BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Southern Arizona

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/14/2003

Lawley Automotive Center

Phone: (520) 458-2141Fax: (520) 417-9282

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
04/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: Failed to honor the sales contract and failed to notify in a timely manner on finance issues that have leading to personal credit damages.
On March 14 2014 I went to Lawley Automotive Group to trade-in my 2012 Dodge Avenger 4DR SDN SE for a new vehicle. I end getting a 2013 Nissan Ex-Terra 2** 4DR Auto. The dealer gave me $12500.00 plus $500.00 DWN. for my Dodge Avenger with balance of $15000.00 still on the car. After a while the dealer indicated me that my new car will be finance by NISSAN directly so ** proceed to complete all the sales protocol, paperwork and contract process and end driving out a new vehicle.
On March 24 2014 I received a call from the Chase Bank indicating me that the payment of my Dodge Avenger was behind in my payments, for which I informed them that I no longer own the car since I traded-in for a new vehicle and gave them all the information of the day of purchase, Dealer and sales Rep.
on April 4 2014 I received a call from the dealer finance manager telling me that they have had problems financing the NISSAN and that the only three option were to either come with an additional $7000.00 or find a co-signer or bring the vehicle back; otherwise they will "charge me for millage from that day on. When I indicated them that we signed a contract, he indicated me that my documents were not a full contract. He simply responded that those were the options and were not negotiable.
In a mean time My bank now have me delinquent in my account and about to be sent to collection in the next 48hr. if I don't come up with my payment for the car.
As tomorrow April 9 2014 I will visit Lawley Dealer to get a full explanation of what is going on, who will resolve my credit problem with my Bank account with Chase in regard to the Dodge avenger payments, loss of day of work for me and my wife, car insurance paid until May on my new car and find out why they took so long to notify me the finance problem. This has caused me and my wife a very embarrassing and stressful. Please Advised me in any way on how the BBB can help me, advised me and/or assist me in this matter.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

01/17/2013Problems with Product / Service
11/01/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
07/05/2012Problems with Product / Service
06/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: Had my fuel pump replaced on my 2005 Chevrolet Equinox by Mechanic **** ******* on May 28, 2013 and he had mention to ****** ******** Service director he forgot to put a piece on the fuel pump because Mr. **** ******* didn't think it was needed that was June 3, when I took it in because it was installed wrong. My gas meter was reading empty when I filled my tank up. I paid 1117.54 For the fuel pump and known my emission light want go off and there trying to say it's on me. But my emission light was on before he changed out my fuel pump. All I Want is to be treated fairly please Mr. ******.
Product_Or_Service: fuel pump

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Asst.
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@lawleycars.com
To the BBB,

Thank you for informing us of our customer ***** ***** ******'s concerns and complaint against our dealership.

Repair Order #XXXXXXXX and #XXXXXXXX

Customer, Mr. ******, brought vehicle in stating his vehicle stalled while driving and it would not accelerate. The check engine light was on. Our technician determined that the vehicle needed a fuel pump. The codes for the check engine light were P0131, P0141, and P0036. These codes are for: bank one sensor one O2 sensor low voltage, bank one sensor two O2 sensor performance, bank one sensor two O2 sensor heater circuit. All codes are not related to the fuel pump.

Mr. ****** was advised that he needed a fuel pump to fix the problem with his stalling and him not being able to accelerate. He was also advised that he needed oxygen sensors to fix the problem with the check engine light. Mr. ****** chose to fix the fuel pump. We replaced the fuel pump and reset the check engine light. After a test drive, the check engine light came back on with the same codes. We informed Mr. ****** that he needed oxygen sensors to fix the problem and gave him a quote for the repair.

Mr. ****** picked up his vehicle and advised us that his fuel gauge was not working. A technician checked the vehicle and said that the vehicle needed a fuel level sensor. We replaced the sensor at no cost to the customer. Cost of repair was $483.41.

Mr. ****** brought it to our attention that his rear view mirror would not stay in place. After checking the mirror, we found that six prongs wrap around a plastic ball allowing the mirror to be moved. Four of the prongs were missing and the only repair for the mirror was to replace it. Our Parts Department checked the price mirror and found that there is an updated design. The cost of the mirror is $350. We replaced the mirror at no cost to the customer.

Mr. ****** contacted our COO, *** ***** ***** and expressed his concerns about the check engine light. Mr. ***** ***** not knowing the events leading up to this point asked Mr. ****** to bring the vehicle in to check the light. Mr. ****** brought the vehicle to ****, his Service Advisor. **** again advised Mr. ****** that he was going to need the oxygen sensors. Mr. ****** acted as though he understood and indicated that his wife may not and was going to get with her.

In conclusion, Mr. ****** brought his vehicle in for a stalling issue and a check engine light. The two problems were not related and Mr. ****** was informed of this. He chose to fix the fuel pump. He was advised that if the check engine light came on and the same codes appeared, he would need the oxygen sensors. Two other issues occurred and both were taken care of by the dealership with no cost to the customer. Lawley Automotive accepted the responsibility without question for the fuel level sensor and mirror totaling $833.41.

We believe we did all the work that we were contracted to do and as reflected on the Repair Order. We feel we have addressed all of our customers concerns. Thank you for your time and consideration.

Sincerely,

****** ********
Lawley Automotive
Service Director

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Because my car didn't have these problems tell the mechanics worked on my car. Mr. ******** from the 13th to the 31st my car was at Lawley's in the heat that would be the reason for the mirror. And I picked my car up on the 31st Friday and had to return it on Monday the 3rd. And I wanted to speak to Mr. **** ****** I was not happy at all but thanks anyway. I was told a repair part was not put in because the mechanic thought it was not needed but hey that would be my fault also. Bless you Sir.

Sincerely ***** ** ******

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

11/21/2011Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Parts & Supplies-New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.