BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1978

Royal Automotive Group

Find a Location

Phone: (520) 795-0760Fax: (800) 688-5034View Additional Phone Numbers4333 E Speedway Blvd, TucsonAZ 85712-4623

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1978

BBB has determined that Royal Automotive Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Royal Automotive Group's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues4
Problems with Product / Service6
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Royal Automotive Group

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (13)
02/10/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We leased a car and returned it early. We were promised several times a refund if we returned the car early. We never received the money.
In 2013 we leased a car and paid the entire lease up front. The salesman and sales manager told us that if we turned the car back early we would get a refund for the unused portion of the lease. I checked on this agreement several times during the lease. We returned the car early, about one month ago, to the sale manager (*** ********) and he told us we would receive approximately $2000 refund. We waited several weeks and never received it. I called him; he told me to call Mini Cooper; and they told me they don't refund unused portions of leases. I called Mr. ******** and he said he had been wrong and we were out of luck. We would not have returned the car early if we were not going to get money back. I asked him several times to reconsider but he was rude, did not return my phone calls, and said I was out of luck. He never even apologize.

Desired Settlement
I just want the refund I was promised.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *********
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: **********@royaltucson.com
Dear ****,

Thank you for your letter. It was very nice of you to write to me. I also appreciate the financial decision that you made.
I had left a message with Mr. ******** last Friday and informed him of what I was going to do. Having owned a business I really did not want to contact anyone - I figured we could work out something and that you did not need any bad publicity. I told him this but, unfortunately, he never contacted me. I wish I could erase the complaint I filed with the BBB.
Once again thank you for your letter. My wife really liked the Mini we leased and was very impressed with the newer version. I am sure "our shadows" will pass through your doors again.

******* ****

On Monday, February 8, 2016, **** ********* <**********@royaltucson.com> wrote:


Mr ******

Upon getting your BBB complaint I have spoken to my sales staff and MINI BMW Financial on the matter at hand. Due to you having paid the lease up front and turning the MINI in early there is no money from MINI Financial that can be repaid for any early termination. This communication should have been made clear at the time of purchase and at time of vehicle turn in. We as MINI of Tucson respect you as a MINI owner and a part of our Royal family. As a gesture of good will Royal will reimburse you the money you were told you were going to receive at early turn in. There will be a check shortly for $2,000.00 the amount of the remaining payments.

I am very sorry that in 2013 you were told information that was incorrect from our Sales and Management staff. I am sorry to hear that any of my staff member would ever tell someone they are out of luck for any reason. I apologize on behalf of Royal. I will discuss this with Mr. ********. I feel that this is a learning lesson for Mr. ******** and I am deeply sorry for the inconvenience this has brought on you. Please send me your current address so I may get the check sent to you.

Sincerely
**** ********* GM
MINI of Tucson


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Mr. ********* contacted me within less than 24 hours after I posted my BBB complaint. He apologized for the problem and refunded me the money in question. I think this type of service is excellent and I have no concerns or anger. The Mini Cooper dealership always did a great job for us when we had the car serviced and they were always very helpful when we had questions. I think the problem we experienced was more from a lack of communication than anything else. My wife and I are very happy with Mini Cooper and the Royal Automotive family. We would have no reservations leasing or purchasing a vehicle from them in the future.

08/27/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Worksmanship Warranty not honored.
Replacement of Coolant Manifold at the end of July 2014. Took in for major service in June 2015.
August 4th to new reputable mechanic. Was informed that the part Royal put in was defective and was causing a leak. Royal warrantied their service for one year. The part in question had been leaking for a while and Royal failed to let me know even after taking numerous times after it was installed. I called and emailed a service advisor ******* and asked to speak to Service Manager. ******* stated there is nothing he can do especially since we don't have the part any longer. Advised him the mechanic you fixed their error kept the part. He said he would let the service advisor know. He also stated "well we would honor it if it was within two months" even though they clearly state they honor for a full year. This has been 7 working days and no word from the service advisor. I am now requesting for part of my money back. Had to pay twice for work within the year that is was warrantied. Royal claims to treat its customer's like family. I found out the hard way this is far from the truth. I have given Royal enough time to respond and they choose to ignore my emails and calls.

Desired Settlement
$300.00

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******** Service Man
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@royaltucson.com
A refund for the part has been returned as a goodwill claim. Vehicle was outside the parameter's on parts warranty and was never brought in to verify concern so consequently no help from Land Rover was available. As a Royal customer the parts department has refunded the price of the part for a total of 300.00 which was requested.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
A response was only provided after a complaint was made. According to one of their service advisors never a manager as requested o. 4 different occasions. I was informed they would only be providing $200 for the part not the $300 they are stating. If this is a misunderstanding I would like clarification on the amount. They have lost a customer because of this.

Final Consumer Response
After my complaint and re-contacting Royal again, they did in fact send me the $300 I request it. If you would like to note that that will be fine with me.
****** ****

07/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Poor Service, unprofessionalism, and failure to point out serious issues with the vehicle to the owner(s) while the vehicle was in the shop.
Husband took our 07 Mini Cooper to the service department at Royal Automotive on 22nd St. It went in for an intermittent coolant leak and a routine oil change. ****** ***** (new service rider) was instructed to call us before doing any work on the vehicle, When she called my husband to give him the estimate of repairs and let him know that it was found to be the thermostat housing unit, he told her not to do the oil change since it would cost so much for the repair. She stated the oil change had already been performed. They were supposed to CALL before doing anything to the car..so the oil change should have been written off. I received a call at work from my husband telling me of the repairs. Since it is my vehicle, he advised me to call the shop and speak to them. I reached ****** and asked to speak to her manager, ***** ******* I voiced my concerns to him and he was very professional. He said he wanted me to leave happy and offered to put the car back together and not charge me any labor for the diagnostic or the oil change. I told him I would call him back. I called ******** **** **** to see what the job would cost me there with my 10% veteran discount. It was $100.00 less. In the meantime, my other vehicle began to have engine issues and I felt between a rock and a hard place since it also needed to be taken in. I was already in the loaner vehicle from Mini and they had my car torn apart. I opted to let them to proceed to fix my vehicle as it was already there. I went on 6-27-15 to pick up my car with my 15 year old son. ****** ***** was working and when I came into the service department she was sitting with her legs up on a chair playing with her phone like a 12 year old school girl. She did not greet me, was not professional just like when I spoke to her on the phone the day previous. She did not thank me for my patronage and gave me my car back with an empty tank, even though it was dropped off with about 1/2 a tank. I even gave the loaner car back with twice the fuel that was in it when picked up. The issue that really upsets me is the laundry list of additional items of repair that my vehicle needs that WAS NOT brought to my attention while it was in for repair or before I left. ******'s excuse was "I didn't give her a chance". BS!!! I spoke with ***** ****** at least 3 times on 6-26-15 and he could have mentioned the other 11 items anytime during those phone calls. The biggest on the list.....DRIVE BELT IS CRACKED. That is a safety concern and should have been brought to my attention and addressed before I drove the car off the lot. This is not the 1st problem I have had with this dealership. Last summer I had an oil change, tire rotation, and other repairs. They neglected to tell me that my tires were worn down past the wear marks and needed replaced. It was by sheer coincidence that I got a nail in one of them and had to take it to Discount Tire to be inspected. I had to spend $500.00 for 4 new tires and this again, was a safety issue that should have been brought to my attention while the vehicle was there. The service rider at the time, ****** ******** apologized and said it was an oversight on her part. I find Mini of Tucson to be incompetent and a disservice to the Tucson Community and Mini Cooper Owners.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund for the oil change that should not have been done until we were called with the estimate total of all repairs/services. I want ****** ***** trained on professional courtesy and how to act appropriately in a business setting, a formal apology from Mini, and knowledge that this complaint is going to help other customers in the future by them getting their act together.

Business Response
***** ******* Service Manager, had a conversation on the Morning of 6/29/15 with Mrs. ******. We discussed her concerns and I apologized for her disappointment with our service. I also offered to return all of the money she spent during this visit, including the oil change for a total of $538.00. Mrs. ****** indicated that she considered the offer acceptable. As this agreement was reached prior to receiving this BBB Case I must conclude that the matter has been resolved.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
7-1-15...still awaiting refund as promised by Mr. *******

07/07/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bait & Switch tactics and Fraudulent statements (lies) used by the dealer in our purchase of a supposedly new car (untitled) from their inventory stock with some minor miles (2000+) from being used by the dealership for day to day leasing to promote business in the repair & service area. The car was clean as shown to us (wife and I) but the pricing was still presented as a new car with a small discount. As he worked our way to a lower blue book price, a purchase order was written up. The so called untitled utility vehicle was now classified as a used car (overpriced). However, the salesperson said AZ ruling require new vehicles be written up as "used" when they have some outside minor mileage on them, even tho they were using them to promote business. I have since found out that their unique sales evaluation and sales pitch (falsehood?) increased a used car value by up to $5,000.00 over its market pricing (see complaint online).

Desired Settlement
To renegotiate this purchase as a certified used car at a fair market pricing.

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern,

In November of 2013 Mr. ***** came into our dealership and inquired about a used Terrain. Our sale associate showed he and his wife a used Terrain and a vehicle that had been used as a service loaner. We explained to Mr. ***** that even though it had miles on it he would still qualify for the new car (manufacturer) rebates and even be able to use his GM credit card rebates if he had any. We showed him the numbers, then he said he was a Costco member. We gave him another $500 off because of that. He and his wife were very happy when they left. Costco contacted him in December as a follow up to his purchase. He replied that we did not show him the invoice as a Costco member should. We reached out to Mr. ***** in the middle of January and showed him the invoice. He was satisfied with what we showed him and said all was fine. Even though Costco tried to reach out to him, he has never returned their phone calls or emails. He came in last week to cancel his extended service contract and didn't mention he was upset about the price he had paid for the car.

Royal strives to always conduct business in an ethical and legal manner and takes these types of complaints very seriously, therefore I reviewed Mr. *****' purchase in an attempt to find out what we should/could have done differently. I've concluded that everything was done ethically and exactly as it should have been according to the rules that have been established by Costco, General Motors, the state of Arizona and Royal. Therefore, I am not willing to compensate Mr. ***** as he has requested.

I would be happy to sit with Mr. ***** and go over the details of his purchase once again and even try to help him get into another vehicle if this one isn't working out for him.

Thank You,
Mr. ****** *********
General Sales Manager



Consumer Response
Enclosed is a statement to the effect that I (****** *****) met with
Mr. ****** *********, (Sales Manager w/ R-A-G)
Wednesday (Jun 18, 2014) afternoon to begin proceedings to resolve a
current conflict involving problems in the pricing
of a 2013 GMC Terrain that I received from their Dealership. These
proceedings involve a few days waiting time due
to adjustments from other vendors to absolve current conditions. Mr.
********* will contact me when the present
contract has been converted to more favorable conditions then
previously written so that we can renegotiate the new
values in its place.........Sincerely, ****** ***** / Case # 19043924 (see rebuttal online). **

Final Business Response
June 27, 2014

This letter is written to solidify an agreement between Royal Buick and ****** *****.
Mr. ***** believes he was overcharged on his purchase of a 2013 GMC Terrain. Royal Buick has shown that the vehicle was priced correctly. Because we pride ourselves on customer service Royal has agreed to give Mr. ***** $1966.00 as a show of good will. Mr. ***** has accepted this offer in good faith and will no longer pursue this matter.


****** *********
Royal Buick Co.

****** *****


Final Consumer Response
Ms. ******* ******* July 1, 2014

Enclosed is a statement to the effect that I (****** *****) met with
Mr. ****** *********, (Sales Manager w/ R-A-G)
Friday (Jun 27, 2014) afternoon to resolve a
current conflict involving problems in the pricing
of a 2013 GMC Terrain that I received from their Dealership.
The present contract has been converted to show a more favorable
pricing then previously written to keep fairer market values in its
purchase price, which has been acceptable to me as of June 30, 2014.
......Sincerely, ****** ***** / Case # XXXXXXXX

Thank You And Your BBB Support Group for the assistance in bringing
this resolution about in my behalf (see final response online).

06/06/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refused to repair used truck that I had inspected by 2 independent mechanics after purchase.
I purchased a used truck on 5/19/2014. I took the truck to an independent mechanic to investigate a potential steering problem. The mechanic found excessively worn ball joints. I returned the truck on 5/22 to Royal to give them the opportunity to investigate and offer repair. They stated nothing was wrong. I took the truck to another independent mechanic and they also reported back excessive ball joint wear. The quote to replace all 4 joints and front end alignment is a little over $1000. I have many calls and communications into Royal to demand reimbursement. I have not heard back.

Desired Settlement
$1000

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** ********* Sales
Contact Phone: XXX-XXXXXXX
Contact Email: **********@royaltucson.com
We are very apologetic that our first and second attempt to identify the ball joint problem was not successful. The tests performed to identify the problem (when you were present) yielded no problems. As you were able to see for yourself, we were just as perplexed about not being able to identify the problem as you were. Never the less, we want to make sure that you are happy with the vehicle and we want stand behind your satisfaction. Per our phone conversation on May 28th, we have cut you a check full amount of your repair bill. We hope to continue our business relationship into the future. Thank you again for your business.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The Royal Team went above and beyond to take care of the issue. I'm very satisfied with the results. Many thanks.

Page 1 of 2
09/05/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Indicated to sales person that I wanted to purchase a vehicle, but the vehicle was subsequently sold to someone else.
Over the course of approximately five days, from August 6th through the 11th, I conversed with *** ***** a "Motoring Adviser" of Mini of Tuscon. I was interested in purchasing a used Toyota Venza. As a first-time purchaser of a used car from a dealership, I had a lot of questions. On 08/09, I sent a text message to *** that I wanted to review the inspection report that was completed for the vehicle. He called me back and told me that he would attempt to track it down but that likely, he wouldn't be able to get ahold of it until Monday. I told him, verbatim, that "I wanted the car", that I just wanted to review the report. Again, he said that there was nothing he could do until Monday. Early Monday morning, I received the inspection report. Minutes later, I responded with a final question. I received no response. I sent a text message around noon to follow up with my email. I received a response from *** stating that someone was in the process of purchasing the vehicle. I immediately called *** and was told that he and I had never made an agreement to purchase the vehicle. I'm not sure how much more clearly I could have told him that "I wanted the vehicle". I was very upset and my mother, having worked in customer service her whole career, was equally upset. She called and spoke to the Sales Manager who indicated that *** should have offered to take a deposit on the car, essentially placing it on hold - which is what I thought was happening anyhow. I was never told that was even an option. The manager apologized. My mother then spoke with the dealership owner, ****, who apologized and offered to try to find us another similarly optioned and priced Venza. That was a week ago - we left a voicemail to follow up and have received no call back.

Desired Settlement
I would like Mini to make good on their offer of finding another vehicle that is similarly optioned and priced.

Business Response
First contact with customer was on 6 August. We communicated with her via email on 6,7 and 8 August discussing vehicle options pictures and pricing. As of 8 August there was no agreement between us and her to purchase the vehicle. On 9 August she text our salesperson stating she was wanting to buy the vehicle and requesting additional information on the vehicle history. There was no discussion about a deposit to hold the vehicle at that time. The information she was requesting was not available that Saturday and as we are closed Sunday would be available on Monday the 11th. The vehicle was sold on the morning of the 11th to another customer. Her parent contacted our dealership and was told we would try to find another similar vehicle that meets her expectation's and price. We have been searching and as of today have not found any trade ins that meet the criteria.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There was never a discussion made regarding a deposit because I was never told that was an option. In addition, I have already purchased a vehicle, as I believe the company was never going to follow through with their offer of finding me a similar vehicle.

06/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After routine fluid flush, No interior lights or
exterior lights working. Have been told parts missing. Royal will not admit fault.
My girlfriend ******** ********** took my 2005 Chevy Malibu in to Royal Buick/GMC at the Tucson automall for routine transmission and coolant flush as well as to have them look at the front drivers side daytime running light bulb which has been an issue since the car was new and we simply inquired as to whether or not GM had issued any service letters or recalls. We paid over 350.00 for the fluid flushing and when we got our car back we realized all interior lights were not working and speedometer had stuck at 40 MPH. ******** notified them within hours of picking up the car and took it back in on Apr 4th 2014. When she took it back and informed them of damages they had caused they agreed to look into it. After having our car for a full day they informed her that the car was missing a part called an ambient light sensor and possibly had a bad module and would require an additional 500 to repair everything.

At this time she raised concern with them regarding missing parts and possible failing module. They told her it was a preexisting condition that had been present before they got ahold of the car. They simply told her to pay 500 if she wanted it fixed. Upon receiving the car back a second time we were pulled over by the Marana police dept because the brake lights and tail lights are no longer working. I stated my case to the officer and did not receive a ticket but was told if I was found driving my car again in this condition I would be issued a ticket.

I have owned this car since 2007 when I purchased it with 29K miles it now has 156K and until the exact day Royal touched this car has never had even a hint of an issue with the speedometer or interior lighting.

The service technician performing the work was named ************** and the customer rep involved was **** ***** At no point were they rude, they just refuse to repair the damages caused. As the owner of the car in question I **** ****** have called them (not sure who I spoke with just a lady) and basically was told they had no liability and would not address the damages.

At this point my car is in a state of disrepair and cannot be driven due to damages caused by Royal and Royal will not fix damages that they clearly caused.

Desired Settlement
I would like Royal to repair damage they caused to my car. My car is not drivable in current state of disrepair and it is sole transportation for work.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ************** Mgr.
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********@royaltucson.com
When ************* brought the vehicle is for service, her very first concern that the service advisor documented was that the daytime running lights and license plate light bulbs were not functioning. When the technician diagnosed the vehicle, the only failure he could find was the left front daytime running light bulb was not fnctioning and the socket that the bulb fits into was also melted. It was recommended to the customer to have the socket and bulb repaired, but she declined. That was on 3/26/14. Ms. ********** then called to tell the service advisor, **** ***** that her dashlights, brakelights, and taillights are all now not functioning. She was instructed to bring the vehicle back into Royal Buick/GMC/Cadillac to have us re-inspect the vehicle, which was done at no charge. ************* brought the vehicle back in eight days later on 4/4/14. The vehicle was inspected by one of our technicians and our shop foreman. It was noted that the "twilight sensor" was missing on top of the dash. The twilight sensor simply 'sees" when it gets dark and turns on the dash lights and headlights. The other notes made by the technician were that the dash control buttons were pushed into the dash. The reason that the rest of the vehicle lighting is in-operative is due to the B.C.M., (Body control module),located up under the drivers side of the dash board had failed internally. The technician verified this is the problem because he ran a jumper wire around the unit, bypassing it, and all of the lights began functioning again. This is a common problem with high mileage GM vehicles, in which this vehicle has 158,700 miles on it. Even if the twilight sensor was still in the vehicle, the lights would still fail to work because the twilight sensor is tied into the B.C.M.
To say that Royal is responsible for a part having a internal failure, and being located under the dash away from where the actual transmission flush and engine cooling system flush took place is not plausible. All work performed on the vehicle took place in the engine compartment, including diagnosing the left front daytime running lamp bulb. I explained this to Mr. ******, but he insists that the sensor was removed from the vehicle and the B.C.M. was damged by the technician performing the flushes. In closing, Royal Buick/GMC/Cadillac does not employ any technicians named ****** ******** The parts and labor price quote of $500.00 is accurate the replacement of the body control module.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The bottom line is we took the car in with all interior and exterior lighting in full working condition with the exception of one burnt out daytime running light bulb and received the car back from Royal GMC with no functioning interior lights and malfunctioning exterior lights. The car is no longer in driveable condition per the Marana Police Dept. and that was most certainly not the case prior to its visit to Royal GMC. The service manager explained this phenomenon as an "unfortunate coincidence" and did nothing further besides wash the car and send me on my way.

As for the technician ****** ******** that was a mistake. The name of the technician according to our paperwork is actually ***** ******** The name of technician however, has nothing to due with the state of our car and the fact of the matter is the car was clearly damaged by Royal GMC employee(s) and they refuse to rectify or acknowledge this unfortunate mistake of theirs.

Final Business Response
As I stated in my last response, there were in fact lighting that was not working as stated by Ms. *********** the daytime running lights as well as the license plate lights. In efforts to help the customer, Royal Buick/GMC/Cadillac will make the offer of installing the B.C.M. (body control module) at no charge for labor and the customer will need to pay for the part which runs $250.00 plus tax. By making this offer, Royal Automotive is not accepting any fault, but instead offering assistance on a part that failed at the time the vehicle was in our service facility. My shop foreman will install the part himself and perform final tests.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We have since taken the car to a real mechanic and we were very surprised to find out after 3 days of diagnosing that it was in fact not the B.C.M at all. Royal GMC's technician had apparently wire nutted a ground and a hot together causing a direct short and burning up a relay and fuse. The parts totaled 71.00 and the labor was covered for most of the diagnosing. General Motors has been notified as well as the Arizona Attorney General. We knew all along that Royal was at fault and instead of listening to our concerns and looking into why our car stopping function as it always had the day they touched it, it took another dealership to tell us it was simply a wiring error from when Royal serviced it. I really hope they don't get away with this kind of behavior on a regular basis. Overall still very unsatisfied with Royal.

04/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Promised to rectify dispute, failed to follow through.
I traded in a vehicle. They gave me thousands below its worth then placed me in a vehicle with a broken windshield and bad tire etc.
I attempted to get out of the vehicle and found that not only did they sell me a vehicle that was in a lot of disrepair they flipped me over $7,000 on the vehicle.
When I requested this to be rectified etc. I went through countless emails back and forth on how they ripped me off etc.
I was finally promised to be switched into another vehicle, I am unsure as to why they just did not redo the contract and loan on the vehicle I was already in.
They said they would trade it in and fix the mess up and that I was told wrong that I was not flipped etc.
To this day (a little over a year later) I sit and await them to fix how they wronged me. They refuse to honor their promises, etc. obviously.

Desired Settlement
I would like the amount my vehicle is flipped to be applied to my loan, or for them to purchase the vehicle back from me for the full amount, I would ask for a trade into another vehicle but I am 100% sure they would not be able to find what I need at the moment.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ********* GSM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********@royaltucson.com
******* ******** came to our showroom looking for the 2009 Dodge Charger. She told us she was trying to get out of the 08 Avalanche that she driving and still owed $22500 to ally bank. She had just moved here from Oregon and needed to lower her payment. We were able to get her into the Charger, trade her vehicle and lowered her payment to under 300 a month. When she left she was very happy and could not thank us enough.

Some weeks later, she started sending ***** our used car manager, emails saying that we sold her a bad car and that we did not give her enough for her trade. She had been to other dealers and they told her that she was $7000 upside down and that we had taken advantage of her situation. ***** invited her to come in, she refused. He sent emails showing her the book on her trade and on the Charger. Always staying professional he invited her to the showroom. We sent her emails showing her that we felt she was $2000 upside down on her Avalance when she traded it and she only put $500 down. As I recall she stopped emailing for about a month.

When she began emailing again, I told ***** I would take care of her. Just like ***** I told her that I would like her to come to the showroom so we could go over everything. She refused. She kept going to these other dealers and listening to them tell her how "upside down" she was, but she would never give us the opportunity. I tried to work a deal over the Internet but the right car would never arise. We have not had any contact since August 2013 I believe.

We have always maintained that we would help her get into another vehicle if the Charger is not a good car.

**** *********
Royal Automotive Group
************



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I still have the emails as proof of your not helping me. You stated you would help, I waited for your help. I offered several ideas on how to fix the situation and it fell on deaf ears. Still, you continue with no resolution to the problem. I was not flipped on my avalanche. You over charged me on the charger and then added charges. You never offered anything to come in for other than sarcastically saying you would give back the avalanche I could not take back as you knew I could not afford it. You said you would help and resolve it, I sit still in the same position with your continued neglect to follow through on promises.

Final Business Response
My name is David Roemer and I am the General Manager of the dealership where Ms. ******** purchased her car. I have personally reviewed the paperwork and found that Ms. ******** was given a fair price for her trade (based on third party information, Kelly Blue Book) and we sold her our car at a fair price as well (also based on third party information). Because Ms. ******** owed money on the truck she traded in, only put $500.00 down, and still has about 60 months left on her current loan, it makes sense that she is currently in a negative equity position. Since Royal did nothing wrong during this sale I will not be reimbursing Ms. ******** for any of her negative equity.
As for the condition of the car we sold her, I'd like to state that we inspect and recondition every car before it is allowed to be placed on our lot for sale, and we pride ourselves on making customers happy no matter what happens to the cars we sell. So I am confident that we would have taken care of any issues with the car had she returned to our dealership within a reasonable amount of time (3-4 months) and showed us the issues. Because so much time has passed *** the tire and windshield have been replaced (I'm assuming) I will not be able to verify that these repairs should/should not have been done before the car was sold. However, I'd like to offer the following solution. I will send Ms. ******** a check for $300.00 (approx value of a windshield and tire) as long as Ms. ******** agrees (in writing) that Royal did nothing wrong.
Thank You,
David Roemer

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Why would I come to you asking you to fix an unbelievably huge mess?
I can send you the response of other dealerships on how you flipped me $7000 on the vehicle.
My avalanche was worth well over what you gave me and I'm sure you sold it well over what you did...show me the records on that and I might believe you.
You swindled me. You have me in a vehicle I cannot get out of. You've mocked me for over a year and you continue to do so saying...Ill give you $300 to shut up will you...
Unbelievable
I could understand X-XXXX flipped etc but $7000 was wrong..

04/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Car was delivered to this shop for repair on Dec 9, 2013. As of March 25, 2014, this car is still in shop waiting for parts.
My BMW X5 was delivered to this shop on Dec 9 2013 for an car accident damage repair which will be paid by Geico insurance. As of today, March 25, 2014, this car is still in shop waiting for parts. I have been calling the shop often and the answers were "waiting for parts" most of times. I don't agree with the long period of time this shop being taking. It has been four months in the shop. If they can't repair the car, I hope they could just tell us instead of keeping the car in shop for that long.

Desired Settlement
Need the exact time when this repair work can be done. I can't wait any more. It ruins my life.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ******* Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@Royaltucson.com
Mr. *** spoke with **** ***** (Royal's estimator) on Wednesday 04/02/14 with an update that parts have now been received. Unfortunately Royal Collision Center has been waiting on parts from BMW. We now have parts needed and have informed Mr. *** we will be contacting him Wednesday 04/09/14 with update on repairs. Realistically we now have a couple more weeks of repairs to complete and we will keep Mr. *** updated as repairs proceed. We feel bad that Mr. *** has been without his vehicle for so long however, at this point we do not anticipate anymore delays in getting his vehicle repaired.

04/07/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sent me an advertisement for oil change - I called to inquire - was told we will not honor the ad.
Called later & again bluntly told we will not honor the ad.

Desired Settlement
Do not send me the advertisement if not going to honor.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ************** Mgr
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********@royaltucson.com
Spoke to Mr. ********* on 3/21/14 and he will be making an appointment for his vehicle in the future. The coupon he received was for a "standard" oil change for $19.95, but his vehicle requires Mobil One full synthetic. The coupon did state vehicles that use synthetic oil are slightly higher.I let Mr.********* know that we could honor a $39.95 price and he was Ok with that.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Body Repair & Painting

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/01/1977Business started: 08/01/1977
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Department of Financial Institutions
2910 N 44th St STE 310
Phoenix, AZ 85018-7270
(800) 544-0708
http://www.azdfi.gov

Arizona Department of Transportation
PO Box 2100 Mail Drop 552-M
Phoenix, AZ 85001-2100
(520) 629-9808
http://www.azdot.gov

BBB records show a license number of 0003701 for this company, issued by Arizona Department of Financial Institutions. Their web address is http://www.azdfi.gov.

Type: Dept of Banking & Finance

BBB records show a license number of L00011258 for this company, issued by Arizona Department of Transportation. Their web address is http://www.azdot.gov.

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicles

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 1977, AZ

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Weitman (Owner)Mr. Steve Lace (General Manager)Ms. Claire McGuire
Number of Employees

364

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
Royal Buick Body Shop, Royal Speedway, Inc, Royal Buick Used Cars, Royal Jaguar - Land Rover Tucson, Royal Kia, Royal Buick GMC Cadillac, Royal Collision Center, Royal Collision Center - Speedway Body Shop, Royal Auto Mall, LLC, Mini of Tucson

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Royal Automotive Group has received 4.3 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Royal Automotive Group

4333 E Speedway Blvd

Tucson, AZ 85712-4623

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Arizona. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Royal Automotive Group is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (520) 477-0579
  • (520) 790-4437
  • (520) 320-3600
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013 for complaints filed on 05/22/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines.BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.