BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southern Arizona

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Randall and Richards, Inc.

Phone: (520) 745-8701Fax: (520) 545-7306

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues5
Problems with Product / Service1
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
06/02/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to substantiate charges

Complaint: ******* and Richards refuse to justify or validate the false collection amount and refuse to provide any evidence of how the false charge existed.
I am representing ***** **** as an English translator. ***** **** received a call from ***** ******, from his meager English, he understood that he was threaten with a lawsuit for the amount of he never knew existed. I reached out to ***** by phone on 5/2/2014 at 3:27 ET and asked on behalf of *****, where he was calling from, who is he representing and the amount he proclaim ***** owes. ***** **** does not know who Waste Management (the client ***** is representing) is and wants any evidence/contracts/agreements to validate the amount that he accused of owing. ***** ****** refuse and demand a payment or else a lawsuit. ***** **** believe this is a fraudulent activity and will continue to file a complaint with the FTC and legal actions if this claim continues because he does not owe Waste Management money. He wants to resolve this claim immediately and do not want this to affect his financial position.

Initial Business Response
First, I reviewed the notes on the account. The notes show one conversation with the person named ***** ****. There was a language barrier of sorts. The call itself was about the debt owed to Waste Management by Mr. **** as the owner of the business at the time the debt was incurred. Like many business owners, Mr **** was unaware that in the terms of his lease agreement with the mall, he was responsible to pay his monthly bill for garbage service. Prior to receiving this complaint we had submitted a request to our client to verify the debt itself. Apparently Mr. **** was the original owner of the business Classic Nail and Day Spa. The new owner set up a separate account with Waste management and has been paying their monthly invoices. The money that is owed is for the services that were provided to him in the course of his business by our client. The work we do for our clients requires that we speak with other vendors and banks in order to assemble a real time picture of a business' finances. This is the information that was told to Mr.**** by ***** ****** of my office. We are waiting for an answer from our client as to the validity and the necessary proof of debt. When that comes from our client we will let Mr. **** know what the resolution is for the debt.No information has been reported with regards to this by ******** Randall and ******** to any credit reporting agency. You can give Mr **** my name and information in case he wants to reach out to me periodically.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

01/29/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Sales Complaint Issue

Complaint: Because I did not require services and asked to be removed from their calling list I was called an *******
Because I did not require services and asked to be removed from their calling list I was called an *******. Who needs this treatment for picking up the phone and at least giving him an opportunity to present their services.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Director
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@rrcollections.com
On X-XX-XX Mr ******** was contacted by one of are sales associates at 2:02pm AZ Time. Mr. ******** explained that his company did not have a need for our services and as the rep was hanging up he did call Mr ******** a name.

Mr. ******** called our offices two minutes later and left a message regarding the incident on our training managers voice mail. 43 minutes later, **** ******, our training manager, returned the call and explained to Mr. ********* associate that this type of behavior is not acceptable.In addition he explained that we would take immediate measures. Mr ******* was at lunch.

On 1-24-14, **** ******* Director for Randall and Richards, called Mr. ********. During this conversation he explained to ***** that the representative had been working with Randall and Richards for two weeks. That the training manager did call back to both apologize for the incident and to thank him for notifying us of the occurrence.

Mr ****** wanted to make sure that Mr. ******** understood that we were very sorry that this occurred and that our code of ethics and professional practices have no room for this type of behavior.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

05/13/2013Billing / Collection Issues
02/21/2012Billing / Collection Issues
04/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Inappropriate behavior by customer service personnel

Complaint: A representative from Randall & Richards has contacted our company and harassed the staff when the person he called for is not available.
We have been receiving calls from Randall & Richards for a few months now with no specific information about why they are calling. When the person they ask to speak to is not here, the representative, *****, has screamed on the phone to managers and staff telling us we need to contact an attorney and demanding to speak to the person asked for. We have requested a letter be sent to our company with detailed information for the calls but we are told it has been sent but we have not received the letter. We do not have time for harassing calls while we are working with customers so we did not answer the phone one morning and the representative contacted other stores next to us with a message to call. All we ask for is a letter as to why they are contacting us but no such letter has been sent.

Initial Business Response
We are in receipt of your letter regarding the complaint by ******* *********. A search in our system by her name and zip code produce no results. Please provide the name of the business associted with this individual and the phone number she claims we are using to contact her and we will research to see what we can determine and provide to you an appropriate response.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The company name is iSmile Studios located in the zip code XXXXX.

Final Business Response
after reviewing the calls that were made to iSmile Studios there was one call in which our collector raised his voice for a few seconds. he has since been counseled on how to better handle a situation where a business owner avoids his attempts to speak with them. numerous messages were in fact left for the business owner and never was one returned. the employees were told enough to have a message left that a responsible business owner would return the call. if the owner would like us to let the employees know it is about failure to pay the business debts for our clients services we can do that as well. as a courtesy we didnt do that. three letters have been sent to the debtor business and they claim to have received none of them and so they have requested letters over and over. as this is a commercial debt that our client has placed with us to collect for them the business owner should understand that they need to respond and communicate in order to resolve the matter amicably. otherwise further action will have to be used. we will not send a certified letter through the mail we are not required to do such. moving forward i urge you to let the business owner know they need to address the debt they have refused to pay up to this point and contact our office and speak with ***** to resolve the debt.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This response is unacceptable. We have not received anything in writing. If we received a statement or letter, it would have been responded to with payment. It is stated in the response that "if the owner would like us to let the employees know it is about failure to pay the business debts for our clients services we can do that as well. as a courtesy we didnt do that." which they have said to each person they have spoken to that we should get a lawyer due to an issue with payment so their statement is a lie. If letters have been sent, we are not sure why they have not been received by us and that is why we request a certified letter. The reason the business owner has not returned the phone calls is due to the harassment to our employees by ******* and Richards. No one, employees nor a business owner, should be treated in this manner by anyone. Why should we continue to be subjected to this harassment when we made a simple request to send a certified letter and they refuse? Is there any truth to their claim when we do not know who their client is?

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

12/23/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: I have an lawyer handling this and I have asked them to stop calling me and the leave harrassing messages. They are calling family members and this is
this is a situation without merit. I have an attorney working on this case who has advised me and randall and richards that this is without merit

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ***** Coll mgr
Contact Phone: ************ ext ***
Contact Email: *****@randallandrichards.com
we recieved the placement from our client on April 15, 2013. the dispute that was given for reason of non payment was quickly shown to have no basis. they claim to have never received the terms and conditions yet they signed the agreement with our client and right below their signature it tells them to review or request the terms and conditions if need be. they never asked for them. this dispute comes way after the fact.since the account has been placed there have been a total 18 calls made to either the debtor or the attorney. now we still don't hacve a letter from the attorney confirming that she represents the debtor on this matter. the debtor and the attorney use a very beligerent tone and attitude whenever they get to the phone. we want to have the debt paid as there is no disoute as the debtor is in fault and bears the burden of proof and they can't show that. if there is anything else that you need please contact me.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
BBB should request the company's recordings of the phone conversations RR says they have - so BBB can judge for themselves who is being belligerent, threatening and not truthful.
In no way has the issue in dispute been conceded and it has also not been accurately characterized in RR reply statement.

You don't pursue a claim by harrassing relatives, etc. - surely not acceptable businness conduct/practice in Arizona. If RR have a case they should bring in action. But the testimony of the salesman for the company at issue - their agent on this arrangement with me - will show that this claim is frivolous and RR must bear the consequences. they have failed to present any documentation confirming this alledged debt and they can not prove that I signed this document as it a copy not an original.

Business' Final Response
The debt in question is owed and just. The debtor in this matter has had conversations with my client prior to placement with Randall and Richards, and this was explained to her. My client states that the debtor didn't like the answer told them to bill her and that she was never going to pay this debt. The debtor signed and dated the agreement. The documents were reviewed with my client and if there were any questions, that was the time to address them. It appears that the debtor failed to do her own due diligence and now wants to make my client pay for their mistake. If it is necessary I can forward the documents that my client has supplied to us, with the debtors signature on it. All other matters in this complaint have been addressed sufficiently in my previous reply. We expect the debt to be paid and then we can close our file and return it to our client as paid in full.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

10/30/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: ** ***** from Randall & Richards is using harrasment to try to collect a debt. This is against the law according to the fair debt practices.
** ***** from Randall & Richards has been negotiating with the President of the company of Combat Termite Specialist to collect a debt owed to a company called Residex. Their has been dialog between the two regularly in order to try to resolve the situation. On several occasions Randall & Richards will call over and over again, even though I have taken a message and told them I will relay that message to the President of the company. On 09/18/2013 I answered the phone and Mr. ***** was on the other end wanting to talk to the President of the company. I told him he wasn't in and asked to take a message. I also asked that he would stop calling over and over again that it was disturbing the other calls that were going in and out of the office. He then blew up using profanity and telling me that he was filing papers taking the company to court. Yelling and screaming. I told him that if he continued to harrass me I would report him to the BBB and he had to obey the fair debt collection practices. He told me to report him and that he would keep harrassing me, our vendors and anyone else that would listen to him. This man is very unprofessional and sounds very unstable. From now on I will be recording every time Randall & Richards calls my office and I have sent over a letter asking Randall & Richards to stop the harrassment pusuant to the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act. I understand there are debts to be collected but practices have been put in place so people are not harrassed or threatened. Thank your for your time in investigating this matter.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *************** mg
Contact Phone: 520.745.8701
Contact Email: *****@randallandrichards.com
Thank you for forwarding this complaint that you received concenring Randall and Richards. First I will give you the background on this unpaid debt. We represent a client, Residex, who has been owed $2,777.15 since April 12, 2012. Our client contacted us to help them recover these monies on 10.16.12. Since our involvement, there have been few conversations with the owner of the company, ***** ******** In a few of these conversations, he made a promise to make a partial payment monthly but that never happened. Then recently, he began discussing a potentital settlement of the debt, and that has yet to become a reality as well.
The complaint states that ** ***** from our office was the recent party who was calling the debtor business. In reviewing the calls, I will correct this by telling you it was ****** **** that has been calling recently. ** ***** worked the account for a few months and never spoke with the debtor business owner, *****, or ****** He did leave messages on the voicemail numberous times over the course of the months he worked the debt. None of those messages ever had a return call from ***** of the debtor business.
The complaint states that on 9.18.13 our collector began screaming, yelling and using profanity. After reviewing all the calls made to the debtor business for the past three months there is no evidence of any profanity being used or directed at Erika or anyone at the debtor business. This is a total fabrication, or lie, by *****. After reviewing the calls and the most recent one on 9.18.13 there was no yelling or screaming. ***** **** did increase his tone of voice so as to be heard by ***** as she became confrontational once Mr. **** said he was calling from Randall and Richards. I find that *****'s tone of voice was still well within the professional realm.
I believe her opinions of *****, when she states he sounds very unstable, are unwarranted and nothing more than an attempt to deflect the issue from her and her boyfriend's business' debt.
The number of calls made to this debtor business stayed with in the guidelines of the FDCPA. As this is a commercial debt,that being described as a debt incurred between two businessess, the FDCPA doesn't apply since it is a consumer debt protection act. Most of the calls that were made lasted less than 18 seconds and were disconnected after a few rings therefore showing that there were no completed calls to the debtor business.
The desired resolution won't happen as we have not threatened, harrassed or used foul language in any of our attempts over the past 11 months to help our client get paid for their product/services that are now over 18 months old. This debtor business has been using the stall that they are in litigation against a former partner of the business. That has no merit as to why the debt still remains unpaid.

Therefore we will continue our efforts to collect the entire debt they owe our client in full. There is no longer a settlement to be negotiated on this debt. If they would like to once and for all handle their outstanding debt in a professional and responsible way they can contact me directly to do so.
Should there be any other information you may require to remove this complaint from our file or records please contact me directly.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
These people don't even have the respect to spell my name right! And he did yell because other people in the office heard him screaming through the phone. You don't threaten people, I work here I, take messages - that is what I told him I would do. No one is going to threaten me like that where I work and he told me to report him so he knows his behavior was out of control. I encourage Randall and Richards to find better professionals to handle any conversation with clients because this man is the most unprofessional person I have ever spoken to over the phone. I am not satisfied with their response and I challenge them to send a copy of the conversation to the BBB for them to review, one with out any edits. These people use bulling tactics and threats and not only that now I know they are liars. I would be more than happy to have my office staff verify my complaint because if there was just a "raised voice" no one else would have heard him screaming through the phone. And he did use profanity. He tried to stop himself halfway through but not in time. Good try though.

Final Business Response
The debtor business needs to pay their outstanding debt. Their most recent response has no validity to it. Randall and Richards responded to the initial complaint with the facts. They want anything else they should seek other remedies. Randall and Richards violated no laws and has handled the collection effort correctly. We will continue to pursue the debtor company to pay their debt through all viable means.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Collection Agencies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.