BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1971

Jim Click Ford Lincoln Mercury Hyundai

Find a Location

(520) 625-82621030 W Duval Rd, Green ValleyAZ 85614-4900

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1971

BBB has determined that Jim Click Ford Lincoln Mercury Hyundai meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Jim Click Ford Lincoln Mercury Hyundai's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Jim Click Ford Lincoln Mercury Hyundai

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
08/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
*** *******/****** ******* Service Advisor/Mgr root cause diagnosis of AC not cooling was incorrect & unnecessary cost. Requests for refund ignored.
5/29/2014 took my 2006 Volkswagen Jetta 2.0T (VIN 3VWAJ71K46MXXXXXX) to *** ***** because the Air Conditioning was not cooling. Service Advisor *** ******* told me that the diagnosis of the problem was the charge port shrader valves leaking causing the refrigerant to be low and the compressor to cycle, and that the valves would need to be replaced and the air conditioning refrigerant serviced. I asked if the cabin filter had been checked for air flow and *** ******* said that the cabin filter was clean. The cost to repair the Schrader valves was $190 and would not be covered by warranty. I told them no to the service and *** ******* billed me $53.25 for the diagnosis (invoice number FGQSXXXXXX). I then checked the cabin filter myself and found lots of leaves and debris in the filter. I replaced the filter and the airflow greatly improved. I also observed by watching the motor that the engine cooling fans were not turning on, and that there was voltage going to the connector that should have made the cooling fan motor power on. I then asked *** ******* for the money back from the diagnosis because the charge port valves were likely an incorrect diagnosis and he had obviously not checked the cabin filter nor had he properly checked the cooling fans.And it seemed to me that *** ***** Service had wanted to bill me for unnecessary work. *** ******* refused, and so also did ****** ******* the Service Manager. On 6/24/2014 I then took the VW Jetta directly to Chapman Volkswagen (4500 E 22ND St, Tucson) and the diagnosis was that both the small and large cooling fans were not functioning. Also the air conditioning compressor was bad. Chapman VW found no problem with the charge port Schrader valves and also that there was no leak in the refrigerant system. Chapman VW replaced both cooling fans and the air conditioning compressor repaired both problems under warrantee (RO Number XXXXXXXXX/1 and XXXXXXXXX/2). The total cost for the repair service at Chapman VW was $1449.32 after $100 deductible.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting a $53.25 refund for the A/C System Diagnosis that was never performed. Also the cost of weeks of running around wondering what was wrong with the car should be worth something, maybe an apology $0 for that.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* SVC MGR
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@jimclick.com
05/29/2014 at Jim Click Ford/Hyundai, Mr. ******** requested service to his 2006 Volkswagen Jetta to include engine oil and filter change under his Maintenance for Life contract and also stated his A/C was "not cold". An initial authorized estimate of $59.95 was agreed to and signed by Mr. ******** for the diagnosis of his A/C concern at time of write up. A certified Ford Master technician performed the A/C diagnosis verifying poor cooling and low system pressure. Diagnosis of low system pressure is consistent with a "not cold" A/C concern. Source of low pressure was then determined to be caused by Freon leaking at both Schrader valves. An estimate to repair the Freon leak was given to Mr. ********'s extended warranty company but was not listed as a covered component and coverage of this repair was declined. Mr. ******** was then contacted and given an estimate ($190.00) to replace both Schrader valves, evacuate and recharge the A/C system and aprox 16oz of Freon. Mr. ******** declined the repair. Invoice FGQSXXXXXX reflects the diagnostic charge of $53.25. 6/17/2014 - Mr. ******** contacted JCGV Ford/Hyundai Service Manager, ****** ******** and explained his doubt of a proper diagnosis of his A/C concern. ****** suggested Mr. ******** bring his vehicle back to JCGV Ford/Hyundai for further diagnosis at no additional charge. In addition, ****** offered to credit the previous charge of $53.25 toward the repair or to his extended warranty deductible if applicable. Mr. ******** declined this offer and suggested he was going to have a friend look at his vehicle. ****** then documented the offer in the internal Dealer Management System for future reference. 7/1/2014 Mr. ******** contacted a service representative at JCGV and asked for a Manager to return his call. ****** was given the message and returned his call within an hour. Mr. ******** stated to ****** that he had his A/C system repaired at Chapman Volkswagen and according to their invoice; the diagnosis performed at JCGV was incorrect. ****** agreed to refund the previous diagnostic charge ($53.25) and asked Mr. ******** to fax the Chapman Volkswagen invoice to him for documentation of the refund. Mr. ******** declined the refund. He then informed ****** that he wanted to "drag this out" and would be contacting BBB. JCGV Ford/Hyundai will continue to honor the refund.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Where ****** ******* SVC MGR states: Diagnosis of low system pressure is consistent with a "not cold" A/C concern. Source of low pressure was then determined to be caused by Freon leaking at both Schrader valves.

My reply statement is: There was low airflow and ****** ******* SVC MGR said the cabin filter was checked and found to be clean. The Schrader valves root cause diagnosis did not explain the low air flow and cooling problem.

Where ****** ******* SVC MGR states: An estimate to repair the Freon leak was given to Mr. ********'s extended warranty company but was not listed as a covered component and coverage of this repair was declined.

My reply statement is: I declined the repair because the diagnosis was obviously not the root cause because of the low air flow.

Where ****** ******* SVC MGR states: Mr. ******** was then contacted and given an estimate ($190.00) to replace both Schrader valves, evacuate and recharge the A/C system and aprox 16oz of Freon. Mr. ******** declined the repair.

My reply statement is: I declined the repair because their diagnosis was obviously not the root cause, because the low air flow did exist. I got my car back, and checked the cabin filter myself and found that it was dirty and plugged with leaves and grass. I have photos of the dirty filter and still have the filter and debris. I bought a new cabin filter and replaced the old one. Airflow was greater. At this point I believed that ****** ******* SVC MGR was trying to get me to pay out of pocket unnecessarily for Schrader valves that likely did not need replacing. I further believed that they had simply stopped looking for any actual problems after noticing residue on the Schrader valves. The residue was likely from me checking the charge ports myself. My conclusion was that I would not trust them with my car a second time. I believed they would probably bill me for unnecessary work on the Schrader valves in addition to whatever else they would find that actually was needing repair under warrantee.
I further troubleshot and watched the engine run with the AC on and I observed the cooling fans were not operating. I probed the connector and found that the correct voltage and ground were at the correct pins for the cooling fan motors, yet the motors would not operate. Only the largest fan would operate at the highest speed with system voltage applied. I called ** to explain what I had found about the cabin filter and the cooling fans and asked for a refund for the AC Diagnosis. ****** ******* SVC MGR asked that I bring the car back so they could further diagnose the problem. I did not go back because they had already led me to believe that they had checked the cabin filter and I believed they would just tell me that the Schrader valves were still bad. I decided to take the car directly to chapman Volkswagen.

Where ****** ******* SVC MGR states: Mr. ******** declined the refund. He then informed ****** that he wanted to "drag this out" and would be contacting BBB. JCGV Ford/Hyundai will continue to honor the refund.

My reply statement is: I had already begun contacting small claims court and researching the BBB and did not want to further waste time gathering documents for ****** ******* SVC MGR , because I believed that ****** ******* SVC MGR should honor the refund and could simply call Chapman VW and verify the repair for themselves. Chapman VW is where they refer their VW customers to anyway. So asking me to go find a fax machine at kinkos was an inconvenience and silly waste of time trying to work with ****** ******* SVC MGR as a customer. He is stating that he will honor the refund after I fax in the invoice. I just dont trust him to do that because they did not do the work on the car to begin with.

Consumer Response
"I consider Complaint Case# 19044269 to be resolved."

05/21/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/14/1999Business started: 09/01/1971
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Department of Financial Institutions
2910 N 44th St STE 310
Phoenix, AZ85018-7270
(800) 544-0708
http://www.azdfi.gov

Arizona Department of Transportation
PO Box 2100 Mail Drop 552-M
Phoenix, AZ85001-2100
(520) 629-9808
http://www.azdot.gov

BBB records show a license number of 0009295 for this company, issued by Arizona Department of Financial Institutions. Their web address is http://www.azdfi.gov.

Type: Dept of Banking & Finance

BBB records show a license number of L00001975 for this company, issued by Arizona Department of Transportation. Their web address is http://www.azdot.gov.

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicles

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 1983, CA

Business Management

This company's principal also owns and operates Holmes Tuttle Ford Lincoln Mercury; Holmes Tuttle Ford Quicklane; Tuttle-Click Collision Center; Jim Click Chrysler Jeep; Jim Click Mazda, Eastside; Jim Click Nissan; Jim Click Hyundai Eastside; Jim Click Dodge; Jim Click Mazda Hyundai Auto Mall; Jim Click Ford Lincoln Mercury Collision Center, Jim Click Commercial Truck Center and Jim Click Ford, Lincoln Mercury. A separate report is available for each of these businesses.

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Maryjo Schiavone (Executive Assistant)Mr. Jim Click (Owner)Mr. Mo Hindash (General Manager)Mr. Ed Yashar (CFO)
Number of Employees

1100

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Avoiding Automotive Lease Scams

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Jim Click Ford Lincoln Mercury Hyundai

1030 W Duval Rd

Green Valley, AZ 85614-4900

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1030 W Duval Rd 

    Green Valley, AZ 85614-4900(520) 625-8262

  • 780 W Competition Rd 

    Tucson, AZ 85705-6000

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Arizona. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Jim Click Ford Lincoln Mercury Hyundai is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013 for complaints filed on 05/22/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines.BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Avoiding Automotive Lease Scams
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.