BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/25/2012

Autoland, LLC

Phone: (520) 314-4551

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service9
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints15

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (15)
09/20/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They installed a rebuilt junkyard engine and didn't replace any seals or gaskets within the 1st year that I've had the vehicle. A/c also an issue.
Vehicle was purchased in in July 3 2013 and within a year the vehicle engine blew. They installed a rebuilt engine in my Dodge 2000 Status and I paid approx 200.00 (they wanted 1200.00 for it). I've have numerous issues with the gasket and seals, oil leaks, radiator and A/C since the installation of the motor. In 9/25/16 I was sent to Pep Boys by Autoland for repairs. Pep Boys gave me an est for $852.27 for Tune up, Ignition wires, replace valve cover gaskets, oil change and timing belt. 9/26/146 (the next day) again at pep boys I paid addition repairs $264.50 I can attach or fax receipts. This was 3 months from vehicle purchase!! In april 2014 the vehicle started overheating and blew the engine. I took it back and they replaced the engine. They wanted me to pay $1200.00 but it was under warranty and I paid $200.00. On 11/3/15 the vehicle stated over heating again. The head gasket were blown and they charged me $71.34 they repaired it again. On 3/15/16 I again had Oil leaks. Again they fixed the car. In summer of 2015 the AC went out and I paid approx $500.00 and it only been 1 year and the AC has gone out again. I have a receipt dated 8/17/16 and they want an addition $200.00 to repair it again. The engine is leaking oil again. I recently took it in on 8/31/16 and the seal, gaskets, and oil pan crank shaft, cam shaft and head gaskets are all leaking!! They want to charge me an additional $1373.58 If the repairs were done correctly the first time we wouldn't be here. My vehicle has been towed 4 times at my expense. I feel that this company is overcharging me for the same repairs repeatedly. I have more receipts that I cant find yet and have requested Autoland to give me my service records and they refuse. I am still looking and will find them.

Desired Settlement
I love my car and would love to feel safe in my vehicle. I want them to repair my vehicle correctly since I'm almost done paying off. I would like a refund so I may take the vehicle to an auto shop of my choice and have a rebuilt engine installed correctly. Also have the AC repairs done correctly.

Business Response
To whom it concerns,

We have reached a resolution on the above mentioned complaint. Please contact us with any questions.

Thanks

Consumer Response
9/20/2016

To Whom it may concern I ****** **** have resolved my complaint with Smart Motors

****** ****
**** ** *** *** *** **
****** ** XXXXX

05/09/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Car paid off in February, numerous attempts to resolve, no tesolution.
When I financed the car. They offered me the option of putting my car on auto pay, which would knock $1,000 off of the price of the car at the end of the loan. I paid off the car, early, in February of 2016. Since this time, I have visited the establishment and called to try to resolve the issue of the money being written off like they have told me it would be numEros times now, but it is still building interest every month which I am seeing when I monitor my credit. Every time I go in, they say their manager is in a meeting, and they'll get back to me, but never do. I have spoken to Virginia. Who has passed along these messages from her co-workers. We paid off the car wit a debit card. They have sent me the lein release/title, but I need this amount off of my credit report entirely, as it should have been taken care of in early February.

Desired Settlement
I just want the $1,038 written off, it reported to the credit bureaus, and proof sent to me that I have no financial dealings with them any further.

Business Response
To whom it concerns:

The above referenced account has been credited in full and reported as such. If there are any further questions please contact our offices. We apologize for the delay.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

12/18/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Before I purchased my car from Smart Motors, I was promised that the driver door lock would be fixed so it would work.
On 07/17/2015 I was at Smart Motors to purchase my 2003 Honda CRV. I was promised that the driver door lock would be repaired so that it would work. About two weeks ago when I was at the service dept for this issue, I had to pay $25 of a $56 labor charge to get my car back still not repaired.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund of $25 I had to pay for labor charges for a repair not made. I also want the driver door lock fixed once and for all and not at my expense.

Business Response
We have scheduled this customer in for repair on the door lock. We also will refund the $25. We apologize for the inconvenience this has caused our customer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I would like to thank ***********t with Smart Motors for making sure the repair to the driver door lock on my Honda CRV was completed today. Since the day he called me regarding this complaint, he has shown respect and concern about my issue. Smart Motors is very lucky to have ***********t employed there and I am very happy with repair that was made today.

05/04/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The vehicle broke town in Maricopa and they will not tow or fix the problem.
I purchase the vehicle in the first week of October,2014. Since day one I had a heating problem which it took the dealer ship almost 5 months to fix correctly. I never received a car fax on the car. Well now the vehicle's starter went out and they will not tow it or fix it for me. I'm only being told it's my problem. I have to pay 245.00 to have it tow and another 264.53 to have it repaired all in this small amount of time that I have had it. it will be 7 months in May,2015.

Desired Settlement
I want a new vehicle or all my money back the I have paid towards this vehicle.

Business Response
Per the complaint and vehicle starter problem, it is our understanding the customer's issue has been resolved and the vehicle is currently being driven. Thanks

Consumer Response
Hi,

I am happy to say that after Smart Motors (Autoland) got my complain they did call me on Monday April 13,2015 we went over everything and on Tuesday April 14, 2015 my car was towed aback into town. On Wednesday April 15, 2015 my car was fixed by the dealership and they did pay for the towing everything worked out great !! The problem was fixed by the dealership's service department and both ***** Service Manager and **** General manger) made sure everything was taken care.. thank you to everyone who helped me with the problem. Smart Motors did the right thing by helping the customer.

11/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Smart Motors/Autoland refuse to fix continuous leaking from the valve cover gasket, oil filter adapter, and rear main seal under their warranty.
Ever since I got my Jeep Cherokee from Smart Motors, I have had multiple issues with it. I understand in Arizona used cars can be sold as-is, so I did not expect perfection, but that is why I was excited when I was told they provide a 2 year/24000 mile warranty. Later on during the paperwork, it gets called a Limited Warranty, because it apparently over covers internally lubricated systems of the engine, transmission, and drive axle. I figured that was still better then nothing since those would be expensive parts to repair if I had to. First time I had major problems with it were when it would not start in my driveway. They got it towed to their shop to look at it (which they actually just took it to a different shop to fix it) which i appreciate the free tow, but then when it was fixed they tried to blame me for changing one of the cables going from the battery to fuse block even though I never did. Thankfully they did not try to charge me, but I did not appreciate the blame. That incident was pretty soon after I bought it. The exact same problem happened about a year later, so again they offered to get it towed to their shop which was nice. This time I stopped by the shop after it was dropped of their to describe the problem in person and all the other problems I had noticed. Since it had been in last time I had discovered something wrong with the ignition lock cylinder because I can turn the Jeep on and just pull the key out while it is still running, the constant oil leaking (while doing regular maintenance i found the extremely low level and investigated further), and the brakes were squealing very excessively. I don't think the service dept rep I was talking to even noted down any of the problems besides it not turning on and the ignition cylinder problem, even though I do specifically remember discussing the oil leak but the rep brushed it off as "normal for older cars". They got it running again by cleaning up and tightening the cable they had replaced the first time I brought it in, but did nothing else. Granted the warranty only covers internally lubricated parts of the engine, transmission, and axles I was hoping for replacement of the key cylinder since it was obviously sold that way and they should be just as concerned about the Jeep being stolen since it was being financed and they still technically own it. In regard to the oil leaks, I do not understand how those are not considered internally lubricated parts of the engine when their entire purposes deal with being lubricated internally so they dont dry out and leak, and keep the oil contained to keep other stuff lubricated. There are a number of other problems that I know aren't covered such as the suspension being shot, fuel injectors needing replaced (already did that), o2 sensors/catalytic converter needing to be repalced (p0432 OBD2 code), leaking from front and rear diff, and possible transmission fluid leak (cant tell if it might be oil dripping from a head of it and just making it look like the tranny is leaking), so having to worry about things that should be covered make it very upsetting. I also have had nothing but problems with their gps/killswitch alerting me for about the last 4 payments saying the payments were done, even though it was already taken out of my bank account. Its embarrassing having to explain the alert to family and friends when they are riding with me. They do take care of the situation when I call about it, but I should not have to call them.

Desired Settlement
I them to at minimum fix the oil leaks in the rear main seal, oil filter adapter, and valve cover seal. Then also fix any of the leaks from the diffs, transfer case, and transmission if their warranty covers them (I feel it should, but I am not a professional mechanic). And if they arent going to fix those things, I want what ever the cost to fix them at a repair shop of my choice to be taken out of the amount I still owe on the Jeep, since I can not afford to keep paying their excessively high payments and get it fixed at the same time.

Final Consumer Response
***Document Attached***
After discussing the warranty and the problems with **** at Smart Motors, they have agreed to repair the issues that I felt should be covered by their warranty. They already completed some repairs and said if there are any further problems with it regarding the same issue to let them know and they will get them corrected. As of right now, I am not only satisfied with their response, but also surprised they took it so seriously.

Page 1 of 2
08/09/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My vehicle has been defective since my purchase and I have paid to get it repaired at the shop and I am still having problems.
I purchased the 2003 KIA in July of 2015. The week after my car broke down in South Dakota they did pay for these repairs as it was only a week in. It was upwards of $2500.00. When I spoke with *** which was the finance manager at the time he said it will all be taken care of my charcoal canister went out and they replaced that and my car has been having numerous problems since. I was told by ***, ******, and ****, all people whom no longer work there that if I have any major problems with the vehicle that I could switch it out for a different car of the same loan nature and continue on with my loan. My car broke down again I had it towed in on July 1, 2016. They said it was out of oil and they had just changed my oil previously and said no leaks or anything. We do not use oil in this vehicle, no oil spots in our driveway from leakage or anywhere we park.The car keeps stalling out.I am furious.I have called all week and they say that they are still trying to diagnose the issues. I talked to **** the new finance manager and he said it is up to the loan company now. I told him it is not acceptable as my husband and I both work and we have two children with one vehicle. I was also told that if I lost my job or had a hardship I would be able to surrender the vehicle and not have to pay. The lady I spoke to when I was laid off of my job was very rude and said that if I surrender my vehicle my wages would be garnished and I would have to pay back the XXXXX.00 I still owe. I am tired of being pushed around and one problem after the next. I understand vehicles that are used break down but not to this extreme.

Desired Settlement
I want my vehicle traded out for another one as this vehicle has too many problems. The problems they are talking about will cost me upwards of 2000.00 to 3000.00 I can not afford this and will not pay for it. I am current with all my payments with one coming up next week and I request that payment be deferred and another vehicle be offered, or the vehicle be surrendered with no monies owed.

Business Response
To whom it concerns,

We spoke with this customer and have resolved the issue. Please let us know if this is not the case.

Thank you

06/29/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I'm very unhappy when a Manager (*** in Credit Department)and you call the General Manager (****) and he doesn't return your calls.
On Friday June 5th at 5:45pm I called to make a payment on my account and didn't have my c/c so I told the girl **** I would call back. At 6:41 I call back and told them I could not find my c/c and I have must have left it at work but I could give them my checking account number but he did not want to take it. At that time *** (credit manager) came on the phone was VERY RUDE !!! He told me that my payment was 14 days late at that time I informed *** it was 14 days late the car would have shut down a long time ago since it has a GPS that shuts down if I don't pay my vehicle 3 days after the payment is due. The GPS went off on June the 5th since my payment was due. *** was very rude and tell me that he has a lender to report too Smart Motors does not have lenders they are their own credit department in house. *** always lies to people about different things they runs your credit card with out calling in advance they do not have anything from me that says they can run my credit card. I call to talk to the general manager (****) and was told he was in a meeting and that I would get a phone call back within 15 mins. that was **** the guy who answer the phone told me and I'm still waiting for a phone call back. It's already Monday morning and nothing yet.

Desired Settlement
I wanted an apologize from *** about how he treat me, and I never want him to call me about a payment again he can have a customer service rep call me, I want an apologize from the GM for not returning my call back and I want them to take my checking accounting information from me as a payment and they to tell *** to stop treating their customers like dirty when they call in their payments.

Business Response
This customer had a discussion with the finance office shortly after the complaint was submitted and it was our understanding the customer was satisfied with the situation. We since have followed up to confirm but have not heard back.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I NEVER received a phone call, text, a message I have not spoken to *** since 6.5.15 WHEN HE WAS RUDE TO ME. Why must this company continue to lie. This matter is still not fixed

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I told the manager I was going to take the car to another service place to make sure everything was fixed correctly and if at that time things that I was responsible for and I would anytime under warranty would be fix by the dealership. Right now the dealership wanted me to turn the car in to them and not return my money that I had already paid towards the car which was almost $4000 we shall after a mechanic looks at the car if things were done correctly

Final Business Response
We have made several attempts including by text to reach the customer. We finally spoke with customer yesterday and agreed that customer would have no need to communicate with *** in the future. We also offered to completely unwind the transaction with no negative consequences on the customers credit if she wanted to return the car to us. Customer said she wants to keep the car and is unable to purchase a car elsewhere. We are getting the vehicle diagnosed free of charge for potential service issues and customer agrees to pay for repairs.

06/23/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They have taken money out of my account that I did not authorize, they have over charged me numerous times. They have the WORST customer service.
I bought my car from smart motors a couple of months back, and immediately the customer service was awful. I asked the finance company to switch one of my down payments around so i had more time to save for it. My original plan was $1000.00 then 699.50 twice after. I asked if I could simply switch these two around and this seemed to be a huge issue for *** their finance manager. The whole time i was in contact with the manager **** in the car side of the company since i was having so many issues with ***. **** was able to work out my issue with my down payment and said it would be to late to pay the $1000.00 by the time it came around to it so he said he would credit my account and all i would owe out of that grand was 250.00. This whole time i thought i was set and thought everything was taken care of because after this they took out my $200.00 car payment which was expected because my normal car payments were going to begin. However two weeks later when my payment was due again I called to let them know i was going to be about a week late, and the man on the other line from the finance company says i still owe $800.00 on my down payment. they refuse to let me speak to any manager they refuse to let me speak to the owner to resolve this ridiculous issue. I have a 7 month old son so i need my car so of course I pay the $800.00. I KNOW I do not owe this company this much money and it is extremely frustrating that I am not allowed to speak to any type of management or even the owner. This IS the worst company I have ever dealt with. I will never recommend ANYONE to ever come here for a car even if it was their last resort.

Desired Settlement
800.00

Business Response
Ms. ******* is currently $836.44 past due which is four biweekly payments on her account. She is claiming we would simply wipe away $800 from her past due as a courtesy. This was never an option. We have made attempts to work with her but she constantly changes her story and hangs up on our staff. We do our best to work with customers to help them keep their vehicle accounts current but in this case Ms. ******* is unwilling to commit to or keep a payment arrangement. If she wants to setup a promise to pay arrangement she can visit our offices during business hours and we will do our best to come up with a plan for her to get current on the vehicle loan.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This company is obviously unorganized giving the fact that I was barley done paying my down payment and hadn't had my car long enough to be 4 car payments behind. They refuse to allow me to speak with anyone higher than a manager and on top of that I paid the $800 that I did not owe. This response is completely inaccurate and I have proof of that payment and every other payment I have made I also have a witness that was with me when they agreed to certain payment arrangements. They re claiming I am behind however my bank statements speak other wise. Bank statements do not lie. It is unfortunate that I have had to deal with this horrible company

Final Business Response
Our management team has tried repeated times to reach this customer over the last five days and prior. The customer is welcome to call ***, **** or ***** to discuss her account XXX-XXXX or XXX-XXXX. The last conversation with the customer was 5/27 with **** where the cusotmer verbally agreed to pay $418 toward her account on 6/5. This date has come and gone with no communication or payment. The customer is now $1045.55 past due on her account. If the customer believes she does not owe this amount or can show us that the balance is incorrect, we are more than willing to review or correct a mistake if a problem exists. We are also willing to work with the customer on her past due balance by setting up a written promise arrangement. To do this she needs to come into our offices to document and set this up. To date she has been unwilling to return calls or come into the office.

01/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
First, when I bought the vehicle it had to be returned for transmission repair within 1 week. It was repaired by a sub contractor of Smart Motors and we went on our merry way. No other potential problems with the transmission were mentioned at that time. Now here it is almost 2 years later and the transmission completely went out, barely drivable. My boyfriend relies on this vehicle for work and we really can't afford to be without it for too long. I took it to our normal mechanic who advised it would cost about $3200 to replace. I then took it back to Smart Motors hoping there was some kind of warranty on the original work...there wasn't. Smart Motors advised that it should only take 3 to 4 days at a cost of about $1200 to $1400, assuming the master rebuild kit was all that was needed. I was also told by the gentleman who prepared my paperwork that he did not see why there wouldn't be a warranty on the repairs, but he would have to look into it and let us know. I agreed and the vehicle went in the shop. This was on Wednesday. On Friday, my boyfriend followed up on the repairs and was advised the master rebuild was all that was needed. The following Tuesday I called to follow up and was told that additional parts were needed and ordered. When we were finally able to pick up the vehicle we were advised that there would be no warranty on the repairs due to the vehicle being used to pull a trailer in relation to my boyfriends employment which was overloading the transmission. They even stated that the computer told them it had been overloaded for months. I checked the specs on the vehicle and it is rated to pull up to 15k lbs...the trailer weighs almost 1,300 lbs fully loaded. I have also since spoken to my normal mechanic, who has been in business in the Tucson area for many years, and he advised that not only is the vehicle more than capable of pulling the trailer, the computer does not show that type of history. My mechanic is also willing to sign a statement to the same.

Desired Settlement
I would like a warranty on the repair work performed.

Business Response
We have made several attempts to reach this customer but have been unable to speak with them. We would like to further understand the concerns or questions and resolve the issue. They can reach us during business hours at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

09/19/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
smart motors advertises that bad credit and no credit do not matter. They claim that what matters is that a person has a drivers license, verifiable income and a $99 fee in order to qualify to be placed into a vehicle. I accepted the terms of their offer as advertised, but I was rejected. Then they emailed me asking me to return and accept the previous offer. When I did, I was rejected once again and advised that a co-signer could ensure fulfillment of a contract. I returned with said information but was rejected again. The claim was I needed to qualify on my own first though that seemed to defeat the purpose of a co-signer. I was advised to return one day before I began a higher paying job which I did, but I was rejected once again. When I sought to submit a formal written complaint internally, the manager promised to rectify the matter, but he has since ignored me. Finally, I received a NOTICE OF ADVERSE ACTION reflecting that smart motors performed a credit check with TransUnion. My credit history should not have been accessed if bad credit and no credit are irrelevant.
Product_Or_Service: na

Desired Settlement
I want an apology from smart motors. I want to know whether they have discriminated against me due to their perception of me as being a gay, Black male. I want specific performance of the implied contract that I accepted, along with compensation for breeching that contract, damages for asking me to return to their business and fill out paperwork time and again, damages for work that I missed because they refused to fulfill their contract and damages for mental and emotional harm and suffering.

Business Response
To whom it concerns:

I want to respond to Mr. ********'s complaint by first saying we apologize for his experience. We do our best to finance customers and satisfy their transportation needs. Mr. ******** was no exception. Unfortunately, we cannot finance everyone and financing is based on approved credit as our advertising and website state. Further, a widely adopted scoring system is used with all our customers that weighs many different areas including credit, income, job time, residence stability etc. in determining if and how we can finance the applicant.

Mr. ******** was asked back to the dealership after his initial visits only because we were hopeful he could provide the necessary information and stipulations to attain financing. We would not of asked him back if we did not hope to sell him a vehicle. I understand coming back to the dealership to be denied financing is frustrating but it is not our goal. In recognition of that frustration we have offered Mr. ******** a gas card for his time and transportation costs.

Also, to clarify, the Adverse Action letter sent to the customer reflected the fact that Mr. ******** signed a credit application at our dealership and attempted to attain financing. This letter is sent to customers to follow credit guidelines and disclosure law.

Once again we apologize that we were not able to approve Mr. ******** for auto financing. The accusation that we would deny credit based on a customer being gay is completely inaccurate. Many of our customers and several employees and managers are gay. Our staff and our customers have a variety of backgrounds and we do not tolerate any form of discrimination.

Please let us know if there are any other questions or concerns

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.