BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/22/2013

Bostick Remodeling LLC

(520) 312-1836View Additional Phone Numbers3434 W Sophia St, TucsonAZ 85741-2050

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/22/2013

BBB has determined that Bostick Remodeling LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bostick Remodeling LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bostick Remodeling LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
01/21/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contractor abandoned job after I challenged his attempt to install a slide door improperly. I paid him more than I owe him for the work he completed.
On 9-27-15 Bostick Remodel(BR)gave an estimate for $5870 as follows:Remove block from entry into AZ room.Remove existing sliding door,frame,header-$1400.Pour new self leveling floor-$1690.Build up threshold. Replace header,door frame.Install new slide door-$2780.Of work itemized the only tasks completed was removing block from entry into AZ room and removing slide door. BR did not pour new self leveling floor. BR attempted to install slide door but did so against manufacturer's requirements for properly installing door.BR did not replace frame,header.Instead BR cut header to fit door and used existing frame.Manufacturer of door is Milgard. Milgard requires that frame be plumb, square,level.BR did not do this.It would have been done had BR replaced frame and header. Most importantly Milgard requires that door be installed on concrete threshold and if any shims needed,they must be plastic shims capable of withstanding specified compressive load of weight of door.BR built up threshold by placing pressure treated 2x4 lumber on existing concrete,placed door on top of it,used wood shims for leveling. I spoke with Milgard technical rep who asserted that pressure treated 2x4 is not acceptable as threshold due to weight of door and possibility of moisture penetrating and wood shims are not to be used.BR returned the following day.I attempted to take issue Mr. ******* on how he was installing slide door.He cut me off from speaking,verbally abused me with obscenities and shouted"we are even"and abandoned job.About a week after this outrageous encounter I responded to him by email saying we are not even and detailed how I felt so. Now he is claiming I owe him money by fabricating and inflating charges.
I had another contractor, a Milgard certified dealer/installer assess BR attempt to install slide door and concluded it was improper,not according to Milgard's requirements.That contractor leveled entire floor of AZ room including proper level concrete threshold for slide door and completed proper installation of door complying with Milgard requirements.
To corroborate the questionable integrity of BR the following occurred.I also got an estimate from BR on 9-27-15 for smooth texturing walls and ceilings for $7600.He said he could do it with wet sanding only-no sanding dust and get a mirror smooth finish.I hired BR because BR was the only contractor that said this could be done.I expressed concern about the price and we agreed on $7000.When I asked how long that part of the job would take owner Mr ******* said 4-5 days.At 2-3 weeks into the job they were dry sanding and the results were not as expected.With frustration mounting I agreed to pay the original $7600 if that would assure the best result.At 3 weeks BR said the walls and ceilings were finished with only minor things remaining and wanted to be paid in full.I and my fiance withstood the extreme inconvenience of the plaster dust and chaos with hardly a mention of it.I worked many years in construction environments so I was trying to be understanding and hoping it would end soon.I paid BR knowing they were coming back the following week for other things.During the weekend after looking more closely I saw that the job was far from complete.On Monday when I confronted Mr ******* about this he said that I had certified the walls being done by writing "done" on all the walls.I in fact did not do this.It was his workers that wrote that on the walls.He knew that but just wanted to collect his money on Friday.Mr ******* then reassured me that everything would be done to my satisfaction.Another part of the job was to tap into the existing hvac to add 2 vents to back room.BR attempted this with 2 runs of 19 ft of 6" insulated flex duct through a small restricted space.Flex duct cannot be crimped or airflow is quickly restricted.This was the case but Mr ******* tried to convince me it was ok.I insisted it was not so he removed the flex duct and patched the sheetrock poorly.

Desired Settlement
The amount I feel I owe of the $5870 mentioned above is $1000-a very liberal amount-for removing block from entry to AZ room and removing slide door-no more than 3-4 hours of billable time. As stated above BR did not pour self leveling floor for AZ room-$1690.BR is not entitled to any part of the $2780 itemized for building up threshold, replace header and door frame and install slide door since BR did none of this according to Milgard specifications and had to be redone correctly by a certified Milgard installer.
The entire original amount billed by BR was $17337 agreed to in an email by BR. This included the above mentioned $5870 and $7600. There is an additional estimate for $3867 for pouring a 12'x22' concrete patio- job completed but very poorly done. There was additional work added as itemized below.
Bath exhaust. $60
3 Skylights $600
Patch opening for foyer skylight $100. This is one of the 3 mentioned above. I chose not to install skylights. BR initially cut out the ceiling, roof and framed for 3 skylights but work was not complete. If skylights were to be installed BR had to tape, apply plaster to beaded corners,finish coating after skylights installed. Over weekend I decided not to install skylights. I closed ceiling openings for 2 skylights in kitchen. The only work remaining for BR at this point was to apply plaster to smooth to rest of ceiling. ****** worker for BR said"I did good"referring to closing of the skylight openings.I did nothing to foyer skylight opening thus the $100 charge allowed above considering it was about half the work to create the opening.
3 solar tube cutouts $300. If BR charged $200 to create openings for skylights then $100 per solar tube is reasonable since it involves half the work.
New total $18397.
Any attempt by BR to refute the amounts above I will vigorously dispute. It would be his attempt too inflate charges to offset what he owes me.
In addition BR agreed to $727 hold back on the concrete patio he poured pending the outcome of its condition 30 days after 10-16-2015, the date the concrete was poured. The condition of the concrete is still poor. There are very visible gouges, scrapes, scratches, low spots where water puddles and crooked control joints even after a very poor attempt at straightening them.
I paid Mr ******* $15577 using 2 credit cards easily documented.
$18397-$727= $17670 total amount owed BR.
$17670-$15577=$2093. Final amount I would have owed BR. As stated above he owes me $4870 for the work he did not do at all or attempted but did not complete. Therefore BR owes me $2777.

Business Response
The customer in this action has filed a compliant with the Register of Contractors, reversed payments made to my company, and now has filled a complaint with you. I have spent countless hours, at the customers home, trying to meet his unrealistic expectations and now many more hours answering all of his complaints. At no time during weeks of work at the customers home did think he was not satisfied with my work because he continued to add new projects for my company to complete. My experience working for him was a constant uphill battle but some individuals can be a challenge. I have letters from other service providers that also experienced negative interaction from this client.
In his first complaint, the customer does not dispute the monies he paid. Instead requested that he be reimbursed for the cost of his Patio slab. I was not paid for work that was not completed, in fact, I completed work I was not paid for. I
I did walk off of the job. It was the only time in over thirty of business that this has occurred.
As I have previously stated, I have documentation from other trades people stating the issues they have with this customer and their opinions regarding his unreasonable expectations. I also have copies of all of the correspondence I have exchanged with the customer and all of the correspondence I have exchanged with the Register of Contractors which I can provided to you when needed. I should also add that the customer refused service and delivery of the documentation I was required by the Register of Contractors to copy to him.
I have not responded to every item on the customer's complaint because I have done so many times before. Please don't take this as a refusal of cooperation because that is not the case. As I have said I will supply all the information you need when it is necessary.
Sincerely,
Contractor of Record

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Bostick Remodeling LLC needs to address the issues I have clearly stated in my complaint regarding the monies I have paid and the work that was improperly done or not done at all. As I stated I had a company that is a certified Milgard dealer/installer redo the installation of the slide door and complete whatever Bostick Remodel did not do and I paid for. I have documentation from this certified Milgard installer attesting to the improper installation of the door and the work they completed to correct it.
I made it very clear to Bostick Remodel my frustration about how the smooth wall task was progressing. They were achieving satisfactory results but it did not happen as was promised-without dry sanding and the length of time that it took. The dust from the dry sanding was a major inconvenience. I agreed to pay the original amount of $7600 because I felt it would assure a proper and timely conclusion to that part of the job.
I will also reiterate that Bostick Remodel engaged in questionable business practice when he declared the smooth wall job was finished and requested full payment when it was far from complete.
The matter of the horrible result of the concrete patio will speak for itself upon inspection.
My expectations for my job were never more than what Bostick Remodel promised to do but did not do as promised, did improperly or not at all- mirror smooth walls, HVAC, slide door install, level floor etc. Any difficulties this contractor claims to have had with me and this job were self inflicted.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Construction & Remodeling Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/08/2013Business started: 04/21/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Registrar of Contractors
400 W Congress St STE 212
Tucson, AZ 85701
(520) 628-6345
http://www.azroc.gov

BBB records show a license number of 277614 for this company, issued by Arizona Registrar of Contractors. Their web address is http://www.azroc.gov.

Type: Contractors

Check License Status: http://www.azroc.gov/forms/details.asp?license=277614

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Hugo Bostick (Owner)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bostick Remodeling LLC

3434 W Sophia St

Tucson, AZ 85741-2050

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3434 W Sophia St 

    Tucson, AZ 85741-2050(520) 742-4879
    (520) 312-1836

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Arizona. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bostick Remodeling LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (520) 742-4879
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013 for complaints filed on 05/22/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines.BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints.

X

Industry Tips for Construction & Remodeling Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.