BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southern Arizona

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/30/2009

MAACO Auto Painting & Body Work

Phone: (520) 629-0909Fax: (520) 624-1590View Additional Phone Numbers3550 S Palo Verde Rd, TucsonAZ 85713-5439View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/30/2009

BBB has determined that MAACO Auto Painting & Body Work meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised MAACO Auto Painting & Body Work's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on MAACO Auto Painting & Body Work

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
01/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Had "Best" paint job done on '04 Tundra. Result is that there are dozens of flaws and specks in the paint from front to back and top to bottom. Returned to shop and was told "it's in the disclaimer". They would do nothing to correct the terrible, 3rd rate paint job.

Desired Settlement
I would not want them to touch my truck. I want to take it to the shop of my choice and see what can be done: either sand and redo clear coat or some other remedy, at Macco's expense. I went back to Macco to alert them of to the problem and they have refused to make good. Now, I no longer want anything to do with them. My dealings were all with "**".

Business Response
When the customer came in for the estimate I told him about the production paint process. When he decided to drop the vehicle off for the repairs. I made him read the disclaimer and sign it if he agrees, which he did. When he picked the vehicle up I had him view the repairs prior to paying me, which he did. When he paid I had him sign a completion certificate that he was satisfied with the repair, which he did. A week later he comes back complaining about the paint. I advised of our prior conversations about what to expect he got mad and left. Now if there are any concerns that were not minor imperfections or excessive dust particles in an area, I would correct them at no charge (see business response online). **

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First, no disclaimer said Macco is so incompetent that they can't even perform the most basic task of properly taping off the trim so that ALL the rubber trim on the fender flares would have paint on them, from one end to the other, and the rubber trim on the bottom of the doors would be only partly painted. Second, no disclaimer, oral or written, said that Macco painters were so incompetent that they couldn't properly paint a vehicle without dozens of flaws. Every body panal has defects. Third, no disclaimer said I should expect that Macco couldn't perform their service in a competent, professional manner, especially since I was talked into their "best" paint job. It looks like something done by a failing first year high school shop student. Fourth, this "paint Job" is supposed to carry a five year warranty. So much for that if they wouldn't even offer to correct this bush league effort. You bet I was mad when, before I could even get "**" to walk around the truck to scan some of the defects. The first words out of his mouth were that there was nothing he would do because of the "disclaimer". Yes, sir, I was mad. The response above indicates a willingness to correct defects. That is an outright lie. I ended the conversation when I said, "so you won't do anything?" and his one word answer was "No". I walked off at that point. He never offered any resolution. I am contacting Visa to reverse the charges and will probably file suit in small claims court. Sleazy operations like this can't be ignored.

06/19/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Additional Information

top

This company is a franchisee of Maaco Enterprises, Inc. (381 Brooks Rd, King of Prussia, PA 19406; 610-491-9600; www.maaco.com).

BBB file opened: 08/09/1999Business started: 08/09/1999
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Edward Sommer (Managing Member)
Number of Employees

9

Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
Edward Sommer, LLC
Industry Tips
The Hail Season is Here

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for MAACO Auto Painting & Body Work

3550 S Palo Verde Rd

Tucson, AZ 85713-5439

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3550 S Palo Verde Rd 

    Tucson, AZ 85713-5439(520) 629-0909
    (520) 329-4810

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Arizona. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*MAACO Auto Painting & Body Work is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (520) 329-4810
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013 for complaints filed on 05/22/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines.BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Body Repair & Painting

The Hail Season is Here
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.