BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1976

Rite Way Heating, Cooling & Plumbing

Phone: (520) 745-0660Fax: (520) 745-2151View Additional Phone Numbers5712 E Speedway Blvd, TucsonAZ 85712

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1976

BBB has determined that Rite Way Heating, Cooling & Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Rite Way Heating, Cooling & Plumbing's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Rite Way Heating, Cooling & Plumbing

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
03/10/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
An estimate to replace an two old water heaters and install a new water treatment system resulted in a surprise "diagnostic" fee, not disclosed first.
On 2/10/2015 I experienced a water heater leak, so I called Rite-Way for an estimate to replace the heater.

While they were on site, I asked for an additional price on another heater replacement, and an installation of a whole house water treatment system. When the technician looked at the second water heater for replacement purposes, he found a leak at the top. HE DID NOT TELL ME THAT IT WOULD INCUR A CHARGE ("DIAGNOSTIC") TO ESTIMATE THE COST FOR REPAIRUNTIL HE HAD FINISHED THE ENTIRE EVALUATION.

Because the initial reason for my call was to have new units installed, and not for a so-called diagnosis of the problems, I feel justified in refusing to pay this charge. Other plumbers which I have called for estimates, offered them with good humor, in good faith, and free of charge.

I feel that Rite-Way needs to disclose its so-called "diagnostic" policy up front, and should have told me when I calledor at the very latest, when the technician set foot on my property.

Desired Settlement
All I am requesting is that I not be charged for this appointment, the purpose of which was NOT "diagnostic."

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern,
Although there might have been some confusion it was explained to Ms. **** that there would be no charge for the service as there was no transaction between us and customer. She was explained before leaving the residents, that there would be no charge. We also called her after the service was preformed and informed her again there would be no transaction for the service and thanked her for taking the time to receive the quote from us. We will regard this as an informational rapport.
Thank you.


Consumer Response
3-05-15
This complaint has been resolved.

12/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Technician did not ascertain that the water heater no longer leaked, and did not check solar panel after water was turned back on.
In fairness, I would like to say that the office staff were very prompt and helpful.

However, when the technician came to fix the water heater, he started with a very heavy handed pitch to buy a new solar water system (costing about $9k) which I was not interested in. Then he replaced the leaking flex but did not fill tank and wait to check for any other problems. He turned water to house back on, but did not go on roof to check solar panel. After he left, my spouse and I went out for about 6 hours and came home to water pouring off the roof. The solar panel had sprung a leak when the water was turned back on and needed to be repaired. In addition, the following day, I noticed that the water heater was still leaking (although not from the replaced flex). I called back, but technician could not return until late that day (at dusk), so I cancelled. Our subsequent water bill was about 15% higher than last year at this time. I am upset about the waste of water. We will not use this company again.

Desired Settlement
Refund of labor for work done by technician.
Thank you for your consideration.

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern,

Although the repair we performed was valid, we have decided to refund the original call including parts given the customer was dissatisfied and there was a small amount of water wasted. Our Technician left the customer voluminous notes concerning the multiple repairs needed, and we wish the customer success in either repairing or replacing the system.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thanks very much!

02/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Relay switch was bad. **** quoted us $170 for part. When invoice was sent to my e-mail I was charged $260 for the part. I called Rite Way to dispute the over charge and was told ***** would look into it. I didn't hear back so I called at noon and said I'm not happy with how you handle your business. I don't want the 1 yr maintenance agreement. Refund the $228. charge and charge for the other part. Never heard back so I called the BBB.

Desired Settlement
I want the $260 maintenance agreement refunded. I also want the $90 for the over charged part. Also the company should show you an invoice not just the customer signature line, because I would have seen the over charge and not agreed to the wrong price. If they show you a copy, the customer approval line is not signed.

Business Response
****** has received the refund as requested We where able to talk about the invoice and what had happened. We are taking further actions to make sure this does not happen again. We have apologized for the inconvenience.

Final Consumer Response
To everyone who helped in my complaint #XXXXXXXX:
Thank you for your helping me with my complaint with RiteWay Heating/Cooling. Even though I wanted RiteWay to refund me for the maintenance agreement of $260 & $90 for the overcharged price of the relay switch, I was sent a check from RiteWay for $331.65. At least BBB was able to get a response from them. I thought RiteWay would be okay because of their A+ rating from the BBB an their advertisement. I thought wrong. ******
I tried to responding to the BBB e-mail but it would not let me. So I wrote you in person. Thank you again for your help with this company.
******
(see hard copy online)

06/21/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Plumber came to house and made false statements and physically demonstrated false problems with hot water system.
6/21 Riteway came to my house for an ac check. During the AC check I was advised that my cooling coils were full of pet hair. The tech showed using a camera the hair. I agreed to have them clean the coils. The tech stated that after cleaning the coils the AC might have to be replaced in a year or so. The cost would be approximately $8500. The tech advised the cleaning service would be $913.00. The tech advised that if I purchased the service plan that the costs for the service and any new system would be reduced by 15%. On 6/22 Riteway returned and conducted the coil service. The tech advised my wife that were serious safety issues with our hot water heater and that it was in severe violation of two "codes" and asked if we had been getting dizzy or nasceaus. The tech advised that he could have a plumber come immediately. At this time I arrived back at my residence and was shown by the tech that there was no vent connection from the hot water heater to the roof vent. He pointed out that the connection was laying behind the heater and had not been attached. I can not state as to whether the connection had been on previously, but have no reason why it wouldn't have been. At this time the plumber arrived and after looking over the hot water heater proceeded to tell me that the pressure release valve was broken, he demonstrated that the valve should when flipped up be able to hear the hissing sound of escaping gas, he flipped up the valve and there was no sound of escaping gas. He explained if the valve does not work, that the hot water heater could blowup. The a/c tech had advised my wife that the way the hot water heater was plumbed that the piping on the roof could rupture spraying boiling hot water all over someone walking up to my front door. The plumber advised that the hot water heater was incorrectly plumbed and had numerous code violations. The plumber advised that a gas line was improperly installed using a flexible line and that it could rupture, the flexible line was not designed to be run on the top of the roof to the kitchen as the line was not rated for that. The plumber explained that all the line would need to be removed and replaced with black metal pipe from the connection all the way across the roof to the flex line at the kitchen. At no time did the plumber check the roof. He explained that along with the gasline the hot water heater should be replaced or replumbed and a tankless would be the best way to replace it. He advised the total cost would be between approximately $1000-$8000 depending on what I decided on. The plumber also advised that the lack of the connection for the hot water heater vent was extremely dangerous and that the house could be flooded with carbon monoxide. He stated that there could be a build up heat in the utility closet. I asked if that was such an issue why had the fire/carbon monoxide detector 3' away from the heater not ever gone off? I also advised that the kitchen had been done by a contractor and that I would deal with him as to the gas line issues. The plumber advised that he would let me think it over and gave me his card. I asked him if he intended to have me bring him back to reattach the "dangerous" duct from the heater to the vent. He attached the duct and left. I then contacted my contractor, who immediately came over to the house with the plumber who had done the work, both looked over the system and advised that there was no issue. That the flex line was rated for use on the roof. The plumber than looked over the hot water heater and stated there was no issue there either, nor was it need to replace a 6 yr old heater. He then asked me to move the valve up and after I moved it slightly pass the point that the Riteway plumber had, it immediately began hiss. The plumber advised the valve was fine. The status on the gas line was checked with a 2nd plumber who advised there was no issue with the gas line. The Riteway plumber is **** ******* (Quality Control Manager)

Desired Settlement
I believe that ******* engaged in a systematic attempt to defraud me. That the play acting with the pressure valve was intended to place me in fear of death or injury to myself, family and residence. That he supported this fraudulent display by making serious deceptive statements in regards to the plumbing on the hot water heater and the gas line. That if he had made these well rehearsed statements to more vulnerable persons that he would have induced them to spend thousands of dollars out of fear for their lives. I believe that Riteway's a/c service calls for $79 are nothing but an attempt to identify parties that can be induced to have unneeded repairs done on their homes. I believe that as ******* is the Quality Control Manager for Riteway that he is in position of power as to policy for the company and that is actions show that this activity maybe a systematic company wide business operation.

Desired Resolution for Complaint #XXXXXXXX: For Rite Way to cease this fraudulent business tactic and admit culpability.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@ritewayac.com
Re: BBB Complaint #XXXXXXXX

Dear Mr. & Mrs. *********:

I am in receipt of your complaint to the BBB that you have lodged against Rite Way Ventilating Co. First let me assure you that we are taking your complaint very seriously. It is not now nor has it ever been our practice to deceive or defraud any customer. The fact that this is your perception is very alarming to us and is not something that will be ignored.
We work with and train our employee's continuously to improve customer relations and our customers' experience. **** has been with us for close to a year now and this is the first time a complaint of any kind has been levied against him. When I sat **** down and discussed your complaint with him, he was very upset that, first a complaint has been levied but more importantly that he was perceived by you as being anything but a concerned professional who had identified what he determined were some serious code violations.
Since we had both our Senior AC Technician **** as well as **** out to your home at the same time, I interviewed them both separately in order to gain an understanding of what transpired. One main theme that prevailed throughout both of their stories was that there were some major safety concerns with your existing installation.
While **** was performing the work you had approved on your AC system he witnessed that your water heater flue was not installed, the fitting was lying next to the water heater and was covered in dust which made it obvious that it had not been attached to the water heater in some time if ever. This in itself is a major life safety issue particularly when the gas device resides in a mechanical closet located within the home. Secondly while **** was incorrect in his belief that the flexible gas pipe was not legally allowable to be run exposed, he did make the correct decision in calling **** out to your location to review what he had observed and to identify if your installation was up to code.
When **** arrived he identified the following major code and safety issues:

1. Flue was not connected allowing the water heater to vent into the mechanical space. The flue being left unconnected could result in carbon monoxide entering the living space and potentially resulting in carbon monoxide poisoning.
2. The flexible gas pipe is permissible to be run exposed, but there are strict code requirements in regards to securing and blocking that had not been followed. The securing and blocking requirements exist to prevent movement of the flexible pipe. While flexible gas pipe is safe for use when secured and blocked properly, if it is not it is very susceptible to movement from wind, temperature, pressure fluctuations and vibration. These forces can cause the pipe to rub against hard surfaces like the combustion air relief vent that yours enters the mechanical room through causing damage and potential failure of the pipe.
3. The T&P valve is currently piped up through and terminated on the roof. This has not been permissible for approximately 8 to 9 years now. The reason why, is that the T&P valve can leak over time and the leaked water can create a blockage of the vent tube. When this happens if there is a true pressure relief event, the water is blocked from traveling up the tube resulting in a catastrophic rupture of the water heater.
Having observed these conditions and other minor issues, it was apparent to **** that the work had not been permitted or inspected by Pima County as these conditions would not have been allowed to stand. I later confirmed on the Pima County website that a permit had not been issued for your address.

As you may or may not know, a permit is required whenever any amount of plumbing, electrical and or mechanical work is performed. While the homeowner is legally responsible for making sure the work is permitted and inspected, most reputable contractors handle these issues as part of their work.
It is unfortunate that your contractor's chose not to permit their work as the inspection process would have prevented you from having to deal with these issues. The good news is that they are required to perform all of their work to applicable codes and should bring their work up to code for you at no additional charge. If they fail to do that, I can provide you with the necessary information to pursue them through the Registrar of Contractors.
That said, I also feel that we failed you in our level of communication and empathy for your issues. While I fully support **** and **** calling attention to the safety concerns as we have a fiduciary responsibility as a professional and licensed contractor to do such, I don't believe that ****'s demeanor and or choice of wording were up to our standards in communicating with you and your wife. I am personally working with **** to improve his communication style and have made it clear to him that improvement in this area is imperative to his continued employment.
I am sincerely sorry that this issue has arisen and that you did not feel that we could resolve this together and had to resort to filing a complaint with the BBB. I'm not sure what if anything I can do to resolve this issue with you, but I have chosen to refund your maintenance contract if full, additionally as a good will gesture if you are willing we would like to keep your maintenance contract in-force at no charge for 1 year. Please let me know if this is acceptable to you.
If you have any further questions or wish to further discuss these issues please feel free to contact me at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.

05/27/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Plumbers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/01/1959Business started: 06/01/1959
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Registrar of Contractors
400 W Congress St STE 212
Tucson, AZ85701
(520) 628-6345
http://www.azroc.gov

BBB records show a license number of 257132 for this company, issued by Arizona Registrar of Contractors. Their web address is http://www.azroc.gov. The expiration date of this license is 07/31/2015.

Type: Contractors

Check License Status: http://www.azroc.gov/forms/details.asp?license=257132

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 235235 for this company, issued by Arizona Registrar of Contractors. Their web address is http://www.azroc.gov. The expiration date of this license is 10/31/2015.

Type: Contractors

Check License Status: http://www.azroc.gov/forms/details.asp?license=235235

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 235236 for this company, issued by Arizona Registrar of Contractors. Their web address is http://www.azroc.gov. The expiration date of this license is 10/31/2015.

Type: Contractors

Check License Status: http://www.azroc.gov/forms/details.asp?license=235236

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 2007, AZ

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Walter (President)Ms. Devon Maloney (Customer Service Manager)Mr Jim Steffey (Sales Manager)
Number of Employees

85

Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Plumbers

Products & Services

This company offers design, installation and service of heating, air conditioning and ventilation systems in residential and commercial areas.

Alternate Business Names
Rite Way Ventilating Co., Rite Way Plumbing

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Rite Way Heating, Cooling & Plumbing has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Rite Way Heating, Cooling & Plumbing

5712 E Speedway Blvd

Tucson, AZ 85712

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5712 E Speedway Blvd 

    Tucson, AZ 85712(520) 745-0660
    (520) 282-4465
    (520) 298-6722

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Arizona. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Rite Way Heating, Cooling & Plumbing is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (520) 282-4465
  • (520) 298-6722
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013 for complaints filed on 05/22/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines.BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints.

X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.