BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/31/2003

Perry Heating & Cooling

Find a Location

Phone: (520) 326-4361Fax: (520) 323-0399View Additional Phone Numbers3266 E Grant Rd, TucsonAZ 85716-2810



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/31/2003

BBB has determined that Perry Heating & Cooling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Perry Heating & Cooling's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Perry Heating & Cooling

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
05/19/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I cancelled a Service Contract and was promised a pro-rated refund in 30 days or less. It has now been over nine weeks and still no refund.
On August 28th 2010 I purchased a new residential HVAC system from ***** Heating & Cooling (Perry) for $7300 including installation for my home at *** E. ******* Street. I was told at the time that the price included a 10 year service warranty covering labor only. Although I never received an actual purchase agreement or invoice, I did not question it as I was satisfied with the system, installation and price.

On February 12th 2014 I notified Perry Heating and Cooling, in writing as per the service contract, that I wished to cancel the contract and receive a 'pro rata refund' as I had sold the house at *** E. ******* ******* I subsequently completed and returned a formal cancellation request provided by Perry Heating and Cooling. Shortly thereafter I confirmed with 'Service Net, LLC', cancellation of the service contract as of 02/21/2014. At that same time I was told that Service Net, LLC would refund to Perry Heating and Cooling any refund due on my service contract within 30 days.

The exact Cancellation Clause verbiage from the Service Net Warranty contract is as follows: "If this contract is cancelled, you will be provided a pro rata refund of the retail contact price after deducting for administrative expenses not to exceed twenty-five ($25) dollars associated with the cancellation".

The Service Net Warranty contract shows no purchase price but states, for 'Retail Contract Price: Please refer to your sales receipt or invoice'. Again, I never received a receipt or invoice of any kind from Perry Heating and Cooling.

I have made several requests for a copy of my original receipt or invoice showing a line-item cost for the service contract and a pro-rated refund since 02/12/2014; in writing, by email and by phone. To date I have received neither the requested copy of my original invoice nor a refund on the canceled service contract. Early on I was told by ******* ** ** ***** Operations Manager at Perry Heating and Cooling; that any refund to me would come directly from Service Net Warranty, LLC. I phoned Service Net Warranty, LLC and was told in no uncertain terms that a refund would have to be issued by Perry Heating and Cooling and that Service Net Warranty, LLC had no knowledge of the retail price I paid to Perry Heating and Cooling. Service Net Warranty, LLC refused to divulge what price Perry Heating and Cooling paid them for the warranty.

I have received several conflicting and confusing emails and phone calls from Mr. ** ** **** over the past 9 weeks including this example of double-speak from one of his emails;
"From: *******@perryheatingandcooling.com mailto:*******@perryheatingandcooling.com
Sent: Wednesday, March 26, XXXX X:XX AM
To: '***** ********'
Subject: RE: Contract # 22499116 ***** ********
Good Morning Mr. ********. We received only conformation on cancelation of contract, no check has come in as off this morning. As soon as we have it we will send you the amount of $ 289.10 that is the pro- rated amount, stated in the letter, I will send it with the check as soon as it arrives. Your contract was originally purchased for $499.00 and was given to you on your original contract, standard procedure with the purchase of a new unit price is $ 499.00 but is also an option." (Sic)

Arizona law governing service contract refunds is very clear: it is the responsibility of the vendor not the supplier to refund and monies due on a legally cancelled service contract.

Desired Settlement
I am asking is as follows:

1. A copy of the original sales receipt, invoice or contract showing a separate line item charge for the Service Net Warranty.

2. A pro rata refund on the full retail price paid for the aforementioned Service Net Warranty as per the terms of the contract.

In the absence of supporting documentation I will have to assume Perry Heating and Cooling never actually paid Service Net, LLC for the warranty in question. In that case I will be satisfied with nothing less than a full refund in the amount of $499.00

Business Response
Mr. ******** purchased a new Rheem AC system from Perry Heating and Cooling in September 2010.
At that time he was offered and Mr. ******** elected to purchase a 10 year parts and labor warranty through Protection Plus/ServiceNet. Protection Plus is a private, third party insurance company that is a leader in providing warranty insurance. Mr. ******** paid Protection Plus the $499.00 premium and Protection Plus provided extended warranty coverage should the customer need any service during the ten year warranty period. The purchase price for the Protection Plus policy is clearly stated on the proposal/contract that Mr. ******** signed before installation. This Warranty is between Mr ******** and Protection Plus/Service Net.
Mr. ******** contacted Perry Heating and Cooling in February 2014 and requested the cancellation of the balance of the 10 year parts and labor warranty. It is our understanding that Mr. ******** had just sold the home and wanted to recoup the insurance cost. Mr. ******** had already contacted Protection Plus for a refund and they had told him that they do not normally refund insurance premiums. Warranties are more commonly transfered to the new homeowner.
The Perry service manager contacted Protection Plus as well. The service manager was able to help Mr. ******** receive the refund he was requesting. Protection Plus agreed that they would issue him a pro-rated refund. They would send the check to Perry Heating and Cooling and in turn Mr. ******** would need to fill out the necessary forms before a check would be issued. Perry received a letter from Protection Plus/Service Net on February 28, 2014 stating they had received all necessary paper work and payment would normally be made in about 30 days.
Mr. ******** contacted Perry Heating and Cooling through numerous emails about his refund. Since the actual warranty policy was through Protection Plus, they have complete control of the distribution of funds. Each time Mr. ******** would contact Perry Heating and Cooling, we would contact Protection Plus to inquire about the refund for Mr. ********. The answer that we would receive from Protection Plus was that "... it was being processed" and that they were "... back logged."
On April 28th Perry Heating and Cooling received the refund check from Protection Plus dated April 23, 2014 in the amount of $289.10 (the prorated refund).
Perry Heating and Cooling wrote its check to Mr. ******** on April 28, 2014. And it was mailed to him on April 29, 2014.
We do not feel we are responsible for Protection Plus's administrative delays as they are a third party insurance company over which Perry has no control. We would also point out that Mr. ******** has received the insurance premium refund.


Consumer Response
On 05/07/2014 I submitted to Perry Heating and Cooling, pursuant to Arizona Revised Statute 13-1808, a demand for secured funds in the amount of $326.10: $289.10 for the original bad check, $12.00 charged by my bank for the returned item and $25.00 'Victim Fee'. Today I received in the mail from Perry Heating and Cooling, a second non-secured check in the amount of $289.10. I have returned the second non-secured check to Perry Heating and Cooling and will turn the matter over to the Pima County Attorney's Office for criminal prosecution failing receipt of secured funds in the amount of $326.10 no later than 05/19/2014.

Final Consumer Response
I received a cashier's check today for the full amount owed. I am 100% satisfied with this resolution and consider the matter closed. I will not pursue a complaint of any kind against Perry Heating and Cooling.

03/12/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Outside of warranty window due to Active-Duty Military being away on a mission.
On 27 Jan 14 my heating and cooling unit was serviced by Perry Heating & Cooling. It was a simple "tune-up". Every year I get this preventative maintenance done on my heating and cooling unit and there have been no problems. This year I got the service done then went on a mission the next day, out-of-state. I was gone a month from my residence. When I returned I turned on the heat to test the unit. It fails to heat now. It worked before Perry Heating & Cooling serviced it, and now it doesn't. I attempted to call Perry Heating & Cooling to resolve the issue. The person answering the phone said I was outside the 30 day warranty window and it would cost me a service charge for them to come out and look at it. I explained my situation of being out-of-state for a mission, but they wouldn't work with me. I feel this is a poor business practice for active-duty military members who can not comply with their warranty policy due to our profession.

Desired Settlement
Please fix my heating unit free of charge.

Final Consumer Response
This case is closed. Perry Heating and Cooling called me the next day after receiving my complaint to resolve the issue. Since I was not able to contact the manager directly, because the rude secretary that currently is employed there kept hanging up on me, this matter went too far. Steve from Perry Heating and Cooling was over the same day and resolved the issue. Steve and everyone besides that secretary at Perry Heating and Cooling were extremely helpful. I am sorry it had to come to this but my voice was heard and I appreciate the BBB in S. Arizona for being my voice when it could not be heard.

07/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Service technician was rude and insulting, and the manager is unresponsive.
In less than four years since I bought a new AC and Heating unit from *****, I have spent over $1400.00 to keep it in proper working condition. I am finding that after spending $4500.00 on having a new unit installed, I consider the AC unit is a sub standard product, and the service provided by ***** is even worst. Less than 2 years ago they had to service the AC because it had a leak, then I paid for a leak check, which they never preformed, then for a evaporator coil replacement. They then had to return to finish the repair properly a week later, because it was not done right the first time. Last year they had to come out and service the unit again, and said there was nothing wrong with the unit, which worked better after they left. A few weeks ago they came out and replaced a blown fuse for the condenser fan motor. I was then insulted by the technician with him saying that he did not like serving my unit, and he proceeded to slam my door when leaving. I proceeded to call the manager and explained what happened, and asked why they sold me an AC system and now they don't want to service their product. I explained my frustration with his technician and his product, and he did not seem to care. I find this behavior very disturbing, especially from a company that it an A+ member of the BBB. Not only do they sell inferior products, but their service is also very poor, they can not even do repairs properly when needed, and then they have to return to complete the repairs. I know about AC systems and was able to see the improper work and repairs done by their technicians. My last conversation with the Manager ended with him saying he would return my check for the service call, which he not only did not do, but also cashed the check 2 days after are conversation we had on the phone. They obviously do not care about their customers or the product they sell. Maybe if the manager put himself in the customers shoes, instead of making a quick dollar their main concern, he would understand the frustration I am having right now with him and his company. I am also in the customer service business, and I find companies like *****'s very lacking in that department, especially with an A+ BBB rating. Their business practices are very lacking in customer service, their integrity, and ethics leave a lot to desired.

Desired Settlement
I am not sure what is needed to resolve this issue, but I feel a phone call from the owner of the company is a very good start. I am not interested in talking to the manager after he said one thing and then did something else. I find that I can not trust him or anyone else on his staff. He and his service team have very little integrity, or ethics, and only care about making money.

Business Response
We do not have a customer by the name of ******* *******, the customer that we have done work for at the address stated is **** *******. The equipment was installed in 2010 and no extended warranty was purchased. The warranty for the equipment was 1 year labor, and 5 year parts. We assume that **** is related to *******.
The service call that was performed on 5/15/14 had nothing to do with the actual performance of the air conditioner. It was an electrical problem that had accured at the residence. Our technician arrived and diagnosed the problem and changed out the fuse in the disconnect box and then the air conditioner worked immediately. ******* refused to pay the bill for the fuse and told the service technician that he did not want to pay the service call fee either. The technician told him that he would not charge him for the fuse, but in order for the technician to be paid for his time, he would need to be collect for the service call.
After technician left the residence, ******* called the office and complained about the service fee that he paid. He threatened to file a complaint with the BBB unless we returned his check. At that time, he also complained about the service technician being rude and insulting. The service manager assured ******* that he would talk to the technician regarding the service call. The technician stated to the service manager that as soon as he arrived at the home, ******* was complaining about our company and the cost of the service call and how much the unit had cost him and he didn't feel he should have to pay for any repairs.
At that time the service manager agreed that we would wave the service call fee and the cost of the fuse as part of our customer satisfaction. His check had already been processed and the accounts receivable was in the process of issuing and sending back the refund when we received the complaint.
The service manager will honor the request of issuing the refund of $79.99.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Furnace Sales & Service, Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential

Additional Information

top

Perry Heating & Cooling was a 2005 and 2007 recipient of the Better Business Bureau's Torch Award for Marketplace Ethics. Torch Awards are given by the Better Business Bureau to recognize businesses and executives exhibiting integrity in the marketplace and exemplary dedication to advancing trust between businesses and consumers.

BBB file opened: 06/01/1956Business started: 06/01/1949New Owner Date: 04/20/1983
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Registrar of Contractors
400 W Congress St STE 212
Tucson, AZ 85701
(520) 628-6345
http://www.azroc.gov

BBB records show a license number of 147224 for this company, issued by Arizona Registrar of Contractors. Their web address is http://www.azroc.gov. The expiration date of this license is 07/31/2017.

Type: Contractors

Check License Status: http://www.azroc.gov/forms/details.asp?license=147224

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 1983, AZ

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Butch Ashbrook (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Judy Butler (Office Manager)Mr. George V Ashbrook (CEO)
Number of Employees

26

Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Furnace Sales & Service, Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential

Products & Services

HVAC Residential Sales, Service and Installation

Alternate Business Names
Sonoran Builders, Ltd.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Perry Heating & Cooling has received 4.3 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Perry Heating & Cooling

3266 E Grant Rd

Tucson, AZ 85716-2810

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 3266 E Grant Rd 

    Tucson, AZ 85716-2810(520) 323-6939
    (520) 393-6336
    (520) 888-6699
    (520) 731-9866
    (520) 326-4361
    (520) 762-6416
    Fax: (520) 323-0399

  • PO Box 26865 

    Tucson, AZ 85726-6865

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Arizona. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Perry Heating & Cooling is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (520) 323-6939
  • (520) 393-6336
  • (520) 888-6699
  • (520) 731-9866
  • (520) 762-6416
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013 for complaints filed on 05/22/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines.BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints.

X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.