BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/21/2011

Air Tropics, LLC

Find a Location

Phone: (520) 271-1397Fax: (520) 577-567110050 N Anway Rd, MaranaAZ 85653-9056



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/21/2011

BBB has determined that Air Tropics, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Air Tropics, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Air Tropics, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
07/14/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Never did fix a/c unit even after being paid to fix it.
This starts in 06/03/2015 when Air Tropics first came to my home fix my a/c unit. When they came they discovered that my unit was low by 4 pounds of R22 freon. Per their receipt that they left,at the time of service, it states they refilled the 4 pounds of R22 and added leak seal. According to the EPA they were suppose to find the leak to fix it. I called my home warranty company again in Nov 10 2015 telling them the unit was doing the same thing again. They came out in 48 degree weather took measurements and said nothing was wrong. However you can not get proper reading in such cold weather. I tried to get an afternoon appointment but they told me the only thing they had open was first thing in the morning and they showed up to the house a 7:50 a.m. So now I do not have my home warranty any more and called them once again on 05/13/2016 letting them know I was not happy because they still had not fixed my a/c. ***** came out that night and found my unit had 6 pounds of R22 missing and that I had a coil leak. ***** was willing to fill the unit with R22 for free but would not give me documentation as to the measurements he got and how much R22 freon he was going to put in it. I had him stop and get off the roof because I wanted the unit fixed the way it should had been fixed on the first visit. Then ***** informed me that it was proceder through the warranty company to re-fill with R22 and leak stop. Which goes against all EPA regulations. ***** who is the manager/owner is still refusing to fix the unit. I have already paid my co pay through the warranty company to have it fixed.

Desired Settlement
The only thing I want done is have my unit fixed properly. I am being told it needs a new coil from ****** I expect them to replace the coil that they should have fixed on the very first visit. Other wise I want them to fix what ever it is that will stop my unit from leaking R22 and not working.

Business Response
Service call-Technician performed a complete diagnostics on system and found that everything is working properly at this time. Customer told my technician that his policy expires soon and wants to get a new unit installed prior to his policy expiration date. Whenever my tech told him nothing is wrong he was upset and refused to pay the deductible since we couldn't find anything wrong.
1 hours labor- $80
Co-pay paid $0.00 (refused to pay)
Total due- $80.00



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Air Tropics has responded that the service tech did an inspection and found nothing wrong with the unit.
The Nov 2015 service request I called in indicated that the unit was no longer cooling and acting similar to the 1st time I called. When I bought this house from the federal govt, I was offered a 1 year home warranty. I paid the fee to have the warranty. This company came out when the AC system was malfunctioning...they violated federal law by adding 4 pounds of R-22 freon to a leaking system, without fixing the leak. (An EPA complaint was filed prior to the BBB complaint) When the system continued to lose its effectiveness, I called again. The Tech took his readings when the outside temperature was 48 degrees, the manufacturer indicates the unit can be tested when the outside temperature is 75 degrees. Therefore, his readings have to be deemed invalid, thus an improper inspection. The receipt i have, indicates the tech recorded pressure readings he took....however, he scratched out the initial readings, and wrote down another number. the number scratched out, indicated a system low on freon, (hence...still LEAKING!). I feel the company has been negligent in their initial service call...Federal EPA laws require they find and repair the leak, however, the contract they had with the warranty company requires they just "fill with freon, and add leak seal", (Was informed by ***** that this was part of their contract with the warranty company. ***** should know, any part of a contract that violates any Federal, State, or local law is not enforceable). The comments that the tech accuses me of wanting a new unit is laughable. I did inform the tech that my warranty period was about to expire, and i just wanted it fixed. He said he would not charge me for the service call. The fact is, I have an 11 year old, top of the line 16 seer American Standard package Ac unit. Its expected "normal" service life is 20-30 years. In no way would I need to replace the unit. I wanted it fixed in June of last year, and again in November of last year. Now, due to their negligence,and expiration of the warranty period, I will be forced to pay for a new coil, about $2000.oo USD according to ***** of Air Tropics. This should have been fixed the very 1st call!. This company knows its responsible, otherwise, why would they be willing to violate federal law a second time by adding 6 pounds of R-22 freon to a leaking system at no charge. (That would be $360-$450 of product cost) In hopes that it will last another season. As a former BBB member myself, I know this platform really can't solve this issue. It serves to give the business an opportunity to avoid further legal action.




Final Business Response
Mr ******* has stated that whenever he called in to his home warranty company during November 2015 that his system was not cooling properly, he also stated that it was a 48 degree day whenever we came out....I have a hard time believing that they were using the air conditioner during such cold temperatures. My technician checked the system in heating mode and found that everything was working properly at that time. So you mean to tell me that if system were not working properly at that time you never called anybody to come back out until almost 6 months later? As far as adding freon on the first visit to the home, technician performed an electronic leak test at that time and only located a leak at the schrader valve on system. Once locating this leak it was FIXED PRIOR TO CHARGING SYSTEM. By repairing this leak first we are in no way in violation of any federal laws. As far as customer's payment, payment was NOT made to our technician nor to the home warranty company. I have submitted 3 Demand for Payment letters which were actually sent to us from the home warranty company stated that Mr ******* did not pay them either for his deductible. In closing, if your system still wasn't working properly after the visit in November 2015, it is my belief you would have contacted your home warranty again BEFORE your policy expired rather that to contact us demanding us to fix or replace your A/C system for free in order to keep you from filing these complaints. At Air Tropics we make every effort to take care of our customers, therefore it is VERY RARE that we have any complaints such as this to deal with.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The respondent from Air Tropics continues to change his account of the issue. He continues to evade the initial issue of June 3, 2015. And the follow up call of Nov of 2015.
Per my discussion with Jason of Air Tropic in May of 2016, he informed me that the warranty company requires that they only refill with freon, and add leak seal, to any "low freon" calls initially per their contract.
When I purchased this home, I had a home warranty offered...I accepted the option for a home warranty...This warranty cost me $455. For that, all appliances, and pool equipment were covered for repair/replacement, as needed for a $60 copay. In June of 2015 I requested service from National Home Warranty to repair one of the AC systems on my home. Air Tropics called and scheduled an early morning appointment on June 3rd. We were the 1st call of the day we were told. Scott of Air Tropics was the tech that came out to service. Our receipt shows he added 4 pounds of R22, and 1 leak seal. We payed the $60 copay. We were very happy at that time. The AC was working fantastic.
As the summer progressed, I had started to notice that the AC in my bedroom (the unit serviced by Air Tropics), was not cooling as well as the other unit in my home. By October it was apparent, that the AC unit that was serviced by Air Tropics no longer was working at peak efficiency. In November of 2015, I decided, that I needed to have the AC fixed correctly prior to the expiration of the 1 year warranty I purchased when i bought my house. Once again, repeat repair for the same issue was requested. I was called in the evening by Air tropics, I requested an afternoon appointment....I was told, the only available time they had was 1st thing in the morning. Reluctantly I accepted the 1st appointment. I received a call shortly after 8 am at work, It was from my better half telling me "nothing is wrong with the unit". She put the tech Scott on the phone, he informed me that he couldn't find anything wrong. So basically saying the fact that my AC had been losing its cooling power all summer long, must have just been in my head. (he did not say that..he just said, he couldn't find a problem, but it was a cold 48 degree morning, so he couldn't test it properly...he suggested maybe another call at a time when it was warmer). He informed me that he wouldn't be charging me for the call, and he would speak to his boss on what they could do.
So after he left, what was I going to do?...call in again during the last 2 months of my warranty period?..frankly, it was getting cold...we were using the fireplace and the heater by the end of November.

Here comes the heat of springtime in Tucson....I go to turn on my AC to cool the house. The unit not serviced by Air Tropics, cooling like a champ...working really well. The AC in my bedroom, blowing hot air. Its a Friday evening. Knowing enough about how things work in the contracting world, I call the QP of Air Tropics, I leave a message informing him of my intent to file complaints with the EPA, the BBB, and the AzROC. Jason contacted me within 15 minutes, and arrived in about an hour. I informed him of the 2 prior visits of June of 2015, and Nov 2015. In minutes, after looking at my unit, and attaching his gauges, he informed me that I had a coil leak, and that I was 6 pounds low of freon. I was upset to say the least. Jason told me he would fill the system free of charge.."To help me out". It didnt take me long to realize, he was going to violate EPA regulations again by filling my leaking system without repair....I stopped him from filling it, he had his bottle set up already.
We had a conversation before he left about the warranty company. He was going to contact me in the morning. He made contact with the warranty company and called me in the morning. He told me that National Home Warranty would contact him Monday, and he would contact me. By Wendsday, I had not heard from Jason, so I called him...that's when he informed me, that "his *** was covered on my complaint" stating that his techs numbers were good (referring to the Nov 2015 visit when temps were 48 degrees I assume).

So, I filed the complaint with the EPA, I then filed this complaint with the BBB. Now since then, Air Tropics story has changed. Mine hasn't changed.

They state they fixed a schrader valve on the initial service call, (June 3rd 2015). But there is no notation of a repair on the receipt in my possession.
The EPA states if a system is missing 15% or more of the coolant it holds, it MUST find the leak and repair in within 30 days.
My 3 ton Gas Package unit holds 12 pounds of R22 freon. My receipt indicates 4 pounds of R22, and leak seal were added. The 4 pounds of freon indicate about 33% of coolant missing. Repair must be made per EPA. Since this falls squarely into EPA required repairs, Anyone would expect the required repairs would be indicated that they were performed on the customers receipt.
Fast forward to November 10, 2015. Tech comes out in 48 degrees to service AC unit. The manufactures documents indicate, the unit can be tested above 75 degrees. The receipt from that day, indicate a reading "struck out" and a new reading written. And now, Air Tropics is stating... "My technician checked the system in heating mode and found that everything was working properly at that time." (paraphrased from their last response). There is no way anyone could test my unit in "Heating Mode" (They are Peddling Fiction at this point).

In Summary, I attest that Air Tropics acted negligently on June 3rd, 2015, when they acted in accordance with a contract they have with National Home Warranty....to "fill instead of fix" systems low on coolant despite EPA regulations.
That they could not perform proper inspection procedure on November XX XXXX, yet now fabricate a tale of.... "My technician checked the system in heating mode and found that everything was working properly at that time." ....That is a heat pump technique not able to perform on a Gas Package unit.
They are trying to place blame on me for a copay for a service they couldn't perform at all. And yet provided falsified readings per the above statement of testing in "heat mode". Even their tech suggested a warmer day to test.

Had Air Tropics acted in accordance with EPA regulations on June 3rd 2015, and fixed my AC unit properly, while I had a policy in effect, I would not be suffering a brutal summer in Tucson Az.

I never asked for "FREE REPLACEMENT"...I only asked for the service I have already paid for.
This company's actions, or lack of action, is going to be costing me more than $2000 for coil replacement, or even more if the unit requires replacement.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/21/2011Business started: 01/01/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Registrar of Contractors
400 W Congress St STE 212
Tucson, AZ 85701
(520) 628-6345
http://www.azroc.gov

BBB records show a license number of 271115 for this company, issued by Arizona Registrar of Contractors. Their web address is http://www.azroc.gov. The expiration date of this license is 02/28/2017.

Type: Contractors

Check License Status: http://www.azroc.gov/forms/details.asp?license=271115

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin Harris (Member)
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Air Tropics, LLC has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Air Tropics, LLC

10050 N Anway Rd

Marana, AZ 85653-9056

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 10050 N Anway Rd 

    Marana, AZ 85653-9056(520) 271-1397
    Fax: (520) 577-5671

  • PO Box 40395 

    Tucson, AZ 85717-0395

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Arizona. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Air Tropics, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 06/01/2013 for complaints filed on 05/22/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines.BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints.

X

Industry Tips for Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.