BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Southern Arizona

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/14/2003

Lawley's Team Ford

Find a Location

Phone: (520) 458-8140Fax: (520) 458-2494100 N Highway 90, Sierra VistaAZ 85635-3643View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/14/2003

BBB has determined that Lawley's Team Ford meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Lawley's Team Ford's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lawley's Team Ford
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
03/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: Sold us a car that had been in a car accident and previously reposed. None of this information had been revealed to us.
We purchased a used 2002 Maxada MX-5 Miata from Lawley in November 2013. They never gave us a CarFax or report on the car. When we traded in the car, it turns out it had been in an accident and had been reposed in another state during the history of the vehicle along with still being registered in another state. We lost over $2500 on the trade in value because of these undisclosed issues.
We also bought another vehicle from them with undisclosed damaged as well. Of course because we are military, they know we will leave and there is little recourse for us. It's sad and shady.

Final Consumer Response
To Whom It May Concern:

On 03/03/2014 I filed a Complaint against Lawley Automotive Center, **** E. Fry Blvd., Sierra Vista, AZ XXXXX. I have since been in contact with **** ******** a ****** dealership general manager. We thoroughly discussed our concerns and have come to a satisfactory agreement regarding the issues I raised in my Complaint. For this reason, we would like to request that the BBB close Case #XXXXXXXX as 'SATISFACTORILY RESOLVED'. I would also like to inform the BBB that I filed my Complaint against the wrong entity. My filing was against Lawley Automotive Center, whereas my husband's purchase was from Sierra Vista Car Guys LLC doing business as Lawley's Team Ford Kia. Please adjust the file accordingly. We are pleased with the resolution we have agreed upon and we are happy that they are treating us (as service members) right. No other complaints or issues will be filed.

Regards,

****** ****, individually and on behalf of ****** **** and ******* J. ****, husband/wife
(see hard copy online)

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

02/06/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Repair & Service

Additional Information

top

Sierra Vista Car Guys, LLC also does business as Lee's Auto Sales. A separate BBB Reliability Report is available for Lee's Auto Sales.

BBB file opened: 11/12/2002Business started: 05/23/2002
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Department of Transportation
PO Box 2100 Mail Drop 552-M
Phoenix, AZ85001-2100
(520) 629-9808
http://www.azdot.gov

Arizona Department of Financial Institutions
2910 N 44th St STE 310
Phoenix, AZ85018-7270
(800) 544-0708
http://www.azdfi.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management

This company's principal, W. Sean Lawley, also owns and operates Lawley Family Management, LLC and Lawley Motors, LLC. A separate BBB Reliability Report is available for each company.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sean Lawley (Managing Member)Ms. Catherine L. Lawley (Member)
Number of Employees

123

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

This company offers sales and service of new and used automobiles.

Alternate Business Names
Sierra Vista Car Guys, LLC
Industry Tips
Choosing A Vehicle Repair Facility
Buying a New Car
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
The Hail Season is Here
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Lawley's Team Ford

100 N Highway 90

Sierra Vista, AZ 85635-3643

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 755 E 4th St 

    Benson, AZ 85602(520) 586-3661

  • 100 N Highway 90 

    Sierra Vista, AZ 85635-3643(520) 458-8140

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Arizona. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Lawley's Team Ford is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013 for complaints filed on 05/22/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines.BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.