BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/16/2008

Jones Sanitation

(419) 656-4658604 River Rd, HuronOH 44839-2659

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/16/2008

BBB has determined that Jones Sanitation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Jones Sanitation's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Jones Sanitation

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
07/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The owner of this business has horrible customer service skills and the work that we had paid him to do did NOT prevent our home from flooding.
First I would like to start off by saying that I was not going to file a claim because I was threatened with harassment charges if I did. However, I am doing this because I do not want to see another customer treated the way that we were treated. I had contacted **** ***** for a consulatation in July 2013 because our home had flooded 2 weeks prior to us moving in. There was also an issue with water forming a pond on the southwest corner of the house each time it would rain. I met with **** and expressed my concerns about the house flooding again and about the pond. He recommended adding a drainage tile from the side yard to the back yard which we paid him $1500 to install in August 2013. That is where the problems began. For some reason, **** had routed the pipe so that it was aimed at our neighbors' yard. We contacted **** immediately and told him that we couldn't leave the pipe like that. He said that he would come over and cut down the pipe but assured us that the water would just "trickle out" when it rained. We agreed to have him cut it down, but told him that if the water did more than "trickle out" he would have to redirect it. Just as I thought, each time it rained the water would shoot out of the pipe like a firehose! Our neighbors were furious and kept asking that we get the isssue resolved. We were also still having issues with a pond forming in the side yard each time it rained. I contacted **** numerous times (day and night) for several MONTHS because of the water issues, however he rarely returned any of my messages. When I did finally hear from him, he would give me some lame excuse as to why he didnt call back or show up as scheduled. He had even told me that it was easier to reach him in the evening (which his wife later yelled at me for doing) because he said it was hard to answer when he is covered in mud from head to toe during the day. He kept reassuring me that he would fix the
problem, that he was just "very busy." In the meantime, we had a 3rd sump pump installed in
February 2014 to help pump out the excessive amount of water that was getting into our home. No matter how much I pleaded and begged, it ended up taking us from August 2013 until June 2014 to get
him to put in the yard drain that he had promised! Once the yard drain was finally installed (and installed properly),we realized that it wasn't going to resolve our water issue. We were also STILL receiving complaints from the neighbors about the water pouring onto their property. My husband finally starting researching other options online and came across an idea to install a 55 gallon holding tank. I contacted **** and asked if this would help. He wasn't sure what we were talking about, so my husband emailed him a link to the company's website. We agreed to pay for the materials, but asked that he install it free of charge. We thought that was the least he could do for all of the frustration he had caused due to ignoring our phone calls. He said that he thought
it should work and would schedule the installation for July 7 or 8. He even agreed to come by some evening during the week prior to go over the details with my husband. Once again, he was a no call, no show. After leaving several messages and threatening to contact the BBB, I received a call back from his wife. I told her that I was very frustrated (as well as our neighbors) because he did not return my calls and once again was a no call, no show.I told her that I was confirming that he would still install the holding tank as promised. She went on to tell me that the holding tank wouldn't solve our problem. I told her that **** had thought it would and asked what she knew about holding tanks. Her response was "*****, if you know so much about holding tanks then go out there and dig it yourself." Long story short, I lost my temper and hung up on her. Two minutes later, she
sent a strange text message saying that she wanted to install the holding tank.??????




Desired Settlement
**** & ****** ***** are no longer permitted to set foot onto our property or contact us for any reason. I refuse to be spoken to in the manner in which ****** spoke to me. I do not understand why she even got involved in the first place, as we did not hire her to do anything at our home. I also do not feel that I was out of line, as we have been arguing with **** for almost a year to follow through on his promises. I no longer wish to speak with them and am requesting a full refund so that I can hire someone to do what he was hired to do...prevent my home from flooding again and to eliminate the pond in our yard each time it rains. After having our home flood on July 8, 2014, for the second time in ONE year, that is all the proof I need that he did not do what he was hired to do.

Business Response
The company stated that they did a very high quality job at your home. The company has done extra work at no charge. The reason for the flooding was not due to any grading issues that were not done properly. Consumer lost power to sub pump causing basement flooding. The company explained to the consumer that since her home is setting lower on the road and lower than the storm sewer there was only one option which was to redirect the water and consumer agreed that the water should be discharged to the north side of the property. The consumer was well aware that the water was going to be redirected toward the neighbor's home and they explained that water will pool there after a heavy rain but will go down. The water is not drained onto the neighbors yard. The consumer called at 8pm and stated that there was water pooling. The company went back the next day first thing in the morning and there was no water. The company has gone back 3 times to make any adjustment that they could at no charge to try to satisfy the consumer. Then the consumer asked the company to install flow-tanks at no charge. The company cannot work for free. The materials alone for all the work were $1000. The consumer paid $1500. The company stated that the consumer screamed at his wife and called her a b. He will no longer return to her home for other work. The company will not refund the consumer's money. The consumer is difficult to work with. Despite doing everything possible to try to assist the consumer, there is nothing else that they can do. The company stated that they always have and will continue to go above and beyond for their customers. **** has been in this business for about 20 years and has never had a complaint. This consumer is being unreasonable and rude.

Consumer Response

Industry Comparison| Chart

Septic Tanks & Systems Cleaning, Water Main Contractors, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Excavating Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/09/2008Business started: 05/01/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chad Jones (Owner)
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Septic Tanks & Systems Cleaning, Water Main Contractors, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Excavating Contractors

Products & Services

This company offers sewer cleaning, septic tank cleaning, excavation, and water line installation.

Alternate Business Names
C. Jones Sanitation

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Jones Sanitation

604 River Rd

Huron, OH 44839-2659

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 604 River Rd 

    Huron, OH 44839-2659(419) 656-4658

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest and West Central Ohio and Southeast Michigan. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Jones Sanitation is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in Northwest Ohio and Southeast Michigan on 7/1/2012, in West Central Ohio on 1/1/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Septic Tanks & Systems Cleaning

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.