BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/1978

Milex Auto Service

Phone: (520) 298-9404Fax: (520) 298-02596911 E Broadway Blvd, TucsonAZ 85710-2802View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/1978

BBB has determined that Milex Auto Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Milex Auto Service's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Milex Auto Service

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
12/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
this job was completed 9=23=14/ it is now 11/17/2014 and the car is still in the shop. they didnt want to
provide car rental for the time being.
alternator was replaced 2 times and a belt was added to the repair without letting us know. the 3 times they gave us the car the car just turned off.it the woulndt start in the am and then i got stranded twice out of town on way to job interview, i didnt get the job. today i called in requesting update and was told that there are working on a new alternator for my car. i then asked so the last 2 were messed up devices.to receive to answer whatsoever. we have been without a car for 2 months. they dont offer courtesy car rental after all expenses in fixing car amounts t $4,700. have been messing around with our car. The incompetent mechanics have failed at their jobs 4 times. after they have been payed up for and dont deliver the services we paid for. being a without a car for 2 month is just ridiculous after they said it would take days not months

Desired Settlement
we would like to have a car rental until the car gets resolved and wants the alternator and belt refund because its been way too long for a simple alternator repair. we paid and than i felt we were set aside and forgotten. i call every single day and they say that dan will call me but i never receive his call.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ***** manager
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ************@cox.net
the vehicle for mr ********* first came to our shop on 3/31/2014 with a complaint of a coolant leak and engine noise, it turned out to be a problem with the timing chains causing the timing cover to leak. the repair was covered under their service contract. they paid what the contract did not cover, $694.59. they came in again on 4/9/2014 with a coolant hose and plastic fitting leaking. $255.53. their next visit was 9/23/2014, a dead battery because of the alternator and a noise in the front suspension. we replaced the alternator and upper control arms, again the service contract paid the bill. they did have an oil change, an a/c service and bought a $$aver card. $327.23. that was the last time any money was spent with us, total of $1331.25, not $4700.00. they came back on 9/26/2014 with a complaint of the charging system light coming on again. the light was not on then. we test drove the vehicle and tested the charging system and found no problem so they took the car. on 10/15/2014 the battery was dead again and we found someone had installed a stereo system and left the battery cable loose. we charged the battery and tested the charging system again and it tested good again. on 11/06/2014 the car was back with a dead battery again. we found the alternator was bad and replaced it under warranty. tested the system again and it was working good. the customer did not want to leave the car with us for a couple of days to see if we could find a problem that would make the alternator go bad. the last 3 times the car came in it had a bad engine miss. we diagnosed 2 ignition coils bad, the repair would be covered by their warranty but they declined having it fixed. on 11/14/2014 they came in with the same complaint of the charging system. this time there was an after hours call on our answering machine that was less than friendly, 4 emails through companies that we get reviews on and a complaint to you. I told **** that we would like to have the vehicle longer than 1 or 2 days to find out what was causing the problem and it could take a couple of weeks. I explained to him that we do not want to have this happen again but it is an odd ball problem that will take time to repair. he agreed and left. we contacted the manufacturer of the alternators and asked if they were aware of this problem and they let us know that it has happened plenty of other times on the Lincoln ls with a v8 engine and the alternator is not the fault of the problem but no one that they know of has found what causes it. they built a special heavy duty alternator and overnighted it to us from Tenn. at no charge and told us that it would probably not solve the problem. mr ********* contacted us on the 18th and insisted he have his car back that day. I told him that we put the new alternator on it but there will still be a problem and we would need more time to find out the cause of the failure. we had received a couple more vulgar emails by that time so I decided to return his vehicle to him and at that time asked him to find another repair shop to work on his vehicles, that after what has happened and the emails that we received and the ones that went to business that are associated with us that we no longer want him as a customer. he then asked me if he could still bring his other vehicle to us and of course I said no. mr ********* has a vehicle that is known to have strange problems, the charging system problem is one of them and will not let us have his vehicle long enough to diagnose us or repair it. he also did not spend anywhere near the $4700.00 that he claimed came out of his pocket, as for the belt he claims was not authorized we have a signed work order authorizing the repair. his car has not been in our shop for 2 months as he claims, it has never been in our shop for more that 2 days at a time for the charging system issue. mr ********* chose to drive his car with the charging system light on knowing that it would quit running, and yet blames us for him getting stranded. as far as we are concerned we have done all we can for mr ********* and will do nothing further.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
*** the manager signed the work order for us we never authorized the belt. the car indeed was taken back 3-4 times for the same alternator problem. the manager wanted to keep the car longer he mentioned weeks. he should have kept it the 1st time not the 4th time we took it in.

Final Business Response
What Mr. *********'s rebuttal states is that I signed the work order with the serpentine belt on it, work order #XXXXX, dated 9/23/2014. The fact is the signature on that work order from ******** ********* matches every other signature that is on the rest of the work orders. If there was an issue with replacing a badly worn serpentine belt, which had no labor involved, the objection should have been made before the repair was paid for and signed.
******** and **** ********* have a very unique automobile with very unique problems. The problems they have experienced with the charging system is not unique to their vehicle. When Mr. *********'s vehicle came to our shop the last time we went to a website called Identifix. Identifix is a very widely know site that is run by ase certified master technicians for every make of auto known on the market today. Their objective is to help find solutions to hard to solve problems. They are used by thousands of shops and hundreds of thousands of technicians around the country, and when a tech finds a solution to a difficult problem they share it through Identifix. The technicians at Identifix also work every day to find solutions to problems themselves. The problem with this car was brought up on Identifix more than several times with a lot of alternators replaced and the problem still occurs. There was not one entry on their site that showed a solution to the problem. When Mr. ********* came to our shop the last time I explained to him that when we make a repair and it is working after a long test drive and rechecking our work that we have to assume the repair is completed. The only other alternative we have is to keep the vehicle for an extended amount of time and drive it daily to see if it is going to happen again, and he, just like most people did not want to do that. The morning of his last visit I explained to him that in order to find a solution for his problem we will have to be able to have his vehicle here for as much time as it takes to correct the problem. I told him that it could be a week or as long as a month, that only having the vehicle for a day or two was not enough time. At that time he agreed that was the best course of action and told me to keep it for as long as we need. He then asked if we had a courtesy vehicle that he could use and I told him we do not. I made arrangements for Enterprise rent a car to supply him with a vehicle at our shop rate and also suggested that he check with his insurance company and his service contract to see if they could help him with a vehicle to drive in the mean time. That was on Thursday morning, on Monday he contacted me and told me we have had his car long enough to find the problem and insisted he get it back. I told him at that point that we were having a special alternator built for his car and that would probably not correct his problems. We received the new alternator on Tuesday, installed it in his car and tested it just like every other time and told him that for now it is working but the failure would probably happen again because we have not gotten to the root of the problem. At that time he sent family members to pick up the vehicle. They were giving a work order showing the alternator and all the procedures that we had performed and the research we had done and that the problem will most likely reoccur. We feel that we have done everything we can do with the limited time we have had to do it in. We have received a vulgar, terrible voice message on our phone along with emails and reviews that were, shall we say, less than flattering from Mr. ********* and now he is accusing me of fraud. I have been in this business for 42 years and have always done my best to make sure every customer is given the best service I or the shop I am in can give. Neither me or my shop take accusations of fraud lightly. We obviously can not satisfy Mr. ********* so I wish him well in his quest of his auto repair with another shop. Mr. ********* has stated several untrue statements starting with how much money he has spent out of pocket to the amount of time in the shop, (2 months) I have supplied you with all the documentation that curtails timelines and money, it is time to put this complaint to rest.

09/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Initial estimate was approx $400.00 for repairs recommended 10 mths earlier, then they said they needed another $234.00 after that repair did not fix.
Brought my 2002 Hyundai Accent VIN#KMHCG45C12UXXXXXX to Milex on 9-24-13 for a complete service eval for multiple problems. Had just purchased vehicle 2 mths earlier. The loud clicking noise turned out to be the car was very low on oil, which was easily fixed however the A/C seemed to be a little more involved and I did not have the extra funds to work on that at the time, so I said I would wait. My son picked up the vehicle and when I told him what was wrong with the A/C (Control Head-Levers), he said that was different than what the guy told him. He was told that they initially thought that the noice the vehicle was making was comming from the A/C pulley and belt, even though it ran cold. He was told that they had to cut the belt. I did not think much of that statement because my son is 17 and this is his 1st car and I figured he just misunderstood what he was told and maybe he was referring to the engine lifters making the noise. Anyway, time goes on and I had to replace the transmission on this vehicle. I originally had an estimate from Milex but it was so high that I got a second opinion and had it done elsewhere for almost $1000.00 less. They used a rebuilt trans, which Milex said was unavailable. Now, 10 months after the initial estimate from Milex, I call them to say that I would like to now have the A/C work done (its HOT). My son dropped the car off early on 7-22-14 before they opened and I called them later to clarify what I wanted done. I spoke with ****** in the office and said I wanted to get the A/C fixed and that they said it was the Control Head that needed to be replaced but I wanted her to call and let me know the estimate for repair because I was planning on selling the vehicle in the next 2-3 months and did not want to put too much into it. ****** called back and said it would be about $400.00 which was only about $100.00 more than what I wanted to spend but I wanted to check with my husband, which I did. We decided to go ahead with the repair. The part had to be ordered, and we left the carr there for 2 days. On 7-24-14, Velvet called me and said they replaced the control head but the A/C didn't work because the Pully, Belt, Nut & Bolt that connected to the A/C was missing. I was was very surprised and asked how much more, then I spoke with the mgr, he told me it would be another $234.00. I asked if they checked the A/C unit before they gave me an estimate and he said NO, they went off the old inspection from 10 mths ago and they never even lifted the hood, the repair was dont thru the dash. I told him I did not think that they should give an estimate without checking out the whole system especially when they knew I did not want to do any repairs if it was too much. I said I would pay for his labor cost but just remove the part and I did not want to do any repai, and take my losses. That is when I was told, this is a special order non-refundable part (another thing I should have been informed of). Then I asked if he would split the $62.00 labor cost as a meet in the middle (301.00 discount on a now $500.00 repair), but he said NO. I also mentioned what my son had told me about them cutting the pully, and he said; thats not noted. I asked if the other repair shop would have to remove to do the transmission and he said, NO. I just paid him the $353.82 over the phone and picked up the car later that night, again after hours, because I work. When I picked up the car, the passenger side door did not work but it did when I brought it there. Now I have paid $343.82 but the A/C still does not work and no one can tell me where or why the pully and belt are missing (we don't work on our vehicles)and I have a broken driver door, which means we have to slide in from the passenger side. Just doesnt seem fair. I would like to have someone else finish these repairs at Milex's expense or have my money refunded.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be refunded for the cost of this repair or at least be refunded for Control Head Part that I was not informed was non refundable. I would also like to be refunded for the cost of the door repair or at least for the parts to replace the door handle, and I will pay someone else to fix it. I have tried to work this out with Milex from the beginning but they have not been willing to accept any responsibility for their actions. This whole situation would have been avoided if they would have re-checked the whole A/C unit before giving me an estimate. If I had known it would be this much, I would not have done any repairs and just asked less for the car when I sold it. They also should have notified me that the Control Head was a non-refundable part, once ordered. As far as the door now being broken; I don't know if that was malicious or a slam of the door that broke it. The two back door handles were already broken, so we know to be very careful with them.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@cox.net
On Sept 24, 2013 the Hyundia Accent was dropped off at our repair shop for an oil change and to diagnose the engine running sluggish and the a/c and heater blowing on the floor. When we started the car we found the engine making a lot of tapping noises. We checked the oil level and found none showing on the dipstick causing the lifters to make a lot of noise. As soon as we changed the oil and filled it to the proper level the engine noise started going away. The engine control system is equipped with a knock sensor which changes the timing according to the amount of noise coming from the engine. With the noise it was making the knock sensor was causing the engine timing to retard and have a lack of power. We inspected the issue of the a/c and heater blowing only on the floor and found the a/c heater control head was binding and the temp door cable was disconnected. We were able to change the position of the door so it will blow cold air and not hot. We tested the a/c temp and it was blowing at 56 degrees. The belt had to be on the car at that time or the a/c would not have worked at all. We let the customer know at that time the only way to make a proper repair would be to replace the heater/ac control head. On July 22, 2014 the customer dropped off the car requesting the control head be replaced, it was explained at that time the part would have to be ordered. The customer was given an estimate later that day of $406.99 and authorized the repair. The part came in 2 days later and was installed. At that time we found the a/c would not blow cold, we inspected the system to find out why and found the a/c belt, idler pulley, bracket and bolt had been removed from the car. We had no reason to inspect the rest of the a/c system because 1st, there was no complaint of another problem and 2nd, the a/c was working when the original diagnosis was made. Almost all vendors that sell parts have a policy of special ordered parts not being returned unless they are defective, there was no discussion about the part not being able to be returned because at that time there was no reason to have the discussion. The repair total was $353.82 instead of $406.99 we gave the customer a discount that was not included in the original estimate. As far as being asked about another shop removing the pulley to replace the transmission my answer was "I do not know because I was not there." I know the drivers door was working when we finished the repair because I was the one to pull the car out of the shop and park it, I had to open the door from the outside to get into the car and then open it from the inside to get out of the car. As far as the passenger door, there was no reason for us to use the passenger door, I believe there is some confusion about which door does not work because in the customers complaint in one sentence it is the passenger door and in the next sentence it is the drivers door. Although I do feel bad for the customer because she has obviously had issues with the car she bought I do not feel any of them are our responsibility. We were asked to make a repair, the customer agreed to the price and the repair was made. We should not be held responsible for what has happened to the car in 10 months since we made the diagnosis.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In re-reading my original complaint, I see that I did make 2 verbage errors; so let me correct. I stated I originally requested a discount on the labor cost for the additional A/C repairs of 301.00, but that should have read, 31.00 on over 500.00 worth of repairs. The second error was on the door handle that was not working when I picked it up. I did say "passenger", when I should have said "driver" side door. Both corrections were towards the bottom of the original complaint. Since filing this complaint I have had the driver door repaired on 8-1-14 by the same company that did the transmission repair for $92.45. That same company checked the A/C unit and confirmed that the A/C tension pully, nut, bolt & belt are missing but their company would have no reason to remove that during a transmission repair. They also could not give any explanation as to how that would happen, since they have never heard of one just comming off before. This shop could not find these replacement parts locally but showed me on the computer, exactly what I was looking for and guided me to the internet to purchase the parts and then they would install them at a one hour labor rate of 85.00. I have purchased the these parts online for 57.91, which would make my new cost of additional A/C repairs 142.91. So now the A/C repairs that I was not going to do if it was over 3 to 400.00, will end up costing me $589.18. I still refer back to asking Milex for an estimate to repair the A/C on 7-22-14, they knew I did not want to spend too much, since I was selling the vehicle, yet they did not re-check they A/C system, they simply went to a 10mth old repair assessment and gave me a price. It would be very difficult to sell this vehichle with half the A/C repair being done, especially since both repair facilitied had difficulty finding these replacement parts. I have spent several hours on the internet to find these parts and I am hopeful this will fix the problem. I also would not have ordered the expensive A/C level control, if I would have known it was a special order piece that was non-returnable. If I was given acurate information from Milex in the begginning I would have asked for a couple of hundred dollars less on the price of the vehicle but instead, I will be out almost $600.00. I still believe Milex should be held responsible for something in this matter but I do believe their actions to be neglegent not malicious. I would like them to re-imburse me half of what I will have to pay to have eveything fixed, which would now be $295.00 if these new parts work. I can furnish receipts upon request.

Final Business Response
CASE ID: XXXXXXXXX ******* **** Vehicle: 2013 Hyundai Accent
MIlex Auto Service, August 18, 2014
Contact: **** L *****
Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX, email: ************@cox.net
Because we now have two complaints from Ms ****, first one received on August 4th, and the second one received on August 13, and they have some conflicting information this is a combined response to the two.
Without reiterating the narratives of the complaints, I am summarizing our view and our position on the specific issues that she has raised.
On the initial visit to our shop, on 9-24-13, the temperature control was inoperative, and the air control cable was disconnected. A new control head was needed. The repair was declined. We re-installed the loose air control cable then our tech accessed inside the inoperative temp control head and moved the stuck temp control to the cold position to temporarily make the AC useable. When the vehicle left our shop the dashboard air temp was 56 degrees on a 103 degree day, so the refrigeration working perfectly.
1 ) After the vehicle was dropped off to us on July 22nd, 2014, Ms **** called and told ****** that we said last September the temperature control head needed to be replaced. ****** opened the original ticket and found that to be exactly the case, so tried to order the part, found it was not available here, so called and gave Ms **** the time and cost for the control head, which she approved. AT NO TIME DID Ms **** MENTION THAT THE REFRIGERATION WAS INOPERATIVE OR REQUEST THAT WE INSPECT IT OR PROVIDE AN ESTIMATE FOR IT! (Air and temp controls are totally separate units from the refrigeration function.) No repair shop performs work not requested and authorized by the customer.
Ms **** implied in her first complaint that we had removed the missing parts from her vehicle, and/or that we cut the AC drive belt, but since the refrigeration IS TOTALLY INOPERABLE WITHOUT THOSE PARTS and it was producing 56 degree air on a 103 degree day when picked up, her implied accusations ARE COMPLETELY IMPOSSIBLE!
Ms **** then makes the insulting claim that "after spending $400 they called and said they needed another $234 to fix what that repair did not fix"! We fixed what she asked us to fix, and that fix was never intended to address missing AC parts under the hood!
2) Ms **** also makes an incorrect and rather insulting statement about her transmission estimate from Milex. We told her that a USED transmission was not available. She told us that the vehicle has been a financial drain, so we tried to find a low mile used transmission, which, if available, could save her hundreds or maybe more than a thousand dollars. We did not find one, so recommended a QUALITY factory rebuilt transmission, which comes with a 100,000 mile, 36 month full warranty. She opted for a cheaper rebuilt, which is certainly her option, but we do not use cheap rebuilts due to experienced high failure rates with them.
3) The door handle accusation: On July 24, 2014, our shop Manager pulled her vehicle out of the shop and parked it where it was to be picked up. As noted in his response to her original complaint, he opened the driver's door using the outside handle, parked it, then opened the driver's door using the inside handle. If he had broken it, he would have said so. And I might point out that the poorly constructed plastic handles break with regularity as they age (both rear door handles have already been broken on this vehicle.)
SUMMARY
Ms **** did not at any time ask us to check the AC on this vehicle. After the initial temporary fix, ten months later, she brought it in and told our CSR that "last September there was a control head issue" that she wanted fixed. If Ms **** had asked for the AC to be checked, that would be listed on the intake invoice, as that form becomes the work order for the technician, plus, the AC inspection fee would have been listed.
HAD SHE ASKED THAT WE CHECK THE AIR CONDITIONING, ALL OF THIS WOULD HAVE BEEN AVOIDED!
Ms **** states in the complaints:
"my son told me about them cutting the pulley" Our answer: An obvious impossibility, as stated above, as it HAD to be on the vehicle when it left our shop in September 2013 and was NOT on it when the vehicle returned to us in July 2014. A totally false accusation.
"They should have notified me the Control head was a non-returnable part"
Our answer: This part may have actually originally been a returnable part, HOWEVER, IT WAS INSTALLED BEFORE ANY ISSUES AROSE, AND ALL PARTS THAT HAVE BEEN INSTALLED ARE NON-RETURNABLE, as after a customer approves the estimate and the part is installed, it is no longer returnable.
Ms **** has attempted to blame us for everything that is wrong with this vehicle. It is my opinion that this 100,000+ mile vehicle was obviously purchased without a professional used vehicle inspection, was a neglected vehicle, and continues to drain them with unexpected expenses, and they are very frustrated with the losses.
We understand the frustrations and financial losses, but WE have done nothing wrong in this transaction. Our Manager tried to soothe Ms Owens' initial complaints by giving her a $53.17 credit on the control head repair that was made, which she responds to by saying we refuse to take responsibility for our actions. She authorized that repair, but at no time did she ask that we inspect the AC refrigeration system.
We have done nothing improper on this vehicle, we have made our best effort to communicate with Ms **** and try to resolve her issues and misunderstandings, we have given a discount as a gesture, all to no avail.
**** L *****
President & General Manager

(see hard copy online)

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I don't believe another complaint has been filed, we are simply responding to each others claims because we have very different opinions of what has occurred during the course of this repair. In order for the BBB to make a fair determination of this case they are allowing each of us to speak on it. I do feel like I am rehashing the same thing again, but here we go.
*On 9-24-13 the A/C was not the only thing that was done to my vehicle, it was making a loud noise that we were initially told could be the A/C. I don't know what order the repairs where done but I do know that my son was told there was issues with the A/C pulley & Belt but I was told on the phone and on the paperwork that the problem was the Control head in the dash. I spoke with the shop mgr but my son spoke with the mechanic that actually worked on the car. Is is possible that the A/C was checked 1st and when that noise was ruled out and it appeared to be running cold, that then they looked at the engine. In the process of working on the engine, is it possible that the belt & pully broke then but wasn't documented by the mechanic and the mgr was not aware?

It is apparent by Milex's last response that they feel that I am making acusations about their integrity and that I think they did things maliciously to my car; that is not the case. I simply think some things don't add up and I am not just willing to accept that and more importantly, pay for it. I have been a business owner twice and am currently employed in the ******* **** a **** so I am very familiar with having to defend the actions and processes of my staff. Many times those complaints identified a change that I would make in our process to avoid them from happening again. In a hospital setting the outcomes could be life threatening so we welcome and encourage that feedback, and we don't make our patients pay for our mistakes.

1). Milex references what I did or did not say regarding the A/C repair on the 2nd visit, 9 to 10 mths later and says it was working when I left their shop. The truth is, the lever that they put in the cold position, did not stay in that position for more than .15 minutes down the road when we left their shop. I did ask ****** to repair the control head, but as I stated before, when she called me back with the price, being higher than anticipated; I did inform her that I was selling the vehicle and did not know if I wanted to spend that much. I even said to her (and I remember this specifically). This care is one thing after another, I hope this the last thing I have to do to it. As a customer rep, this is where I would have notified a customer; "Just so you know, this is a special order part, and if it doesn't fix the problem, you cannot get a refund or return it". If I was given that information, this whole thing may have been avoided because It would be my nature to confirm that they were sure that this was going to fix the problem since it had been so long since the initial assessment was done (9-10 mths). Then they might have taken a second look and would have been able to give me a true and acurate cost to have this repair done correctly. Why would anyone want to put in excess of $600.00 for A/C repairs on a vehicle they were going to sell(just common sense)?
2). I only mentioned the other company that I took the vehicle to for the transmission because it might have had relevance to the parts being removed during that repair, but that was not the case. It is not insulting for a consumer to shop for the best deal on something. In this case I was told 2 different things by 2 different shops and I took the lower bid, most people would on a vehicle that is only worth about $2500.00
3). The door handle was another fact not accusation. When I dropped it off it worked, when I picked it up, I could not get into the vehicle on that driver door. It did have to be repaired. I stated that the vehicle was old and that one of the other doors had already broken the same way. When I picked up the vehicle, it was after hours, so I could not address it with anyone and at that point we were disputing the A/C issue so it seemed like a mute point. The facts are still the facts, but it could have brocken when Milex shut the door to lock it up before I picked it up coincidentally.
This last statement says that they offerred me a $53.17 credit on the control head repair which is not true. When they gave me the additional cost for the A/C repair, I asked if they could discount that because of not checking it in the first place and they said NO. I then asked if they had any discounts offerred for AARP members and they said Yes (this was not offerred before). When I decided not to do the additional repairs, Velvet asked me to pay the original quote and that is when I told her; shouldnt I get that AARP discount we discusse and she said; Yes, I forgot about that, she made the calculation of the discount and that is what I paid.
In closing, Milex states that if I would have asked that the A/C be checked, this would have all been avoided. This statement is so confusing, why anyone bring a vehicle in to be half repaired and pay $300.00 to still not have A/C in July? I have reviewed this scenario with many friends and co-workers and we are not mechanics, that is why we take it to a shop. There has not been one person that can understand why a shop would not recheck the system if it had not been assessed in 10 mths. In my field, I double check things from day to day, just to be sure. It is not a waste of my time to be sure because it can cost my patients more than just money.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/23/1976Business started: 11/23/1974
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 1976, AZ

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Alan McGee (President)Ms. Sandra McGee (Corporate Secretary)
Number of Employees

6

Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

We are a full service "One Stop" shop. We use high-tech diagnostic equipment to guarantee your vehicle is repaired and/or serviced correctly the first time around, and we only use the highest quality replacement parts, filters, oils, and components when it comes to your car. Some of our more common services that we provide are fuel systems, accessory repairs, car maintenance services, electrical systems, engines & transmissions, drive train services, cooling & heating systems, air conditioning, suspension systems, leak detection & repair, and computers, sensors & controllers. We also do pre-purchase inspections, vehicle inspections and mechanical restorations. For more in depth services please check out our website.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:30 AM to 05:30 AMTue: 07:30 AM to 05:30 AMWed: 07:30 AM to 05:30 AMThu: 07:30 AM to 05:30 AMFri: 07:30 AM to 05:30 AMSat: ClosedSun: Closed
Service Area

Metropolitan Tucson & outlying communities

Alternate Business Names
Arizona Precision Parts, Inc.
Industry Tips
Choosing A Vehicle Repair Facility

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Milex Auto Service has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

2 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Milex Auto Service

6911 E Broadway Blvd

Tucson, AZ 85710-2802

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6911 E Broadway Blvd 

    Tucson, AZ 85710-2802(520) 298-9404

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Arizona. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Milex Auto Service is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013 for complaints filed on 05/22/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines.BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

Choosing A Vehicle Repair Facility
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.