BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/23/2014

Earl's Automotive & Restoration

(520) 551-6897View Additional Phone Numbers3256 E Lincoln St, TucsonAZ 85714

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/23/2014

BBB has determined that Earl's Automotive & Restoration meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Earl's Automotive & Restoration's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Earl's Automotive & Restoration

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
10/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
First part of July 2013 truck was driven from Eagar, AZ to Earl's Automotive. Truck was running good at the time; no engine lights were on and no overheating. Heavy oil was used, coming down due to engine noise. Earl's Automotive went through the truck and stated it needed new cam and cam bearings. We agreed to this at a cost of $2800.00, and truck would be ready by the 15th of August 2013. As soon a truck was ready to pick I started home and the engine lights came on, so I immediately returned the vehicle to the auto shop. Several days later ***** called, to say truck was ready to be picked up only to find the lights were still coming on and the temperature guage was higher than normal. Each time the truck was taken in it was costing us more money. The first part of December 2013, ***** stated he had been driving our vehicle and everything was fine. I rented a car hauler at our expense, due to the extra time it took to get our vehicle. It was taken back to Eagar, AZ. It was 20 below 0 in December when we took truck up there. Due to the low temp. the truck seemed to run ok.It wasn't driven much at that time. After truck was driven 40 to 45 miles, the engine light came back on. We drove the truck back to Tucson to Earl's Auto Shop at ***********'s request. The truck overheated on the way back. I kept stopping to let it cool so it would not overheat.

I requested to be present when the heads were removed because if the head gaskets are reversed it could cause the engine to overheat. I was not notified when he did remove the heads.

At this time, the truck is still at Earl's Auto. He refuses to answer or return the phone calls to us. We sent him a certified letter, which he refused to sign for.

We want the truck repaired at no more cost to us, within a reasonable amount of time. We will consider 30 days a reasonable amount of time.

We understand he has the business up for sale and intends to move out of state if sold. We would like to get this problem settled before this happens, if possible.

Sincerely,
****** and **** ******
(see hard copy, invoice and tracking information online)

Desired Settlement
We want the vehicle repaired properly, even if it means replacing the engine, at no cost to us, since we did not have the problem when it was first taken in. We would accept a long block engine if it is from a reputable dealer such as Auto Zone, Pep Boy's, etc.

Business Response
The issue is under review. Customer has picked up truck and we are waiting to hear back if they are happy with it. Customer is a relative and overheard a conversation about a desire to move out of state. Earl's is not up for sale.

03/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A Vehicle was to have a stereo installed, Heater fixed, and Drive on passenger side window replaced.The stereo was never installed (dead on arrival) - wired improperly so that the headlights had to be on to unmute it - and installed in such a way that the faceplate was stuck behind the cars installation panel.The Drive on the windows was incorrectly installed, over and under torquing every time.The piece needed to keep the heater functional was "ordered" but never "arrived" after several weeks.The owner, *****, has addressed this issue and has responded by saying that ********** the person who was responsible for our vehicle, was not his employee and that he was not responsible.However, we went into EARL'S AUTO SHOP and received an invoice with EARL'S AUTO SHOP printed on it. How are we to be responsible for knowing that not all of the people doing work at *****'s shop are in fact *****'s employees?

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund. So much time has been spent just trying to communicate with these guys to solve the issue.I want to take my business some place else and get it done. It has been months now.Please Issue a refund and make this right.

Business Response
An individual came to our business wanting to exchange a car instead of money for services performed. Informed individual we do not accept a car as payment for repairs and they would have to go elsewhere. ********* a friend was visiting and overheard the conversation. He said he was interested in doing the repairs as a side job independent of Earl's. ********* did the repairs in the backyard of Earl's shop instead of in a bay where Earl's customers cars are repaired and ********* received a 4 door Honda Accord as payment from his customer. ********* used one of our invoice sheets so his customer could have a copy of repairs done but customer never had a business transaction with Earl's itself. To our knowledge ********* has since responded to his customers complaints about repair work. If this individual has any more complaints, they need to contact the independent person ********* to resolve them. Earl's cannot issue a refund if we did not even touch the car to do repairs or received payment for repairs.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Customizing, Auto Dealers - Custom Design & Replica

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/03/2013Business started: 04/27/2011
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Tatro (Owner)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Customizing, Auto Dealers - Custom Design & Replica

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Earl's Automotive & Restoration

3256 E Lincoln St

Tucson, AZ 85714

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3256 E Lincoln St 

    Tucson, AZ 85714(520) 551-6897
    (520) 807-3275

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Arizona. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Earl's Automotive & Restoration is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (520) 807-3275
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013 for complaints filed on 05/22/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines.BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Body Repair & Painting

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.