BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/22/2016

Gallegos Auto Sales, Inc

Phone: (520) 623-0055Fax: (520) 623-1120View Additional Phone Numbers750 E Broadway Blvd, TucsonAZ 85719



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Automotive Used Retail Dealer and Full Service Repair Facility for Automotive/Diesel

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/22/2016

BBB has determined that Gallegos Auto Sales, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Gallegos Auto Sales, Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Gallegos Auto Sales, Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
09/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought truck and after inspection had list of issues. We called dealer & HIS mechanic "inspected" said no problems. Took to diesel mech MAJOR issues.
We purchased a 2006 f350 from Gallegos Auto May 10' 2014 The dealer told us his cousin owned the truck and he knew there was "nothing wrong" with it and their mechanic does an inspection of the vehicle before it is out on the lot. After taking it home we noticed a small oil leak and a sputter when driving. We took to mechanic to run an inspection on May 12th where he ran a scan of codes and inspected it fully(what we we're told was already done). His report showed many codes. The following is what was reported for inspection: front brake pads 1mm. Rear brake pads 1 mm(when removed there was chunk missing from one pad). Upper and lower ball joints worn, left drag link end worn, right tie rod end worn, rear diff oil dark, transfer case oil dark, full front diff oil clean, engine anti freeze lo/cloudy, fluid dark, serp belt VERY cracked, air filter clean, manual egt gauge inoperative, high center brake light inoperative, external temp reads incorrectly, power sliding window inoperative.
After the inspection we went out of town. There were several times we contacted mr. ******** to tell him we felt like there was something going on with the engine. There was an oil leak and it had a "cold start" which was at least five cranks before it started. He continually told us that was "normal" and there was " nothing wrong with that truck" we took it back to the mechanic and he ran diagnostics. His diagnosis was that there was a high pressure oil leak and two injectors were missing until warmed up. The cost would be at least $1400. I emailed Mr. ******** through his website. He contacted me and told me to bring it in to his mechanic, GC Auto. His mechanic said there was NOT an oil leak, everything was fine and he changed the oil and put injector cleaner in the oil to help. The first few days the truck ran better but we still noticed oil leaking. At this point we were told, well you are past the 15 day warranty. We decided to take it it Goldie's Diesel to be inspected. There was an OIL LEAK inside the engine. They had to replace the oil cooler, egr cooler, egr gasket kit, rail plugs, sct programmer, and changed oil. My husband then called Mr.******** again to let him know of all of the problems and listed them. Mr. ******** told him he was going to call his mechanic and he would call him right back. That was two weeks ago. Our truck is currently BACK at Goldie's because the two injectors his mechanic said were "fine" are STILL missing so they will need to be replaced. This list does not include the U-joints or Carrier Bearing my husband had to replace because they were all bad. As of today, we are in over $2500 and that is not including what we will be charged for replacing injectors next week. We feel completely lied to and ignored after the real issues were found out. He has not called us back and we definitely would not trust his auto shop or "diesel mechanic" to diagnose or fix the issues. If this truck was inspected like he states and there was "nothing wrong with that truck, that's all normal" then I would hate to be the next customer to buy one that wasn't. We are not asking for anything above what we have had to put into this truck based on untrue statements made by Mr. ******** himself and his mechanic we believe we are owed at least that.

Desired Settlement
We are asking for: $2311.70 - total for oil/egr oil leak which was brought to his attention very early on and the cost of the invoice to come for replacing injectors that he was also made aware of but his mechanic put a bandaid on until the warranty was out.

Business Response
mr and mrs ******* came to the lot on broadway blvd they were looking for this truck and they had a trade in and they told us it was a 2007 dodge mega cab 2500 and said every thing was good and the front end was bad couldn't go down freeway needed ball joint and steer stabiler and the truck was a 1500 not a 2500 so the difference is about 5000.00 diff in trade value they took it to a mechanic and they said that the oil rails were bad but they weren't that what we look at and our deisle mechanic is certified for ford and ball joint cost us 950 with labor so im looking for 6000.00 from customer for being misled on trade and every thing was fine on trade in so they would owe me 3789 back to us

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In response to Mr. ********. We did in fact trade in a 2007 Dodge Mega Cab 1500. I am not sure HOW we could mislead him considering his brother went outside and inspected the vehicle, took pictures of outside and the odometer and sent those pictures to Me. ******** while we were sitting there. What we did tell him is that it has a 3/4 ton suspension, which it does. We have not had issues driving down the freeway. We owned a diesel about 5 years ago and we decided we wanted another one. I am not sure how we can be held responsible for a trade in value when they assessed the vehicle. I had been to his shop and had spoke to him several times on the phone about the F350 we purchased and he not once said we mislead him or our truck wasn't what we sai. How could he when they inspected it while we were there? As a matter of fact I even had to call almost 30days after the purchase to ask why they hadn't paid off the vehicle when I had already made a payment for the new truck.
As far as "only" complaining about the oil rail, well the o rings WERE bad as stated by TWO diesel mechanics. Not only that, the EGR cooler was leaking and had been for some time. They showed it to us and it had built up soot. A week before that we looked at egr valve and it was also covered in soot which Mr. ******* explained to Mr. ********. The O ring itself contributed to the cold start which we were told was "normal."
As we stated before, we did take it to his mechanic where he told us there was nothing wrong with it. I actually took the readouts that were produced from a **** diagnostics computer in and when I picked the truck up I specifically asked what he could see from the printout. I was told, "oh, he couldn't tell, it was too confusing." Not sure how a ford diesel mechanic could be confused by a ford diagnostic readout and not diagnose the problem correctly when not one, but two other diesel mechanics could.
We just got out truck back. Low and behold injectors 2,4, AND 6 were bad. We opted to replace 8 since they were already in there having to fix the other three. That being said, we are out, not including the fourth injector another $1135.00.
Mr. ********, if the only response you have to selling us a truck that you said was owned by your cousin, kept in great shape, was inspected fully before being put on the lot, AND taken BACK to your mechanic for a wrong diagnostic is that we traded in a truck that YOUR staff(brother) inspected, took pictures of, emailed them to you and you gave us trade in value while we were still sitting there) then that is not a TRUE response to my complaint.
An honest businessman would have tried to make this right the first time we took it in. We wanted to give our business to a small business owner. We could have easily went to the Auto Mall and now, looking back, we should have.
Looking at your response I still do not have answers to why a huge oil leak, oil rail, oil pressure whatever you want to name it was missed. I also am not sure why after you told Mr. ******* you would be talking to your mechanic and would call him right back haven't done so. I wish our labor and cost to fix the truck we have now only owned for over two months would have cost 950. We are looking at around $3500.
I recently looked at your inventory and I do not see the Mega Cab we traded in, so it seems as though you sold it and now that we have brought up the issues with the truck you sold us need a reason to not take any responsibility. I am saddened that your response to a legitimate complaint is to blame the consumer. Really? If at the end of all this you do not do the right thing then that is on you and your business. However, to me a man's word is his bond and for a small business owner that can make or break you. I would have respected you more even if you would have offered half. I can see we will be stuck with this and I guess you live and learn. I am sure anyone who reads this or the other complaint will see it's not about the customer but about selling cars.

Final Business Response
we don't pay for them to bullet proof there car and the dodge they trade in went to auction and sold it for XXXXX and lost 4000 to sell there truck with the repair I did to there truck and they told me that they want to bullet proof the truck and that's not part of my responsibility to do so I think every thing is even and they told my brother it was a 2500 and really it was a 1500 truck so I think this case should be closed thanks

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I can see this will not be getting us anywhere. I am hoping that whomever reads this continues to see that the LONG list of issues with this truck have not been rectified or even discussed by Mr. ********. We did NOT ASK HIM TO BULLET PROOF THIS TRUCK, EVER! Everything that had to be fixed was a PART of bulletproofing. That does NOT include 3 injectors...hmmmm.... Believe me there were other things wrong that I did not list.
Again, we DID NOT SAY OUR TRUCK WAS A 2500. It is a 1500(CLEARLY SEEN ON THE SIDE OF THE TRUCK) It does have a 3/4 ton suspension since it is a Megacab. Not sure again, how this was missed considering his brother INSPECTED the truck and SENT PICTURES to Mr. ******** and Mr ******** NEVER ONCE talked to us about this...EVER, until we brought this up to the BBB.
So. I am sure he would like this case to be closed without rectifying the issues. We have already spoken to friends and coworkers. Not only will we NEVER recommend ******** Auto to anyone but we will let them know to go anywhere BUT here. I have a feeling you will be seeing more complaints.

Consumer Response
Two weeks ago, Mr. Gallegos called us and respectfully said he wanted to resolve this issue. After many phone calls, we came up with a number that was both fair and helpful. We appreciate Mr. Gallegos wanting to make this right and are appreciative he did so. Therefore, I do feel this is resolved and I am satisfied with the result.

06/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This business made repairs that were sub-standard which caused an issue months later. They attempted to fix but I had to take it to the dealer.
My truck was worked on originally in November for oil leaks. It seemed like everything was fine until February when the truck would not start. I took it back to the shop where they worked on it for a week then they said it was ready so I picked it up pay the bill of approximately $400 drove the truck ten miles and it still had the same problem. They towed the truck back to the shop tried many different fixes that did not work. They finally had ***** from Desert Diesel come over and troubleshoot it as well they changed the part and it was still doing the same thing. I needed a vehicle so I was driving but if the engine was warm I could not shut it off;otherwise, it would not start. Took it back several times each time they would keep the truck for days. Finally, I picked the truck up and took it to the dealer where they found the issue within 5 minutes of troubleshooting. The dealer also found the cause of the problem was the number 7 injector which was supposed to be new but had been glued back together on the connector and then glued to the harness. The dealer also found the number 5 injector was the same issue. The dealer did not believe this were new injectors. The dealer also fixed several broken weatherpack connectors. The dealer was Jim Click and it only took them 4 days to fix the issues and get the truck back to me. I had to pay $1063 to the dealer out of my own pocket because **** ******** was not willing to pay for the dealer to fix the issues his mechanic caused.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking reimbursement for the money I paid the dealer to fix my truck which is $1063. I am also seeking a refund for work performed that did not fix the problem which is $2400. This money that I have put out of my own pocket to fix the issue caused by Jeff Gallegos' mechanic.

Business Response
Regarding this case, Gallegos Auto Sales Inc does not have a repair shop. the claim that Gallegos Auto sales Inc made repairs to his vehicle are untrue. There fore Gallegos Auto Sales does not own Mr ******* anything. And Gallegos Auto Sales request that this complaint be removed off Gallegos Auto Sales BBB.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Regarding the response from Gallegos Auto Inc, I do not accept the response. My understanding of Gallegos Auto Inc is that Mr. ******** owns the Sales portion and Mrs ******** owns the Automotive shop which is called GC Automotive. Furthermore, all of the parts purchased to use for the repair on my vehicle were purchased under Gallegos Auto Inc according to all of the receipts that are on file. Specifically, in response to the claim that Mr ******** does not own an auto repair may be true; however, Mrs ******** owns it. As of now, Mrs ********' brother is running the business, but I found out that the business is closing. Gallegos Auto Inc is responsible for the mechanics that worked for them and their actions to willingly continue the install of parts that were damaged. The mechanic did not disclose that there were any issues with any of the parts or that they had to be glued back together. In order to actually find the issue and make the needed repairs in a timely manner I felt it was necessary to take the truck to Jim Click; however, the parts needed to fix the truck were under warranty through GC Automotive. After seeing the poor workmanship of the GC Automotive mechanic I did not feel comfortable taking my truck back to them; which is why I am still requesting reimbursement for the previously listed costs I incurred due to the mechanic's negligence and lack of knowledge.

09/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
**** ******* denies that he should repair my car's engine that was abused and destroyed while it was on his lot for consignment.
**** ******* has been avoiding my attempts to have my blown engine repaired at Gallegos auto expense. I dropped of my 97 Camaro on 3-28-13 to his representative *******. It was agreed that it would be under the same terms that he had sold a Dodge for me several years before. I understood that to mean that the car would be safe and secure on his lot and under surveillance by cameras 24-7. I went to pick up the car from his lot at the end of July and he said the battery was dead. The next day I brought a battery and wanted to start the car. He said it wasn't the battery and thought it was the starter. I went home and returned with my jumper cables and asked for the keys to try to start it.
Without the cables the car started and there was an immediate loud knocking in the engine. The knocking was not there when I dropped off the car, it ran perfectly. I had put a lot of money and time into it prior to taking it to Gallegos.
When I returned to the car lot and **** was there, he threw up his hands and denied knowing what had happened to the car.
Now **** ******** has stalled me on several attempts to get the car repaired and refuses to pay for a used engine. He had requested that I find a good used engine. I found one in Phoenix.
and had the junk yard call him to make arrangements. I wanted him to use his tax number and have it delivered to his shop for his mechanics to install.

Desired Settlement
I want Gallegos to replace the blown motor with a good used motor and pay for the repair.

Business' Initial Response
Mr. ****** dropped off his 1997 Chevrolet Camaro for consignment on 3/28/2013. Mr. ****** picked up the Camaro the end of July as he stated.
Mr. ****** signed our consignment letter which I have. It states that Gallegos Auto Sales will not be held responsible for any liabilities to the vehicle due to damage to include but not limited to physical or mechanical. This vehicle came in with over 200,000 miles on it.
Mr. ****** did complain of a noise in the motor, said it wasn't there when he dropped it off. he was told that he could go online to parthotline.com and find a used motor on that website, however he was not told that Gallegos Auto would be replacing or buying him a used motor for his car.

Consumer's Final Response
My rebuttal again is simply that I took the car to Gallegos in perfect running order and I have people who will testify to this. The car was returned with a blown engine and now sits in my driveway. Mr ******** admits this but refuses to do the right thing and repair the damage, estimated cost $2000. It was driven home 5 blocks with the engine knocking so loud that it turned heads. One of my mechanics said that it is only possible to do that to an engine by running the "****" out of it.

Business' Final Response
As stated on 8/3/2013 Mr ****** did drop of his car for consignment, He also sign consignment letter stating Gallegos Auto Sales would not be responsible for any damage,to include but not limited to physical or mechanical. This car had over 200,000 miles on it.

Consumer Response
My rebuttal again is simply that I took the car to Gallegos in perfect running order and I have people who will testify to this. The car was returned with a blown engine and now sits in my driveway. Mr ******** admits this but refuses to do the right thing and repair the damage, estimated cost $2000. It was driven home 5 blocks with the engine knocking so loud that it turned heads. One of my mechanics said that it is only possible to do that to an engine by running the "****" out of it.


Business Response
As stated on 8/3/2013 Mr ****** did drop of his car for consignment, He also sign consignment letter stating Gallegos Auto Sales would not be responsible for any damage,to include but not limited to physical or mechanical. This car had over 200,000 miles on it.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Repair & Service - Diesel

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/24/2004Business started: 06/27/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Department of Transportation
PO Box 2100 Mail Drop 552-M
Phoenix, AZ 85001-2100
(520) 629-9808
http://www.azdot.gov

BBB records show a license number of L00008543 for this company, issued by Arizona Department of Transportation. Their web address is http://www.azdot.gov.

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicles

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 2006, AZ

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeffrey Gallegos (President)
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Repair & Service - Diesel

Products & Services

Sell Used Vehicles and Repair/Maintenance of Automotive/Diesel

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Gallegos Auto Sales, Inc

750 E Broadway Blvd

Tucson, AZ 85719

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 750 E Broadway Blvd 

    Tucson, AZ 85719(520) 623-0055
    (520) 579-7005
    Fax: (520) 623-1120

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Arizona. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Gallegos Auto Sales, Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (520) 812-7661
  • (520) 579-7005
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013 for complaints filed on 05/22/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines.BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.