BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/24/2012

Royalty Renovation, LLC

Phone: (520) 777-1121Fax: (520) 574-9300

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
01/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company did not complete job. Number of hours and amount of materials vary from what was completed. Will not subit a detailed billing.
this is a copy of the email we will be sending Royalty Renovations.

We recently received the invoice for the project at our home and we have some serious concerns.
On September 21st we spoke with **** and he asked for an email of what needed to be finished and what we wanted done.
We sent him an email with these items:
Grease marks and tape left on walls.
Hallway baseboard incomplete (due to the supposed unavailability of Saltillo tile.) We purchased tiles ourselves at Mexican Tile Store.
The large mirror in the bathroom that was damaged by Steamy Concepts couldn't be replaced because mirror couldn't be found in Tucson and the mirror needed to be removed/
Light switches/ toilet paper holder needed to be replaced in bedroom and bathroom.
We also asked for a detailed billing as the spec sheets did not match to the actual number of hours and materials used. (See below.)
We heard nothing from **** or anyone else at Royalty Renovation.
Regarding the differences in spec vs real time.
Shower - only 1/3 of tiles were replaced by tiles we had on hand- billing asks for complete tear out and replacement of tiles
Bedroom - only one wall was painted - billing calls for all four walls and ceiling to be painted.
Hallway - as mentioned above, the baseboard has not been finished
Vanity - a new vanity was supposed to be installed; all that was done was the flooring of the vanity
While we are satisfied with the workers we are astounded by the unprofessionalism of the entire process.
We have documented the actual number of work hours, the countless times phone calls were not returned, the miscommunication between the various members of the team, the errors made in measuring resulting in long delays and the continual pressure to purchase other materials because "the colors wouldn't match

Desired Settlement
All we are asking for is the correct amount of labor and materials,

Business Response
Royalty Renovation went into contractwith **** ********** 07/08/2014. The ********
residence had water damage previously and repairs were needed because of this. The Contract
was to make repairs and to restore the property as closelyas possible to its originalcondition
before the damage occurred. Our estimator negotiated with the insurance company and agreed to
work off of the Fanners Insuranceand Carpet One Estimates. The total agreed amountfor this
repair was $11,795.59. Royalty Renovation received a deposit of$2000 on 07/XXXXXXX so that
we could start the work. Materials were selected by the customer and work began. We worked at
the ******** home on and off around their schedule for almost eight weeks. During this time,
The ********'s had been changing our work scope and directed our employeeson site to do
different work then what we originally had agreed to do. Without going into great detail there
were several changes made by the ********'s without our Project Managers knowledge. As we
prepared to move forward with the project we were asked to order flooring by the ********'s and
when we asked for another deposit to cover the flooring purchase **** ******** told one of my
managers that she had spent all of insurance money and could not pay for the flooring. Work
was stopped at that time and it was unclear how the ********'s wanted to proceed. We placed
the work file in a paused status and patiently waited for a resolution from the ********'s. Late in September,my manager **** received a call from **** ********. He was concerned about completing certain repairs. My manager asked him to email us a list and then we could figure out how to proceed. The email never came to my managers inbox but I checked his spam folder this
morning and found an email dated 09/23/2014 from the ********'s. ***** also called and
emailed the ********'s last week on Wednesday 11/19/2014. We have not had any contact from
The ********'s until Friday 11/21/2014 when **** ******** left a very frustrated voice message
on my Estimator *****'s phone. ***** returned the call and left a message without any return
call. I tried calling the ********'s yesterday by phone and was returned a text message to speak
with my estimator ***** about the issues. I messaged back asking them to speak with me
directly since the complaint was addressed to me and was told that.

I will be adjusting the pricing of all of the items listed except for the vanity. The estimate
clearly shows that it was to Remove Rebuild & Re-install the vanity cabinet. We repaired it and
removed and re-installed it as listed in the original estimate.

The ************ sent us an email yesterday similar to the complaint however they stated in that email that they will NOT allow us back into their home to do any more work.Based on that statement we will not be able to make any further repairs at the home and will bill for all work that has been completed as they are requesting. We will NOT be billing for labor and materials as requested because that was NEVER part of our original agreement / Contract. We
will be using Xactimate which is the industry standard estimating software for our Restoration
Contractors and is the EXACT same program that was used to estimate the original repairs.
Xactimateis Industry standard and the pricing is set by them based on fair market conditions.

**** ****,
GeneralManager
(see hard copy online)

Consumer Response
Case #XXXXXXXX has been resolved to our satisfication. See enclosed
**** ********
**** ********
(see hard copy online)

10/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Upper cabinet is dislocated. Sink base no longer sustains itself. Gray still somewhat shows below some tiles. Drawer rollers not installed.
Royalty Renovations was contracted by my insurance to replace some kitchen countertops and backsplashes. The upper cabinets were originally not part of the problem, but the platforms that support the bases for dishes are now pushed to the left and seem to have gotten dislocated while Royalty Renovation installed the backslash. They were sealed out of place with grout and cannot be easily readjusted. The upper cabinets were in perfect condition before this work. They got pushed and dislocated when Royalty Renovations installed the backslash.

Also, Royalty Renovations failed to communicate to the insurance that the sink cabinets needed some additional repairs prior to installing the new countertops. I was not informed that they did not communicate this to the insurance nor complete these repairs, and they still proceeded with the installation. Now the base for the sink cabinet is not sustainable. If I had been aware of the situation (and if the insurance was informed and would not have not covered that part of the job) I would have paid for the additional repairs before they proceeded with the installation. Now that the installation is complete, this problem would cost us significantly more money to repair than it would have if the work had been completed at the same time as the other repairs.

Royalty Renovations also did some repairs on the cabinets to the right of the refrigerator but failed to install the rollers for the drawers.

There is some gray material that was applied under the tile when the tile was installed. There was excess material and it was cut off but not very proportionally and it still shows in some parts. They did not at first properly install the sink and this led to additional water damage in the cabinets below the sink.

I noticed a lot of their work was flimsy and there are nails from nail guns sticking out from areas in the cabinets, even in the insides of the cabinets. These details are not a huge problem, but are indicative of a very poor job with little detail orientation or care.

Desired Settlement
finish repairs, including problem area under sink, installation of rollers, repair of dislocated upper cabinets

Final Consumer Response
The repairs have been completed for case # XXXXXXXX. We (Royalty Renovations and I) have agreed to have this complaint removed from the BBB website. (see hard copy online) IG

05/20/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Employees were caught on camera going through dresser. Items that were ordered promised to be delivered were not. The job took 7 wks to begin.
The job began Feb 25 at which time we were told that the once the mold was cleared they would begin the demo . I called ***** beginning March 10 every week to find out when they were going to begin . On March 15 I finally scheduled an appt with Donna to pick out colors and tiles and cabinet .At that time I was then told that they would not begin reno until the cabinet was built . With that she said it would be another 4-6 week to get a sink cabinet and it was then we would be put on a list for the reno . At that point we explained that we know a cabinet maker and it can possibly be finished in a week. We verified with that person and then ask RR they said they put us on the list . I spoke with ***** and he said that we were already the list the minute I gave them the deposit. Which was Feb 28 Finally on April 14 they began the work. They arrived at my house around 830. We have cameras in the home . We were monitoring them at which time we seen a worker going through items on the dresser. I notified the police and the company manager. I left work. In the interim. The worker was showing a ton of pictures that he had taken at other homes to my step-son. None of their work but of personal items of the owners homes. When I arrive I viewed the film with with both the police and Managers separately. The managers stood behind their men of course. While they were outside with their guys they were overheard laughing with them about other things that had been taken from other homes. When the managers were speaking to us they were explaining how people like to look around people homes at all of their stuff. But I believe the line is is crossed when you start touching . They stated they were reading medication bottles' to see if we were crazy' . After discussing not having them return to the job I asked about having my deposit returned . HE said that typically isnt the way things work that that is typically a fee for the time spent talking to the insurance person , writing up quotes etc, I explained typically you hire a company that completes a job that you typically feel you can trust and complete the job in a timely manor, typically. He returned my call 10 minutes later and stated that my deposit would be refunded . The following day I spoke to ***** again had said that our tile and counter top had been delivered and that he can have it delivered to my house . Twice I verified that it included the counter top . He had said that the tile was 600 and the counter top was 60 so he would deduct 660 from my deposit. After the tile was deliver (minus the counter top and minus enough deco to complete the job) I called him and text him 3 times before he answered. When I questioned him about the counter top he denied it and said 'oh Im sorry I must have misspoke ' . That's when I hung up. Not only did it take 2 months, spending much 400 extra dollars as well as being violated they don't honor their word or commitment.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting a complete refund of my deposit . 500 Plus 500 for additional supplies I had to purchase . The counter top , grout and 180 in new tile deco .

Business Response
I have spoken with ***** ********** and addressed the alleged issues. Per our conversation she has agreed to withdraw her complaint and sign a settlement agreement. I do not wish to comment any further at this time and request more time for ***** ********** and myself to resolve this issue to both of our satisfaction.

06/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company has failed to meet promised completion dates for repairs and remodels to the above residence as contracted with our homeowner's insurance.
The company has been paid 50% of the amount of the claim. The claim is to repair water damage caused by a leaking water line in the kitchen and includes dry wall, carpeting and painting. The only thing that has been accomplished is the dry wall and partial painting. We have been promised carpeting on 5 different dates and are still waiting to see this accomplished. We need help.

Desired Settlement
We only want to be treated as customers and to have t he terms of the contract met. INSTALL THE CARPETING.

Business Response
Royalty Renovation has been communicating with ****** ******* regularly regarding her repairs. We were scheduled to install her carpet on Tuesday and unfortunately it rained that day so we were forced to reschedule as we cannot install flooring in the rain without risking damage. We are scheduled to have the carpet installed this week and we were already scheduled when she filed this complaint. I just tried to call her to confirm our appointment since I saw this complaint in my email and rather than confirm, she wanted to discuss all of the issues she's had with scheduling. Unfortunately I am out of town on vacation and do not know all of the details involving her job. I explained to her that I was on vacation with family and that I couldnt discuss those issues until tomorrow when I was in my office and could review her file and she stated that she didn't want to talk to me and hung up on me. This has been the kind of treatment we have received since she hired Royalty Renovation according to my staff. We really want to help her to complete her job but we really need to treat each other with mutual respect. We will continue to try and communicate with ****** regularly. In closing I want to point out that we have resolved this complaint and scheduled her carpet install BEFORE ****** made this complaint. I also want to point out that there is no written timeline guarantee in our contract nor has there been any verbal guarantee that I am aware of.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractor - Remodel & Repair

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.