BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/27/2002

Sylvania Veterinary Hospital

Phone: (419) 885-4421Fax: (419) 885-02444801 N Holland Sylvania Rd, SylvaniaOH 43560-2118

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/27/2002

BBB has determined that Sylvania Veterinary Hospital meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Sylvania Veterinary Hospital's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Sylvania Veterinary Hospital

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
10/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
5 week old kitten was killed by ********** **** medicine.
On 10-03-2013, I took 3 orphaned, bottle fed kittens that I had been fostering since they were born for a well check in anticipation of adopting them out to homes in the week ahead. I was told they were all especially tine, had eye infectons, and were extremely underweight. The kittens were prescribed antibiotics for a respiratory infection and eye infections. Their weights were .76lbs,.80lbs &.50lbs being the smallest. She then told me they would need ********** for flea prevention. I was shocked and asked if it was safe. I was told yes. Dr. ******* ***** then took the litter to draw blood and administer the Revolution. When she came back in, the smalled kitten, ******* was lethargic. They gave him Kayro syrup in hopes of "perking him up" and sent me on my way.
A few hours later he was doing even worse and refusing his bottle. I rushed him back and was seen by Dr *** ******. He told me the cat was dehydrated and said I would need to tube feed him. He sent a tech in who gave me a single demonstration of tube insertion and sent me on my way.
The kitten died three hours later at home.

The patient AND doctor insert from ****** (the maker of *********** BOTH explicitly state this product should NEVER be given to kittens under the age of 8 weeks, never to an under weight kitten and never to a kitten showing signs of illness. All three applied to my litter.

I have called ******** *** and spoken to the office manager. She transferred me to the Dr who simply said "I am sorry, everyday is a learning experience and we are always learning."

I was offered a partial refund for my visit which was a total of $389.97 for the three kittens to be examined, tested for FeLV and prescribed antibiotics.

This is NOT acceptable. This litter was cared for around the clock. Feedings needed to take place every two to four hours and their bottoms needed stimulated as frequently to be able to go.

This was not an accident. It was complete incomptetance as I am not a medical professional and it took me less than three minutes and a search on Google to see that this medicine should NEVER have been given to anyone in my litter.

Desired Settlement
I would like all costs from this visit removed.

I would also like retraining to be provided for ALL employees under this Doctor so that NO other animal is killed due to their incompetance at basic label reading skills.

Business Response
The kitten arrived at SylvaniaVET on ******* and was very lethargic during exam. Kitten had a flea infestation so severe it was at risk for life threatening anemia. *** ***** noted during the examination issues with body temperature and failure to thrive and discussed potential poor prognosis with the client during the exam. She researched treatment for flea infestation for young kittens on the Veterinary Information Network (VIN) and overwhelmingly other Vets recommended using ********** off-label. Dr. Davis called the manufacturer of the product, *********** and spoke with a veterinarian who concurred for animals with fleas jumping from the body, which this kitten had. The client called on 10/5/13 to inform *** ***** the kitten had passed away. Practice owner *** ****** called the client to discuss the case and to support *** ******* reasons for using ********** off-label. A full refund was given to the client on Monday, October 7th.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Veterinarians, Pet Shops, Pet Sitting Services, Pet Grooming, Pet Boarding & Kennels

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/21/1992Business started: 01/01/1974
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1978, OH

Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Robert Esplin (President)
Number of Employees

75

Business Category

Veterinarians, Pet Shops, Pet Sitting Services, Pet Grooming, Pet Boarding & Kennels

Products & Services

This company offers vererinary services, doggy day care, boarding, and an emergency pet clinic.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Sylvania Veterinary Hospital

4801 N Holland Sylvania Rd

Sylvania, OH 43560-2118

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4801 N Holland Sylvania Rd 

    Sylvania, OH 43560-2118(419) 885-4421

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest and West Central Ohio and Southeast Michigan. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sylvania Veterinary Hospital is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in Northwest Ohio and Southeast Michigan on 7/1/2012, in West Central Ohio on 1/1/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Veterinarians

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.