, the repossession order has been placed on hold. In an effort to assist our member further, we will agree to discontinue the repossession ordered on the vehicle under the following conditions: Mr. ******** makes contact with the credit department to make payment arrangements for the current past due amount of $502.12 in addition to the money currently in the savings account ($402.12). The next payment of $201.06 on the loan will be due on April 1, 2014.

Additionally, in order for the credit union to continue to assist Mr. ********, we require some kind of assurance, letter, future employment contract, or verification simply showing some ability to repay. Mr. ******** is encouraged to make contact with our credit department so we have the most updated information about his financial situation in order to assist him most efficiently in the future.

It will be important to make contact with us by Friday, March 14,2014, in order to find a resolution to this situation. Upon working with our credit department, we will do our best to assist Mr. ********. Normal collection efforts will resume on March 15, 2014, if we do not hear from our member with acceptable payment arrangements.

Thank you
***** ****
Director or Risk Management
Cc: **** ********
(see hard copy online)

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I believe that PFCU and it's employees have not in any way shape or form taken our financial situation or success seriously at all. I have been given many different answers that lead to lies. I want a phone call or meeting in a branch not a letter. Time is going by and the way I felt blindsided by them not applying my money towards my car payment, is causing me to not trust that they will communicate in a timely manner, or at all. They claim to have called me when they received my payment and they never called me, there is no record in my phone or my wifes phone indicating any phone calls or messages from PFCU. I have yet to see any receipt showing that the car payment was applied to my loan. It is wrong to take the payment and secretly, deceitfully not apply it to the account it is designated to in the check. It is even more deceitful to let a month go by and send a tow truck, add fees for tow truck, and rack up more bills, making it even less realistic for your customer to be able to pay their bill. I was NOT 30 days past due. PFCU made sure that I BECAME 30 days past due. I want a call asap from PFCU. They definitely have my current phone numbers. I want to pay my FEB payment. March is now due, but I will only pay March when this is resolved and all other $ is applied towards my car. This issue did not have to be an issue, we trusted this credit union. Now we don't, especially since we always communicate with them, but have yet to receive the honest communication in return.
03/12/2014 Fax from Consumer
I am not satisfied with Pima Federal's response. I am not happy on how their customer service handled my case. I only wish to pay any late charges occurred on my account. I do not want to pay for any tow truck fees due to Pima Federal not applying my payment to my account and not notifying me of the possibility of a tow truck issue. I notified Pima of my payment being mailed in and presumed my account was current up to my February payment. I wish Pima's customer service was more friendly and more informing.

Thank you,
**** ********
(see hard copy online)

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Unions

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/01/1980Business started: 05/01/1951
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration
1775 Duke St
Alexandria, VA 22314-3401
(703) 518-6300
http://www.ncua.gov

BBB records show a license number of 7316 for this company, issued by National Credit Union Administration. Their web address is http://www.ncua.gov. The expiration date of this license is 08/12/2014.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 1983, AZ

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Laura Ward (Vice President of Risk Management)
Contact Information
Ms. Sarah Holt (HR)Ms. Georgina Lopez (Admin Assistant)Mr. Nathanael Tarwasokono (Pres/CEO)
Number of Employees

156

Business Category

Credit Unions


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Pima Federal Credit Union has received 3.7 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview
Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Arizona. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Pima Federal Credit Union is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013 for complaints filed on 05/22/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines.BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints.

X

Industry Tips for Credit Unions

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.