BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/14/2003

Lawley Honda - Nissan

(520) 459-20002960 E Fry Blvd, Sierra VistaAZ 85635

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/14/2003

BBB has determined that Lawley Honda - Nissan meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Lawley Honda - Nissan's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Lawley Honda - Nissan

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
05/19/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The website said that the item had features that it did not have.
The website said that we were going to be buying a 2008 Nissan Pathfinder SE. It said it had features like MP3 player, audio control on the steering wheel, Back up camera, multi CD changer. We bought the vehicle at night. They said ** had to get there right away to get the deal we needed. It was dark by the time we got there and unfortunately we did not see until the next day that all of these features we not equipped on the vehicle. Also the vehicle turned out to only be an S model. A huge difference in price and luxury. We contacted the woman we bought the vehicle from. She acted like we misread the site. We waited to hear from them and went in a couple days later. A man started getting confrontational with my husband when my husband stated the discrepancies. My husband left upset. Shortly after the same man called back and left a message to call him because he needed to talk to us. I called back because my husband was angry at the way he was treated. It was several hours later before I heard from this man. He said there was nothing he could do. That if I wanted to trade back for our car he would be willing to do that because they breached the contract. He also said he would have them detail the vehicle since it hadn't been done although our saleswoman said it had been done... There was cheerios on the floor. Dirt everywhere. There was even something growing in the glovebox!!! It was by far the worst detailing job I've ever seen. I realize this is a used car but?!?!?! Its too bad we couldn't have seen all that in the daylight. I guess we just took them at their word. Obviously it is our fault for being too trusting. I will never suggest anyone to go there for a vehicle. By far it has been the worst "customer service" I have ever dealt with in the car buying industry. Like I said the way the tried to make it right was to give us our car back. They didn't even offer to install some of the things that they said were already there! They tried pushing the blame on a service they use to post car pictures on the internet.

Desired Settlement
I want them to try to make it right by putting in the items that they said were installed or offer financial compensation so I can personally go and buy the things they said were there. I'd rather have someone else install them anyways. Its obvious by the way they "detail" vehicles that they are lacking in the service department.

Final Consumer Response
After I had submitted my report to the BBB and before Lawleys was notified I was called by the Manager of the branch. He let me tell him about our experience and he was very apologetic. He was very helpful and provided us with most of the amenities that had been missing. He had the service department clean the car again as well. I am very pleased that the manager thought of a fair solution and was extremely pleasant. He definitely made our experience turn from a bad one into a good example of how customers should be treated! I want to say "Thank you so much to **** ***** for making it right!!"

03/31/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
All cars on lot equipped with after market security system at cost of $699.00. ****** offers no choice. I was told it was part of sales price. Not
I decided to purchase a used 2011 Nissan cube on 12-07-2013. As the purchase process progressed I was never told of the security system as being something I had to purchase with no means of opting out. When I first looked at cars on the lot the saleswoman, ***** ********* made a show of holding up a clicker before unlocking doors. She appeared to have a separate device than the key for each car. She said all the cars were on this system. I believed it was something they used on the lot only. She never informed me that the car I was purchasing had a system permanently installed. When I got to the finance manager, ******* ******** he tried to sell me extra coverage to go "with the security system" that would provide vehicle replacement in the event the car was stolen. If I bought it I would get a new car otherwise it would only pay KBB value. I said I did not want it. As I was signing dozens of papers there was one entitled "Dealership Auto Security Work Order". There were three boxes 1) Optional Extension of the vehicle replacement program, up to $20,000, 2) Activate Security System for Customer Use and 3) Deactivate Protection and Waive Vehicle Replacement. He said I wasn't getting the extra but needed to sign this form. No boxes were checked. I mentioned this and he said not to worry as I was not getting or paying for extra coverage.
When the final paperwork was put in front of me with the many lines of numbers I saw $699 on a line that said aftermarket. I asked what it was. He said security system. I said I didn't want it. He said it was on all cars they sell and it was worked in to the price. I believed him. A couple of days later when I was thoroughly went over each line I found the $699 was an additional amount on top of the agreed upon sales price of $12,239. After waiting two hours after this for the car to come back from being washed the saleswoman then plugged in a little black piece under the dash and said it was the alarm system. I said what if I unplugged it and all she said was it would probably never work again. After many hours of dealing with unanswered questions and waiting 2 hours for a wash I wanted to just leave.
I tried calling the phone number on the "Security work order". It was typed on the work order as:
Karr Security, **** *** ***** ****** ****** AZ XXXXX (XXX) XXX-XXXX. I called and the finance manager of ****** Chevrolet answered. He was confused why I had that number. I told him it was typed on paperwork. I said I bought car at Lawley Honda-Nissan. He said he'd transfer me over there but if I want to call Karr Security their number was (XXX)XXX-XXXX. After being transferred I spoke with the Finance Director, ****** ******** He was not very helpful and basically treated me like I was not smart if I didn't want the system and also that it was there and couldn't be removed. I then tried calling the direct number the Chevrolet manager gave me and it was Lawley Honda-Nissan's direct line. I believe it was a salesman that answered and when I asked about Karr Security (spelled it for him K-A-R-R) he had no clue. But he's elling cars that have the system. This is only one example of incompetency I've ran into with Lawley. They have tried to refund money to my lender when I cancelled the extended service contract by sending it to a lender I did not even get the loan with! Then after I gave them the exact payment address for my lender they instead sent it to a service center that does not receive payments. Now ten days later that check is floating around somewhere. I have not had calls returned when all I could get was a manager's voicemail. One office person looked at my file and said there was a note to "Do not contact customer" I moved out of state and I guess they think I don't count anymore as a repeat customer.

Desired Settlement
I would simply like this to be on file that Lawley Honda Nissan does NOT have the customer's best interest in mind. It is the most unprofessional company I ever dealt with.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Repair & Service

Additional Information

top

Lawley Motors, LLC also does business as Lawley Automotive Center and Cactus Country Auto Sales. A separate BBB Reliability Report is available for Lawley Automotive Center and for Cactus Country Auto Sales.

BBB file opened: 03/08/1996Business started: 04/26/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Department of Transportation
PO Box 2100 Mail Drop 552-M
Phoenix, AZ 85001-2100
(520) 629-9808
http://www.azdot.gov

Arizona Department of Financial Institutions
2910 N 44th St STE 310
Phoenix, AZ 85018-7270
(800) 544-0708
http://www.azdfi.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management

This company's principal, W. Sean Lawley, also owns and operates Lawley Family Management, LLC and Sierra Vista Car Guys, LLC. A separate BBB Reliability Report is available for each company.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. W. Sean Lawley (Managing Member)Mr. Sharp Lannom (Member)Ms. Catherine L. Lawley (Member)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

This company offers sales and service of new and used automobiles.

Alternate Business Names
Lawley Motors, LLC
Industry Tips
Choosing A Vehicle Repair Facility

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Lawley Honda - Nissan has received 4.70 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Lawley Honda - Nissan

2960 E Fry Blvd

Sierra Vista, AZ 85635

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2960 E Fry Blvd 

    Sierra Vista, AZ 85635(520) 459-2000

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Arizona. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Lawley Honda - Nissan is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013 for complaints filed on 05/22/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines.BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Choosing A Vehicle Repair Facility
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.