BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/19/2005

Chapman Acura

Phone: (520) 748-1000Fax: (520) 747-7910View Additional Phone Numbers4600 E 22nd St, TucsonAZ 85711

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/19/2005

BBB has determined that Chapman Acura meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Chapman Acura's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Chapman Acura

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
04/10/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Chapman Acura was not truthful when they informed me the air and pollen filter should be changed. I now doubt the wipers needed to be changed.
On March 5, 2015 I entered Chapman and requested an oil change. While I was sitting there waiting on my vehicle my service advisor ***** ******** first approached me to say I needed new windshield wipers. I gave them the authorization to make the repair. A few minutes later she returned to me with two filters to tell me these filters should be changed, I authorized this to be done. I later found out these were the air and pollen filter. It never crossed my mind that they were not being truthful with me , but unfortunately they were indeed being deceitful. The incorrect information given to me increased the total cost of the repairs to $184.75, which I paid for with my Visa card. When maintenance is done on your vehicle you should receive a free car wash, instead ***** offered to sell me a $30 car wash. No car wash of any kind was given to me. I complained to ***** asking if this dealership sold $30 car washes. His response was that she misspoke, she meant it would take 30 minutes to get the car wash. This unsatisfactory answer made me read my maintenance manual to research the other repairs that were done. I learned my car has a feature called the maintenance minder. It's designed to tell you when the vehicle need maintenance on the inside and outside. Once I knew this I went to Chapman and spoke to the service manager ***** to inform him that my manual says the maintenance minder will tell me when to replace those filters and requested the monies back I spent on these two filters. The response I got were various reasons why the statements made in the manual were not true. 1.
The only thing the maintenance minder will tell me is when to change my oil. 2. The maintenance minder cannot determine air quality. 3. Things are different in the real world from what the manual says. Not satisfied with these answers, I contacted Acura client relations. After speaking to a couple of case managers whom communicated with the dealership, ***** called my home and told me that the dealership would return a refund to me of $105 and change. This call was received on April 3,2015. As of this day I haven't received that check. I called ***** on April 8,2015 and left a message on his answering machine asking about the check. He failed to return my call. I hope your intervention in this matter will bring this conflict to an end.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking to recover the monies I spent on these two filter. The statements made by my service advisor telling me were untrue. During my discussion with ***** I made the statement that those *** not have been my filters. His response was they wouldn't do that. I now truly believe this is exactly what was done. I base my conclusion on all the untruths told to me since I began this complaint. I was also told by ***** I would be receiving a refund. No check has been received by me.

Final Consumer Response
I hereby rescind my complaint against Chapman Acura and ask that no further action is taken.

07/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Took vechile in for a recall and repair was done but when car was picked up and taking it home. The vehicle had a clunck and thumping.
May 16 th I drove my vehicle to work and at a light white smoke starting to come from underneath the car. Power steering hose was leaking and Acura had a recall on this so I schedule an appt to drop it off. I arrived to champman Acura and they gave me a rental and left. Next day they called and said car was ready but I couldn't pick it up. I arrive on Monday and waited for an hr and said my car was at wash but they said it was done Monday. I got my keys and headed back to work and as soon as I left I called them and came right back. Car was shaking and vibrating horribly and I left with a rental again. Wednesday they called me and told me my motor mounts were broken and that should be the noise and said they didn't hear any noise during their test drive. I get there and was advise to take a drive with their tech. I am a Certified Auto tech as well. During the drive the tech admmited he did not drive the car before hand and didn't hear the noise that I was stating. During the test drive the tech heard the noise and was shock. we get back to the service bay and I crawled underneath and see the one of my motor mount bracket is adjust and tighten not in the same contact points as before. I advise if they can out it on the lift and put the car on a load to see if its a motor mount or I can shake my front end down to see if its a wheel bearing. afterc45 mins of waiting the service write tells me he wanted go show me something. He pointed that the left front wheel bearing is bad. The top tech of their shop said these fail all the time. I said I'm a Honda Acura guy and have never had a problem with these a d my brother owns the same model as my car and his is over 200k and no wheel bearing issues. They brought my car down and pulled it up to the front. I told them I was unhappy and that it did not do that when I brought it in and I stress if they lowered the subframe down and if put stress on the motor mounts and axles and once car was loaded it shift to that side as I drove it. The head service guy said stuff happens and wouldn't do anything and that he did a free diag and will gibe me a quote for repairs and I said no I can do it myself and if your not going to do anything at least fill my tank back up as it was just a little under 1/2 tank and as soon as I went to go on a test drive it was at the E and gas light on. He instructed no and I left ****** off and was really upset. I would notice if my car had this problem and drove 20miles to the dealership. As soon as I got on the freewayi could barely make it over 55-60mph and get getting worse and from my experience I need I had a loose wheel. I made it to my work and found out that 4 of my lugnuts were loose. I took off the wheel and the seats for where the lugnut contacts are wobble out and y 3 are OK. So I put all the lugnuts back on and torque them to manufacturer specs and the loose wobble and wheel bearing as their head tech said it was the wheel bearing was from a loose wheel all along. I was extremely mad as if my gf or sis would have driven my car and the wheel would of fell all an cuase an accident or something more terrifying. Being a tech I always double check things and torque everything and just extremely mad they did not drive my car after repairs and knowing I stated that this did not develop after the repair and disnt do anything for Me. I called back and told the service guy ***** and said it is not a wheel bearing and that it was from a loose tire and he said we did not take your wheel off a x hung up on me. IAkways had great service there and this time he was a complete *** hole. all I want is my rim to be replace as it is not safe to drive because of the hollow out lug seats. Thanks for taking the time to read my complaint.

Desired Settlement
To replace my left front wheel from being loose and wheel seat is rounded out from loose lugnuts!

Business Response
We have talked to the customer and offered to split the cost of the wheel with him up to $150.00, as he is the one that left the wheel loose. The customer check for availability of his wheel and chose instead to put his E.O.M. wheels back on the car. He asked if we would vocer the cost of the side underbody spoiler for him in lieu of the wheel.We sent a chek to him in the amount of $266.25 to cover the cost to purchase the underbody spoiler.

03/11/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/08/2005Business started: 04/15/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Department of Transportation
PO Box 2100 Mail Drop 552-M
Phoenix, AZ 85001-2100
(520) 629-9808
http://www.azdot.gov

Arizona Department of Financial Institutions
2910 N 44th St STE 310
Phoenix, AZ 85018-7270
(800) 544-0708
http://www.azdfi.gov

BBB records show a license number of L00007666 for this company, issued by Arizona Department of Transportation. Their web address is http://www.azdot.gov.

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicles

BBB records show a license number of 0907131 for this company, issued by Arizona Department of Financial Institutions. Their web address is http://www.azdfi.gov.

Type: Dept of Banking & Finance

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Susan Shoup (Comptroller)
Number of Employees

25

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Chapman Luxury Imports of Tucson, LLC
Industry Tips
Avoiding Automotive Lease Scams

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Chapman Acura has received 3.68 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Chapman Acura

4600 E 22nd St

Tucson, AZ 85711

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4600 E 22nd St 

    Tucson, AZ 85711(520) 748-1000
    (800) 461-6744
    (888) 290-7733
    (888) 286-9977
    (888) 287-7744
    Fax: (520) 747-7910
    Fax: (520) 747-7910
    Fax: (520) 747-7910
    Fax: (520) 747-7910
    Fax: (520) 747-7910

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Arizona. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Chapman Acura is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 461-6744
  • (888) 290-7733
  • (888) 286-9977
  • (888) 287-7744
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013 for complaints filed on 05/22/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines.BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Avoiding Automotive Lease Scams
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.