BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/1983

Firestone Tire & Rubber Co.

Phone: (419) 385-4636Fax: (419) 385-3395View Additional Phone Numbers1453 S Byrne Rd, ToledoOH 43614-2316

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/1983

BBB has determined that Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Firestone Tire & Rubber Co.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Firestone Tire & Rubber Co.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
11/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Brought my car to Firestone due to a coolant leak. The repair was subpar, incomplete, caused more damage, and the shop has been unresponsive.
Car dumped coolant on 08/16/14. Was told it was intake manifold gasket. Car was ***** ***** *** ***** Repair cost $866.82. Service Advisor listed on receipt "****". Paid by Mastercard. Upon picking up my car from Firestone, I tried to start it. The car ran very poorly and I was told it was my #6 injector. Informed the tech that the car ran fine when dropped off. He reiterated that the injector would need replaced. I opened the engine bay and found that tools had been left in the engine, the engine cover was not properly positioned, and the nut holding the engine cover was missing. Tech tried to tell me it probably didn't have the nut when dropped off, I assured him it had. Tech removed engine cover to look around at the engine and found a vacuum hose that had never been connected on assembly. Hose was reconnected, cover replaced, and tech went back in shop and found missing nut. Car was still running poorly but the tech insisted the number 6 injector had to be replaced. I didn't agree and felt I needed another opinion. The car ran very poorly and I was unable to use it during the week. Made an appointment with a tech from another shop. Diagnostics were run and it was determined there was another leak somewhere. Engine cover was removed and upon some investigation another vacuum line was found to be not connected. That line was attached and further diagnostics were ran and found the #6 cylinder to be misfiring as Firestone had suggested. Upon further investigation, the #6 injector had never been hooked up and the wire was found tucked up under some other engine components. Upon reconnecting the injector, the car runs fine. After finally getting my car running thanks to the second shop, I found out my remote starter no longer functioned - it has worked perfectly for 9 years until the Firestone repair. Contacted Firestone who stated that the tech who worked on my car sounded "like he shouldn't have touched the car" but that Firestone would never have touched the remote starter. I requested a refund and was told my case would be referred to regional headquarters and they would call me. They did not. I called Firestone again and was told they would definitely call me within a couple days, they did not.

In summary, after the repair was 'complete' I had tools in my engine, a missing nut, engine cover not replaced, 2 vacuum lines detached, one injector looking intentionally unhooked, and a broken remote starter. In my opinion, the car was obviously not tested prior to being turned over to me. The repair was done so badly, it gives the appearance of being almost intentional. If this is not the case, it was performed with complete indifference. Further, the fact that Firestone headquarters won't call me at all makes me wonder if they don't care, or if the original shop didn't bother turning over my case. Either way, this whole experience has destroyed my confidence in a shop I had relied on for years.

Desired Settlement
I would simply like a refund for these repairs. The repairs were performed so poorly that payment for them seems laughable. I was without my car for a week while trying to figure out what Firestone had done wrong, it is extremely difficult for another tech to figure out what has been done wrong by another shop. Further, I will need to pay someone to look at the remote starter for me as well. Overall, upon rereading my issues above, the problems the shop turned over to me are either intentional, or a comedy of errors.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Tire Dealers, Tire Distributors & Manufacturers, Battery Supplies, Tire Retread & Repair, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Brake Service, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Inspection Stations, Shock Absorbers, Battery Repairing & Rebuilding

Additional Information

top

This firm is headquartered at 50 Century Blvd., Nashville, TN 37214, 615-872-5000. Its Retail Division is headquartered at 333 East Lake Street, Bloomingdale, IL 60108; 630-259-9000.

BBB file opened: 01/01/1959Business started: 01/01/1900
Business Management
Principal: Mr. Scott Phillips (Toledo Area Manager)
Contact Information
Mr. Eric Grince (Manager)
Business Category

Tire Dealers, Tire Distributors & Manufacturers, Battery Supplies, Tire Retread & Repair, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Brake Service, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Inspection Stations, Shock Absorbers, Battery Repairing & Rebuilding

Products & Services

According to information in BBB files this company operates a chain of more than 1,800 company-owned automotive tire and service stores throughout the United States.

Alternate Business Names
Expert Tire, Mark Morris Tire, GCR Tire Center
Industry Tips
Car Service

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Firestone Tire & Rubber Co.

1453 S Byrne Rd

Toledo, OH 43614-2316

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1453 S Byrne Rd 

    Toledo, OH 43614-2316(419) 385-4636
    (800) 367-3872

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest and West Central Ohio and Southeast Michigan. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 367-3872
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in Northwest Ohio and Southeast Michigan on 7/1/2012, in West Central Ohio on 1/1/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Tire Dealers

Car Service
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.