BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southern Arizona

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/1973

Adams Automotive, Inc.

Phone: (520) 624-6789Fax: (520) 624-01932021 S 4th Ave, TucsonAZ 85713-3510

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/1973

BBB has determined that Adams Automotive, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Adams Automotive, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Adams Automotive, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
08/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They dx engine seized wanted 3,600.00 for engine replacement. It was fuel pressure regulator, engine fine.
On July 24th my car died. Had it towed to Adams Automotive. They said my engine was seized and quoted 3,600.00 replacement and that gas had leaked into the engine and thinned out the oil causing burnout. I almost believed them. But their demeanor was off, I had the car towed home. Looked at the engine, no sign of burned smell. Oil smelled of gas but this meant flooding. Second opinion shop said it was fuel pressure regulator, not engine. Car is running.

Desired Settlement
I spent 134.34 getting a fake diagnoses for a repair I did not need. I want a refund.

Business Response
Let me say that I am deeply disappointed in the experience you had with our company.
We failed to meet our motto of quality and service. There is no excuse for the miss diagnoses of your vehicle.

I know you have been a longtime client of ours. I hope you will allow us to try and earn your trust again. I will refund to you the amount of $134.34, $80 of which is for the towing to and from our shop.

We strive to do quality work at a fair price. The technician noted the fuel thinned oil and that the engine would not turn so he jumping to a conclusion that the engine was seized when it was probably hydro locked from fuel in the cylinders. We failed to fully diagnose your vehicle properly and that is unacceptable and the appropriate actions have be taken. The technician is no longer with us. Our company has a spotless record with the BBB and AAA because of how we do business and treat our clients. I know this was an unfortunate experience and is not how we do business. I hope you will accept the refund and my personal apology. If this is acceptable to you I hope any complaints sent to BBB or AAA will be followed up with a letter of resolution and satisfaction.

You may pick up your refund check anytime at our shop.

Sincerely,
******* *****


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I will accept the refund. However I am not happy with a few issues. I did have the fuel pump replaced not too long ago, at Adams, and I would like to know why I was not made aware of any fuel related issues at the time of repair. I have kept all my receipts, some totaling over 900.00
I feel I was overcharged in some instances.
For the past two years I have been told to rebuild my engine at 2700.00
This latest dx was quoted at salvage engine install 3700.00.

I know my engine is old, however
I had the rings and seals and gaskets done elsewhere for a much lower price.
In addition, after seized engine dx I replaced the old battery myself on the car, I was never told it was failing.
I think your business practices need evaluation, and I feel you are only sorry you got caught.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Transmissions - Automobile, Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair - Suspension, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Air Conditioning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/01/1970Business started: 03/01/1969
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 1986, AZ

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Willard Adams (Owner)
Number of Employees

6

Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Transmissions - Automobile, Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair - Suspension, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Air Conditioning

Products & Services

This company offers complete auto repair and service and specializes in auto air conditioning parts and repairs.

Industry Tips
Choosing A Vehicle Repair Facility
The Hail Season is Here

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Adams Automotive, Inc.

2021 S 4th Ave

Tucson, AZ 85713-3510

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2021 S 4th Ave 

    Tucson, AZ 85713-3510(520) 624-6789

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Arizona. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Adams Automotive, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013 for complaints filed on 05/22/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines.BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

Choosing A Vehicle Repair Facility
The Hail Season is Here
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.